DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102017222645 (English machine translation previously provided with the Office action mailed 6/30/25) in view of DE4404181 (English machine translation provided herewith; short specification).
Regarding claim 1, DE102017222645 teaches:
1. A method for producing a three-dimensional object by selectively solidifying a build material applied layer by layer, the method comprising:
in at least one process chamber, applying the build material layer by layer to a build platform (DE102017222645: figs 1-10),
generating at least one beam for solidifying the build material using a radiation source (DE102017222645: laser beam device 5), and feeding the at least one beam to the build material in the build platform using at least one beam guiding element (DE102017222645: coil 18, wherein the laser beam passes through the coils),
generating a primary gas flow along the build platform using a process assistance device, wherein the process assistance device comprises a centre module (DE102017222645: gas outlet 11) and at least one outer module (DE102017222645: gas inlet 10) aligned with the centre module, so that a section over which primary gas flows is formed between the centre module and the at least one outer module (DE102017222645: figs 1-10; the inlets and outlets are aligned with each other to create a gas flow parallel to the build platform),
wherein the centre module is moved along the build platform, while the at least one outer module is stationary or is moved along the build platform independently and relative to the centre module (DE102017222645: figs 1-10; since both modules are connected to the frame 9, the gas inlets 10/outer module are stationary relative to the gas outlet 11/centre module),
wherein the at least one outer module comprises two outer modules arranged on opposite sides of the centre module, the two outer modules having feed channels, and wherein lengths of the feed channels are variable (DE102017222645: figs 1-10; there are two gas inlets 10/outer module about the gas outlet 11/centre module, and each gas inlet is connect to flexible hoses that feeds the gas to the gas inlet and whose length is variable depending on the position of the gas inlet relative to the build platform).
However, DE102017222645 does not teach feed channels that are telescopic. DE4404181 teaches a blowing device comprising a flexible telescopic hose 7 that can be easily pushed together or extended depending on need. Since DE102017222645 and DE4404181 are analogous with regard to using a flexible hose for conducting a gas or air, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to design the flexible pipe of DE102017222645 to also be telescopic as taught by DE4404181 in order to facilitate the extension and retraction of the flexible pipe of DE102017222645 as it is moved along the build platform of DE102017222645.
Regarding claim 2, such is taught by DE102017222645 (DE102017222645: figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 3, such is taught by DE102017222645 (DE102017222645: figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 4, such is taught by DE102017222645 (DE102017222645: figs 1-10; gas outlet 11 is designed to suck of the protective gas).
Regarding claim 5, DE102017222645 does not teach a secondary gas aligned onto and fed to the build platform using a feed device above the build platform. Connell teaches, adding to a first flow of protective gas that is parallel to a build platform, a second flow of protective gas directed towards a build platform from above the platform in order to suppress entrainment and recirculation of smoke and/or particulate matter (para. 0015; figs 1-2 and 4-5). Since DE102017222645 and Connell are analogous with respect to using protective gas in an additive manufacturing process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the second flow as taught by Connell to the gas flow and additive manufacturing process of DE102017222645 in order to better suppress entrainment and recirculation of smoke and/or particulates.
Regarding claim 6, such is taught by the above combination of DE102017222645 and Connell since DE102017222645 teaches two gas outlets 11 that are designed to suck off the protective gas.
Regarding claim 7, such is taught by the above combination of DE102017222645 and Connell since DE102017222645 teaches sucking the protective gas through the two gas outlets 11 when the gas flow that is parallel to the build platform is triggered.
Regarding claim 8, DE102017222645 (modified) does not teach only extracting the primary gas flow and the secondary gas flow by suction and/or only triggering the outer module to discharge the primary gas flow. It is well-known in the additive manufacturing art to either only suction a protective gas or only trigger a flow of protective gas from a periphery of the build platform in order to create a flow path that suppresses smoke and/or particulates. Furthermore, protective gas flow path is well-known in the additive manufacturing art as an important molding parameter and the flow path created by the claimed suction of gas or trigger of gas would have been obviously and readily determined through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to only extract the primary gas flow and the secondary gas flow of DE102017222645 (modified) by suction and/or only triggering the outer module of DE102017222645 (modified) to discharge the primary gas flow in order to reduce manufacturing costs while maintaining the suppression of smoke and/or particulates.
Regarding claim 9, such is taught by DE102017222645 (DE102017222645: figs 1-10).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744