The amendment filed August 21, 2025 has been entered.
Claim 2, 4, and 7 are amended.
Claim 15 is cancelled
Claims 1-14 and 16-17 are pending this application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Bai (CN113238268A).
Regarding Claim 1, Bai discloses precise point positioning (PPP), PPP, method performed by a satellite navigation device, comprising [0060]:
- receiving multiple positioning signals from a plurality of navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system using a multi-frequency receiver [0060 for a receiver for both satellite and network data];
- receiving space segment correction data for the navigation satellites of the satellite- based navigation system [0060, 0063];
- separately requesting and receiving local assistance data, wherein the local assistance data represents atmospheric errors in the vicinity of the satellite navigation device [0060, 0062 for regional (local) correction];
and - computing at least one of a precise position or time based on the received positioning signals, the space segment correction data and the local assistance data [0060].
Regarding Claim 3, Bai discloses the following steps performed repeatedly during the operation of the satellite navigation device [0017]:
- receiving current space segment correction data [0019-0020];
- receiving current positioning signals from a plurality of the navigation satellites using the multi-frequency receiver [0018-0020];
- estimating updated atmospheric errors for each one of the received positioning signals based on the current space segment correction data and previously determined atmospheric errors in absence of current local assistance data [0024-0027];
and - determining a precise position or time of the satellite navigation device based on the current position signals, the current space segment correction data and the estimated, updated atmospheric errors [0024-0027].
Regarding Claim 5, Bai discloses the local assistance data is received in response to a corresponding request comprising position data related to an approximate position of the satellite navigation device and/or satellite data related to at last one navigation satellite from which at least one of the positioning signals is received [0042-0045].
Regarding Claim 6, Bai discloses before the request is sent, the satellite navigation device determines an approximate position of the satellite navigation device [0060];
and - the request comprises position data related to the determined approximate position [0060, 0062 for regional (local) correction].
Regarding Claim 8, Bai discloses the space segment correction data comprises satellite clock correction data, satellite orbit correction data, and/or satellite bias correction data for at least one constellation of navigation satellites [0043-0044];
and/or - the local assistance data comprises ionospheric error data and/or tropospheric error data for at least one position within the vicinity of the satellite navigation device [0043-0044, 0084].
Regarding Claim 16, Bai discloses one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a satellite navigation device, cause the at least one processor of the satellite navigation device to perform operations comprising [0060]:
receiving multiple positioning signals from a plurality of navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system using a multi-frequency receiver [0060 for a receiver for both satellite and network data];
receiving space segment correction data for the navigation satellites of the satellite-based navigation system [0060-0063];
separately requesting and receiving local assistance data, wherein the local assistance data represents atmospheric errors in the vicinity of the satellite navigation device [0060-0063];
and computing at least one of a precise position or time based on the received positioning signals, the space segment correction data and the local assistance data [0060-0064].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (CN113238268A) in view of Zhang (US 2020/0209407 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Bai teaches the computing comprises [0014]:
- computing corrections for each one of the received positioning signals to determine phase relationships between the received positioning signals using a PPP with ambiguity resolution (PPP-AR) [0014],
algorithm based on the space segment correction data and the local assistance data, wherein ambiguities in the determined phase relationships are resolved using the received local assistance data [0014-0015].
Bai fails to explicitly teach carrier phase corrections.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches carrier phase corrections [0039-0040].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to remove certain errors from the coarse position estimates (Zhang, 0030).
Regarding Claim 4, Bai fails to explicitly teach the local assistance data is received only once, during an initialization or re-synchronization step of the satellite navigation device.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches the local assistance data is received only once, in particular during an initialization or re-synchronization step of the satellite navigation device [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to accelerate convergence of the extended Kalman filter (Zhang, 0043).
Regarding Claim 7, Bai teaches the space segment correction data is received over a broadcast channel, via at least one of the navigation satellites [0044-0046];
and the local assistance data is requested and received via a bidirectional communication network [0044-0047];
and/or - the space segment correction data is received over a first transmission channel providing a data stream with a fixed first bandwidth [0045-0047];
and the local assistance data is received over a second transmission channel providing individual data messages with a variable second bandwidth [0060, 0091 for having a large bandwidth and means for reducing bandwidth].
Bai fails to explicitly teach a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter [0032].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the satellite type calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to receive adjustment data from a communications satellite (Zhang, 0032).
Regarding Claim 9, Bai teaches satellite navigation device, comprising [0060]:
- a multi-frequency receiver configured to receive multiple positioning signals from a plurality of navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system [0060 for a receiver for both satellite and network data];
- a first interface configured to obtain space segment correction data for the navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system of the satellite-based navigation system [0060-0061, 0084];
- a second interface configured to request and obtain local assistance data wherein the local assistance data represents atmospheric errors in the vicinity of the satellite navigation device [0063-0064];
and - a processing unit configured to execute a precise point positioning PPP, algorithm to compute at least one of a precise position or time [0060],
wherein - the PPP algorithm resolves ambiguities between signals received by the multi-frequency receiver using the received positioning signals, the obtained space segment correction data and an estimate of atmospheric errors [0060-0061, 0084]
and- the local assistance data is used to speed up an initial determination of the atmospheric errors affecting the navigation signals received by the multi-frequency receiver [0060, 0062 for regional (local) correction].
Bai fails to explicitly teach wherein - the PPP algorithm resolves carrier phase ambiguities between signals.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches wherein - the PPP algorithm resolves carrier phase ambiguities between signals [0039-0040].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to remove certain errors from the coarse position estimates (Zhang, 0030).
Regarding Claim 10, Bai teaches - a transceiver configured to perform bidirectional communication with a communication network [0060];
wherein - the first interface is configured to receive a data stream comprising the space segment correction data from a broadcast channel, in particular a satellite broadcast channel received using the multi-frequency receiver [0060-0061, 0084];
and - the second interface is configured to send a request to and receive a corresponding response from a service provider via the communication network using the transceiver [0063-0064].
Claim 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (CN113238268A) in view of McBurney (US 2011/0254730 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Bai discloses a method for providing assistance data to at least one satellite navigation device, the method being performed by at least one service provider, comprising [0083-0084]:
-determining space segment correction data for navigation satellites of a satellite-based positioning system, the space segment correction data comprising satellite clock correction data, satellite orbit correction data, and/or satellite bias correction data for at least one constellation of navigation satellites [0060-0061, 0084];
- broadcasting the space segment correction data to a plurality of satellite navigation devices [0086];
- determining first local assistance data, the first local assistance data comprising ionospheric and/or tropospheric correction data for a first area [0060-0061, 0084];
and - transmitting the first local assistance data to a first satellite navigation device in response to a first request received from the first satellite navigation device, the first request being related to an approximate position within the first area [0060-0061, 0084].
Bai fails to explicitly teach - wait for requests for assistance data, each received request being related to an approximate position of a corresponding satellite navigation device.
McBurney has a satellite navigation system assistance server is configured to reply to client requests that include an indication of the client's location, and if an accurate location is included in the server request (abstract) and teaches wait for requests for assistance data, each received request being related to an approximate position of a corresponding satellite navigation device [0025,0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the time calculations as taught by McBurney for the purpose to reduce data traffic (McBurney, 0036).
Regarding Claim 17, Bai discloses one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by at least one server of at least one service provider, cause the at least one server of the at least one service provider to perform operations comprising [0060]:
determining space segment correction data for navigation satellites of a satellite- based positioning system, the space segment correction data comprising satellite clock correction data, satellite orbit correction data, and/or satellite bias correction data for at least one constellation of navigation satellites [0043-0044, 0060];
broadcasting the space segment correction data to a plurality of satellite navigation devices [0060-0063];
determining first local assistance data, the first local assistance data comprising ionospheric and/or tropospheric correction data for a first area [0060-0061, 0084];
and transmitting the first local assistance data to a first satellite navigation device in response to a first request received from the first satellite navigation device, the first request being related to an approximate position within the first area [0060-0063].
Bai fails to explicitly teach wait for requests for assistance data, each received request being related to an approximate position of a corresponding satellite navigation device.
McBurney has a satellite navigation system assistance server is configured to reply to client requests that include an indication of the client's location, and if an accurate location is included in the server request (abstract) and teaches wait for requests for assistance data, each received request being related to an approximate position of a corresponding satellite navigation device [0025,0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the time calculations as taught by McBurney for the purpose to reduce data traffic (McBurney, 0036).
Claim 12-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (CN113238268A) in view of McBurney (US 2011/0254730 A1), as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view Zhang (US 2020/0209407 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Bai fails to explicitly teach the space segment correction data is broadcast by the at least one service provider repeatedly to the plurality of satellite navigation devices via at least one of the navigation satellites, a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter; and/or - the local assistance data is transmitted by the at least one service provider in response to the first request via a bidirectional communication network.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches the space segment correction data is broadcast by the at least one service provider repeatedly to the plurality of satellite navigation devices via at least one of the navigation satellites, a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter [0032]
and/or - the local assistance data is transmitted by the at least one service provider in response to the first request via a bidirectional communication network [0032].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the satellite type calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to receive adjustment data from a communications satellite (Zhang, 0032).
Regarding Claim 13, Bai discloses an assistance server, comprising [0060]:
- a communication interface, configured for assistance data from at least one satellite navigation device, each request being related to an approximate position of the at least one satellite navigation device [0060];
and - a processing unit configured to determine local assistance data for resolving ambiguities in determined relationships by a precise point positioning PPP [0060],
algorithm of at least satellite navigation device located within a first area, the local assistance data comprising ionospheric and/or tropospheric correction data for a first area [0060, 0084];
- wherein the communication interface is further configured to transmit the local assistance data in response to a first request received from a first satellite navigation device, the first request being related to an approximate position within the first area [0060-0063].
Bai fails to explicitly teach a communication interface configured to wait for requests for assistance data.
McBurney has a satellite navigation system assistance server is configured to reply to client requests that include an indication of the client's location, and if an accurate location is included in the server request (abstract) and teaches a communication interface configured to wait for requests for assistance data [0025,0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the time calculations as taught by McBurney for the purpose to reduce data traffic (McBurney, 0036).
Bai fails to explicitly teach determined carrier phase relationships by a precise point positioning PPP.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches determined carrier phase relationships by a precise point positioning PPP [0039-0040].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to remove certain errors from the coarse position estimates (Zhang, 0030).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai (CN113238268A) in view of Zhang (US 2020/0209407 A1) and further in view McBurney (US 2011/0254730 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Bai discloses a satellite-based positioning system, comprising [0060]:
- at least one satellite navigation device comprising [0060]:
a multi-frequency receiver configured to receive multiple positioning signals from a plurality of navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system [0060 for a receiver for both satellite and network data];
a first interface configured to obtain space segment correction data for the navigation satellites of a satellite-based navigation system of the satellite-based navigation system [0060-0061, 0084];
a second interface configured to request and obtain local assistance data wherein the local assistance data represents atmospheric errors in the vicinity of the satellite navigation device [0063-0064];
and a processing unit configured to execute a precise point positioning (PPP) algorithm to compute at least one of a precise position or time, wherein [0060]:
the PPP algorithm resolves ambiguities between signals received by the multi-frequency receiver using the received positioning signals [0060-0063],
the obtained space segment correction data and an estimate of atmospheric errors 0043, 0060-0063];
and the local assistance data is used to speed up an initial determination of the atmospheric errors affecting the navigation signals received by the multi-frequency receiver [0060 for a receiver for both satellite and network data];
- an assistance server comprising [0060-0064]:
a communication interface, configured for requests for assistance data from the at least one satellite navigation device, each request being related to an approximate position of the at least one satellite navigation device [0060-0063];
and a processing unit configured to determine local assistance data for resolving ambiguities in determined carrier phase relationships by the PPP algorithm of at least one satellite navigation device located within a first area [0060],
the local assistance data comprising at least one of ionospheric or tropospheric correction data for a first area [0060-0063];
wherein the communication interface is further configured to transmit the local assistance data in response to a first request received from a first satellite navigation device, the first request being related to an approximate position within the first area [0060];
and- a space segment correction provider, wherein the space segment correction provider is configured to broadcast the space segment correction data to the at least one satellite navigation device via a broadcast channel [0060-0063];
and the assistance server is configured to transmit the local assistance data to the at least one satellite navigation device via a bidirectional communication network in response to receiving a corresponding request from the at least one satellite navigation device [0060-0063].
Bai fails to explicitly teach determining carrier phase relationships and in particular via at least one of the navigation satellites, a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter.
Zhang has method includes receiving global navigation satellite system signals from a plurality of global navigation satellite system satellites (abstract) and teaches determined carrier phase relationships by a precise point positioning PPP [0039-0040]
at least one of the navigation satellites, a geostationary communication satellite, a low earth orbit communication satellite, or a terrestrial transmitter [0032].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the carrier phase calculations as taught by Zhang for the purpose to remove certain errors from the coarse position estimates (Zhang, 0030).
Bai fails to explicitly teach an interface configured to wait for requests for assistance data.
McBurney has a satellite navigation system assistance server is configured to reply to client requests that include an indication of the client's location, and if an accurate location is included in the server request (abstract) and teaches an interface configured to wait for requests for assistance data [0025,0036].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the satellite position techniques, as disclosed by Bai, further including the time calculations as taught by McBurney for the purpose to reduce data traffic (McBurney, 0036).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a
general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
On page 2, 2nd paragraph applicant argues that there is no teaching for multiple positioning signals for a multi frequency receiver. Examiner respectfully disagrees: Bai teaches receiving multiple signals from navigation satellites is well known in the art such as for basic GPS receivers and for a PPP RTK system is more accurate therefore needs a greater number of visible satellites [Bai 0004-0005 for using PPP-RTK]. Bai teaches a device (terminal) requesting data for local error from a server and a reference station getting PPP and RTK information for regional atmospheric correction (local atmospheric errors) [Bai, 0012 for one frequency for satellite communication and another frequency for server communication (space and terrestrial signals need multi-frequency receiver)].
On page 3, 1st paragraph applicant argues that there is no teaching for multiple positioning signals for a multi frequency receiver. Examiner respectfully disagrees: using PPP RTK with a terrestrial server by definition requires multiple satellites and frequencies [Bai, 0004-0005].
On page 4, 2nd paragraph applicant argues that there is no teaching for broadcasting space segment corrections. Examiner respectfully disagrees: the terminal does receive space segment corrections (correcting both atmospheric-i.e. space errors and clock-i.e. time errors from propagating from satellite through ionosphere/troposphere to terminal on ground) and exchanging data with the server and multiple reference stations (means to broadcast and share data for precise positioning) [Bai, 0043-0044, and 0046].
On page 5, 4th paragraph applicant argues that there is no teaching for two-way communication therefore Bai cannot be combined with McBurney. Examiner respectfully disagrees: Two-way communication for satellite devices is well known in the art, and Bai clearly acknowledges and supports two-way communication [Bai, 0011]. Bai only limits the terminal accidently disclose its location information and using excessive bandwidth [Bai, 0012]. Furthermore, RTK is well known in the art for using two-way communications.
The examiner acknowledges that this is a broader interpretation than Applicant’s.
However, examiners are not only allowed to apply broad interpretations, but are required to do so, as it reduces the possibility that the claims, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. MPEP §2111. Patentability is determined by the “broadest reasonable interpretation
consistent with the specification” (MPEP §2111), not the narrowest reasonable interpretation. And Applicant does not have an explicit lexicographical statement in line with MPEP §2111.01
subsection IV requiring a specific interpretation of the relevant phrases which forces the examiner to interpret them only one way.
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648