DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CIP of parent U.S. Pat. App. No. 16/482,402 and provisional application 62/454,945. The limitations set forth in the instant claims 1-20 are supported by these disclosures, and therefore the instant claims receive a priority date of 06 February 2017.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 8802361) in view of Wang (US 20130131423) and Kawatani (US 20120318727).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, Lee discloses an organ preservation apparatus comprising a perfusion pump circuit having a cassette (Figure 1:12) configured to contain an organ (Figure 1:14) and a perfusion fluid for preservation of the organ. A first pump (Figure 1:20) and a first tubing (Figure 1:16) are fluidly coupled and configured to circulate the perfusion fluid through the organ via a first recirculation loop. Lee teaches that a second pump 20 and a second tubing (Figure 1:18) are also fluidly coupled to the cassette and are configured to circulate the perfusion fluid through a second recirculation loop. This is described in column 7, lines 6-17. Lee teaches that both the first and second recirculation loops may include a filter (Figure 1:28) configured to screen the perfusion fluid. Lee, however, does not expressly teach that this second recirculation loop is configured as a perfusion solution filtering device, such that the filter 28 is designed to remove virus and bacteria.
Wang discloses a perfusion solution filtering device comprising a filter (Figure 1:3) configured to separate a fluid containing a virus and/or bacteria. This is taught in paragraph [0061]. Cleaned perfusion fluid (Figure 1:7) is sent back to a source using a pump (Figure 1:2).
Kawatani discloses a perfusion solution filtering device comprising a filter (Figure 1:1) configured to separate a virus and/or bacteria from a circulating fluid. This is described in paragraphs [0191] and [0260].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to configure the filter in communication with Lee’s second pump and second tubing as a filter designed to remove virus and bacteria. Wang and Kawatani each teach that there is a need in the art to eliminate pathogens and contaminants from medical fluid, and that a possible solution is through filtration. Wang and Kawatani show how the properties of a filter may be adjusted to determine what viral and bacterial contaminants are selectively removed.
With respect to the limitation “consisting essentially of”, it is noted that although Lee shows in Fig. 1 that the organ perfusion system may include additional structures such as an air trap 30 and a heat exchanger 32, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that each of these features may be removed when not necessary or to reduce the cost of assembly and operation. In other words, it would have been obvious to arrange the modified Lee system to consist essentially of a perfusion pump circuit having a cassette and a first pump, a perfusion solution filtering device having a filter and a second pump, input tubing and output tubing. It is entirely within the ability of one of ordinary skill to choose not to use optional elements (e.g., oxygenator, bubble trap, heat exchanger) based on the organ to be perfused, the goals of the perfusion operation, to reduce costs, to simplify the construction of the system, or for essentially any other reason or for no reason. Furthermore, it is well established that the phrase “consisting essentially of” occupies a middle ground between closed claims that are written in a “consisting of” format and fully open claims that are drafted in a “comprising” format. Unlike the narrow limitation “consisting of”, the term “consisting essentially of” does not exclude features that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed invention. Here, the novel feature of the organ preservation device involves the use of a filter to identify a virus positive organ, and does not preclude auxiliary elements (e.g., oxygenator, bubble trap, heat exchanger) that operate according to well known principles.
With respect to claim 2, Lee, Wang and Kawatani disclose the combination as described above. Lee further states the pump may be a peristaltic pump (“The system 10 also includes one or more pumps 20, such as a peristaltic pump”).
With respect to claim 4, Lee, Wang and Kawatani disclose the combination as described above. Lee shows in Fig. 1 the required input and output tubing to connect the perfusion pump circuit and the modified perfusion solution filtering device.
With respect to claims 10, 14 and 18, Lee, Wang and Kawatani disclose the combination as described above. Lee discloses a corresponding method in which an organ is placed into the cassette, and the perfusion pump is operated to pass fluid through the first and second recirculation loops 16,18 in order to restore and preserve an organ for transplantation. Wang and Kawatani teach methods in which in which a perfusion solution filtering device is used to filter a perfusion fluid in order to remove a virus. Wang specifically states that the purpose is to remove a virus to produce a cleaned perfusion fluid. Wang teaches in paragraphs [0072] and [0073] that a fluid is first tested to identify a virus position condition and that the filter is operated until a cleaned fluid is produced.
With respect to claims 11-13, 15-17, 19 and 20, Lee, Wang and Kawatani disclose the combination as described above. Lee states in column 1, lines 26-39 that the organ to be transplanted may be a kidney. Wang teaches in paragraphs [0026], [0045] and [0062] that the virus to be removed in a hepatitis virus.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 8802361) in view of Wang (US 20130131423) and Kawatani (US 20120318727) as applied to claims 1, 4 and 7, and further in view of Wright (US 20040248281).
Lee, Wang and Kawatani disclose the combination as described above. Lee, however, does not teach sampling ports or a housing to contain the filter, pump and second tubing.
Wright discloses an organ preservation apparatus comprising a cassette for holding an organ (Figure 2:60). The cassette (Figure 2:65) is serviced by at least first and second tubings and first and second pumps. Paragraphs [0065]-[0069] teach that a housing (Figure 11:200) is provided for supporting a pump, a portion of tubing, and at least one filter. Wright further states in paragraphs [0049] and [0066] that sample ports (Figure 11:295) are provided to draw a liquid in or out of the tubing.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to provide the Lee system with a housing and sample ports to facilitate transport and maintenance of the organ. Wright teaches that these are common features in the tissue preservation art, and that enable improved handling and diagnostics. It is prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Brasile (US 20040038193), Linde (US 20050182349), Hassanein (US 6953655) and Mizomoto (US 20090127186) references teach the state of the art regarding organ transport and preservation.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799