Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2A, wherein the lithium manganese-based oxide is represented by Formula 1-1, and Species B1, wherein the barrier layer oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 2, in the reply filed 02/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, and 14-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species A1 and B2-B4, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/03/2026.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation, “at least some of an oxygen present” (line 8) should read “at least some of the oxygen present” as “oxide” (line 2) provides sufficient antecedent basis for oxygen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitation “the primary particle” (line 12) lacks antecedent basis thus rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear if “the primary particle” refers to one of the “plurality of primary particles” (line 7) or a different primary particle. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to read, “a primary particle”.
The claim limitation “at least a part of a surfaces of a primary particle and the secondary particle is present” (lines 12-13) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether applicant meant to claim at least a part of a surface of a primary particle and at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle, or at least a part of a surface of a primary particle or at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle. For the purposes of this office action, the claim has been interpreted to be, “at least a part of a surface of a primary particle and at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle”.
Claims 2-5, 7-13, and 19-20 are similarly rejected as being dependent from claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the claim limitation “the minor axis length” (line 2) lacks antecedent basis, thus rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the “the minor axis length” refers to one of the “minor axis lengths” of claim 1 (line 10), “minor axis lengths” in its plural form, or another minor length. For the purpose of this office action, “the claim limitation is interpreted to read, “a minimum value of the minor axis lengths”.
Regarding claim 3, the claim limitation “the minor axis length” (line 2) lacks antecedent basis, thus rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether “the minor axis length” refers to one of the “minor axis lengths” of claim 1 (line 10), “minor axis lengths” in its plural form, or another minor axis length. For the purpose of this office action, “the claim limitation is interpreted to read, “a maximum value of the minor axis lengths”.
Regarding claim 5, the claim limitation “a minor axis lengths”(line 2) renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether “a minor axis lengths” is the same as the “minor axis lengths” of claim 1 (line 10) or if it distinct “minor axis lengths”. For the purposes of this office action, the claim limitation has been interpreted to read, “an average value of a major axis lengths and the minor axis lengths”.
The claim limitation “([major axis length + minor axis length]/2) is 0.1 to 5 µm” (line 3) renders the claim indefinite as “major axis length” and “minor axis length” lack antecedent basis. It is unclear whether “major axis length” refers to one of the “a major axis lengths” previously established in claim 5 or otherwise. Similarly, it is unclear whether “minor axis length” refers to one of “a minor axis lengths” established in claim 5, “an average value of minor axis lengths” of claim 1, or otherwise. For the purpose of this office action, the claim limitation is interpreted to read, “([major axis lengths + minor axis lengths]/2)”.
Regarding claim 10, the claim limitation “the central portion” (lines 3-4) lacks antecedent basis, rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is considered central as the central portion could refer to the center with respect to the minor axis length, the major axis length, or the true center of the particle. For the purpose of the office action, the claim limitation is interpreted to read, “the barrier layer is present in a diffused state from a surface portion to a central portion of the secondary particle”.
Regarding claim 13, the claim limitation “the core of the lithium manganese-based oxide” (line 3) lacks antecedent basis, rendering the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether “the core” refers to the core of aggregated primary particles or the core of a given primary particle. For the purpose of this office action, the claim limitation is interpreted to read, “a core of the lithium manganese-based oxide”.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 9, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, the claim limitation, “the barrier layer is present to cover at least a part of the surface of the secondary particle” (lines 1-2) does not appear to properly limit claim 1, which previously claims, “a barrier layer that covers at least a part of the surface of a primary particle and at least a part of the surface of the secondary particle is present” (lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 11, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, the claim limitation, “the barrier layer is present to cover at least a part of the surface of the primary particle” (lines 1-2) does not appear to properly limit claim 1, which previously claims, “a barrier layer that covers at least a part of the surface of a primary particle and at least a part of the surface of the secondary particle is present” (lines 12-13).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 10236508 B2) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20120217435 A1), Dou et al. (US 20220181622 A1), and Yun (US 20220069301 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8-9, and 11, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, Ahn discloses a positive electrode active material (col. 1, lines 19-21) comprising a lithium-manganese based oxide (i.e. Li2MnO3—LiM’O2, col. 6, lines 11-13).
Ahn further discloses the lithium manganese-based oxide comprises a secondary particle formed by aggregating a plurality of primary particles (col. 15, lines 55-65, Fig 4A-B, Fig. 5A-B).
Ahn further discloses the lithium manganese-based oxide may be further doped with fluorine such that at least some of the oxygen present in the lithium manganese-based oxide are substituted with a halogen, specifically fluorine, as claimed in claim 8 (col. 7, lines 58-59. Formula 3).
Ahn further discloses Li2MnO3—LiM’O2 in which Li2MO3 phase is complexed on a layer of a LiM’O2 phase, where the Li2MnO3 is not simply mixed with the LiM’O2 phase, but rather integrated into a layered crystalline structure of the LiM’O-2 phase (col. 6, lines 11-16).
Ahn does not explicitly disclose a phase belonging to a C2/m space group and a phase belonging to an R3-m space group are dissolved or complexed, but appears to inherently possess such for the following reasons.
Yamamoto discloses the compound having the crystal system belonging to the C2/m space group preferably includes compounds represented by: Li2M’1-yMnyO3 wherein M’ is Ni and/or Co; 0<y≤1 ([0032]), and the compound having the crystal system belonging to the R-3m space group preferably includes compounds represented by the formula: LiMxMn1-xO2 where M is Ni and/or Co; 0<x≤1, specific examples include LiCoxMn1-xO2, Li2NixMn1-xO2, and Li(Ni,Co)xMn1-xO2 ([0030]).
In selecting a compound having the crystal system belonging to the C2/m space group (i.e. Li2MnO3), and a compound having the crystal system belonging to the R-3m space group (i.e. LiM’O2) which are complexed, a skilled artisan would expect the active material of Ahn to necessarily and inherently have a phase belonging to a C2/m space group (i.e. Li2MnO3) and a phase belonging to an R-3m space group (i.e. LiM’O2) that are complexed.
Ahn discloses an average diameter of the lithium manganese-based oxide to be about 10 nm to about 500 µm (col. 7, lines 60-67) but does not explicitly disclose an average value of minor axis lengths of the primary particles.
Dou teaches a lithium transition metal oxide where the major axis length (i.e. length) of the primary particles ranges from 100 to 1000 nm and a minor axis length (i.e. width) of the primary particles ranges from 50 nm to 400 nm ([0102]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 130 to 400 nm. Dou further teaches when the primary particles in the secondary particles satisfy this range, the positive electrode active material can have high lithium-ion transmission performance, relatively high compacted density, appropriate specific surface area and high mechanical strength ([103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have selected within the overlapping portion of the ranges for the average value of minor axis lengths with reasonable expectation of success in achieving a positive electrode active material with satisfactory lithium-transmission performance, compacted density, specific surface area, and high mechanical strength of the positive active material.
Ahn is silent regarding a barrier layer that covers at least a part of a surface of a primary particle and at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle is present.
Yun teaches the barrier layer (i.e. first boron coating portion) covering at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle, as claimed in claim 9, and the barrier layer (i.e. second boron coating portion) covering at least a part of a surface of a primary particle in the inner portion of the secondary particles, as claimed in claim 11 ([0051]). Yun further teaches that in having a positive active material coated with boron on the secondary particle surface and at the inner grain boundaries simultaneously, the boron may no longer contribute to resistance but may secure structural stability of the positive active material and reduce the buildup of interface resistance between the positive active material and the electrolyte, thus improving capacity and lifetime characteristics of the battery ([0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have improved the lithium manganese-based oxide active material with a barrier layer that covers at least a part of a surface of a primary particle and at least a part of a surface of the secondary particle, in order to achieve structural stability and reduce interface resistance, as taught by Yun.
Regarding claims 2-4, modified Ahn discloses all claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn discloses a minor axis length of primary particles being 130 to 400 nm, as rendered obvious above (Dou, [0102]), satisfying the claim limitation, “a minimum value of axis length measured for the primary particle exposed on the surface of the secondary particle is higher than 75 nm”, of claim 2, and the claim limitation, “a maximum value of the minor axis length measured for the primary particle exposed on a surface of the secondary particle is 500 nm or less” of claim 3. In all primary particles of Modified Ahn satisfying the range of 130 to 400 nm for the minor axis length, the primary particles exposed on the surface of the secondary particle must necessarily also be within the disclosed range such that the claim limitations are met.
Similarly, the claim limitation, “wherein a proportion of primary particles having the minor axis length of 100 nm or more among the primary particles exposed on a surface of the secondary particle is more than 80% and 100% or less” of claim 4 is met as all the primary particles of Modified Yamamoto possess a minor axis length between 130 to 400 nm, such that 100% of the primary particles exposed on the surface have a minor axis length greater than 100 nm.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the 112(b) rejection above, modified Ahn discloses all claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn discloses the lithium transition metal oxide where the major axis length (i.e. length) of the primary particles ranges from 100 to 1000 nm and a minor axis length (i.e. width) of the primary particles ranges from 130 nm to 400 nm (Dou, [0102]), as rendered obvious above, wherein the primary particles include the primary particles exposed on a surface of the secondary particle.
Modified Ahn further teaches when the primary particles in the secondary particles satisfy this range, the positive electrode active material can have high lithium-ion transmission performance, relatively high compacted density, appropriate specific surface area and high mechanical strength (Dou, [0102-0103]).
Dou further teaches the desire to control an aspect ratio of the primary particle where the aspect ratio is a ratio of the major axis length to the minor axis length (i.e. ratio of the length to the width) of primary particle as it may lead to better improved energy density, high-temperature storage performance, and high-temperature cycling performance of the battery ([0017];[0104]).
The disclosed ranges for the minor and major axis lengths yields a range of an average value of a major axis lengths and minor axis lengths of the primary particles exposed on a surface of the secondary particle, ([major axis lengths + minor axis lengths]/2), to be 0.13 to 0.7 µm, which is wholly within the claimed range of 0.1 to 5 µm.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ahn discloses all claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn discloses a lithium manganese-based oxide may represented by an exemplary embodiment where the active material is further doped with fluorine, represented by, xLi2MnO3-δFδ-(1-x)LiNi1-a’-a’’-bCoa’Mna’’M”bO2-δ’Fδ’ (Ahn, col. 7, lines 58-69, Formula 3) which significantly overlaps with the claimed Formula 1-1, rLi2MnO-3-b”Xb” ∙ (1-r)Lia’M1x’M2y’O2-b’Xb’, of claim 7.
Regarding claims 12, modified Ahn discloses all claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn discloses a barrier layer (i.e. boron coating) comprising a first oxide (i.e. boron oxide) for example LiBO2, Li2B4O7, Li3BO3 (Yun, [0051]), all of which are disclosed with sufficient specificity and are within the scope of the claimed Formula 2, LiCBdM3eOf, of claim 12.
Regarding claims 19-20, modified Ahn discloses all claim limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn discloses a positive electrode comprising the positive electrode active material of claim 1 as claimed in claim 19 (Ahn, col. 1, lines 19-21), and a lithium secondary battery (i.e. lithium battery) using the positive electrode as claimed in claim 20 (Ahn, col. 1, lines 19-21).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (US 10236508 B2) in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 20120217435 A1), Dou et al. (US 20220181622 A1), and Yun (US 20220069301 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Liu et al. (JP 2016139583 A).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, modified Ahn discloses all limitations as set forth above.
Modified Ahn further discloses the amount for the first boron coating on the surface of the secondary particles may be greater than the weight or amount of the second boron coating portion on the surface of the primary particles where the first boron coating may be around about 80 to 95 wt% while the second boron coating may be around about 5 to 20 wt% (Yun, [0051];[0054]).
While modified Ahn does not explicitly disclose the positive electrode active material wherein a gradient in which the concentration of boron decreases from the barrier layer to a core of the lithium manages-based oxide is formed, a skilled artisan would recognize the greater wt% of boron on the surface of the secondary particles compared to the wt of boron on the surface of the primary particles suggests a decrease in concentration of boron from the surface of the secondary particles to the surface of the primary particles.
Liu teaches a similar cathode active material (i.e. LizNiaCObMncO2, [0012]) that is metal-gradient-doped where the modifying metal may be boron ([0001];[0012]). Liu further teaches when the modifying metal is relatively concentrated on the surface of the positive electrode material powder, and exhibits a concentration of continuity towards the core, a continuous concentration dope gradient is formed ([0012]). Furthermore, Liu teaches in having a relatively high concentration of the modifying metal on the surface, the reactivity of the active material to the electrolyte is lowered, improving operation stability of the battery ([0012]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have improved the barrier layer of modified Ahn such that a gradient in which the concentration of B decreases from the barrier layer to a core of the lithium transition manganese oxide is formed, as claimed in claim 13, for the benefit of lowering the reactivity of the active material with the electrolyte and improving operation stability of the overall battery, as taught by Liu.
Modified Ahn further discloses the barrier layer is present on the outermost surface of the secondary particle and along the inner grain boundaries or between the primary particles in the inner portion of the secondary particles (Yun, [0050];[0052]), which is within the scope of the claimed “wherein the grain boundary is defined between adjacent primary particles” of claim 10.
Modified Ahn does not explicitly disclose the barrier layer being present in a diffused state from a surface portion of the secondary particle along the grain boundary.
However, in disclosing a gradient, Modified Ahn reasonably also discloses a diffused state given that a gradient entails mass shifted from a high-concentration area to a low-concentration area, therefore rendering obvious the claim limitation, “barrier layer is present in a diffused state from a surface portion to a central portion of the secondary particle along the grain boundary” of claim 10.
Conclusion
/E.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 3/31/2026