Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, 19,and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunoo (US4047310 A), with supporting evidence from custom foot orthotics, in view of Aruin (US 2014/0033565 A1) and further in view of Gallagher (US 2014/0142614 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Sunoo teaches a method for manufacturing a somatosensation and proprioceptor stimulation surface comprising a plurality of protuberances in a graticulate array (see figure) comprising:
(a) placing material into a mold devised to mold the material into a surface comprising a plurality of protuberances which are projected upwardly from the surface and which are configured to stimulate cutaneous receptors in glabrous skin of a person when pressed in contact with the glabrous skin of the person (column 2 lines 66-column 3 lines 3), (in order to mold a surface, it is implicit that material is placed in a mold device with the desired shape of the surface.
wherein each of said protuberances comprises an acute apex (24); a medial portion (26); and a base (12);
wherein a plurality of protuberances is distributed in a graticulate array (figure 1 and figure 4,), and
(b) forming a somatosensation and proprioceptor stimulation surface in the mold (column 2 lines 66-column 3 lines 3 discloses inner sole is a single unit so the somatosensation and proprioceptor simulation are formed in the mold); and
(c) removing the somatosensation and proprioceptor stimulation surface from the mold (NPL discloses removing the mold product form the mold (step 4 and 5).
Sunoo teaches the protuberances have a shape which is pyramidal or ovate (see figure 3)
Sunoo does not explicitly disclose wherein each protuberance is not more than about 1 mm apart between each base, has a Shore hardness of approximately 30 A or harder, has a shape which is pyramidal, conical, ovate, or any other three-dimensional shape accommodative of widening from the apex to the base over a definite height and is not more than about 5 mm apart between each apex
However, analogous somatosensorial and proprioceptor stimulation art, Aruin, discloses the plurality of protuberances is not more than about 1 mm apart between each base(“the distance D may be about 1 mm [0041]), and is not more than 5 mm apart between each apex [0041]. About includes sizes such as 0.9 mm which is about 1 mm. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping ranges is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the plurality of protuberances is not more than about 1 mm apart between each base, for the benefit of aiding for inducing a physiologically desirable movement or altering an established pattern of movement in a user of the aid [0028] as taught by Aruin into the method taught by Sunoo.
Although Sunoo and Aruin do not explicitly disclose a Shore hardness of approximately 30 A or harder, one ordinary skill in the art would look to conventional art to determine the hardness typically used in somatosensorial and proprioceptor stimulation surface. Analogous somatosensorial art, Gallagher, discloses a shore A hardness of 10-150 which overlaps with Applicant’s range of 30 A or higher for the benefit of leaving an indentation or impression in a user’s skin but does not pierce, penetrate or other cause permanent damage to the user’s skin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated of a rubber composition having a durometer of about Shore A hardness of 10-150, which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range of 30 A or harder, in order of leaving an indentation or impression in a user’s skin but does not pierce, penetrate or other cause permanent damage to the user’s skin.
Gallagher also discloses gesticulate array in figure 1A [0070 -0071]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a graticulate array for the benefit of increasing blood circulation in the area, cause irritation to inhibit or discourage fluid from building up in soft tissues, or provide some other physiological difference resulting in a decreased appearance of cellulite in the area [0071].
Regarding claim 12, Sunoo discloses wherein the stimulation surface is in the form of an insole (figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Gallagher discloses the stimulation surface is in the form of a mat (figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, although Sunoo does not explicitly disclose the surface is in the form of the floor, however, the mat is considered a flooring material which is taught by figure 1. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, Sunoo does not explicitly disclose the plurality of protuberances is about 1 mm apart between each base. Aruin, discloses the plurality of protuberances is about 1 mm apart between each base(“the distance D may be about 1 mm [0041]). MPEP 2144.05 discloses overlapping ranges are a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the plurality of protuberances about 1 mm apart between each base for the benefit of aiding for inducing a physiologically desirable movement or altering an established pattern of movement in a user of the aid [0028] as taught by Aruin into the method taught by Sunoo.
Regarding claim 24, Sunoo teaches method for manufacturing a somatosensation and proprioceptor stimulation surface comprising a plurality of protuberances in a graticulate array, comprising:
(a) placing material into a mold devised to mold the material into a surface comprising a plurality of protuberances which are projected upwardly from the surface and which are configured to stimulate cutaneous receptors in glabrous skin of a person when pressed in contact with the glabrous skin of the person (column 2 lines 66-column 3 lines 3), (in order to mold a surface, it is implicit that material is placed in a mold device with the desired shape of the surface.
wherein each of said protuberances comprises an acute apex (24); a medial portion (26); and a base (12);
Sunoo does not explicitly disclose wherein each protuberance is about 0.5 mm apart between each base, is 1.5 mm in height, has a Shore hardness of approximately 30 A or harder, has a shape which is pyramidal, conical, ovate, or any other three-dimensional shape accommodative of widening from the apex to the base over a definite height and is not more than about 5 mm apart between each apex
However, analogous somatosensorial and proprioceptor stimulation art, Aruin, discloses the plurality of protuberances is not more than about 1 mm apart between each base(“the distance D may be about 1 mm [0041]), about is 1.5 mm in height (height may be about 2 mm which is close to 1.5 mm [0042]), and is not more than 5 mm apart between each apex [0041]. MPEP 2144.04 states overlapping ranges is a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the plurality of protuberances is not more than about 1 mm apart between each base, is about 1.5 mm in height for the benefit of aiding for inducing a physiologically desirable movement or altering an established pattern of movement in a user of the aid [0028] as taught by Aruin into the method taught by Sunoo.
Although Sunoo and Aruin do not explicitly disclose a Shore hardness of approximately 30 A or harder, one ordinary skill in the art would look to conventional art to determine the hardness typically used in somatosensorial and proprioceptor stimulation surface. Analogous art, Bacon discloses the central region (30) is preferably made of a relatively soft material such as rubber. For example, the interior region (30) may be made of a rubber composition having a durometer of about 50 to about 70 Shore A points, preferably about 55 to about 65 Shore A points, and more preferably about 58 to about 62 Shore A points [0034]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated of a rubber composition having a durometer of about 50 to about 70 Shore A points, which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range of 30 A or harder, in order to ensure a rubber composition that is both sturdy and soft.
Regarding claim 25 and 26, Sunoo teaches wherein the stimulation surface is not in the form of a mat (figure 1 and 2 are for shoes).
Claim(s) 15-18 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunoo (US4047310 A) in view of Aruin (US 2014/0033565 A1) and further in view of Gallagher (US 2014/0142614 A1), and further in view of Bacon (US2015/0096195 A1).
Regarding claims 15-18, Sunoo does not explicitly disclose having a durometer of about 50 to about 70 Shore A points. However, analogous art, Bacon, discloses the central region (30) is preferably made of a relatively soft material such as rubber. Analogous somatosensorial art, Gallagher, discloses a shore A hardness of 10-150 which overlaps with Applicant’s range of 30 -70 A for the benefit of leaving an indentation or impression in a user’s skin but does not pierce, penetrate or other cause permanent damage to the user’s skin. MPEP 2144.05 discloses In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. Further, conventional somatosensorial art Bacon, teaches the interior region (30) may be made of a rubber composition having a durometer of about 50 to about 70 Shore A [0034]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated of a rubber composition having a durometer of about 50 to about 70 Shore A, which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range of 30 A to 70 Shore A in order to ensure a rubber composition that is both sturdy and soft.
Regarding claims 20-23, Aruin teaches wherein each of the plurality of protuberances is about 1 mm apart between each base [0041]. MPEP 2144.05 discloses overlapping ranges are a prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the plurality of protuberances of about 1 mm apart between each base for the benefit of aiding for inducing a physiologically desirable movement or altering an established pattern of movement in a user of the aid [0028] as taught by Aruin into the method taught by Sunoo.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: NPL Custom Foot orthotics
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754