Response to Arguments
The following is in response to the applicant’s remarks filed 1/13/26.
The applicant submits that the previous rejection is improper as the cited reference does not teach each and every limitation of the claim. Specifically, the applicant argues that the safety device of Kang cannot be reasonably be interpreted to be considered a busbar, and further that the connection parts (power lines (131)) are not part of the safety device.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains that the rejection relies on an entirely reasonable interpretation of Kang which is consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the specification. A busbar is generally a structure which creates an electrical pathway. Then, it is reasonable to interpret the safety device of Kang which is an electrically conductive structure as a busbar. The powers lines (131)(132) of Kang are integral to the function of the safety device (120). Then, it is reasonable to interpret the power lines to be a part of the safety device. Then, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by Kang, KR20170039445A (In IDS filed 09/17/2024)(see attached machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a busbar (safety device)[0001] comprising:
a first busbar part (busbar (141) and power line (131))[fig. 1] having a first connection part (power line (131)) that is connected to a battery (111)[fig. 1], and a first conductive part (busbar (141)) that is connected continuous to the first connection part (131)[fig. 1]; and
a second busbar part (other busbar (141) and other power line (131)) than the first busbar and power line disposed on busbar terminal (121a))[fig. 1] having a second connection part (other power line (131) than the first)[fig.1 ] that is connected to a battery (111) different from the battery that is connected to the first connection part [fig. 1], and a second conductive part (other busbar (141) than the first) that is connected continuous to the second connection part (131) and has a greater resistance value than that of the first conductive part (larger busbar has less resistance than smaller busbars)[0047],
wherein a current diverting part that diverts a current is formed in the first conductive part such that a shortest path of the current flowing through the first conductive part increases in length (adjusting portion (141a) changes current path within conductive parts to increase resistance)[0055][fig. 5], thereby increasing an amount of heat generated in the first conductive part to be more than when the current diverting part is not formed (It is known that increasing the resistance of a conductive part increases the amount of heat generated; then increasing resistance inherently increases heat generated).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 1. wherein the amount of heat generated (resistance value which inherently controls heat generated) in the first conductive part is substantially equal to an amount of heat generated in the second conductive part (busbars resistance is equalized)[0058].
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 1, wherein the current diverting part has a slit (141a)[fig. 5].
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 1, further comprising: a coupling part (busbar terminal (121a)) that connects the first conductive part and the second conductive part (connects busbars (141))[fig. 1].
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 4, wherein the battery that is connected to the first connection part and the battery that is connected to the second connection part are connected in parallel [fig. 1].
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches a busbar comprising:
a first busbar part (busbar (141) and power line (131))[fig. 1] having a first connection part (power line (131)) that is connected to a connection target (battery (111))[fig. 1], and a first conductive part (busbar (141)) that is connected continuous to the first connection part (131)[fig. 1]; and
a second busbar part (other busbar (141) and other power line (131)) than the first busbar and power line disposed on busbar terminal (121a))[fig. 1] having a second connection part (other power line (131) than the first)[fig.1 ] that is connected to a connection target (battery (111)) different from the connection target that is connected to the first connection part [fig. 1], and a second conductive part (other busbar (141) than the first) that is connected continuous to the second connection part (131) and has a greater resistance value than that of the first conductive part (larger busbar has less resistance than smaller busbars)[0047],
wherein a current diverting part that diverts a current is formed in the first conductive part such that a shortest path of the current flowing through the first conductive part increases in length (adjusting portion (141a) changes current path within conductive parts to increase resistance)[0055][fig. 5], thereby increasing an amount of heat generated in the first conductive part to be more than when the current diverting part is not formed (It is known that increasing the resistance of a conductive part increases the amount of heat generated; then increasing resistance inherently increases heat generated).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 7, wherein the current diverting part has a slit (141a)[fig. 5].
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 7, further comprising: a coupling part that connects the first conductive part and the second conductive part (busbar terminal (121a))[fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang, KR20170039445A.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 1.
Kang does not teach wherein the first conductive part and the second conductive part are substantially the same in width and thickness, and the first conductive part has a shorter length than the second conductive part.
However, Kang teaches changes the shapes of the first and second conductive parts to control the resulting resistance values [0058]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to arrive at the claimed shapes as an obvious change in shape with a reasonable expectation of controlling resistance as taught by Kang.
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches the busbar according to claim 7.
Kang does not teach wherein the first conductive part and the second conductive part are substantially the same in width and thickness, and the first conductive part has a shorter length than the second conductive part.
However, Kang teaches changing the shapes of the first and second conductive parts to control the resulting resistance values [0058]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to arrive at the claimed shapes as an obvious change in shape with a reasonable expectation of controlling resistance as taught by Kang.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724