Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
The action is reply to Application filed of December 23, 2025. Claims 1-8 and 21-32 are currently pending. Claims 9-20 are cancelled by applicant. Claims 1-8 are amended by applicant. Claims 1-8 and 21-32 are being examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2023 has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a command and control unit” and “wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust” in claims 1 and 30, line 3 and lines 12-14, and corresponding to the structural element 104 which includes a microcontroller or logic circuit within the command and control unit 14 so that the device 10 may signal to outside observers or operators the current status or operational state of the device 10 as described in paragraph 056; This limitation shall be constructed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof of performing the claimed limitation;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of wheels and the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire” in lines 12-14. However, upon a review of the specification, the examiner cannot find any recitation of the command and control unit being configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire. The examiner acknowledges that a spring 41 disposed between the spring housing 39 and a fixed end portion 43 of the support rod 35 allows the support rod 35 to automatically adjust to a change in diameter of the wire 12 as the device 10 is traversing across its length as described in paragraph 058 and each sub-unit 106 also comprises a support wheel 120c coupled to the sub-unit 106 by a support rod 135 and a spring 141. Because each sub-unit 106 comprises its own support wheel 120c and support rod 135, each sub-unit 106 may independently and automatically adjust or compensate for a change in diameter of the wire 102 onto which the sub-unit 106 is currently disposed as described in paragraph 074. However, there is the original disclosure does not explicitly disclose that the command and control unit is the component that is dynamically adjusting the first plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire or that the command and control unit is controlling the support rod and spring to cause the first plurality of wheels to move and compensate for changes in a diameter. As such the limitation is being regarded as new matter.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire” in lines 12-14. However, upon a review of the specification, the examiner cannot find any recitation of the command and control unit being configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in the diameter of the second electrical wire. The examiner acknowledges that a spring 41 disposed between the spring housing 39 and a fixed end portion 43 of the support rod 35 allows the support rod 35 to automatically adjust to a change in diameter of the wire 12 as the device 10 is traversing across its length as described in paragraph 058 and each sub-unit 106 also comprises a support wheel 120c coupled to the sub-unit 106 by a support rod 135 and a spring 141. Because each sub-unit 106 comprises its own support wheel 120c and support rod 135, each sub-unit 106 may independently and automatically adjust or compensate for a change in diameter of the wire 102 onto which the sub-unit 106 is currently disposed as described in paragraph 074. However, there is the original disclosure does not explicitly disclose that the command and control unit is the component that is dynamically adjusting the second plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire or that the command and control unit is controlling the support rod and spring to cause the first plurality of wheels to move and compensate for changes in a diameter. As such the limitation is being regarded as new matter.
Claim 30 recites the limitation “the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first leading and trailing motion wheels and the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire” in lines 13-14. However, upon a review of the specification, the examiner cannot find any recitation of the command and control unit being configured to dynamically adjust the first leading wheel to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire. The examiner acknowledges that a spring 41 disposed between the spring housing 39 and a fixed end portion 43 of the support rod 35 allows the support rod 35 to automatically adjust to a change in diameter of the wire 12 as the device 10 is traversing across its length as described in paragraph 058 and each sub-unit 106 also comprises a support wheel 120c coupled to the sub-unit 106 by a support rod 135 and a spring 141. Because each sub-unit 106 comprises its own support wheel 120c and support rod 135, each sub-unit 106 may independently and automatically adjust or compensate for a change in diameter of the wire 102 onto which the sub-unit 106 is currently disposed as described in paragraph 074. However, there is the original disclosure does not explicitly disclose that the command and control unit is the component that is dynamically adjusting the first leading wheel to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire or that the command and control unit is controlling the support rod and spring to cause the first plurality of wheels to move and compensate for changes in a diameter. As such the limitation is being regarded as new matter.
Claims 2-8, 21-24, and 26-27 depends on claim 1, claims 31-32 depend on claim 30, and are therefore rejected accordingly under 35 USC 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 21-23, and 25-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miron (US Pub. No. 2018/0207684) in view of Temple (US Pub. No. 2018/0331515).
Regarding claim 1, Miron discloses: an apparatus (Figures 1-2 element 36 and see also paragraph 0045 where the prior art discloses element 36 includes “parts and modules” of the apparatus (element 10) of figure 1 “as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 1 (but may not be shown in FIG. 2)”) for autonomous cleaning of at least one electrical wire (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)) comprising:
a command and control unit (elements 16/17/42 and see also paragraphs 0032-0033/0050-0051);
a first sub-unit (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) comprising:
a first motor (element 21 and see also paragraph 0033/0048);
a first plurality of wheels (element 22 and see also paragraphs 0048) by which the first sub-unit is supported from a first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire (The examiner indicates that the at least one electrical wire and any associated structure (first electrical wire) has not been positively recited as part of the claim invention (apparatus). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the first plurality of wheels (element 22) being supported on a wire (element 37), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having the first plurality of wheels by which the first sub-unit is supported from a first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire, as recited.);
a first plurality of arms (element 39) coupled to the first sub-unit (see figure 2 annotated below), each of the first plurality of arms including a cleaning unit (elements 44/40 and see also paragraph 0046) that is configured to clean the first electrical wire as the first motor propels the first sub-unit along the first electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses the first motor (element 21) are coupled to element 22 (wheels) in order to enable to the apparatus to move along the wire (see paragraphs 0033-0034) with the cleaning units (element 40) configured to clean (see paragraph 0046), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having the cleaning unit clean the first electrical wire as the first motor propels the first sub-unit along the first electrical wire, as recited.).
However, Miron does not explicitly disclose wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of wheels and the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire.
Miron further discloses utilizing element 16 (portion of command and control unit) to “operate, and/or guide, and/or coordinate the operation of the articulated arms and their respective cleaning devices” (see paragraph 0053), while also disclosing that “plurality of types, shapes, and sizes of insulators and that each type, shape and size of insulator may require a different cleaning method” such that the master controller may operate the articulated arms (first plurality of arms of element 39) and their cleaning devices automatically or manually and is able of “using the remote sensing devices, may adapt the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size of” element 38 (portion of wire).
Thus, giving that the prior art discloses a portion of the command and control unit (element 16) automatically operating the first plurality of arms (element 39) and its cleaning devices in order to be able to adapt (compensate) the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size (diameter) of element 38 (portion of wire), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have the command and control unit of Miron would behave the same as recited, including having the command and control unit configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire, as recited. Doing so provides an automated system for allowing the arms having the cleaning unit to adjust to different size workpieces, thus increasing productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations.
However, Miron appears to be silent wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a command and control unit (element 804), a first plurality of wheels (element 124/126/822) that is in communication with the command and control unit (see figure 12), a cleaning unit (element 150/824), and wherein the first plurality of wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire (see paragraph 0027 where the prior art discloses elements 124/126 (first plurality of wheels) “can be adjusted such that the vertical spacing” between the wheels “can be increased or decreased in order to accommodate aerial cables of different diameters”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the first plurality of wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having adjustable wheels would necessarily provide the predictable result of accommodating aerial cables of different diameters as disclosed by Temple (see paragraph 0027), thus allowing the user to clean a plurality of different size cables during cleaning operations. Thus, given that the modified prior art discloses the command control unit in structural relationship with the first plurality of wheels including the first plurality of wheel compensating for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire (see prior art of Temple paragraph 0027), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have the command and control unit be configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to a variety of different diameter cables would necessarily increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 2, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 1, wherein each of the cleaning units comprises:
one or more proximity sensors (element 49 and see also paragraph 0053);
at least one brush (element 40) configured to clean the first electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses at least one brush (element 40) cleaning a portion of the cable (element 38) and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of cleaning the first electrical wire, as recited.).
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the cleaning units comprises a housing and at least one brush motor for or driving the at least one brush.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a first plurality of wheels (element 124/126) and a cleaning unit (element 150) having brushes (element 172/174/176/178 and see also figure 11 elements 772/774). Temple further discloses wherein the cleaning unit comprises a housing (see figure 3 showing the exterior box housing of element 150) that the cable passes through (see phantom lines) and at least one brush motor (element 780/782) for or driving the at least one brush (see figure 11 and see also paragraph 0048 where the prior art discloses elements 772/774 (at least one brush) “operably coupled to a drive motor” (elements 780/782)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the cleaning units comprises a housing and at least one brush motor for or driving the at least one brush. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a housing to the cleaning units would necessarily act as a protective enclosure that would protect the internal components (brushes) from foreign contaminants. Furthermore, the addition of the motorized brushes would necessarily provide superior efficiency in cleaning operations with reduction in manual effort, thus enhancing performance.
Regarding claim 3, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 2, wherein the housing comprises a hollow center within which the first electrical wire is positioned (see figure 3 of prior art Temple showing the housing (exterior box of element 150) having the wire (element 198) positioned within and passing through (left to right) the entire housing, thus the housing would necessarily comprises a hollow center (see phantom lines wherein element 198 is passing through) within which the first electrical wire is positioned).
Regarding claim 6, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 1, wherein each of the first plurality of arms is retractable away from the first electrical wire (See paragraph 0046 where the prior art discloses element 39 as “one or more articulated arms” which are well known in the art to be retractable (i.e. to draw or pull back), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having the first plurality of arms be retractable away from the first electrical wire, as recited.).
Regarding claim 8, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 1, wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises one or more first motion wheels (see paragraph 0033 where the prior art discloses the plurality of wheels (element 22) coupled to “an electric motor” (element 21) in order to propel the apparatus, thus comprising one or more first motion wheels), and wherein the first motor drives the one or more first motion wheels to propel the first sub-unit along the first electrical wire (see paragraphs 0033-0034).
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises a first support wheel.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a first plurality of wheels (elements 110/112/124/126), a cleaning unit (element 150) having brushes (element 172/174/176/178), and wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises one or more first motion wheels (elements 110/112) and a first support wheel (see figure 1 showing at least two support wheels (elements 124/126), thus having at least a first support wheel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises a first support wheel. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional wheel in the form of a support wheel would necessarily assist with keeping the apparatus engaged with the aerial cable as disclosed by Temple (see paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 21, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 1, wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises first motion wheels (see paragraph 0033 where the prior art discloses the plurality of wheels (element 22) coupled to “an electric motor” (element 21) in order to propel the apparatus, thus comprising one or more first motion wheels).
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises a first support wheel positioned between the first motion wheels, and wherein the command and control unit dynamically adjusts the first plurality of wheels by moving the first motion wheels relative to the first support wheel.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 8A-8D and see also paragraph 0043) comprising a first plurality of wheels (elements 410/412/424/426/432), a cleaning unit (element 450) and wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises first motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) and a first support wheel (see figure 8A-8D showing at least two support wheels (elements 410/412), thus having at least a first support wheel (element 412)) positioned between the first motion wheels (see figure 8B showing the support wheel of element 412 positioned between selected portions of the first motion wheels (element 426/432) and adjusts the first plurality of wheels by moving the first motion wheels relative to the first support wheel (see figure 8C-8D showing the first motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) moving (from down (figure 8C) to up (figure 8D)) relative to the selected first support wheel (element 412)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises a first support wheel positioned between the first motion wheels. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional wheel in the form of a support wheel would necessarily increase the engagement of the apparatus, thus assist with keeping the apparatus engaged with the aerial cable during cleaning operations.
Furthermore, the prior art of Temple shows the first motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) being manually movable relative to the first support wheel (element 412), thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have wherein the command and control unit dynamically adjusts the first plurality of wheels by moving the first motion wheels relative to the first support wheel, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to the position of wheels would necessarily allow the apparatus to be adaptable to engaged variety of different diameter wires which would increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 22, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 21, wherein moving the first motion wheels relative to the first support wheel comprises changing a distance between the respective first motion wheel and the first electrical wire while maintaining the first support wheel in contact with the first electrical wire (see prior art of Temple figures 8C-8D showing the first motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) moving relative to the first support wheel (element 412) comprising changing a vertical distance between the respective first motion wheel and the wire (element 498) while maintaining the first support wheel in contact with the first electrical wire).
Regarding claim 23, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 22, wherein the first support wheel is movable relative to the first motion wheels (see prior art of Temple figure 8D showing the first support wheel (element 412) moving (see arrow) around its axis when propelling the apparatus, thus when in motion, portions of support wheel (element 412) relative to portions of the first motion wheels (elements 424/426/432)).
Regarding claim 25, Mino modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses a different embodiment (Figures 3-4), but appears to be silent wherein the at least one electrical wire includes a second electrical wire that extends parallel to the first electrical wire, the apparatus further comprising: a second sub-unit comprising: a second motor; a second plurality of wheels by which the second sub-unit is supported from the second electrical wire; a second plurality of arms coupled to the second sub-unit, each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire; wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Mino further teaches an alternate embodiment apparatus (Figure 3 element 55 and see also paragraph 0061) wherein the at least one electrical wire includes a second electrical wire that extends parallel to the first electrical wire (The examiner indicates that the at least one electrical wire and any associated structure (first electrical wire and a second electrical wire) has not been positively recited as part of the claim invention (apparatus).), the apparatus further comprising:
a second sub-unit (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A) comprising:
a second plurality of arms (element 39) coupled to the second sub-unit (see figure 3 annotated below), each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit (elements 44/40 and see also paragraph 0046) that is configured to clean (see paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of alternate embodiment Miron to provide a second sub-unit comprising a second plurality of arms coupled to the second sub-unit, each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit) that is configured to clean. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional sub-unit having a second plurality of arms with cleaning unit would necessarily clean a plurality of different sections of the workpiece at the same time, thus increasing productivity and enhancing the capabilities of the apparatus.
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the second sub-unit comprises a second motor, a second plurality of wheels by which the second sub-unit is supported from the second electrical wire, the second plurality of arms including the cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire, and wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
However, Miron discloses the apparatus embodiment of Figure 3 is similar to figure 2 and also “include parts and modules of dusting device 10 as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 1, and/or parts and modules of dusting device 36 as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 2 (such parts and modules but may not be shown in FIG. 3) (see paragraph 0062).
Therefore, this would suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to duplicate the components of the apparatus including the motor (element 21 and see also paragraph 0033/0048), plurality of wheels (element 22 and see also paragraphs 0048) by which the second sub-unit is supported from the second electrical wire (see figure 4), and the second plurality of arms including the cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses the first motor (element 21) are coupled to element 22 (wheels) in order to enable to the apparatus to move along the wire (see paragraphs 0033-0034) with the cleaning units (element 40) configured to clean (see paragraph 0046), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of the cleaning unit clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire, as recited.), since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the additional sub-unit with the claimed components would necessarily provide the predictable result of cleaning a plurality of different sections of the workpiece at the same time while also increasing the life of the apparatus by reducing the wear and tear of the first sub-unit due to having a second sub-unit. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C))
However, Miron modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Miron further discloses utilizing element 16 (portion of command and control unit) to “operate, and/or guide, and/or coordinate the operation of the articulated arms and their respective cleaning devices” (see paragraph 0053), while also disclosing that “plurality of types, shapes, and sizes of insulators and that each type, shape and size of insulator may require a different cleaning method” such that the master controller may operate the articulated arms (first plurality of arms of element 39) and their cleaning devices automatically or manually and is able of “using the remote sensing devices, may adapt the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size of” element 38 (portion of wire).
Thus, giving that the prior art discloses a portion of the command and control unit (element 16) automatically operating the second plurality of arms (element 39) and its cleaning devices in order to be able to adapt (compensate) the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size (diameter) of element 38 (portion of wire), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have the command and control unit of Miron would behave the same as recited, including having the command and control unit configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire, as recited. Doing so provides an automated system for allowing the arms having the cleaning unit to adjust to different size workpieces, thus increasing productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations.
However, Miron modified appears wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a command and control unit (element 804), a second plurality of wheels (element 124/126/822) that is in communication with the command and control unit (see figure 12), a cleaning unit (element 150/824), and wherein the second plurality of wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the of second electrical wire (see paragraph 0027 where the prior art discloses elements 124/126 (second plurality of wheels) “can be adjusted such that the vertical spacing” between the wheels “can be increased or decreased in order to accommodate aerial cables of different diameters”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the second plurality of wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having adjustable wheels would necessarily provide the predictable result of accommodating aerial cables of different diameters as disclosed by Temple (see paragraph 0027), thus allowing the user to clean a plurality of different size cables during cleaning operations. Thus, given that the modified prior art discloses the command control unit in structural relationship with the second plurality of wheels including the second plurality of wheel compensating for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire (see prior art of Temple paragraph 0027), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have the command and control unit be configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to a variety of different diameter cables would necessarily increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 26, Mino modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 25, but appears to be silent wherein the command and control unit is positioned between the first and second sub-units.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to provide wherein the command and control unit is positioned between the first and second sub-units, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognized that having the command and control unit arranged in the claimed arrangement of being between the first and second sub-units would necessarily provide a more compact apparatus and would continue to allow the command and control unit to function appropriately as intended in order to automatically control various components of the apparatus during cleaning operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C))
Regarding claim 27, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 25, wherein each of the cleaning units of the second sub-unit comprises:
one or more proximity sensors (element 49 and see also paragraph 0053);
at least one brush (element 40) configured to clean the first electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses at least one brush (element 40) cleaning a portion of the cable (element 38) and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of cleaning the first electrical wire, as recited.).
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the cleaning units comprises a housing and at least one brush motor for or driving the at least one brush.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a first plurality of wheels (element 124/126) and a cleaning unit (element 150) having brushes (element 172/174/176/178 and see also figure 11 elements 772/774). Temple further discloses wherein the cleaning unit comprises a housing (see figure 3 showing the exterior box housing of element 150) that the cable passes through (see phantom lines) and at least one brush motor (element 780/782) for or driving the at least one brush (see figure 11 and see also paragraph 0048 where the prior art discloses elements 772/774 (at least one brush) “operably coupled to a drive motor” (elements 780/782)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the cleaning units comprises a housing and at least one brush motor for or driving the at least one brush. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a housing to the cleaning units would necessarily act as a protective enclosure that would protect the internal components (brushes) from foreign contaminants. Furthermore, the addition of the motorized brushes would necessarily provide superior efficiency in cleaning operations with reduction in manual effort, thus enhancing performance.
Regarding claim 28, Mino modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 25, but appears to be silent wherein the second plurality of wheels comprises second motion wheels (see paragraph 0033 where the prior art discloses the plurality of wheels (element 22) coupled to “an electric motor” (element 21) in order to propel the apparatus, thus comprising one or more first motion wheels).
However, wherein the second plurality of wheels comprises a second support wheel positioned between second motion wheels, and wherein the command and control unit dynamically adjusts the second plurality of wheels by moving the second motion wheels relative to the second support wheel.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 8A-8D and see also paragraph 0043) comprising a second plurality of wheels (elements 410/412/424/426/432), a cleaning unit (element 450) and wherein the first plurality of wheels comprises second motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) and a second support wheel (see figure 8A-8D showing at least two support wheels (elements 410/412), thus having at least a second support wheel (element 410)) positioned between the second motion wheels (see figure 8B showing the support wheel of element 410 positioned between selected portions of the second motion wheels (element 424/432) and adjusts the first plurality of wheels by moving the second motion wheels relative to the first support wheel (see figure 8C-8D showing the second motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) moving (from down (figure 8C) to up (figure 8D)) relative to the selected second support wheel (element 410)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein the second plurality of wheels comprises a second support wheel positioned between the second motion wheels. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional wheel in the form of a support wheel would necessarily increase the engagement of the apparatus, thus assist with keeping the apparatus engaged with the aerial cable during cleaning operations.
Furthermore, the prior art of Temple shows the second motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) being manually movable relative to the first support wheel (element 412), thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have wherein the command and control unit dynamically adjusts the second plurality of wheels by moving the second motion wheels relative to the second support wheel, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to the position of wheels would necessarily allow the apparatus to be adaptable to engaged variety of different diameter wires which would increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 29, Miron modified discloses: the apparatus of the claim 28, wherein moving the second motion wheels relative to the second support wheel comprises changing a distance between the respective second motion wheel and the second electrical wire while maintaining the second support wheel in contact with the second electrical wire (see prior art of Temple figures 8C-8D showing the second motion wheels (elements 424/426/432) moving relative to the second support wheel (element 410) comprising changing a vertical distance between the respective second motion wheel and the wire (element 498) while maintaining the second support wheel in contact with the first electrical wire).
Regarding claim 30, Miron discloses: an apparatus (Figures 1-2 element 36 and see also paragraph 0045 where the prior art discloses element 36 includes “parts and modules” of the apparatus (element 10) of figure 1 “as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 1 (but may not be shown in FIG. 2)”) for autonomous cleaning of at least one electrical wire (Applicant is reminded, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (See MPEP 2114 (II)) comprising:
a command and control unit (elements 16/17/42 and see also paragraphs 0032-0033/0050-0051);
a first sub-unit (see figure 2 annotated below Detail A) comprising:
a first motor (element 21 and see also paragraph 0033/0048);
a first leading motion wheel and a first trailing motion wheel (element 22 and see also paragraphs 0048 where the prior art discloses element 22 as “one or more wheel”, thus element 22 would necessarily have both a first leading and first trailing motion wheel), wherein the first leading motion wheel and the first trailing motion wheel couple the first sub-unit to a first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire (The examiner indicates that the at least one electrical wire and any associated structure (first electrical wire) has not been positively recited as part of the claim invention (apparatus). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the first leading motion wheel and a first trailing motion wheel (element 22) being supported on a wire (element 37), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having the first leading motion wheel and the first trailing motion wheel couple the first sub-unit to a first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire, as recited.);
a first plurality of arms (element 39) coupled to the first sub-unit (see figure 2 annotated below), each of the first plurality of arms including a cleaning unit (elements 44/40 and see also paragraph 0046) that is configured to clean the first electrical wire as the first motor drives the first leading and trailing motion wheels to propel the first sub-unit along the first electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses the first motor (element 21) are coupled to element 22 (wheels) in order to enable to the apparatus to move along the wire (see paragraphs 0033-0034) with the cleaning units (element 40) configured to clean (see paragraph 0046), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having the cleaning unit clean the first electrical wire as the first motor propels the first sub-unit along the first electrical wire, as recited.).
However, Miron appears to be silent comprising a first support wheel positioned between the first leading motion wheel and the first trailing motion wheel, wherein the first support wheel couple the first sub-unit to the first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire, and wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first leading and trailing motion wheels and the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 8A-8D and see also paragraph 0043) comprising a first-sub unit (element 402), a first leading motion wheel (element 426) and the first trailing motion wheel (element 432), a cleaning unit (element 450), and a first support wheel (see figure 8A-8D showing at least two support wheels (elements 410/412), thus having at least a first support wheel (element 412)) positioned between the first leading motion wheel and the first trailing motion wheel (see figure 8A-8D) and wherein the first support wheel couple the first sub-unit to the first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire (The examiner indicates that the at least one electrical wire and any associated structure (first electrical wire) has not been positively recited as part of the claim invention (apparatus). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses first support wheel (element 412) being supported on a wire (element 37), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of having wherein the first support wheel couple the first sub-unit to the first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide a first support wheel positioned between the first leading motion wheel and the first trailing motion wheel, wherein the first support wheel couple the first sub-unit to the first electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional wheel in the form of a support wheel would necessarily increase the engagement of the apparatus, thus assist with keeping the apparatus engaged with the aerial cable during cleaning operations.
However, Miron modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first leading and trailing motion wheels and the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire.
Miron further discloses utilizing element 16 (portion of command and control unit) to “operate, and/or guide, and/or coordinate the operation of the articulated arms and their respective cleaning devices” (see paragraph 0053), while also disclosing that “plurality of types, shapes, and sizes of insulators and that each type, shape and size of insulator may require a different cleaning method” such that the master controller may operate the articulated arms (first plurality of arms of element 39) and their cleaning devices automatically or manually and is able of “using the remote sensing devices, may adapt the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size of” element 38 (portion of wire).
Thus, giving that the prior art discloses a portion of the command and control unit (element 16) automatically operating the first plurality of arms (element 39) and its cleaning devices in order to be able to adapt (compensate) the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size (diameter) of element 38 (portion of wire), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have the command and control unit of Miron would behave the same as recited, including having the command and control unit configured to dynamically adjust the first plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire, as recited. Doing so provides an automated system for allowing the arms having the cleaning unit to adjust to different size workpieces, thus increasing productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations.
However, Miron modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the first leading and trailing motion wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a command and control unit (element 804), a leading motion wheel and a first trailing motion wheel (element 124/126/822) that is in communication with the command and control unit (see figure 12), a cleaning unit (element 150/824), and wherein the first leading and trailing motion wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire (see paragraph 0027 where the prior art discloses elements 124/126 (leading motion wheel and first trailing motion wheel) “can be adjusted such that the vertical spacing” between the wheels “can be increased or decreased in order to accommodate aerial cables of different diameters”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein first leading and trailing motion wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having adjustable wheels would necessarily provide the predictable result of accommodating aerial cables of different diameters as disclosed by Temple (see paragraph 0027), thus allowing the user to clean a plurality of different size cables during cleaning operations. Thus, given that the modified prior art discloses the command control unit in structural relationship with the first leading and trailing motion wheels including the first leading and trailing motion wheels compensating for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire (see prior art of Temple paragraph 0027), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have the command and control unit be configured to dynamically adjust the first leading and trailing motion wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the first electrical wire, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to a variety of different diameter cables would necessarily increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 31, Miron modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1 and further discloses a different embodiment (Figures 3-4), but appears to be silent further comprising: a second sub-unit comprising: a second motor; a second support wheel positioned between a first leading motion wheel and a second trailing motion wheel, wherein the second support wheel, the second leading motion wheel and the second trailing motion wheel couple the second sub-unit to a second electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire; a second plurality of arms coupled to the second sub-unit, each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor drives the second leading and trailing motion wheels to propel the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire; wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second leading and trailing motion wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Mino further teaches an alternate embodiment apparatus (Figure 3 element 55 and see also paragraph 0061) further comprising: a second sub-unit (see figure 3 annotated below Detail A) comprising:
a second plurality of arms (element 39) coupled to the second sub-unit (see figure 3 annotated below), each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit (elements 44/40 and see also paragraph 0046) that is configured to clean (see paragraph 0062).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of alternate embodiment Miron to provide a second sub-unit comprising a second plurality of arms coupled to the second sub-unit, each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit) that is configured to clean. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an additional sub-unit having a second plurality of arms with cleaning unit would necessarily clean a plurality of different sections of the workpiece at the same time, thus increasing productivity and enhancing the capabilities of the apparatus.
However, Miron modified appears to be silent wherein the second sub-unit comprises a second motor; a second support wheel positioned between a first leading motion wheel and a second trailing motion wheel, wherein the second support wheel, the second leading motion wheel and the second trailing motion wheel couple the second sub-unit to a second electrical wire of the at least one electrical wire, each of the second plurality of arms including a cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor drives the second leading and trailing motion wheels to propel the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire, and wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second leading and trailing motion wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
However, Miron discloses the apparatus embodiment of Figure 3 is similar to figure 2 and also “include parts and modules of dusting device 10 as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 1, and/or parts and modules of dusting device 36 as shown and described with reference to in FIG. 2 (such parts and modules but may not be shown in FIG. 3) (see paragraph 0062).
Therefore, this would suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to duplicate the components of the apparatus including the motor (element 21 and see also paragraph 0033/0048), leading motion wheel trailing motion wheel (element 22 and see also paragraphs 0048 where the prior art discloses element 22 as “one or more wheel”, thus element 22 would necessarily have both a leading and trailing motion wheel), a support wheel (see prior art of Temple of figure 8A-8D showing at least two support wheels (elements 410/412), thus having at least a support wheel (element 412)) positioned between the leading motion wheel and first trailing motion wheel (see figure 8A-8D), and the second plurality of arms including the cleaning unit that is configured to clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire (Giving that the prior art discloses the first motor (element 21) are coupled to element 22 (wheels) in order to enable to the apparatus to move along the wire (see paragraphs 0033-0034) with the cleaning units (element 40) configured to clean (see paragraph 0046), and giving that there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior at would be capable of the cleaning unit clean the second electrical wire as the second motor propels the second sub-unit along the second electrical wire, as recited.), since a mere duplication of essential working part of device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the additional sub-unit with the claimed components would necessarily provide the predictable result of cleaning a plurality of different sections of the workpiece at the same time while also increasing the life of the apparatus by reducing the wear and tear of the first sub-unit due to having a second sub-unit. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C))
However, Miron modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second leading and trailing motion wheels and the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Miron further discloses utilizing element 16 (portion of command and control unit) to “operate, and/or guide, and/or coordinate the operation of the articulated arms and their respective cleaning devices” (see paragraph 0053), while also disclosing that “plurality of types, shapes, and sizes of insulators and that each type, shape and size of insulator may require a different cleaning method” such that the master controller may operate the articulated arms (first plurality of arms of element 39) and their cleaning devices automatically or manually and is able of “using the remote sensing devices, may adapt the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size of” element 38 (portion of wire).
Thus, giving that the prior art discloses a portion of the command and control unit (element 16) automatically operating the second plurality of arms (element 39) and its cleaning devices in order to be able to adapt (compensate) the cleaning operation to the particular type, shape and size (diameter) of element 38 (portion of wire), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have the command and control unit of Miron would behave the same as recited, including having the command and control unit configured to dynamically adjust the second plurality of arms to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire, as recited. Doing so provides an automated system for allowing the arms having the cleaning unit to adjust to different size workpieces, thus increasing productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations.
However, Miron modified appears wherein the command and control unit is configured to dynamically adjust the second leading and trailing motion wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire.
Temple teaches it was known in the art to have an apparatus (Figures 1-13 and see also paragraph 0026) comprising a command and control unit (element 804), a second leading motion wheel and a second trailing motion wheel (element 124/126/822) that is in communication with the command and control unit (see figure 12), a cleaning unit (element 150/824), and wherein the second leading and the second trailing motion wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire (see paragraph 0027 where the prior art discloses elements 124/126 (second leading motion wheel and second trailing motion wheel) “can be adjusted such that the vertical spacing” between the wheels “can be increased or decreased in order to accommodate aerial cables of different diameters”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Temple to provide wherein second leading and trailing motion wheels compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having adjustable wheels would necessarily provide the predictable result of accommodating aerial cables of different diameters as disclosed by Temple (see paragraph 0027), thus allowing the user to clean a plurality of different size cables during cleaning operations. Thus, given that the modified prior art discloses the command control unit in structural relationship with the second leading and trailing motion wheels including the second leading and trailing motion wheels compensating for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire (see prior art of Temple paragraph 0027), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to have the command and control unit be configured to dynamically adjust the second leading and trailing motion wheels to compensate for changes in a diameter of the second electrical wire, since providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which would accomplish the amae result involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an apparatus with an automated system that controls the wheels to adjust to a variety of different diameter cables would necessarily increase productivity and efficiency during cleaning operations (See MPEP 2144.04 (III)).
Regarding claim 32, Mino modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 30-31, but appears to be silent wherein the command and control unit is positioned between the first and second sub-units.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to provide wherein the command and control unit is positioned between the first and second sub-units, since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognized that having the command and control unit arranged in the claimed arrangement of being between the first and second sub-units would necessarily provide a more compact apparatus and would continue to allow the command and control unit to function appropriately as intended in order to automatically control various components of the apparatus during cleaning operations. (See MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C))
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miron (US Pub. No. 2018/0207684) in view of Temple (US Pub. No. 2018/0331515) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Lei (CN 112234499).
Regarding claim 4, Miron modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1-2 and further discloses wherein the one or more proximity sensors comprises a first proximity sensor (see figure 2 showing three proximity sensors (element 49) thus having a first proximity sensor), but appears to be silent wherein the first proximity sensor is disposed on an outside surface of the housing and configured to detect an obstruction disposed on the first electrical wire.
However, Miron modified discloses element 49 (camera) can be a plurality or an array which can be mounted to cover a large field of view (see paragraph 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to provide an additional proximity sensor that is disposed on an outside surface of the housing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that have an additional proximity sensor now residing on the outside surface of the housing of the cleaning unit would necessarily provide the predictable result of having a large field of view as needed as disclosed by Miron (see paragraph 0041), thus enhancing the capabilities of the apparatus.
Lastly, Miron modified disclose the proximity sensor to be one or more cameras (element 49), but does not explicitly disclose that the first proximity sensor is configured to detect an obstruction disposed on the first electrical wire.
Lei is also concern in providing an apparatus for cleaning foreign objects cables/wires (Figures 1-12 and see also paragraphs 0010/0086) comprising a first motor (element 33 and see also paragraph 0012), a first plurality of wheels (elements 32), a first proximity sensor (element 1 and see also paragraph 0010 where the prior art disclose “a front camera”), and wherein the first proximity sensor is configured to detect an obstruction disposed on the first electrical wire (see paragraph 0010 where the prior art discloses element 1 (first proximity sensor in the form of a camera) is installed in the front end of the apparatus in order to identify the position of element 4 (wire) and “scan and identify obstacles” on the line).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Lei to provide wherein the first proximity sensor is configured to detect an obstruction disposed on the first electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the camera be capable of scanning and identifying obstacles would necessarily provide assistance for the apparatus to go up and down the line and overcome obstacles during operations as disclosed by Lei (see paragraph 0010).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miron (US Pub. No. 2018/0207684) in view of Temple (US Pub. No. 2018/0331515) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Thomas (US Pub. No. 2014/0094092).
Regarding claim 5, Miron modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1-2 and further discloses wherein the one or more proximity sensors comprises a first proximity sensor (see figure 2 showing three proximity sensors (element 49) thus having a first proximity sensor), but appears to be silent wherein the first proximity sensor is disposed on an outside surface of the housing and configured to detect a change in diameter of the first electrical wire.
However, Miron modified discloses element 49 (camera) can be a plurality or an array which can be mounted to cover a large field of view (see paragraph 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to provide an additional proximity sensor that is disposed on an outside surface of the housing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that have an additional proximity sensor now residing on the outside surface of the housing of the cleaning unit would necessarily provide the predictable result of having a large field of view as needed as disclosed by Miron (see paragraph 0041), thus enhancing the capabilities of the apparatus.
Lastly, Miron modified disclose the proximity sensor to be one or more cameras (element 49), but does not explicitly disclose that the first proximity sensor is configured to detect a change in diameter of the first electrical wire.
Thomas is also concerned in providing an apparatus for cleaning (Figures 1-19G and see also paragraph 0053) comprising a cleaning unit (element 340 and see also paragraph 0112), a first proximity sensor (element 390 and see also paragraph 0121 where the prior art discloses “camera assembly”), and wherein the first proximity sensor is configured to detect a change in diameter (see paragraphs 0120-0121 where the prior art discloses that the camera is “configured in preferred embodiments, to acquire, process and generate such "contour data" and other data regarding the external surface and diameter” of the workpiece (tubular) in order to make adjustments of elevation of the apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Thomas to provide wherein the first proximity sensor is configured to detect a change in diameter. The resultant combination would have the configurations of the camera of Thomas now applied in the camera of modified Miron which would now necessarily be capable of detecting the change in diameter of the first electrical wire. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having the camera be capable of detecting different diameters would necessarily allow the user to be capable of making an necessary cleaning adjustment in an automated manner, thus enhancing the capabilities of the apparatus.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miron (US Pub. No. 2018/0207684) in view of Temple (US Pub. No. 2018/0331515) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liang (CN 115360636).
Regarding claim 7, Miron modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent further comprising a plurality of signal and warning lights.
Liang is also concern in providing an autonomous apparatus for removing foreign objects on power transmission line (Figures 1-7 and see also paragraph 0004/0006) comprising a command and control unit (see paragraph 0048), a first motor (element 420 and see also paragraph 0061), a first plurality of wheels (element 210), and further comprising a plurality of signal and warning lights (element 700 and see also paragraph 0063/0065/0068).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Liang to provide a plurality of signal and warning lights. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that have an alarm module in the form of signal and warning lights would necessarily indicate to the operator of hazards on the lines and allow the user to make necessary adjustments in time.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miron (US Pub. No. 2018/0207684) in view of Temple (US Pub. No. 2018/0331515) as applied to claims 1 and 21-23 above, and further in view of Fields (US Patent No. 2,427,129).
Regarding claim 24, Miron modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 21-23, but appears to be silent wherein the first support wheel is connected to the first sub-unit via a spring.
Fields is also concern in providing a cleaning apparatus (Figures 1-5 and see also col. 2, ll. 39-48) comprising a first sub-unit (element 37) and a first support wheel (element 40, see also col. 3, ll. 39-42 where the prior art discloses element 40 as “rotatable wire brush” and see also see figure 3 showing portions of element 40 supporting portions of the workpiece (element 10) and element 40 being a circular object. Furthermore, it is well known in the art that a wheel is a circular object that revolves on an axle, thus element 40 would necessarily be a first support wheel.). Fields further discloses wherein the first support wheel is connected to the first sub-unit via a spring (element 42, see also col. 3, ll. 55 where the prior art discloses element 42 as “a spring”, and see also figure 3 showing the support wheel (element 40) operably connecting a portion of the first sub-unit (element 37)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Miron to incorporate the teachings of Fields to provide wherein the first support wheel is connected to the first sub-unit via a spring. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having a spring connection between the claimed components would necessarily provide a resilient pressure engagement and allow the wheel to be readily adjusted toward and away from the center axis of the workpiece without disturbing the adjustment of the spring as disclosed by Fields (see col. 3, ll. 52-53 and ll. 65-68).
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723