DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the membrane positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer recited in claims 1 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the fluid delivery side” in line 5 should read --a fluid delivery side.-- Appropriate correction is required. Same objection applies to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-5, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure, as originally filed, does not disclose that the droplet delivery device comprising a membrane positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer between the powered transducer and the ejector plate as amended in claim 1. Clarification is respectfully requested. Same rejection applies to claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Germinario et al. (US 9,956,360. Germinario hereinafter) in view of Hunter et al. (US 20220401661. Hunter hereinafter).
With respect to claim 1, Germinario discloses a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1-25B) comprising: an ejector plate (108, 808) having a solid outer area with no holes surrounding an inner active area that includes holes (108a, 808a), a powered transducer (106) on the fluid delivery (under) side of the ejector plate (Fig. 1).
Germinario fails to disclose a membrane positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer between the powered transducer and the ejector plate.
However, Hunter a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1A-114) comprising: an ejector plate (Figs. 2 and 3) having a solid outer area with no holes surrounding an inner active area that includes holes (mesh of 22), a powered transducer (26. Fig. 1B) on the fluid delivery side of the ejector plate, a membrane (25) positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer between the powered transducer and the ejector plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of adding a membrane between the powered transducer and the ejector plate, as taught by Hunter, to Germinario’s device, in order to provide additional “push mode” vibration of the droplet ([0177]-[0179]).
With respect to claim 3, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the powered transducer is a piezoelectric transducer (piezoelectric actuator 106 and Col. 13, line 31).
With respect to claim 4, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the ejector plate includes a raised feature (domed or half-spherical shape. Col. 21, lines 10-15 and Fig. 8B).
With respect to claim 5, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the raised feature has a dome shape (domed or half-spherical shape. Col. 21, lines 10-15 and Fig. 8B).
With respect to claim 11, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the droplet delivery device includes a raised feature (domed or half-spherical shape. Col. 21, lines 10-15 and Fig. 8B).
With respect to claim 12, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the raised feature has a dome shape (domed or half-spherical shape. Col. 21, lines 10-15 and Fig. 8B).
With respect to claims 13-16, 18 and 19, Germinario’s device modified by Hunter’s membrane, Germinario further discloses wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric *Fig. 8A).
With respect to claim 20, Germinario a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1-25B) comprising: an ejector plate (108, 808) with a circular inner active area having a plurality of holes (108a, 808a) and an outer solid ring area without holes surrounding the inner active area (Fig. 8A); and a powered transducer (piezoelectric actuator 106) on the fluid delivery (under) side of the ejector plate (Fig. 1) configured to (capable of) vibrate the ejector plate.
Germinario fails to disclose a membrane positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer between the powered transducer and the ejector plate.
However, Hunter a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1A-114) comprising: an ejector plate (Figs. 2 and 3) having a solid outer area with no holes surrounding an inner active area that includes holes (mesh of 22), a powered transducer (26. Fig. 1B) on the fluid delivery side of the ejector plate, a membrane (25) positioned on the fluid delivery side of the powered transducer between the powered transducer and the ejector plate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of adding a membrane between the powered transducer and the ejector plate, as taught by Hunter, to Germinario’s device, in order to provide additional “push mode” vibration of the droplet ([0177]-[0179]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 November 29, 2025