DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
Color photographs and color (gray shading) drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the ejector plate includes… different thicknesses that aid in localization of vibrations to the inner active area as amended in claims 1 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: “on the a fluid delivery side” in line 4, should read -- on a fluid delivery side.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ivri (US6926208).
With respect to claim 1, Ivri discloses a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1-18) comprising:
an ejector plate (of 12 and of 100) having a solid outer area (pointed by “16” in Fig. 1) with no holes surrounding an inner active area (15) that includes holes (22);
a powered transducer (18, 38, 102a and 102b) on (at) a fluid delivery side (under side of Fig. 1 and 102a and 102b are on the 110 side in Fig. 17) of the ejector plate configured to (capable of) vibrate the ejector plate; and
wherein the ejector plate includes one or both of (i) different polymers or materials and (ii) different thicknesses that aid in localization of vibrations to the inner active area (Figs. 1 and 17 (where 102a and 102b are part of the plate in Fig. 17)).
With respect to claim 3, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 1, wherein the powered transducer is a piezoelectric transducer (piezoceramic).
With respect to claim 4, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 3, wherein the ejector plate includes a raised feature (at solid outer area relative to planar surface 15).
With respect to claim 5, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 4, wherein the raised feature has a (flat) dome shape (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 11, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 1, wherein the droplet delivery device includes a raised feature (at solid outer area relative to planar surface 15).
With respect to claim 12, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 11, wherein the raised feature has a (flat) dome shape (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 13, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 1, wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 14, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 3, wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 15, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 4, wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 16, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 20, wherein the area circular inner active area and outer solid ring area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 18, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 11, wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 19, Ivri discloses the droplet delivery device of claim 12, wherein the inner active area and solid outer area are concentric (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 20, Ivri discloses a droplet delivery device (Figs. 1-18) comprising:
an ejector plate (of 12 and of 100) with a circular inner active area (15) having a plurality of holes (22) and an outer solid ring area (pointed by “16” in Fig. 1) without holes surrounding the inner active area;
a powered transducer (18, 38, 102a and 102b) on (at) a fluid delivery side (under side of Fig. 1 and 102a and 102b are on the 110 side in Fig. 17) of the ejector plate configured to (capable of) vibrate the ejector plate; and
wherein the ejector plate includes one or both of (i) different polymers or materials and (ii) different thicknesses that aid in localization of vibrations to the inner active area (Figs. 1 and 17 (where 102a and 102b are part of the plate in Fig. 17)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 June 16, 2026