DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant essentially argues that the combination of the prior art on record fails to explicitly disclose “analyzing conversations between multiple participants, identifying potential issues or misunderstandings, and providing real-time feedback to participants to adjust their conversational actions” (REMARKS section). Also, applicant appears to place more emphasis on “understanding” or “misunderstandings” among users in a conversation. Examiner maintains that the classroom dynamic interactions between students or students and teachers are valid conversations (paragraphs 34-35, 43, and 68, student-student interaction and students-teacher interaction in a classroom is recorded, and that includes both audio and video), identifying potential issues or misunderstandings (paragraph 40, identifying one or more learning gaps; misunderstandings are not considered due to the “or” operator), and providing real-time feedback to participants to adjust their conversational actions (paragraphs 41-43, providing feedback; “The data output module 220 is configured to output the one or more attention activities, the one or more non-attention activities, the determined set of contextual parameters and the identified one or more learning gaps on user interface screen of one or more electronic devices 108 associated with one or more users in real-time”; the non-attention or non-learning activities includes “students are talking to each other”; also “to adjust their conversational actions” is considered an intended use of the feedback). For these reasons, examiner maintains the prior art on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (USPG 2023/0360437, hereinafter Shin) in view of Kanuganti et al. (USPG 2022/0319181, hereinafter Kanuganti)
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 14, Shin discloses a system, method, and software product for processing at least concurrent audio and image signals to generate corresponding analysis data including emotional measurements (figure 6, audio and video are captured concurrently), wherein the system includes:
a computing arrangement comprising at least a hardware audio processing module for processing the audio signals and an image processing module for processing the image signals, wherein the image processing module is a camera (figure 6, processing video and audio signals separately; also see paragraph 159; figure 5, camera), wherein each module is configured to use one or more artificial intelligence algorithms for processing its respective signal (figure 6 and/or paragraph 159, video signal is processed by CNN while audio signal is processed by LSTM),
wherein the image processing module is configured to process facial image information present in the image signal to identify a plurality of key facial image points indicative of facial expression and to generate temporal facial status data (paragraph 89, various facial features),
wherein the audio processing module is configured to process speech present in the audio signals by parsing the speech to correlate against a database of words to generate corresponding text data (figure 6, converting MFCC to text; also see paragraph 159), and by processing the speech to determine temporal speech frequency information indicative of at least one of emphasis, hesitation, speech word rate, and to temporally relate the temporal speech frequency information with the text data (figure 6, MFCC is temporal frequency information), and
wherein the computing arrangement further includes an analysis module using one or more artificial intelligence algorithms to process the temporal facial status data, the text data and the temporal speech frequency information using emotional models to generate an interpretation of the audio and image signals to generate the analysis data including the emotional measurements (figure 6, the identification unit 422 processes the video feature, audio feature, and text feature to determine emotion; see paragraphs 160-162).
Shin fails to explicitly disclose, however, Kanuganti teaches the audio and image signals are of a plurality of participants interacting in a conversation (paragraphs 43 and/or 68, “conversation” of multiple users), wherein the analysis data identifies patterns and trends during the conversation of each of the plurality of participants for determining potential issues or misunderstandings during the conversation between the plurality of participants, and wherein a participant is provided the analysis data in real-time to adjust conversational actions based on the determined potential issues or misunderstanding (paragraphs 34-43 and 68, see response to argument section above).
Since Shin and Kanuganti are analogous in the art because they are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the known technique of providing realtime feedback of the user’s emotion to the user can make adjustment. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Shin further discloses wherein the image processing module (106) is configured to process the image signals including video data that is captured concurrently with the audio signal (figure 6, audio video signals are captured concurrently);
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Shin further discloses wherein the system and method (100, 200) is configured to process a text signal in addition to the at least audio and image signals (figure 6, converting MFCC to text), wherein information present included in the text signal is used in conjunction with information included in the audio and image signals to generate the corresponding analysis data including the emotional measurements (figure 6, the identification unit 422 processes the video feature, audio feature, and text feature to determine emotion; see paragraphs 160-162).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Shin further discloses wherein the one or more artificial intelligence algorithms include at least one of: neural networks, deep neural networks, Boltzmann machines, Hidden Markov Models, for processing at least the audio and image signals (figure 6, CNN or LSTM).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Shin further discloses wherein the analysis module (110) is configured to use at least the emotional measurements to determine decision points occurring in a video discussion giving rise to the audio and image signals (paragraphs 161-162, “the identification unit 422 assigns the impression identification label to a captured content for each scene (or segment). The assigned impression identification label is recorded as, for example, meta information of the content”; determining emotion for each scene).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Shin further discloses wherein the analysis module (110) is configured to use at least the emotional measurements to determine decision points occurring in a video discussion giving rise to the audio and image signals (paragraphs 161-162, “the identification unit 422 assigns the impression identification label to a captured content for each scene (or segment). The assigned impression identification label is recorded as, for example, meta information of the content”; determining emotion for each scene), wherein the decision points are determined by the analysis module from at least one of temporally abrupt changes in the emotional measurements, temporally abrupt changes in speech content of the audio signal (paragraphs 160-162, changes in emotion is dependent upon changes in signal content, which can be changes in audio or video signal).
Regarding claim 7, Shin further discloses a method (300) for training the system (100, 200) of any one of claims 1 to 6, wherein the method includes: (i) assembling a first corpus of training material relating training values of emotional measurements to samples of audio signals including speech information (training process in figure 4 and/or paragraphs 132-138); (ii) assembling a second corpus of training material relating training values of emotional measurements of samples of image signals including facial expression information (training process in figure 4 and/or paragraphs 132-138); and (iii) applying the first and second corpus of training material to the one or more artificial intelligence algorithms to configure their analysis characteristics for processing at least the audio and video signals (process in figure 6, processing audio and video signals to determine emotion at runtime).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of Kanuganti, and further in view of Byun et al. (USPG 2024/0087597).
Regarding claim 15, Shin further discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the analysis module is further configured to detect emotional information derived from the audio signals and emotional information derived from the image signals for at least one of the plurality of participants (figure 1, voice emotion and image emotion), and wherein the analysis module uses the detected discrepancies in determining the potential issues or misunderstandings during the conversation between the plurality of participants (see claim 1 above; “discrepancies” is interpreted as the audio emotion not agreeing with the video emotion as taught by Byun below; and only the audio emotion or video emotion that passes a certain threshold is selected for determining “potential issues” as discussed in Kanuganti: paragraphs 34-43 and 68, see response to argument section above).
The modified Shin fails to explicitly disclose, however, Byun further teaches detect discrepancies between emotional information derived from the audio signals and emotional information derived from the image signals (paragraphs 105-106, determining discrepancies between emotion in the audio and emotion in the video, e.g. one exceeds a threshold and the other falls below a threshold value; us the one that is above the emotion that is above the threshold for further processing).
Since the modified Shin and Byun are analogous in the art because they are from the same field of endeavor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the known technique of comparing audio emotion with video emotion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable since the use of that known technique provides the rationale to arrive at a conclusion of obviousness. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yadav et al. (USPG 2021/0201004, hereinafter Yadav) teach a method for processing speech, text and video to determine emotion that is considered pertinent to the claimed invention.
/HUYEN X VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656