DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
As of the Non-Final Office Action mailed 9/25/2025, claims 1-20 were pending.
In Applicant's Response filed on 2/24/2026, claims 1-20 were canceled and claims 21-34 were newly added.
As such, claims 21-34 are pending and have been examined herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections or rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites, inter alia, “wherein the ovarian microenvironment is characterized by upregulated production of interleukin-27 as compared to a microenvironment of a non- degenerative ovary”. It is unclear how an ovarian microenvironment of ovarian failure has upregulated interleukin-27 production when ovarian failure (commonly known as premature ovarian insufficiency) is characterized by impaired or deficient IL-27 signaling. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Given this discrepancy, claim 26 has not been rejected in the art rejections below absent a showing of evidence to the contrary.
It is noted that any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to rejections made based on said interpretations. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, and 27-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichim et al (US10792310B2, 7/17/2017; published 10/6/2020) ) as evidenced by Hoek et al (Endocr Rev. 1997 Feb;18(1):107-34), Nouri et al (J Reprod Immunol. 2024 Sep; 165:104290), in view of Bahir et al (In Regenerative Medicine. IntechOpen. 17 July 2020).
Ichim teaches method for treatment of premature ovarian failure (abstract). The reference teaches method for addressing ovarian aging or premature ovarian failure in an individual through the steps of: a) diagnosing an individual with premature ovarian failure or ovarian aging; b) administering endothelial progenitor cells to said individual; c) administering mesenchymal stem cells to said individual; and, d) measuring ovarian function following administration of said cell populations to said individual (see claim 2 of Ichim). MSC are injected into the ovaries through laparoscopy. MSC population can be derived from sources selected from the group consisting of: bone marrow, adipose tissue, umbilical cord blood, placental tissue, etc. Steroidal-cell antibodies were detected in ovarian biopsies performed in s a small cohort of women with spontaneous POI, 100% of women with SCAs were found to have CD3+ lymphocytic infiltrates on ovarian biopsy, indicative of T-cell-mediated oophoritis (“enhanced T cell infiltration as compared to a microenvironment of a non-degenerative ovary” as in instant claim 22; “wherein the ovarian microenvironment is associated with enhanced gamma delta cell infiltration as compared to a microenvironment of a non-degenerative ovary” as in instant claim 24). The disclosure reads on “A method of treating ovarian failure in a mammal in need comprising: a) selecting a mammal suffering from ovarian failure within an ovarian microenvironment; b) providing a population of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) derived from one or more of: i) natural MSCs derived from umbilical cord; ii) natural MSCs derived from placental tissue; . . . and d) administering a therapeutically effective amount of said . . . MSCs to said mammal via intra-ovarian injection.” as in instant claim 21 in-part.
Regarding claim 27, Ichim teaches that the mesenchymal stem cell population preferably expresses one or more markers selected from the group consisting of: STRO-1, CD105, CD54, CD106, HLA-I markers, vimentin, ASMA, collagen-1, fibronectin, LFA-3, ICAM-1, PECAM-1, P-selectin, L-selectin, CD49b/CD29, CD49c/CD29, CD49d/CD29, CD61, CD18, CD29, thrombomodulin, telomerase, CD10, CD13, STRO-2, VCAM-1, CD146, and THY-1 (i.e., CD90), which reads on “wherein said hypoxic-cultured MSCs possess one or more markers selected from the group consisting of: . . . g) CD90; h) CD105” as instantly claimed.
Evidentiary reference Hoek teaches premature ovarian failure and ovarian autoimmunity. Immunohistochemical analysis of the lymphocytic oophoritis (a cause of ovarian failure) reveals that the inflammatory cells are mainly formed by T lymphocytes (CD41 and CD81) with a few B cells, together with large numbers of plasma cells. Macrophages and NK cells can also be found (“wherein the ovarian microenvironment is characterized by enhanced NK cell infiltration as compared to a microenvironment of a non-degenerative ovary” as in instant claim 23).
Evidentiary reference Nouri states that folliculogenesis is the process where follicles in the ovaries develop and eventually lead to ovulation. Any disruption to this process can cause premature ovarian failure. miR-326 is one of the microRNAs whose expression leads to Th17 production. Th17 activates the immune system to respond more vigorously, and by producing interleukins and cytokines causes inflammation and autoimmune disorders. Th17-induced inflammation and Th17/Treg imbalance can result in POF. This investigation took samples from 30 POF patients and 30 healthy people. The study utilized PCR to assess the expression levels of cytokines, specific transcription factor (ROR-γt), and miR-326. Additionally, ELISA was employed to analyze serum levels of IL-17, IL-21, IL-23. Furthermore, flow cytometry was utilized to determine the frequency of Th17. Compared to the control group, our results demonstrated a rise in the transcription factor RORɣt and a considerable rise in the frequency of Th17 cells in patients with POF. The level of inflammatory cytokines IL-17, IL-21, and IL-23 secreted in serum samples of patients with POF increased significantly compared to the control group. This shows that those with POF have elevated IL-17 (“wherein the ovarian microenvironment is characterized by upregulated production of interleukin-17 as compared to a microenvironment of a non- degenerative ovary” as in instant claim 25).
The difference between Ichim and the instantly claimed invention is that it does not teach culturing the mesenchymal stem cells under hypoxic conditions between 1-10% oxygen (as in instant claim 21 in-part).
Bahir teaches that hypoxic preconditioning of MSCs improves their regenerative potential. Hypoxic preconditioning improves survival and stemness of cells and has been investigated in a number studies. SOX2, OCT4, NANOG and c-Myc are the markers that show stemness of cells (Section 5.1, para 1). It has been found that stem cells grown in hypoxia are more viable, have decreased apoptosis through effects on HIF1a and p53 pathways (same para). Hypoxia (1%) results in decreased senescence, increased lifespan of mesenchymal stem cells and were able to maintain proliferation rate, morphology and genetic stability (para 3). Stemness of MSCs remains preserved in hypoxic cultures. Hypoxia results in decreased expression of apoptotic BCL-2 and CASP3 and increased expression of anti-apoptotic genes (same para). This reads on “culturing the mesenchymal stem cells under hypoxic conditions between 1-10% oxygen” as in instant claim 21 in-part; “wherein the hypoxic-culturing induces enhanced Hypoxia- Inducible Factor-la (HIF-la) production from the MSCs compared to normoxia” as in claim 30; “wherein the hypoxic-culturing is about 2% oxygen” as in claim 31; “wherein the MSCs undergo hypoxic-culturing for at least 24 hours” as in claim 32; and “wherein the administered MSCs are resistant to apoptosis in the ovarian microenvironment” as in claim 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to administer MSCs to treat ovarian failure as taught by Ichim, where the MSC are preconditioned with hypoxia as taught by Bahir, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Bahir shows MSCs can be preconditioned with varying ranges of hypoxic conditions. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the MSCs of Ichim to include hypoxic preconditioning as taught by Bahir with a reasonable expectation of advantageously decreasing senescence, increasing lifespan of mesenchymal stem cells with maintained proliferation rate, morphology and genetic stability as taught by the prior art.
Regarding claim 28-29, neither Ichim nor Bahir explicitly teach “wherein said hypoxic-cultured MSCs inhibits cytokine production from helper T1 cells within the ovarian microenvironment” as in instant claim 28 and “wherein said inhibited cytokine is interferon gamma” as in instant claim 29. However, the claims are an intended result of the instantly claimed active method step. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, the administered cells of Ichim and Bahir in combination would result in inhibition of cytokine production (including, but not limited to, interferon gamma).
Regarding claim 33, neither Ichim nor Bahir explicitly teach “wherein the administered MSCs induce T regulatory cell production in the ovarian microenvironment” as in instant claim 33. However, the claim is an intended result of the instantly claimed active method step. Thus, absent evidence to the contrary, the administered cells of Ichim and Bahir in combination would result in induction of T reg cell production.
Response to Arguments
The rejection(s) of previously pending claim(s) 1-20 are under 112(a) written description and enablement are moot in view of their cancellation. However, Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and Declaration submitted by Dr. Amit Patel, filed 2/24/2026 are reasonably pertinent to newly pending claims 21-34. These arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive related to enablement and written description.
Double Patenting
Claim 21, 30-32, and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10,792,310 B2 in view of Bahir et al (In Regenerative Medicine. IntechOpen. 17 July 2020).
Claim 2 of U.S. Patent ‘310 is drawn to “A method for addressing ovarian aging or premature ovarian failure in an individual through the steps of: a) diagnosing an individual with premature ovarian failure or ovarian aging; b) administering endothelial progenitor cells to said individual; c) administering mesenchymal stem cells to said individual; and, d) measuring ovarian function following administration of said cell populations to said individual.” This reads on “A method of treating ovarian failure in a mammal in need comprising: a) selecting a mammal suffering from ovarian failure within an ovarian microenvironment; b) providing a population of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) derived from one or more of: i) natural MSCs derived from umbilical cord; ii) natural MSCs derived from placental tissue; . . . and d) administering a therapeutically effective amount of said . . . MSCs to said mammal via intra-ovarian injection” as in instant claim 21 in-part.
Bahir teaches that hypoxic preconditioning of MSCs improves their regenerative potential. Hypoxic preconditioning improves survival and stemness of cells and has been investigated in a number studies. SOX2, OCT4, NANOG and c-Myc are the markers that show stemness of cells (Section 5.1, para 1). It has been found that stem cells grown in hypoxia are more viable, have decreased apoptosis through effects on HIF1a and p53 pathways (same para). Hypoxia (1%) results in decreased senescence, increased lifespan of mesenchymal stem cells and were able to maintain proliferation rate, morphology and genetic stability (para 3). Stemness of MSCs remains preserved in hypoxic cultures. Hypoxia results in decreased expression of apoptotic BCL-2 and CASP3 and increased expression of anti-apoptotic genes (same para). This reads on “culturing the mesenchymal stem cells under hypoxic conditions between 1-10% oxygen” as in instant claim 21 in-part; “wherein the hypoxic-culturing induces enhanced Hypoxia- Inducible Factor-la (HIF-la) production from the MSCs compared to normoxia” as in claim 30; “wherein the hypoxic-culturing is about 2% oxygen” as in claim 31; “wherein the MSCs undergo hypoxic-culturing for at least 24 hours” as in claim 32; and “wherein the administered MSCs are resistant to apoptosis in the ovarian microenvironment” as in claim 34.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/KARA D JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632