DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 2, 4-22, 24-30, and 32-37 are pending in the application. Claims 3, 23, 31, and 38-46 have been canceled. Claims 1, 5, 7-10, 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, 30, 33, 34, and 36 have been amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 1/23/26 and 3/3/26 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) (“Fischell”) in view of Lewis (6,044,845) and Stenzel (US 2007/0010863 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fischell discloses (Figures 23A-23F) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease, the method comprising: advancing a catheter system through a base sheath (44) towards a vessel (45) having an atherosclerotic lesion (52), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (118) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen and a flexible, distal tapered end region (paragraph 0037); and an outer catheter (142) having a catheter lumen and a distal end; positioning the tapered end region of the inner catheter distal to the distal end of the outer catheter (Figure 23A); crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter (Figure 23B); advancing the outer catheter (142) over the inner catheter and positioning a distal end region of the outer catheter across the atherosclerotic lesion (Figure 23D; paragraph 0208); withdrawing the inner catheter from the catheter lumen and maintaining the outer catheter in place across the atherosclerotic lesion (Figure 23E); advancing a stent delivery system comprising a stent (200) through the catheter lumen to the distal end region of the outer catheter (Figure 23F); withdrawing the outer catheter to unsleeve the stent and maintaining the stent delivery system in place (paragraph 0211); and deploying the stent of the stent delivery system against the atherosclerotic lesion (paragraph 0211).
Fischell fails to disclose the method is performed to treat intracranial atherosclerotic disease. Fischell also fails to disclose that the inner catheter has a non-expandable tubular elongate body. Fischell fails to disclose crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter to pre-dilate the atherosclerotic lesion.
Lewis teaches (Figure 7) that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat intercranial atherosclerotic disease by advancing a catheter system (20) towards an intracranial vessel having an atherosclerotic lesion (Column 10, lines 16-50). Lewis further teaches that mechanical interventions, such as stent placement can be performed in the intercranial vasculature (Column 5, lines 11-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method disclosed by Fischell on an intracranial vessel having an atherosclerotic lesion, as taught by Lewis. Lewis teaches that the brain is the organ most sensitive to ischemia and the brain will not tolerate ischemia for very long without massive neuron death (stroke). This modification would provide a method to restore blood flow quickly and safely (Lewis, Column 1, lines 11-20).
In the same field of endeavor, Stenzel teaches (Figures 11-13) advancing a non-expandable (NOTE: Figure 11 depicts a balloon. However, Stenzel teaches the device may include an inflation balloon) catheter (30) with a single lumen (38) and a flexible (paragraphs 0033 and 0035), distal tapered end region (20) over a guidewire (12) to a lesion (16). Stenzel teaches the guidewire (12) is positioned within the single lumen (38) of the inner catheter (Figure 11). Stenzel teaches the size and shape of the lesion (16) may block the vessel (14) to the extent that the guidewire is unable to cross the lesion (16). Stenzel teaches (Figure 13) that the guidewire (12) is positioned proximal to the tapered end region (20) of the catheter (30). Stenzel teaches using the tapered end region (20) of inner catheter (30) to cross an occlusion (16) in the artery (Figures 12 and 13). Stenzel teaches (Figures 12 and 13) that the tapered end region (20) of the inner catheter (30) pre-dilates the occlusion (16) in the artery (14) as the catheter system is advanced (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the inner catheter having a non-expandable, tubular elongate body with a single lumen and a flexible, distal tapered end region for the inner catheter disclosed by Fischell. Substitution of one known element (the non-expandable inner catheter taught by Stenzel) for another element (the expandable inner catheter disclosed by Fischell) providing the same function to yield predictable results (pre-dilating the atherosclerotic lesion to allow the catheter system to pass through lesions where the size and shape of the lesion may block the vessel) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 4, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel teaches (Fischell, Figures 23A-23F; Stenzel, Figure 11) advancing the catheter system comprises advancing the catheter system over a guidewire (42).
Regarding claim 5, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel teaches (Fischell, Figure 23A) that the guidewire (42) is pre-positioned across the atherosclerotic lesion (52).
Regarding claims 6-9, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel above teaches that the catheter system is advanced over a guidewire and the guidewire is positioned within the single lumen of the inner catheter proximal to a distal opening from the single lumen. However, the combined teaching above fails to teach advancing the catheter system through the base sheath further comprises navigating the catheter system through a carotid artery proximal of the intracranial vessel while the tapered end region of the inner catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the outer catheter and the guidewire is fully contained within the single lumen of the inner catheter; wherein navigating the catheter system through the carotid artery comprises using the tapered end region of the inner catheter, the carotid artery comprising a blood vessel narrowing, the catheter system finding a passage through the blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery; and wherein the tapered end region of the inner catheter dilates the blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery as the catheter system is advanced towards the atherosclerotic lesion in the intracranial vessel.
Lewis further teaches (Figure 7) treating an occlusion in a carotid artery (Column 7, lines 45-50) by advancing the catheter system through the base sheath further comprises navigating the catheter system through a carotid artery to the lesion (Column 7, lines 45-62).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Fischell in view of Lewis and Stenzel above to navigate the catheter system through a carotid artery proximal of the intracranial vessel, wherein the tapered end region of the inner catheter finds passage through and dilates the blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery as the catheter system is advanced towards the atherosclerotic lesion in the intracranial vessel. Lewis teaches that a carotid artery/a vertebral artery/an intracerebral artery is a common location of significant atherosclerosis and that these occlusions will occur abruptly and the sudden loss of perfusion through the blood vessel distal to occlusion will place the patient at great risk of neuron death. Further, Lewis teaches that occlusion/narrowing may result from thrombosis at a pre-existing atherosclerotic lesion or may result from the shedding of an embolus from an artery which flows distally to the particular vessel in which the occlusion occurs. This modification would reestablish perfusion and prevent neuron death (Lewis, Column 7, lines 45-62).
Regarding claim 10, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel above teaches that a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to the distal tapered end region of the inner catheter during the advancing step (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 11, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching teaches that the guidewire is a 0.014” to 0.024” guidewire. Fischell discloses a 0.009-0.014” guidewire.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guidewire to be a 0.014” to 0.024” guidewire, since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range, indicating the guidewire “can be” a 0.014-0.024” guidewire (paragraph 0013).
Regarding clam 12, Fischell as modified by Lewis and Stenzel above teaches the inner catheter has a length configured to extend from outside a patient’s body (Stenzel, paragraph 0033). However, the combined teaching fails to explicitly teach a length extending from outside a patient’s body, through a femoral artery, and to the intracranial vessel.
Lewis further teaches (Figure 7) an inner catheter (22) having a length configured to extend from outside a patient’s body, through a femoral artery, and to the intracranial vessel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner catheter taught by Fischell in view of Lewis and Stenzel above to have a length configured to extend from outside a patient’s body, through a femoral artery, and to the intracranial vessel, as further taught by Lewis. This modification would provide a sufficient length to reach the lesion and would allow the operator to manipulate the inner catheter from outside the patient’s body (Lewis, Figure 7, Column 10, lines 16-50).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) (“Fischell”) in view of Lewis (6,044,845) and Stenzel (US 2007/0010863 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jago (US 2020/0253579 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Fischell in view of Lewis and Stenzel teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching fails to teach navigating the catheter system through a carotid artery using the tapered end region of the inner catheter, the carotid artery proximal of the intracranial vessel and comprising a blood vessel narrowing, the tapered end region finding a passage through the blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery.
Jago teaches (Figure 2) that it is known in the art that a proximal atherosclerotic lesion (72) can be formed in a proximal vessel and a distal occlusion can form in a distal vessel (74). Jago teaches that the proximal vessel is a common carotid artery (10a) and the distal vessel is a distal carotid artery (10b). Jago teaches (Figure 2) that the carotid artery is proximal to intracranial vessels and the lesion creates a blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Fischell in view of Lewis and Stenzel to navigate the catheter system through a carotid artery using the tapered end region of the inner catheter, the carotid artery proximal of the intracranial vessel and comprising a blood vessel narrowing, the tapered end region finding a passage through the blood vessel narrowing in the carotid artery, as Jago teaches it is known in the art for blood vessel narrowings to form in the carotid artery. This modification would treat a narrowing in the carotid artery that restricts flow of blood to the brain (Jago, paragraph 0013) en route to treating the intracranial vessel
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) (“Fischell”) in view of Lewis (6,044,845) and Stenzel (US 2007/0010863 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilson et al. (US 2018/0193042 A1) (“Wilson”).
Regarding claims 13-20, Fischell in view of Lewis and Stenzel teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching fails to teach:
the inner catheter further comprises a proximal segment comprising a metal reinforced segment and an intermediate segment comprising an unreinforced polymer having a first durometer, the intermediate segment proximal of the distal tapered end region and distal to the proximal segment;
wherein the distal tapered end region is formed of a polymer that is different from the unreinforced polymer of the intermediate segment, and where the polymer of the tapered end region has a second durometer less than the first durometer;
wherein the tapered end region tapers distally from a first outer diameter of between 0.048" and 0.080" to a second outer diameter of about 0.031" up to about 0.048" over a length that is between 0.5 cm and 4.0 cm;
wherein the second outer diameter is at a distal-most terminus of the inner catheter;
wherein a taper angle of a wall of the tapered end region relative to a center line of the tapered end region is between 0.9 to 1.6 degrees;
wherein the second outer diameter is about 50% of the first outer diameter, about 40% of the first outer diameter, or about 65% of the first outer diameter;
wherein the intermediate segment includes a first segment having a material hardness of no more than 55D and a second segment located proximal to the first segment having a material hardness of no more than 72D; and
wherein a location of a material transition between the unreinforced polymer and the metal reinforced segment is at least about 49 cm from a distal end of the elongate body.
Wilson teaches (Figures 2A-2B, 7A-7D, 10A-10C) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease (paragraph 0070), the method comprising: advancing a distal end of a base sheath (400) from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery (paragraph 0070); advancing a catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery (paragraph 0070), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (300) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen (368), the inner catheter comprising a proximal segment (366), an intermediate segment (360), and a flexible, distal tapered end region (346).
Wilson teaches: the inner catheter (300) further comprises the proximal segment (373) comprising a metal reinforced segment (380; paragraphs 0152-0154) and the intermediate segment (360) comprising an unreinforced polymer having a first durometer (paragraph 0151), the intermediate segment proximal of the distal tapered end region (346) and distal to the proximal segment (Figures 7D, 10A);
wherein the distal tapered end region (346) is formed of a polymer that is different from the unreinforced polymer of the intermediate segment, and where the polymer of the tapered end region has a second durometer less than the first durometer (paragraphs 0146, 0151, 0158);
wherein the tapered end region tapers distally from a first outer diameter of between 0.048" and 0.080" to a second outer diameter of about 0.031" up to about 0.048" over a length that is between 0.5 cm and 4.0 cm (paragraph 0145);
wherein the second outer diameter is at a distal-most terminus of the inner catheter (paragraph 0145);
wherein a taper angle of a wall of the tapered end region relative to a center line of the tapered end region is between 0.9 to 1.6 degrees (paragraph 0145);
wherein the second outer diameter is about 50% of the first outer diameter, about 40% of the first outer diameter, or about 65% of the first outer diameter (paragraph 0145);
wherein the intermediate segment (360) includes a first segment (372) having a material hardness of no more than 55D (paragraph 0151) and a second segment (373) located proximal to the first segment having a material hardness of no more than 72D (paragraph 0151); and
wherein a location of a material transition between the unreinforced polymer and the metal reinforced segment is at least about 49 cm from a distal end of the elongate body (paragraph 0151).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Fischell in view of Lewis such that:
the inner catheter further comprises a proximal segment comprising a metal reinforced segment and an intermediate segment comprising an unreinforced polymer having a first durometer, the intermediate segment proximal of the distal tapered end region and distal to the proximal segment;
wherein the distal tapered end region is formed of a polymer that is different from the unreinforced polymer of the intermediate segment, and where the polymer of the tapered end region has a second durometer less than the first durometer;
wherein the tapered end region tapers distally from a first outer diameter of between 0.048" and 0.080" to a second outer diameter of about 0.031" up to about 0.048" over a length that is between 0.5 cm and 4.0 cm;
wherein the second outer diameter is at a distal-most terminus of the inner catheter;
wherein a taper angle of a wall of the tapered end region relative to a center line of the tapered end region is between 0.9 to 1.6 degrees;
wherein the second outer diameter is about 50% of the first outer diameter, about 40% of the first outer diameter, or about 65% of the first outer diameter;
wherein the intermediate segment includes a first segment having a material hardness of no more than 55D and a second segment located proximal to the first segment having a material hardness of no more than 72D; and
wherein a location of a material transition between the unreinforced polymer and the metal reinforced segment is at least about 49 cm from a distal end of the elongate body, as taught by Wilson.
These modifications would provide an inner catheter having exceptional deliverability through convoluted anatomy that allows for delivering aspirational forces to a target stroke site as well as for the delivery of stroke interventional devices such as a stent retriever, stent, flow diverter or other working devices (Wilson, paragraph 0091).
Claims 21, 22, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) (“Fischell”) in view of Lewis (6,044,845).
Regarding claim 21, Fischell discloses (Figures 23A-23F) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease, the method comprising: advancing a catheter system through a base sheath (44) towards a vessel (45) having an atherosclerotic lesion (52), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (118) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen and a flexible, distal tapered end region (paragraph 0037); and an outer catheter (142) having a catheter lumen and a distal end; positioning the tapered end region of the inner catheter distal to the distal end of the outer catheter (Figure 23A); crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter to pre-dilate the atherosclerotic lesion (Figures 23B, 23C; paragraph 0207); positioning a distal end of the outer catheter (142) to a proximal base of the atherosclerotic lesion (Figures 23B, 23C); withdrawing the inner catheter from the catheter lumen (Figure 23E; paragraph 0208) and maintaining the outer catheter (142) in place (paragraph 0210); advancing a stent delivery system comprising a stent (200) through the catheter lumen through the distal end of the outer catheter and into the atherosclerotic lesion that is pre-dilated; and deploying the stent of the stent delivery system against the atherosclerotic lesion (paragraph 0211).
Regarding claim 22, Fischell discloses (Figures 23A-23F) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease, the method comprising: advancing a catheter system through the base sheath (44) towards an atherosclerotic lesion (52) in an artery (45), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (118) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen and a flexible, distal tapered end region (paragraph 0037); and an outer catheter (142) comprising: a flexible, distal luminal portion having a catheter lumen (144) extending between a distal end and a proximal end of the flexible, distal luminal portion; a proximal tether element (132) extending proximally from a point of attachment (paragraph 0148) with the proximal end of the flexible distal luminal portion to outside the body of the patient (Figures 12A, 12B), wherein an outer diameter of a portion of the proximal tether element is smaller than an outer diameter of the distal luminal portion (Figures 12A, 12B); positioning the tapered end region of the inner catheter distal to the distal end of the outer catheter (Figure 23A); crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter dilating the atherosclerotic lesion (Figures 23B and 23C; paragraphs 0205-0207); withdrawing the inner catheter from the catheter lumen and maintaining the outer catheter in place (Figure 23E; paragraph 0208); advancing a stent delivery system comprising a stent (200) through the catheter lumen to the distal end region of the outer catheter; and deploying the stent of the stent delivery system against the atherosclerotic lesion (Figure 23F; paragraph 0211).
Fischell fails to disclose the distal end of the base sheath is advanced from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery and the catheter system is advanced through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery.
Lewis teaches (Figure 7) that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat intercranial atherosclerotic disease by advancing a catheter system (20) towards an intracranial vessel having an atherosclerotic lesion (Column 10, lines 16-50). Lewis further teaches that mechanical interventions, such as stent placement can be performed in the intercranial vasculature (Column 5, lines 11- 16). Lewis teaches that the distal end of a base sheath is advanced from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery and the catheter system is advanced through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery (Column 1, lines 24-30; Column 5, line 63 - Column 6, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method disclosed by Fischell on an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery by advancing the distal end of the base sheath from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery and advancing the catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery, as taught by Lewis. Lewis teaches that the brain is the organ most sensitive to ischemia and the brain will not tolerate ischemia for very long without massive neuron death (stroke). This modification would provide a method to restore blood flow quickly and safely (Lewis, Column 1, lines 11-20).
Regarding claim 28, Fischell as modified by Lewis teaches (Fischell, Figure 23D) advancing the outer catheter (142) over the inner catheter and positioning a distal end region of the outer catheter across the atherosclerotic lesion (Fischell, paragraph 0208).
Regarding claim 29, Fischell as modified by Lewis teaches (Fischell, Figure 23F) withdrawing the outer catheter (142) after advancing the stent delivery system to unsleeve the stent (200) while maintaining the stent delivery system in place (Fischell, paragraph 0211).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) ("Fischell") in view of Lewis (6,044,845) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Stenzel (US 2007/0010863 A1).
Regarding claims 24-26, Fischell as modified by Lewis above teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching fails to teach advancing the catheter system with a guidewire positioned within the single lumen of the inner catheter so a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal opening from the single lumen, wherein crossing the atherosclerotic lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion while the tapered end region of the inner catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the outer catheter and without the guidewire extending out of the distal opening of the single lumen of the inner catheter, and wherein navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion comprises using the tapered end region of the inner catheter to find a passage through the atherosclerotic lesion.
Stenzel teaches a guidewire is positioned within a lumen of an inner catheter (Figure 11). Stenzel teaches the size and shape of the lesion (16) may block the vessel (14) to the extent that the guidewire is unable to cross the lesion (16). Stenzel teaches (Figure 13) that the guidewire (12) is positioned proximal to the tapered end region (20) of the catheter (30). Stenzel teaches using the tapered end region (20) of inner catheter (30) to find a passage through an occlusion (16) in the artery (Figures 12 and 13). Stenzel teaches that a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal end of the tapered end region, wherein crossing the lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the lesion while the tapered end region of the catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the catheter and without the guidewire extending beyond the tapered end region of the inner catheter. Stenzel teaches (Figures 12 and 13) that the tapered end region (20) of the inner catheter (30) dilates the occlusion (16) in the artery (14) as the catheter system is advanced (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Fischell in view of Lewis such the catheter system is advanced with the guidewire positioned within the single lumen of the inner catheter so a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal opening from the single lumen, wherein crossing the atherosclerotic lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion while the tapered end region of the inner catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the outer catheter and without the guidewire extending out of the distal opening of the single lumen of the inner catheter, and wherein navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion comprises using the tapered end region of the inner catheter to find a passage through the atherosclerotic lesion, as taught by Stenzel. These modifications would allow the catheter system to pass through atherosclerotic lesions where the size and shape of the lesion may block the vessel to the extent that the guidewire is unable to cross the atherosclerotic lesion (Stenzel, paragraph 0061). These modifications would allow the guidewire, an angioplasty balloon, or a stent delivery system to pass through the atherosclerotic lesion (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) ("Fischell") in view of Lewis (6,044,845) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Wilson et al. (US 2018/0193042 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Fischell as modified by Lewis teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching fails to explicitly teach that the distal end of the base sheath is advanced to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery.
Wilson teaches (Figures 2A-2B, 7A-7D) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease (paragraph 0070), the method comprising: advancing a distal end of a base sheath (400) from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery (paragraph 0070); advancing a catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery (paragraph 0070). Wilson teaches that the distal end (406) of the base sheath is advanced to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery (paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to advance the distal end of the base sheath to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery, as taught by Wilson. This modification would provide a base sheath to assume and navigate the bends of the vasculature without kinking, collapsing, or causing vascular trauma en route to the lesion (Wilson, paragraph 0077).
Claims 30 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) ("Fischell") in view of Wilson et al. (US 2018/0193042 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Fischell discloses (Figures 23A-23F) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease, the method comprising: advancing a distal end of a base sheath (44); advancing a catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion (52) in an artery (45), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (118) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen, the inner catheter comprising a proximal segment, an intermediate segment, and a flexible, distal tapered end region (paragraph 0037, 0063), a taper length of the tapered end region being between about 0.5 cm and about 4.0 cm (paragraphs 0064, 0196); and an outer catheter (142) having a catheter lumen (144) extending between a distal end and a proximal end; positioning the tapered end region of the inner catheter distal to the distal end of the outer catheter (Figure 23A); crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter dilating the atherosclerotic lesion (Figures 23B and 23C; paragraphs 0205-0207); withdrawing the inner catheter from the catheter lumen and maintaining the outer catheter in place (Figure 23E; paragraph 0208); advancing a stent delivery system comprising a stent (200) through the catheter lumen to the distal end region of the outer catheter; and deploying the stent of the stent delivery system against the lesion (paragraph 0211).
Fischell discloses that the flexible, distal tapered end region can be unreinforced. However, Fischell fails to disclose the flexible, distal tapered end region comprising an unreinforced polymer having a material hardness less than that of the intermediate segment. Fischell also fails to disclose advancing the distal end of the base sheath from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery and advancing the catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery.
Wilson teaches (Figures 2A-2B, 7A-7D) a method of treating atherosclerotic disease (paragraph 0070), the method comprising: advancing a distal end of a base sheath (400) from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery (paragraph 0070); advancing a catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery (paragraph 0070), the catheter system comprising: an inner catheter (300) having a tubular elongate body with a single lumen (368), the inner catheter comprising a proximal segment (373), an intermediate segment (372), and a flexible, distal tapered end region (346) comprising an unreinforced polymer (paragraph 0152) having a material hardness less than that of the intermediate segment (paragraph 0151), a taper length of the tapered end region being between about 0.5 cm and about 4.0 cm (paragraph 0151); and an outer catheter (200) having a catheter lumen extending between a distal end and a proximal end.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method disclosed by Fischell on an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery by advancing the distal end of the base sheath from a femoral artery to a common carotid artery and advancing the catheter system through the base sheath towards an atherosclerotic lesion in at least one of a common carotid artery, an external carotid artery, or an internal carotid artery, as taught by Wilson. It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible, distal tapered end region to comprise an unreinforced polymer having a material hardness less than that of the intermediate segment, as taught by Wilson. Wilson teaches that ischemic stroke (AIS) usually occurs when an artery to the brain is occluded, preventing delivery of fresh oxygenated blood from the heart and lungs to the brain. These occlusions are typically caused by a thrombus or an embolus lodging in the artery and blocking the artery that feeds a territory of brain tissue. If an artery is blocked, ischemia then injury follows, and brain cells may stop working. Furthermore, if the artery remains blocked for more than a few minutes, the brain cells may die, leading to permanent neurological deficit or death (paragraph 0003). These modifications would provide a method to allow navigation of complex, tortuous anatomy to perform treatment of acute stroke (Wilson, paragraph 0068). These modifications would provide a catheter system with extreme flexibility and deliverability (paragraph 0068).
Regarding claim 35, Fischell as modified by Wilson above teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching above fails to explicitly teach that the distal end of the base sheath is advanced to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery. Wilson further teaches that the distal end (406) of the base sheath is advanced to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery (paragraph 0077).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to advance the distal end of the base sheath to a location proximal of a bifurcation between the internal carotid artery and the external carotid artery, as further taught by Wilson. This modification would provide a base sheath to assume and navigate the bends of the vasculature without kinking, collapsing, or causing vascular trauma en route to the lesion (Wilson, paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 36, Fischell as modified by Wilson teaches (Wilson, Figure 23D) advancing the outer catheter (142) over the inner catheter (118) and positioning a distal end region of the outer catheter across the atherosclerotic lesion (Wilson, paragraphs 0209-0209).
Regarding claim 37, Fischell as modified by Wilson teaches withdrawing the outer catheter (142) after advancing the stent delivery system to unsleeve the stent (200) while maintaining the stent delivery system in place (Fischell, paragraph 0211).
Claims 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischell et al. (US 2019/0255299 A1) ("Fischell") in view of Wilson et al. (US 2018/0193042 A1) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Stenzel (US 2007/0010863 A1).
Regarding claims 32-34, Fischell as modified by Wilson above teaches the invention substantially as claimed. However, the combined teaching fails to teach advancing the catheter system with a guidewire positioned within the single lumen of the inner catheter so a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal opening from the single lumen, wherein crossing the atherosclerotic lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion while the tapered end region of the inner catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the outer catheter and without the guidewire extending out of the distal opening of the single lumen of the inner catheter, and wherein navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion comprises using the tapered end region of the inner catheter to find a passage through the atherosclerotic lesion.
Stenzel teaches a guidewire is positioned within a lumen of the inner catheter (Figure 11). Stenzel teaches the size and shape of the lesion (16) may block the vessel (14) to the extent that the guidewire is unable to cross the lesion (16). Stenzel teaches (Figure 13) that the guidewire (12) is positioned proximal to the tapered end region (20) of the catheter (30). Stenzel teaches using the tapered end region (20) of inner catheter (30) to find a passage through an occlusion (16) in the artery (Figures 12 and 13). Stenzel teaches that a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal end of the tapered end region, wherein crossing the lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the lesion while the tapered end region of the catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the catheter and without the guidewire extending beyond the tapered end region of the inner catheter. Stenzel teaches (Figures 12 and 13) that the tapered end region (20) of the inner catheter (30) dilates the occlusion (16) in the artery (14) as the catheter system is advanced (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Fischell in view of Wilson such the catheter system is advanced with the guidewire positioned within the single lumen of the inner catheter so a distal end of the guidewire is positioned proximal to a distal opening from the single lumen, wherein crossing the atherosclerotic lesion comprises navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion while the tapered end region of the inner catheter is positioned distal to the distal end of the outer catheter and without the guidewire extending out of the distal opening of the single lumen of the inner catheter, and wherein navigating the catheter system past the atherosclerotic lesion comprises using the tapered end region of the inner catheter to find a passage through the atherosclerotic lesion, as taught by Stenzel. These modifications would allow the catheter system to pass through atherosclerotic lesions where the size and shape of the lesion may block the vessel to the extent that the guidewire is unable to cross the lesion (Stenzel, paragraph 0061). These modifications would allow the guidewire, an angioplasty balloon, or a stent delivery system to pass through the atherosclerotic lesion (Stenzel, paragraph 0061).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the inner catheter has a non-expandable tubular elongate body with a single lumen and a flexible, distal tapered end region. The previously cited Stenzel reference has been applied to claim 1 to teach a non-expandable inner catheter to cross a lesion. Claims 21, 22, and 30 were not amended to include this limitation.
The Applicant has argued that the micro-catheter 118 is an integral part of the balloon catheter sub-system 54 and is attached to the balloon member 96. The proximal portion 122 of the balloon member 96 attached to the distal end 117 of the inflation lumen distal shaft 104 and the distal portion 124 of the balloon member 96 is attached to the outer surface of the micro-catheter 118. The Applicant argues that the micro-catheter 118 is part of a catheter that necessarily has two lumens – inflation lumen 79 to inflate the balloon member 96 of the inner member 54 and guidewire lumen 112. For this reason, the Applicant argues that the micro-catheter is not an inner catheter with a single lumen.
The Examiner does not agree with the Applicant’s arguments. Fischell identifies the micro-catheter (118) as a single lumen structure to house the guidewire (42). The micro-catheter (118) has been interpreted as the inner catheter in the rejections. The micro-catheter does not have a second lumen.
The Applicant has also argued that Fischell in view of Lewis fails to disclose, teach, or suggest “…crossing the atherosclerotic lesion with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter to pre-dilate the lesion…” The Applicant has argued that Fischell only describes pre-dilation of the lesion with inflation of the balloon (96). However, only claim 1 has been amended to include the “non-expandable” limitation. Fischell discloses the pre-dilation of the lesion in Figures 23B and 23C. It can be seen in these Figures that in order to pre-dilate the lesion, the tapered end region of the inner catheter (118) must cross the lesion. The claims require crossing the atherosclerotic lesion “with at least a portion of the tapered end region of the inner catheter…” It can be seen that “at least a portion” of the micro-catheter (118) of Fischell crosses the lesion in order to pre-dilate the lesion.
For these reasons, the claims as currently written do not distinguish over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.D.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DIANE D YABUT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771