Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 9-14, filed 21 June 2026 AD, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-18, and 20-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa
Hasegawa teaches a user equipment or UE receiving positioning reference signals or PRS configuration for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point or TRP with the PRS configuration comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals. In addition to teaching a UE receiving PRS configuration for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point or TRP with the PRS configuration comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals, Hasegawa discloses determining a subset of the PRS signals reaching an area of the UE’s location based on beam information associated with the PRS signals with the beam information comprising a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal. Hasegawa further teaches monitoring a subset of the PRS signals reaching the area of the UE’s location.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0098, …the active WTRU may receive an indication from the network to select PRS/SRSp resources based on the LOS or NLOS indicator associated with the PRS/SRSp resource or TRP.)
Shows the active WTRU receiving an indication from network to select PRS/SRSp resources based on LOS or NLOS indicator associated with the PRS/SRSp resource or TRP
In other words, the WTRU or UE receives configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP or an indication from the network to select PRS/SRSp resources. Further, the PRS configuration information comprises beam information associated with PRS signals or the indication to select PRS/SRSp resources comprises a LOS or NLOS indicator associated with PRS/SRSp resources.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0090, An obstacle (e.g., a moving truck) may randomly block the path between a WTRU and a TRP, which may block the LOS path between the WTRU and the TRP, lowering the RSRP of a reference signal, and/or degrading communication and positioning quality.)
Shows line of sight or LOS as a path of a signal
Shows the path of the signal may be blocked by an obstacle
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0093, …the LOS indicator may have a value between 0 and 1 , and may indicate a likelihood of the presence of an LOS between the TRP and the non-active WTRU or along an associated PRS resource. For example, if the LOS indicator associated with a PRS resource is set to 1 , it may indicate a high likelihood that the PRS transmitted on the PRS resource goes through the LOS path.)
Shows a LOS indicator with a value between 0 and 1
Shows if the LOS indicator set to 1, then a high probability of a PRS transmitted through the LOS path
According Merriam-Webster Dictionary, direction defines as:
:the line or course on which something is moving or is aimed to move or along which something is pointing or facing
The LOS as described by Hasegawa teaches LOS as a path or line or course of a signal. Further, Hasegawa teaches an LOS indicator. The LOS indicator indicates the probability of a PRS traveling through a LOS path. In other words, the LOS indicator indicates the probability or of a PRS traveling in a certain beam direction.
As indicated by the above arguments in paragraphs 0090 and 0093 of Hasegawa and with the definition of “direction” defined by Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the LOS indicator comprises the beam direction of the PRS signal.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0098, The active WTRU may determine to monitor PRS resources with associated indicators below a preconfigured threshold. Choosing PRS resources with a higher likelihood for NLOS may increase the likelihood for the active WTRU to detect an obstacle.)
Shows the active WTRU monitoring PRS resources associated with indicators below a threshold
Shows the active WTRU monitoring PRS resources with a higher probability of NLOS to detect obstacles
The applicant’s mapping of both the angle information and LOS indicator to determine the subset of PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located consists of being incorrect. The applicant’s beam information maps to Hasegawa’s LOS indicator, the PRS configuration information maps to Hasegawa’s indication from the network to select PRS/SRSp resources. Based upon the presented mappings, Hasegawa fails to treat the LOS indication and beam direction as separate parameters as indicated by the applicant.
Although the active WTRU monitors PRS with a higher probability of NLOS to detect obstacles, the WTRU still monitors PRS signals reaching an area of the location of the UE.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold).)
Shows the active WTRU determining a subset of PRS resource to monitor based on the LOS indicator
Shows the WTRU monitors PRS resource with a LOS indicator less than the threshold or selecting PRS resource with a higher probability of a NLOS
Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli
Yerramalli teaches not monitoring PRS signals failing to reach an area of the location of a UE.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0029, …after monitoring at least a subset of the one or more of the set of PRS transmission opportunities, that the maximum quantity of PRSs may have been received, and refraining from monitoring a remaining quantity of PRS transmission opportunities within the window based on determining that the maximum quantity of PRSs may have been received.)
Shows the refraining of monitoring of PRS based upon reaching a maximum quantity of received PRSs
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0120, If the quantity of PRSs to be transmitted during the window is less than the number of remaining PRS transmission opportunities, the first wireless device 805 may transmit the quantity of PRS transmissions and subsequently refrain from transmitting PRSs in the following PRS transmission opportunities within the window.)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting PRS transmissions upon reaching a threshold amount of PRS transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0121, …the second wireless device may determine a quantity of PRSs to be transmitted during the window (e.g., a maximum number of PRSs to be transmitted during the window). If, based on monitoring the PRS transmission opportunities, the second wireless device 815 detects the quantity of PRS transmissions, the second wireless device 815 may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities within the window.)
Shows the second device receiving the PRS transmissions from the first device refraining from monitoring the PRS transmissions upon reaching a maximum amount of PRS transmissions
Shows if the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals after a maximum amount and the second device receiving the PRS signals transmitted from the first device refrains from monitoring the PRS signals after a maximum amount, then the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals at an area of the location of the second device or UE
Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang
Zhang teaches beam information comprising a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal.
(See Zhang Abstract, …sending the corrected configuration information to a base station to which the cell belongs so as to make the base station send the positioning reference signal of the cell on the positioning subframe corresponding to the corrected configuration information.)
Shows the beam information of a PRS signal corresponding to a cell or a geographic coverage area
Liu et al. (WO 2022109806 A1) or Liu
Liu teaches receiving a radius of the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal.
(See Liu page 9 final paragraph, It should be understood that since the frequency band of the licensed cell is lower, the coverage radius is larger than that of the unlicensed cell. For the coverage of the unlicensed frequency band, compared with the data transmission service, the positioning service has lower requirements on the corresponding positioning reference signal strength, so the boundary #1 is usually different from the boundary #2, and the coverage of the area .sub.BP is usually larger than that of the area. .sub.BD is large. Considering specific areas that can be controlled, such as indoor factories, companies, parks and other areas, on the premise that the boundary of the control area will not cause interference to the licensed frequency band, the transmit power of the positioning reference signal can be appropriately increased to enhance positioning.)
Shows the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal with the radius based on the lower frequency of the cell. The lower frequency of the cell enables a larger radius because signals at a lower frequency travel farther than signals at a higher frequency.
Liu also teaches the PRS signals covering a geographic area of the location of the UE.
(See Liu page 10 paragraph 4, If the signal quality of the licensed frequency band is less than the first threshold, it is determined that the UE is in the area A in FIG. 4 but not in the area .sub.BP , and the first network device determines that the UE uses the licensed frequency band for positioning.)
Shows the UE resides in the coverage area of the PRS through the determination of the signal quality of the PRS
Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or Ma
Ma teaches transmission/reception point or TRP in a non-terrestrial network or NTN determining PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP, the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals, and transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP.
Rao et al. (US 2024/0015686 A1) or Rao
Rao teaches determining a subset of PRS signals based at least on beam information associated with PRS signals comprises a subset of PRS signals transmitted by the serving TRP and by the least one non-serving TRP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point (TRP)
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network.)
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals;
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive assistance information from the network (e.g., LMF) for a PRS associated with one or more intended recipients (e.g., non-active WTRUs), where the assistance information may include angle information (e.g., an expected AoD or boresight). The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
determining a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
Shows the active WTRU selecting a subset of PRS signals based on the line of sight or LOS indicator
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
the beam information comprising a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal; and
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
Shows the Line of Sight or LOS indicator as the beam direction
See above argument in “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for support of LOS indicator utilizing beam direction
monitoring the subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located and…
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold).)
Shows the active WTRU determines a subset of PRS to monitor
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…not monitoring PRS signals that do not reach an area in which the UE is located.
Nevertheless, Yerramalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…not monitoring PRS signals that do not reach an area in which the UE is located.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0101, In some cases, the window 435-a may be configured for a maximum number (e.g., two) consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. Here, the first wireless device may refrain from transmitting a PRS block 430 in the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 (e.g., within PRS transmission opportunity 425-c).)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0099, The second wireless device may monitor the windows 435 according to the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. That is, if the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions within a window 435 is one, after the second wireless device detects a first PRS block 430 transmission within a PRS transmission opportunity 425, the second wireless device may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 within the window 435.)
Shows the second device refraining from monitoring during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yermalli paragraph 0097, Each of the window configurations 400 may be preconfigured and known by both the first wireless device and the second wireless device.)
Shows the window configuration may be known by both the first and second devices
Shows the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals that fail to reach the location of the second device because the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals during the time the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with refraining from monitoring the PRS signals not in the subset as disclosed by Yerrmalli to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required for the receiving user equipment to monitor PRS signals).
Claim 2 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising performing a positioning calculation
based on the subset of the PRS signals.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold). At T time units (e.g., seconds) after the active WTRU receives the assistance information, the active WTRU may initiate obstacle positioning.)
Shows the WTRU performing obstacle positioning based on the subset of PRPS resources of the LOS indicator
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving, for each PRS signal,…a beam power,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network. The active WTRU may determine to initiate obstacle positioning, for example, if the RSRP of the configured PRS is below a threshold.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving PRS configuration information via at least one of a system information block (SIB) message or a radio resource control (RRC) message.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0105, An active WTRU may receive assistance information for a PRS or other DL RS associated with one or more non-active WTRUs, e.g., via an LPP or RRC message. For example, the active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding one or more of the following pieces of assistance information related to a non-active WTRU: information related to a DL RS resource (e.g., a number of PRS symbols, a repetition factor, a frequency allocation, a bandwidth, a comb factor of a PRS, a PRS resource ID, a PRS ID, a periodicity, the start and end of a semi-persistent DL-RS transmission, etc.),...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Liu et al. (WO 2022109806 A1) or Liu.
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal comprises receiving …a radius of the geographic coverage area,
(See Liu page 9 final paragraph, It should be understood that since the frequency band of the licensed cell is lower, the coverage radius is larger than that of the unlicensed cell. For the coverage of the unlicensed frequency band, compared with the data transmission service, the positioning service has lower requirements on the corresponding positioning reference signal strength, so the boundary #1 is usually different from the boundary #2, and the coverage of the area .sub.BP is usually larger than that of the area. .sub.BD is large. Considering specific areas that can be controlled, such as indoor factories, companies, parks and other areas, on the premise that the boundary of the control area will not cause interference to the licensed frequency band, the transmit power of the positioning reference signal can be appropriately increased to enhance positioning.)
Shows the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal with the radius based on the lower frequency of the cell. The lower frequency of the cell enables a larger radius because signals at a lower frequency travel farther than signals at a higher frequency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal comprising a radius of the geographic coverage area as disclosed by Liu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of measuring the location of the UE).
Claim 12 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the subset of the PRS signals based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals comprises determining, as the subset of the PRS signals:
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…the PRS signals that cover a geographic area in which the UE is currently located or will be located at a time of transmission of the respective PRS signals;
Nevertheless, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the PRS signals that cover a geographic area in which the UE is currently located or will be located at a time of transmission of the respective PRS signals;
(See Liu page 10 paragraph 4, If the signal quality of the licensed frequency band is less than the first threshold, it is determined that the UE is in the area A in FIG. 4 but not in the area .sub.BP , and the first network device determines that the UE uses the licensed frequency band for positioning.)
Shows the UE resides in the coverage area of the PRS through the determination of the signal quality of the PRS
Claim 20 (Previously Presented)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20. However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Liu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claims 7-10, 24, 25, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 7 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP comprises
receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by
a serving TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
by at least one non-serving TRP, or by a combination thereof.
(See Ma paragraph 0058, As discussed herein, in some aspects, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network,...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving PRS signals from a serving and a non-serving TRP as disclosed by Ma to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the precision of calculating the location of the UE).
Claim 8 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP in a non-terrestrial network (NTN).
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 9 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 8, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP in an NTN comprises receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by a satellite,…
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 10 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises receiving the PRS configuration information from a serving TRP or
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
from a terrestrial node.
(See Ma paragraph 0058, As discussed herein, in some aspects, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network,...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 24 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
A user equipment (UE) (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [102] [WTRU]), comprising: a memory (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [130] [non-removable memory]); at least one transceiver (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [120] [transceiver]);
…receive, via the at least one transceiver, positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point (TRP),
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network.)
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive assistance information from the network (e.g., LMF) for a PRS associated with one or more intended recipients (e.g., non-active WTRUs), where the assistance information may include angle information (e.g., an expected AoD or boresight). The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
the beam information comprising a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal;
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
Shows the Line of Sight or LOS indicator as the beam direction
See above argument in “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for support of LOS indicator utilizing beam direction
determine a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals; and
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
Shows the active WTRU selecting a subset of PRS signals based on the line of sight or LOS indicator
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
monitor the subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located and…
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold).)
Shows the active WTRU determines a subset of PRS to monitor
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…not monitor PRS signals that do not reach the area in which the UE is located.
Nevertheless, Yerramalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…not monitor PRS signals that do not reach the area in which the UE is located.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0101, In some cases, the window 435-a may be configured for a maximum number (e.g., two) consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. Here, the first wireless device may refrain from transmitting a PRS block 430 in the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 (e.g., within PRS transmission opportunity 425-c).)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0099, The second wireless device may monitor the windows 435 according to the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. That is, if the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions within a window 435 is one, after the second wireless device detects a first PRS block 430 transmission within a PRS transmission opportunity 425, the second wireless device may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 within the window 435.)
Shows the second device refraining from monitoring during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yermalli paragraph 0097, Each of the window configurations 400 may be preconfigured and known by both the first wireless device and the second wireless device.)
Shows the window configuration may be known by both the first and second devices
Shows the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals that fail to reach the location of the second device because the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals during the time the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:…
Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:…
(See Ma paragraph 0007, ...at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 25 (Previously Presented)
Hasegawa teaches limitations of claim 25 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 26 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 26. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 27 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 27. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 27 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claims 13-17, 22, 23, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA, in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Ma teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a serving transmission/reception point (TRP) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising:
determining PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows serving satellite 140-1 determines PRS configuration information by receiving PRS configuration information from satellites 140-2 and 140-3
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,…
(See Ma paragraph 0058, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network, for a “reference cell” and one or more “neighbor cells” or “neighboring cells” relative to the “reference cell.” For example, the OTDOA assistance data may provide the center channel frequency of each cell, various PRS configuration parameters (e.g., N.sub.PRS, T.sub.PRS, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, PRS ID, PRS bandwidth), a cell global ID, PRS signal characteristics associated with a directional PRS, and/or other cell related parameters applicable to OTDOA or some other position method.)
Shows the PRS configuration information comprising the beam information PRS bandwidth associated with the PRS signals
…transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
However, Ma, fails to explicitly teach,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
(See Zhang Abstract, …the base station send the positioning reference signal of the cell on the positioning subframe corresponding to the corrected configuration information.)
Shows the base station sending the PRS of the cell or the geographic coverage range of the PRS
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method performed by a serving transmission/reception point or TRP in a non-terrestrial network or NTN with the TRP determining PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP, the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals, and transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP as disclosed by Ma with the beam information comprising a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal as disclosed by Zhang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the signal quality of the PRS signal received by the UE).
Claim 14 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 15 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 16 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein determining the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises:…
…receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP from the at least one non-serving TRP or a terrestrial node;…
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 17 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising, prior to transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals,
coordinating the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the serving TRP with the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows the serving satellite receiving the PRS configuration from non-serving satellites 140-2 and 140-3 before transmitting the PRS configuration to the UE
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 22 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises transmitting the PRS configuration information to a user equipment (UE) or to a terrestrial node with which the UE communicates.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 23 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 9. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 28 (Currently Amended)
Ma teaches,
A serving transmission/reception point (TRP) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the serving TRP comprising:
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
(See Ma paragraph 0009, ...at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:...)
determine PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows serving satellite 140-1 determines PRS configuration information by receiving PRS configuration information from satellites 140-2 and 140-3
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,…
(See Ma paragraph 0058, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network, for a “reference cell” and one or more “neighbor cells” or “neighboring cells” relative to the “reference cell.” For example, the OTDOA assistance data may provide the center channel frequency of each cell, various PRS configuration parameters (e.g., N.sub.PRS, T.sub.PRS, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, PRS ID, PRS bandwidth), a cell global ID, PRS signal characteristics associated with a directional PRS, and/or other cell related parameters applicable to OTDOA or some other position method.)
Shows the PRS configuration information comprising the beam information PRS bandwidth associated with the PRS signals
…and transmit the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
However, Ma, fails to explicitly teach,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
(See Zhang Abstract, …the base station send the positioning reference signal of the cell on the positioning subframe corresponding to the corrected configuration information.)
Shows the base station sending the PRS of the cell or the geographic coverage range of the PRS
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 29 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claims 18, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA, in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 18 (Currently Amended)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 21 (Original)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 21 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 30 (Currently Amended)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 30. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 30 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Rao et al. (US 2024/0015686 A1) or Rao.
Claim 11 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. However, Rao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the subset of the PRS signals based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals comprises determining, as the subset of the PRS signals:
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP;
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP;
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by the serving TRP and by the at least one non-serving TRP; or a combination thereof.
(See Rao paragraph 0138, ...if the WTRU receives two sets of PRS parameters from the LMF, the WTRU may send a request for PRS parameter set 1 if the lowest RSRP among PRS received from the serving gNB and/or neighboring gNBs is below the RSRP threshold a2. The WTRU may send a request for PRS parameter set 2 if the lowest RSRP among PRS received from the serving gNB and/or neighboring gNBs is above the RSRP threshold a2 but below a1.)
Shows the WTRU determining a subset of PRS signals based upon the reference signal received power or RSRP received from a serving base station and/or neighboring base station
Shows not monitoring the PRS signals not in the subset
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving subsets of the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP, and a non-serving TRP as disclosed by Rao to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required for one single TRP to transmit different subsets of the PRS signals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Momani et al. (WO 2022238331 A1) or Momani teaches a user equipment or UE receiving configuration information consisting of subsets of multiple resources.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414