Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 March 2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 12-17, filed 3 February 2026 AD, with respect to the rejections of claims 5, 12-18, 20-23, and 28-30 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Liu et al. (WO 2022109806 A1) or Liu for claims 5, 12, and 20.
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang for claims 13-17, 22, 23, 28, and 29. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA, in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang for claims 18, 21, and 30. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 12-17, filed 3 February 2026 AD, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-4, 6-11, 19, and 24-27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Hasegawa teaches a user equipment or UE receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point or TRP. The PRS configuration information possesses beam information associated with the PRS signals. Further, Hasegawa teaches determining a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals. According to Hasegawa, the beam information includes a beam direction of the PRS signal. Hasegawa also discloses monitoring the subset of PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located.
Although Hasegawa fails to explicitly state word-for-word, “determining a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information of a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal”, Hasegawa implicitly teaches the above claim limitation.
In paragraph 0111 of Hasegawa, Hasegawa states, “The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator…” The line of sight or LOS indicator utilizes a beam direction to, “…indicate a likelihood of the presence of an LOS between the TRP and the non-active WTRU or along an associated PRS resource” (See Hasegawa paragraph 0094). Hasegawa further explains in the proceeding sentence an example of the LOS indicator indicating the probability of a PRS transmitted along a LOS path. “For example, if the LOS indicator associated with a PRS resource is set to 1, it may indicate a high likelihood that the PRS transmitted on the PRS resource goes through the LOS path” (See Hasegawa paragraph 0094).
If an object blocks a LOS between a transmitter and a receiver, the object blocks the beam direction of a signal between the transmitter and receiver. Hasegawa explains an object blocking the LOS path between a WTRU in paragraph 0085, “An obstacle (e.g., a moving truck) may randomly block the path between a WTRU and a transmission-reception point (TRP) such as a base station, which may result in blocking the line of sight (LOS) path between the WTRU and the TRP,…”
The active WTRU receives the PRS signal in the area of the location of the WTRU. In FIG.2, Hasegawa shows the active WTRU_B receiving a reflected PRS signal in the area of the location of WTRU_B intended for WTRU_A. The annotated FIG. 2 of Hasegawa further explains the concept of the LOS indicator utilizing a beam direction between WTRU_A and TRP_1 and the concept of the PRS signal being received at the location of the active WTRU_B.
Yerramalli teaches not monitoring a subset of PRS signals that do not reach the area in which the UE is located.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0101, In some cases, the window 435-a may be configured for a maximum number (e.g., two) consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. Here, the first wireless device may refrain from transmitting a PRS block 430 in the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 (e.g., within PRS transmission opportunity 425-c).)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0099, The second wireless device may monitor the windows 435 according to the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. That is, if the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions within a window 435 is one, after the second wireless device detects a first PRS block 430 transmission within a PRS transmission opportunity 425, the second wireless device may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 within the window 435.)
Shows the second device refraining from monitoring during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yermalli paragraph 0097, Each of the window configurations 400 may be preconfigured and known by both the first wireless device and the second wireless device.)
Shows the window configuration may be known by both the first and second devices
Shows the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals that fail to reach the location of the second device because the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals during the time the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals
Ma teaches receiving PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP and a non-serving TRP. In addition to disclosing receiving PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP and a non-serving TRP, Ma teaches, receiving PRS configuration information for the PRS signal transmitted by at least one TRP in a non-terrestrial network.
Rao teaches determining a subset of PRS signals based on beam information associated with the PRS signals includes determining the subset of PRS signals from a serving TRP and non-serving TRP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 24, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point (TRP)
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network.)
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals;
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive assistance information from the network (e.g., LMF) for a PRS associated with one or more intended recipients (e.g., non-active WTRUs), where the assistance information may include angle information (e.g., an expected AoD or boresight). The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
determining a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
Shows the active WTRU selecting a subset of PRS signals based on the line of sight or LOS indicator
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
the beam information comprising a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal; and
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
Shows the Line of Sight or LOS indicator as the beam direction
See above argument in “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for support of LOS indicator utilizing beam direction
monitoring the subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located and…
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold).)
Shows the active WTRU determines a subset of PRS to monitor
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…not monitoring PRS signals that do not reach an area in which the UE is located.
Nevertheless, Yerramalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…not monitoring PRS signals that do not reach an area in which the UE is located.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0101, In some cases, the window 435-a may be configured for a maximum number (e.g., two) consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. Here, the first wireless device may refrain from transmitting a PRS block 430 in the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 (e.g., within PRS transmission opportunity 425-c).)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0099, The second wireless device may monitor the windows 435 according to the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. That is, if the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions within a window 435 is one, after the second wireless device detects a first PRS block 430 transmission within a PRS transmission opportunity 425, the second wireless device may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 within the window 435.)
Shows the second device refraining from monitoring during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yermalli paragraph 0097, Each of the window configurations 400 may be preconfigured and known by both the first wireless device and the second wireless device.)
Shows the window configuration may be known by both the first and second devices
Shows the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals that fail to reach the location of the second device because the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals during the time the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with refraining from monitoring the PRS signals not in the subset as disclosed by Yerrmalli to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required for the receiving user equipment to monitor PRS signals).
Claim 2 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising performing a positioning calculation
based on the subset of the PRS signals.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold). At T time units (e.g., seconds) after the active WTRU receives the assistance information, the active WTRU may initiate obstacle positioning.)
Shows the WTRU performing obstacle positioning based on the subset of PRPS resources of the LOS indicator
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 3 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving, for each PRS signal,…a beam power,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network. The active WTRU may determine to initiate obstacle positioning, for example, if the RSRP of the configured PRS is below a threshold.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving PRS configuration information via at least one of a system information block (SIB) message or a radio resource control (RRC) message.
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0105, An active WTRU may receive assistance information for a PRS or other DL RS associated with one or more non-active WTRUs, e.g., via an LPP or RRC message. For example, the active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding one or more of the following pieces of assistance information related to a non-active WTRU: information related to a DL RS resource (e.g., a number of PRS symbols, a repetition factor, a frequency allocation, a bandwidth, a comb factor of a PRS, a PRS resource ID, a PRS ID, a periodicity, the start and end of a semi-persistent DL-RS transmission, etc.),...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 5, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Liu et al. (WO 2022109806 A1) or Liu.
Claim 5 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal comprises receiving …a radius of the geographic coverage area,
(See Liu page 9 final paragraph, It should be understood that since the frequency band of the licensed cell is lower, the coverage radius is larger than that of the unlicensed cell. For the coverage of the unlicensed frequency band, compared with the data transmission service, the positioning service has lower requirements on the corresponding positioning reference signal strength, so the boundary #1 is usually different from the boundary #2, and the coverage of the area .sub.BP is usually larger than that of the area. .sub.BD is large. Considering specific areas that can be controlled, such as indoor factories, companies, parks and other areas, on the premise that the boundary of the control area will not cause interference to the licensed frequency band, the transmit power of the positioning reference signal can be appropriately increased to enhance positioning.)
Shows the geographic coverage area of the PRS signal with the radius
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal comprising a radius of the geographic coverage area as disclosed by Liu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of measuring the location of the UE).
Claim 12 (Original)
Hasegawa teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the subset of the PRS signals based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals comprises determining, as the subset of the PRS signals:
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…the PRS signals that cover a geographic area in which the UE is currently located or will be located at a time of transmission of the respective PRS signals;
Nevertheless, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the PRS signals that cover a geographic area in which the UE is currently located or will be located at a time of transmission of the respective PRS signals;
(See Liu page 10 paragraph 4, If the signal quality of the licensed frequency band is less than the first threshold, it is determined that the UE is in the area A in FIG. 4 but not in the area .sub.BP , and the first network device determines that the UE uses the licensed frequency band for positioning.)
Shows the UE resides in the coverage area of the PRS through the determination of the signal quality of the PRS
Claim 20 (Previously Presented)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20. However, Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Liu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claims 7-10, 24, 25, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 7 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP comprises
receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by
a serving TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
by at least one non-serving TRP, or by a combination thereof.
(See Ma paragraph 0058, As discussed herein, in some aspects, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network,...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving PRS signals from a serving and a non-serving TRP as disclosed by Ma to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the precision of calculating the location of the UE).
Claim 8 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises
receiving PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP in a non-terrestrial network (NTN).
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 9 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 8, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP in an NTN comprises receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by a satellite,…
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 10 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises receiving the PRS configuration information from a serving TRP or
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
from a terrestrial node.
(See Ma paragraph 0058, As discussed herein, in some aspects, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network,...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 24 (Currently Amended)
Hasegawa teaches,
A user equipment (UE) (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [102] [WTRU]), comprising: a memory (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [130] [non-removable memory]); at least one transceiver (See Hasegawa FIG. 1B [120] [transceiver]);
…receive, via the at least one transceiver, positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one transmission/reception point (TRP),
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive configuration information regarding a PRS from the network.)
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive assistance information from the network (e.g., LMF) for a PRS associated with one or more intended recipients (e.g., non-active WTRUs), where the assistance information may include angle information (e.g., an expected AoD or boresight). The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
the beam information comprising a beam direction or a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal;
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an LOS indicator, a time offset T, and/or a monitoring duration associated with the PRS.)
Shows the Line of Sight or LOS indicator as the beam direction
See above argument in “Response to Arguments and Amendments” for support of LOS indicator utilizing beam direction
determine a subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals; and
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may receive an indication and/or a threshold from the network to select a subset of PRS resources based on the LOS indicator.)
Shows the active WTRU selecting a subset of PRS signals based on the line of sight or LOS indicator
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
monitor the subset of the PRS signals that reach an area in which the UE is located and…
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0111, The active WTRU may determine a subset of PRS resources to monitor based on the LOS indicator (e.g., the WTRU may monitor PRS resources having an LOS indicator value less than the threshold).)
Shows the active WTRU determines a subset of PRS to monitor
(See Hasegawa paragraph 0113, WTRU_B, which may be an active WTRU, may not detect a PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., the intended recipient of the PRS). In the presence of an obstacle, as shown in the right side of FIG. 2, the WTRU_B may receive the PRS intended for WTRU_A (e.g., due to reflection).)
Shows the active WTRU_B receiving a PRS signal reflected off an object in the location of the WTRU_B
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…not monitor PRS signals that do not reach the area in which the UE is located.
Nevertheless, Yerramalli, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…not monitor PRS signals that do not reach the area in which the UE is located.
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0101, In some cases, the window 435-a may be configured for a maximum number (e.g., two) consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. Here, the first wireless device may refrain from transmitting a PRS block 430 in the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 (e.g., within PRS transmission opportunity 425-c).)
Shows the first device refraining from transmitting during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yerramalli paragraph 0099, The second wireless device may monitor the windows 435 according to the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions. That is, if the maximum number of consecutive PRS block 430 transmissions within a window 435 is one, after the second wireless device detects a first PRS block 430 transmission within a PRS transmission opportunity 425, the second wireless device may refrain from monitoring the remaining PRS transmission opportunities 425 within the window 435.)
Shows the second device refraining from monitoring during a PRS transmission window due to reaching a maximum number of consecutive PRS block transmissions
(See Yermalli paragraph 0097, Each of the window configurations 400 may be preconfigured and known by both the first wireless device and the second wireless device.)
Shows the window configuration may be known by both the first and second devices
Shows the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals that fail to reach the location of the second device because the first device refrains from transmitting PRS signals during the time the second device refrains from monitoring PRS signals
The motivation to combine Hasegawa and Yerramalli in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach,
…and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:…
Nevertheless, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:…
(See Ma paragraph 0007, ...at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:...)
The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 25 (Previously Presented)
Hasegawa teaches limitations of claim 25 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 26 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 26. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claim 27 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 27. However, Ma, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 27 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine Hasegawa, Yerramalli, and Ma in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 7.
Claims 13-17, 22, 23, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA, in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 13 (Currently Amended)
Ma teaches,
A method of wireless communication performed by a serving transmission/reception point (TRP) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising:
determining PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows serving satellite 140-1 determines PRS configuration information by receiving PRS configuration information from satellites 140-2 and 140-3
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,…
(See Ma paragraph 0058, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network, for a “reference cell” and one or more “neighbor cells” or “neighboring cells” relative to the “reference cell.” For example, the OTDOA assistance data may provide the center channel frequency of each cell, various PRS configuration parameters (e.g., N.sub.PRS, T.sub.PRS, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, PRS ID, PRS bandwidth), a cell global ID, PRS signal characteristics associated with a directional PRS, and/or other cell related parameters applicable to OTDOA or some other position method.)
Shows the PRS configuration information comprising the beam information PRS bandwidth associated with the PRS signals
…transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
However, Ma, fails to explicitly teach,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
(See Zhang Abstract, …the base station send the positioning reference signal of the cell on the positioning subframe corresponding to the corrected configuration information.)
Shows the base station sending the PRS of the cell or the geographic coverage range of the PRS
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method performed by a serving transmission/reception point or TRP in a non-terrestrial network or NTN with the TRP determining PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP, the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals, and transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP as disclosed by Ma with the beam information comprising a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal as disclosed by Zhang to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the signal quality of the PRS signal received by the UE).
Claim 14 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 15 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 15 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 16 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein determining the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises:…
…receiving the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP from the at least one non-serving TRP or a terrestrial node;…
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 17 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising, prior to transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals,
coordinating the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the serving TRP with the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows the serving satellite receiving the PRS configuration from non-serving satellites 140-2 and 140-3 before transmitting the PRS configuration to the UE
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 22 (Original)
Ma teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein transmitting the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP comprises transmitting the PRS configuration information to a user equipment (UE) or to a terrestrial node with which the UE communicates.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 23 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 9. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 28 (Currently Amended)
Ma teaches,
A serving transmission/reception point (TRP) in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the serving TRP comprising:
(See Ma paragraph 0111, FIG. 12 shows a signaling flow 1200 that illustrates various messages sent between components of the non-terrestrial communication system 100 depicted in FIG. 1. FIG. 12 illustrates an OTDOA positioning procedure performed by a UE 115 using primary PRS and secondary PRS transmitted by satellites 140-1, 140-2, and 140-3, sometimes collectively referred to as satellites 140.)
a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
(See Ma paragraph 0009, ...at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the wireless transceiver and the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to:...)
determine PRS configuration information for PRS signals transmitted by at least one TRP,
(See Ma paragraph 0114, ...satellites 140-2 and 140-3 may provide their PRS configuration, for both primary PRS and secondary PRS, to the serving satellite 140-1 if the serving satellite 14-1 did not previously acquire this information, e.g., from server 1202 in stage 1.)
Shows serving satellite 140-1 determines PRS configuration information by receiving PRS configuration information from satellites 140-2 and 140-3
the PRS configuration information comprising beam information associated with the PRS signals,…
(See Ma paragraph 0058, OTDOA assistance data, sometimes referred to herein as PRS configurations, may be provided to a UE 115, e.g., by a location server in a terrestrial network or a serving satellite in a non-terrestrial network, for a “reference cell” and one or more “neighbor cells” or “neighboring cells” relative to the “reference cell.” For example, the OTDOA assistance data may provide the center channel frequency of each cell, various PRS configuration parameters (e.g., N.sub.PRS, T.sub.PRS, muting sequence, frequency hopping sequence, PRS ID, PRS bandwidth), a cell global ID, PRS signal characteristics associated with a directional PRS, and/or other cell related parameters applicable to OTDOA or some other position method.)
Shows the PRS configuration information comprising the beam information PRS bandwidth associated with the PRS signals
…and transmit the PRS configuration information for the PRS signals transmitted by the at least one TRP.
(See Ma paragraph 0115, At stage 4, serving satellite 140-1 may send the PRS configuration, including the configurations for the primary PRS and the secondary PRS for the serving satellite 140-1 and neighboring satellites 140-2, and 140-3, to the UE 115.)
However, Ma, fails to explicitly teach,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
Nevertheless, Zhang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the beam information comprising… …a geographic coverage area of the PRS signal,… and…
(See Zhang Abstract, …the base station send the positioning reference signal of the cell on the positioning subframe corresponding to the corrected configuration information.)
Shows the base station sending the PRS of the cell or the geographic coverage range of the PRS
The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 29 (Original)
Ma teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Ma and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claims 18, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Ma et al. (TW 202131711 A) or MA, in further view of Zhang et al. (CN 101931857 B) or Zhang. Reference (US 2023/0051054 A1) will serve as an English translation for Ma (TW 202131711 A).
Claim 18 (Currently Amended)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 18. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 21 (Original)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 21. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 21 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 30 (Currently Amended)
Ma fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 30. Nevertheless, Hasegawa, in the same field of endeavor teaches limitations of claim 30 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine Ma, Hasegawa, and Zhang in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 13.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (WO 2023/069311 A1) or Hasegawa in view of Yerramalli et al. (WO 2021/050262 A1) or Yerramalli in further view of Rao et al. (US 2024/0015686 A1) or Rao.
Claim 11 (Original)
Hasegawa fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 11. However, Rao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining the subset of the PRS signals based at least on the beam information associated with the PRS signals comprises determining, as the subset of the PRS signals:
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP;
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by at least one non-serving TRP;
a subset of the PRS signals transmitted by the serving TRP and by the at least one non-serving TRP; or a combination thereof.
(See Rao paragraph 0138, ...if the WTRU receives two sets of PRS parameters from the LMF, the WTRU may send a request for PRS parameter set 1 if the lowest RSRP among PRS received from the serving gNB and/or neighboring gNBs is below the RSRP threshold a2. The WTRU may send a request for PRS parameter set 2 if the lowest RSRP among PRS received from the serving gNB and/or neighboring gNBs is above the RSRP threshold a2 but below a1.)
Shows the WTRU determining a subset of PRS signals based upon the reference signal received power or RSRP received from a serving base station and/or neighboring base station
Shows not monitoring the PRS signals not in the subset
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving positioning reference signal or PRS configuration associated with beam information, determining a subset of PRS signals based on the beam information, and monitoring the subset of PRS signals as disclosed by Hasegawa with receiving subsets of the PRS signals transmitted by a serving TRP, and a non-serving TRP as disclosed by Rao to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required for one single TRP to transmit different subsets of the PRS signals).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 20170318554 A1) teaches using positioning reference signals or PRS to estimate the location and position of a terminal.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414