DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Final Action in response to correspondence filed on September 15, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosures of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 14/041,891 and Application No. 16/154,142, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Applicant’s prior-filed disclosures do not support “display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, the search results in a tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields,” as recited by independent claim 1, and the similar recitations of independent claims 11 and 20.
The prior-filed descriptions are silent regarding “a tabbed control interface” and “tabs,” but FIGS. 12-17 depict an interface with tabs. The tabs depicted by these drawings comprise “ARTISTS,” “ALBUMS,” and “TRACKS.” Each set of tabbed results is divided into groups of streaming audio services, such as “RDIO” and “PANDORA RADIO.” However, neither the descriptions nor the drawings disclose tabs corresponding to streaming audio services. The specifications further do not disclose the search results of each tab being divided into groups corresponding to search classification fields. Therefore, the prior-filed specifications fail to support “display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, the search results in a tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields,” as recited by independent claim 1, and the similar recitations of independent claims 11 and 20.
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0149115) in view of Fassett et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0033228) and further in view of Carrigan et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357376).
As to claim 1, White teaches at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by at least one processor such that a mobile device is configured to:
display, on a graphical display of the mobile device [communications device], a controller interface [GUI] comprising selectable controls [selectable audio information] that are selectable to control one or more playback devices [electronic devices] that are carried in respective housings that are different from a housing carrying the mobile device (see e.g., [0035] for selectable audio information being accessed utilizing a network communications device, for example, selectable audio information being displayed at an Internet website accessible by a personal computer, and in another embodiment, the selectable information being accessed utilizing a wireless communications device such as, a cellular phone, a PDA device, or other devices operable to provide access to the selectable audio information, [0036] for a user identifying or selecting audio information to be wirelessly communicated to an electronic device and for example, a user selecting an entire album to be wirelessly communicated to a PDA device, [0038] for wirelessly communicating information associated with the selected information to an electronic device, [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a user using a select a device feature that allows a user to select a destination device for communicating selected audio information, and for example, a user wanting to communicate a playlist to several different devices such as a PDA, a home computer system, a work computer system, etc., and [0061] for allowing a user to select when to download the information to an electronic device, for example, a user wanting to listen to a certain genre of music at a specific time of day thereby allowing a user to select the information, as such, a user selecting a different playlist for every day of the week thereby allowing a user to listen to different songs on different days of the week, the user further identifying when the selected playlist should be available for listening, for example, if a user wanted to listen to "playlist #1" on Monday morning during the drive into work between 8:00 am and 9:00 am, the user entering the time and the day "playlist #1" would be available for listening, and in this manner, the playlist being communicated to the electronic device thereby allowing a user to listen to selective audio information at a desirable time. The communications device displays a GUI comprising selectable audio information. The selectable audio information is selectable to control devices different from the communications device.);
receive data representing a particular search input (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search input.);
in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of a streaming audio service [digital engine] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations, wherein the streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [streaming audio on storage device] or (ii) Internet radio stations (see e.g., [0021] for digital engine 101 being directly or indirectly coupled to storage device 105 operable to store information, digital engine 101 maintaining information or data associated with selected information in a digital format, and the information being stored within storage device 105 or other storage devices operable to maintain data or information associated with the selected information, [0022] for digital engine 101 being operable to maintain information associated with the selected audio information, for example, the information being several songs or titles configured as an audio file and formatted in a digital format such as an MP3 file, wave file, etc., and the maintained information also being a reference to a network location where a network broadcast of audio information may be located, etc., [0032] for high-speed wireless communication networks being used to communicate the selected audio information, a user wanting to listen to an Internet broadcast of an Internet radio station, and therefore, high-speed communication being required to wirelessly communicate or stream the selected audio information to an electronic device, [0041] for an Internet website being operable to display selectable links for downloading information and the information including audio information such as MP3s, streaming audio, streaming,. Internet broadcasts, etc., and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc. The communications device searches a digital engine across artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations. The digital engine provides streaming audio from a storage device, as well as Internet radio stations.);
receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search results.);
display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, the search results in a tabbed control interface (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI displays search results in a tabbed control interface.);
receive, via the tabbed control interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, input data representing a selection of one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI receives selections of audio tracks.); and
send, via the network interface of the mobile device to one or more playback devices, one or more instructions to play back the one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results, wherein playing back the selected one or more particular audio tracks comprises at least one playback device of the one or more playback devices streaming the one or more particular audio tracks from the streaming audio service and the one or more playback devices playing the streamed one or more particular audio tracks via one or more speakers (see e.g., [0075] for a user accessing a webpage via the Internet, the webpage being a home page illustrated in FIG. 4 or other web pages operable to display selectable references to audio information, the method proceeding to step 801 where a user selects desirable audio information, for example, a user selecting a single song, a plurality different songs, an entire album, a broadcast station, streaming audio, etc. or other selectable audio information, and upon the user selecting a reference to audio information, the method proceeding to step 802 where a playlist may be created that represents the user's selected audio information, [0079] for the method then proceeding to step 807 where the audio information is wirelessly communicated to the selected device, and [0081] for upon communicating the selected information, the method proceeding to step 810 where the playlist may be executed, for example, a user selecting a continuous communication of selected audio information (e.g., several hours of music,. Internet broadcast, etc.), and as such, the method continuously playing or executing the received audio information. The communications device instructs the electronic device to play selected audio tracks, including streaming tracks.).
White does not specifically disclose in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Fassett teaches
in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services [providers] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [database, FTP server] (see e.g., [0004] for the Yahoo! Music Engine providing users with access to a library of structured information regarding items of audio content for browsing and selection of items of audio content for playback, [0005] for a user navigating to a given web site that is hosting audio content and selecting a given item of audio content for download to a local data store for playback, [0026] for the index that the search provider generates indexing both structured and unstructured audio content and information describing the audio content, structured content generally referring to audio content and audio content metadata from audio content providers, such as the Yahoo! Music Engine, which maintain available audio content and metadata according to a structured format, for example, maintaining structured audio content and metadata including maintaining audio content and metadata according to a known structure in a database whereby the metadata is structured according to one or more data fields that may be searched for specific data items, unstructured content generally referring to audio content and metadata that is not maintained according to a known structure, for example, unstructured audio content and metadata including one or more items of audio content made available through an FTP server whereby each item of audio content is stored on a file system and metadata for audio content is contained within a given item of audio content as ID3 tags, [0030] for a search engine 116 receiving search requests from client devices 124a, 124b and 124c communicatively coupled to the network 122, [0033] for the query planner component 118 calculating one or more logical units that a query contains, as well as a category for each of the one or more logical units, the query planner component 118 providing these data to the search engine 116 as logical units and associated annotations indicating a context for a given logical unit, and the search engine 116 executing the query against the index in the index data store 114 according to the logical units that the query planner component 118 provides to generate a result set, [0036] for an item of audio content including a stream of audio information, etc. , and [0042]-[0044] for indexing artist, album, and song information being indexed. In response to receiving a query, providers are searched across artist, album, and song information for audio content having metadata that matches portions of the search query. Structured audio content providers provide a database of on-demand streaming audio content and unstructured content sources provide an FTP of on-demand streaming audio content.); and
receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service [preferred provider] of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services [additional provider] (see e.g., [0048] for the ranked result set being output to the user for rendering and display on a client device, step 422, [0051] for result sets that are responsive to a user's query, which may be ranked, including links to a preferred provider of an item of audio content identified in a result set and [0053] for a check being performed to determine if the item audio content identified by the reference is available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, where the item of audio content is available from the preferred provider of audio content, the system presenting a link to navigate to the preferred provider of audio content for download or playback of the item of audio content, step 514, where the item of audio content is not available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, or after the link is presented, step 514, a check being performed to determine if additional references to items of audio content are contained in the result set, step 516, and if additional references are present, processing returning to step 502 with the selection of a subsequent reference, otherwise processing ending, step 516. The client device display receives search results, which include search results from the preferred provider and search results from an additional provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White to in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Fassett, for the benefit of searching both structured and unstructured audio content, including information regarding the same (see e.g., Fassett, [0006]).
White in view of Fassett does not specifically disclose the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields. However, Carrigan teaches
the tabbed control interface [page] comprising multiple tabs [“All”/”My Music”] corresponding to respective streaming audio services [music service catalog/personal collection] of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups [“Top songs”/”Albums”] that correspond to respective first search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups [track list for “Hot Album” and track list for “Take the Leap”] that correspond to respective second search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields (see e.g., FIG. 3, FIG. 4, abstract for a listing of media content items that satisfy selection criteria being presented in a page with multiple tabs, one tab including a listing of all content items from the streaming music service that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are associated with the user's personal collection, and another tab including a listing of all content items in the user's personal collection that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are in the catalog of the streaming music service, [0046] for “All” tab 310 being selected to view a listing of catalog content items by the artist, and “My Music” tab 312 being selected to view a listing of content items by the artist that are in the user's personal music profile, [0048] for the “All” tab listing shown in tab content area 320 being organized by content type and “Top songs” section 332 featuring a selection of the artist's content based on a popularity metric, [0049] for “Albums” section 338 including an entry for each album by the artist that is present in catalog repository 110, [0055] for responsive to user selection of “My Music” tab 312, content area 420 providing a different listing and specifically the listing of content items in area 420 including content items that are in the user's personal music profile 200 and attributed to the artist whose artist page is being rendered, and [0056] for entries being grouped by album, and under each album is a track list showing the songs (or “tracks”) from the album that are in the user's personal media profile, for example, in the case of album 430 (“Hot Album”), all tracks being shown in track list 432, this signifying that the user has purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded all songs on the album, for instance, if the user purchases an album, all songs from the album being automatically included in the user's personal media profile 200, and in the case of album 434 (“Take the Leap”), only two tracks being shown in track list 436, signifying that the user has only purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded these two songs. The page includes an “All” tab corresponding to the music service catalog and a “My Music” tab corresponding to the personal collection. The music service catalog search results are divided into groups, including “Top songs” corresponding to track names and “Albums” corresponding to album names. The personal collection search results are divided into groups, including a track list for “Hot Album” corresponding to track names/album names and a track list for “Take the Leap” corresponding to track names/album names.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White in view of Fassett to include the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, as taught by Carrigan, for the benefit of providing more holistic access to media content (see e.g., Carrigan, [0006[).
As to claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White teaches wherein the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium further comprises program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
display a search control configured to receive search strings, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to receive data representing the particular search input comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
receive the data representing the particular search input via the displayed search control (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives a search string via search engine input.).
As to claim 3, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 2 have been discussed above. White in view of Fassett does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search control comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search results comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: after performance of the search, display the tabbed control interface in a second portion of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion concurrently with display of the search control in the first portion of the graphical display. However, Carrigan teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search control comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
display the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search results comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
after performance of the search, display the tabbed control interface in a second portion [tab content area] of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion [band image area] concurrently with display of the search control [magnifying glass] in the first portion of the graphical display (see e.g., [0045] for artist page 300 featuring a “band” image 302 for the artist, [0047] for tab content area 320 displaying a listing of catalog content items by the artist, [0073] for a user searching for content by title, by genre, by year (or time period) of release, by content type, or by any other criterion or combination of criteria and any search result being presented in a format similar to artist page 300, and FIG. 3 for a magnifying glass being displayed in the band image area. The tabbed search results are displayed in the tab content area. The tabbed content area does not overlap the band image area, which concurrently displays a magnifying glass.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White in view of Fassett to include wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search control comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the search results comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: after performance of the search, display the tabbed control interface in a second portion of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion concurrently with display of the search control in the first portion of the graphical display, as taught by Carrigan, for the benefit of providing more holistic access to media content (see e.g., Carrigan, [0006[).
As to claim 11, White teaches a method to be performed by a mobile device, the method comprising:
displaying, on a graphical display of the mobile device [communications device], a controller interface [GUI] comprising selectable controls [selectable audio information] that are selectable to control one or more playback devices [electronic devices] that are carried in respective housings that are different from a housing carrying the mobile device (see e.g., [0035] for selectable audio information being accessed utilizing a network communications device, for example, selectable audio information being displayed at an Internet website accessible by a personal computer, and in another embodiment, the selectable information being accessed utilizing a wireless communications device such as, a cellular phone, a PDA device, or other devices operable to provide access to the selectable audio information, [0036] for a user identifying or selecting audio information to be wirelessly communicated to an electronic device and for example, a user selecting an entire album to be wirelessly communicated to a PDA device, [0038] for wirelessly communicating information associated with the selected information to an electronic device, [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a user using a select a device feature that allows a user to select a destination device for communicating selected audio information, and for example, a user wanting to communicate a playlist to several different devices such as a PDA, a home computer system, a work computer system, etc., and [0061] for allowing a user to select when to download the information to an electronic device, for example, a user wanting to listen to a certain genre of music at a specific time of day thereby allowing a user to select the information, as such, a user selecting a different playlist for every day of the week thereby allowing a user to listen to different songs on different days of the week, the user further identifying when the selected playlist should be available for listening, for example, if a user wanted to listen to "playlist #1" on Monday morning during the drive into work between 8:00 am and 9:00 am, the user entering the time and the day "playlist #1" would be available for listening, and in this manner, the playlist being communicated to the electronic device thereby allowing a user to listen to selective audio information at a desirable time. The communications device displays a GUI comprising selectable audio information. The selectable audio information is selectable to control devices different from the communications device.);
receiving data representing a particular search input (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search input.);
in response to receiving the data representing the particular search input, performing a search of a streaming audio service [digital engine] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations, wherein the streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [streaming audio on storage device] or (ii) Internet radio stations (see e.g., [0021] for digital engine 101 being directly or indirectly coupled to storage device 105 operable to store information, digital engine 101 maintaining information or data associated with selected information in a digital format, and the information being stored within storage device 105 or other storage devices operable to maintain data or information associated with the selected information, [0022] for digital engine 101 being operable to maintain information associated with the selected audio information, for example, the information being several songs or titles configured as an audio file and formatted in a digital format such as an MP3 file, wave file, etc., and the maintained information also being a reference to a network location where a network broadcast of audio information may be located, etc., [0032] for high-speed wireless communication networks being used to communicate the selected audio information, a user wanting to listen to an Internet broadcast of an Internet radio station, and therefore, high-speed communication being required to wirelessly communicate or stream the selected audio information to an electronic device, [0041] for an Internet website being operable to display selectable links for downloading information and the information including audio information such as MP3s, streaming audio, streaming,. Internet broadcasts, etc., and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc. The communications device searches a digital engine across artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations. The digital engine provides streaming audio from a storage device, as well as Internet radio stations.);
receiving, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search results.);
displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, the search results in a tabbed control interface (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI displays search results in a tabbed control interface.);
receiving, via the tabbed control interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, input data representing a selection of one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI receives selections of audio tracks.); and
sending, via the network interface of the mobile device to one or more playback devices, one or more instructions to play back the one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results, wherein playing back the selected one or more particular audio tracks comprises at least one playback device of the one or more playback devices streaming the one or more particular audio tracks from the streaming audio service and the one or more playback devices playing the streamed one or more particular audio tracks via one or more speakers (see e.g., [0075] for a user accessing a webpage via the Internet, the webpage being a home page illustrated in FIG. 4 or other web pages operable to display selectable references to audio information, the method proceeding to step 801 where a user selects desirable audio information, for example, a user selecting a single song, a plurality different songs, an entire album, a broadcast station, streaming audio, etc. or other selectable audio information, and upon the user selecting a reference to audio information, the method proceeding to step 802 where a playlist may be created that represents the user's selected audio information, [0079] for the method then proceeding to step 807 where the audio information is wirelessly communicated to the selected device, and [0081] for upon communicating the selected information, the method proceeding to step 810 where the playlist may be executed, for example, a user selecting a continuous communication of selected audio information (e.g., several hours of music,. Internet broadcast, etc.), and as such, the method continuously playing or executing the received audio information. The communications device instructs the electronic device to play selected audio tracks, including streaming tracks.).
White does not specifically disclose in response to receiving the data representing the particular search input, performing a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receiving, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Fassett teaches
in response to receiving the data representing the particular search input, performing a search of multiple streaming audio services [providers] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [database, FTP server] (see e.g., [0004] for the Yahoo! Music Engine providing users with access to a library of structured information regarding items of audio content for browsing and selection of items of audio content for playback, [0005] for a user navigating to a given web site that is hosting audio content and selecting a given item of audio content for download to a local data store for playback, [0026] for the index that the search provider generates indexing both structured and unstructured audio content and information describing the audio content, structured content generally referring to audio content and audio content metadata from audio content providers, such as the Yahoo! Music Engine, which maintain available audio content and metadata according to a structured format, for example, maintaining structured audio content and metadata including maintaining audio content and metadata according to a known structure in a database whereby the metadata is structured according to one or more data fields that may be searched for specific data items, unstructured content generally referring to audio content and metadata that is not maintained according to a known structure, for example, unstructured audio content and metadata including one or more items of audio content made available through an FTP server whereby each item of audio content is stored on a file system and metadata for audio content is contained within a given item of audio content as ID3 tags, [0030] for a search engine 116 receiving search requests from client devices 124a, 124b and 124c communicatively coupled to the network 122, [0033] for the query planner component 118 calculating one or more logical units that a query contains, as well as a category for each of the one or more logical units, the query planner component 118 providing these data to the search engine 116 as logical units and associated annotations indicating a context for a given logical unit, and the search engine 116 executing the query against the index in the index data store 114 according to the logical units that the query planner component 118 provides to generate a result set, [0036] for an item of audio content including a stream of audio information, etc. , and [0042]-[0044] for indexing artist, album, and song information being indexed. In response to receiving a query, providers are searched across artist, album, and song information for audio content having metadata that matches portions of the search query. Structured audio content providers provide a database of on-demand streaming audio content and unstructured content sources provide an FTP of on-demand streaming audio content.); and
receiving, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service [preferred provider] of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services [additional provider] (see e.g., [0048] for the ranked result set being output to the user for rendering and display on a client device, step 422, [0051] for result sets that are responsive to a user's query, which may be ranked, including links to a preferred provider of an item of audio content identified in a result set and [0053] for a check being performed to determine if the item audio content identified by the reference is available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, where the item of audio content is available from the preferred provider of audio content, the system presenting a link to navigate to the preferred provider of audio content for download or playback of the item of audio content, step 514, where the item of audio content is not available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, or after the link is presented, step 514, a check being performed to determine if additional references to items of audio content are contained in the result set, step 516, and if additional references are present, processing returning to step 502 with the selection of a subsequent reference, otherwise processing ending, step 516. The client device display receives search results, which include search results from the preferred provider and search results from an additional provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White to in response to receiving the data representing the particular search input, performing a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receiving, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Fassett, for the benefit of searching both structured and unstructured audio content, including information regarding the same (see e.g., Fassett, [0006]).
White in view of Fassett does not specifically disclose the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields. However, Carrigan teaches
the tabbed control interface [page] comprising multiple tabs [“All”/”My Music”] corresponding to respective streaming audio services [music service catalog/personal collection] of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups [“Top songs”/”Albums”] that correspond to respective first search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups [track list for “Hot Album” and track list for “Take the Leap”] that correspond to respective second search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields (see e.g., FIG. 3, FIG. 4, abstract for a listing of media content items that satisfy selection criteria being presented in a page with multiple tabs, one tab including a listing of all content items from the streaming music service that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are associated with the user's personal collection, and another tab including a listing of all content items in the user's personal collection that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are in the catalog of the streaming music service, [0046] for “All” tab 310 being selected to view a listing of catalog content items by the artist, and “My Music” tab 312 being selected to view a listing of content items by the artist that are in the user's personal music profile, [0048] for the “All” tab listing shown in tab content area 320 being organized by content type and “Top songs” section 332 featuring a selection of the artist's content based on a popularity metric, [0049] for “Albums” section 338 including an entry for each album by the artist that is present in catalog repository 110, [0055] for responsive to user selection of “My Music” tab 312, content area 420 providing a different listing and specifically the listing of content items in area 420 including content items that are in the user's personal music profile 200 and attributed to the artist whose artist page is being rendered, and [0056] for entries being grouped by album, and under each album is a track list showing the songs (or “tracks”) from the album that are in the user's personal media profile, for example, in the case of album 430 (“Hot Album”), all tracks being shown in track list 432, this signifying that the user has purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded all songs on the album, for instance, if the user purchases an album, all songs from the album being automatically included in the user's personal media profile 200, and in the case of album 434 (“Take the Leap”), only two tracks being shown in track list 436, signifying that the user has only purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded these two songs. The page includes an “All” tab corresponding to the music service catalog and a “My Music” tab corresponding to the personal collection. The music service catalog search results are divided into groups, including “Top songs” corresponding to track names and “Albums” corresponding to album names. The personal collection search results are divided into groups, including a track list for “Hot Album” corresponding to track names/album names and a track list for “Take the Leap” corresponding to track names/album names.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White in view of Fassett to include the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, as taught by Carrigan, for the benefit of providing more holistic access to media content (see e.g., Carrigan, [0006[).
As to claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White teaches
displaying a search control configured to receive search strings, wherein receiving data representing the particular search input comprises: receiving the data representing the particular search input via the displayed search control (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives a search string via search engine input.).
As to claim 13, the limitations of parent claims 11 and 12 have been discussed above. White in view of Fassett does not specifically disclose wherein displaying the search control comprises: displaying the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein displaying the search results comprises: after performing the search, displaying the tabbed control interface in a second portion of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion concurrently with display of the search control in the first portion of the graphical display. However, Carrigan teaches wherein displaying the search control comprises: displaying the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein displaying the search results comprises:
after performing the search, displaying the tabbed control interface in a second portion [tab content area] of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion [band image area] concurrently with display of the search control [magnifying glass] in the first portion of the graphical display (see e.g., [0045] for artist page 300 featuring a “band” image 302 for the artist, [0047] for tab content area 320 displaying a listing of catalog content items by the artist, [0073] for a user searching for content by title, by genre, by year (or time period) of release, by content type, or by any other criterion or combination of criteria and any search result being presented in a format similar to artist page 300, and FIG. 3 for a magnifying glass being displayed in the band image area. The tabbed search results are displayed in the tab content area. The tabbed content area does not overlap the band image area, which concurrently displays a magnifying glass.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White in view of Fassett wherein displaying the search control comprises: displaying the search control in a first portion of the graphical display, wherein displaying the search results comprises: after performing the search, displaying the tabbed control interface in a second portion of the graphical display that does not overlap with the first portion concurrently with display of the search control in the first portion of the graphical display, as taught by Carrigan, for the benefit of providing more holistic access to media content (see e.g., Carrigan, [0006[).
As to claim 20, White teaches a mobile device [communications device] comprising:
a graphical display [GUI];
a network interface;
at least one processor; and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
display, on a graphical display of the mobile device, a controller interface comprising selectable controls [selectable audio information] that are selectable to control one or more playback devices [electronic devices] that are carried in respective housings that are different from a housing carrying the mobile device (see e.g., [0035] for selectable audio information being accessed utilizing a network communications device, for example, selectable audio information being displayed at an Internet website accessible by a personal computer, and in another embodiment, the selectable information being accessed utilizing a wireless communications device such as, a cellular phone, a PDA device, or other devices operable to provide access to the selectable audio information, [0036] for a user identifying or selecting audio information to be wirelessly communicated to an electronic device and for example, a user selecting an entire album to be wirelessly communicated to a PDA device, [0038] for wirelessly communicating information associated with the selected information to an electronic device, [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a user using a select a device feature that allows a user to select a destination device for communicating selected audio information, and for example, a user wanting to communicate a playlist to several different devices such as a PDA, a home computer system, a work computer system, etc., and [0061] for allowing a user to select when to download the information to an electronic device, for example, a user wanting to listen to a certain genre of music at a specific time of day thereby allowing a user to select the information, as such, a user selecting a different playlist for every day of the week thereby allowing a user to listen to different songs on different days of the week, the user further identifying when the selected playlist should be available for listening, for example, if a user wanted to listen to "playlist #1" on Monday morning during the drive into work between 8:00 am and 9:00 am, the user entering the time and the day "playlist #1" would be available for listening, and in this manner, the playlist being communicated to the electronic device thereby allowing a user to listen to selective audio information at a desirable time. The communications device displays a GUI comprising selectable audio information. The selectable audio information is selectable to control devices different from the communications device.);
receive data representing a particular search input (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search input.);
in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, performing a search of a streaming audio service [digital engine] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations, wherein the streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [streaming audio on storage device] or (ii) Internet radio stations (see e.g., [0021] for digital engine 101 being directly or indirectly coupled to storage device 105 operable to store information, digital engine 101 maintaining information or data associated with selected information in a digital format, and the information being stored within storage device 105 or other storage devices operable to maintain data or information associated with the selected information, [0022] for digital engine 101 being operable to maintain information associated with the selected audio information, for example, the information being several songs or titles configured as an audio file and formatted in a digital format such as an MP3 file, wave file, etc., and the maintained information also being a reference to a network location where a network broadcast of audio information may be located, etc., [0032] for high-speed wireless communication networks being used to communicate the selected audio information, a user wanting to listen to an Internet broadcast of an Internet radio station, and therefore, high-speed communication being required to wirelessly communicate or stream the selected audio information to an electronic device, [0041] for an Internet website being operable to display selectable links for downloading information and the information including audio information such as MP3s, streaming audio, streaming,. Internet broadcasts, etc., and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc. The communications device searches a digital engine across artist name, track title, and Internet radio stations. The digital engine provides streaming audio from a storage device, as well as Internet radio stations.);
receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4 and [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results. The communications device receives search results.);
display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, the search results in a tabbed control interface (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI displays search results in a tabbed control interface.);
receive, via the tabbed control interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, input data representing a selection of one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results (see e.g., [0054] for FIG. 4 illustrating a graphical user interface (GUI) for displaying selectable audio information and the GUI being operable with a computer system, cellular device, PDA, or other electronic devices or systems operable to display the GUI of FIG. 4, [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre, Internet radio station, etc., and a user inputting the lyrics to a song within the search engine, as such, the search engine locating several different songs having the desirable lyrics and allowing a user to select the search results, and FIG. 4 for a tabbed control interface. The GUI receives selections of audio tracks.); and
send, via the network interface of the mobile device to one or more playback devices, one or more instructions to play back the one or more particular audio tracks from among the search results, wherein playing back the selected one or more particular audio tracks comprises at least one playback device of the one or more playback devices streaming the one or more particular audio tracks from the streaming audio service and the one or more playback devices playing the streamed one or more particular audio tracks via one or more speakers (see e.g., [0075] for a user accessing a webpage via the Internet, the webpage being a home page illustrated in FIG. 4 or other web pages operable to display selectable references to audio information, the method proceeding to step 801 where a user selects desirable audio information, for example, a user selecting a single song, a plurality different songs, an entire album, a broadcast station, streaming audio, etc. or other selectable audio information, and upon the user selecting a reference to audio information, the method proceeding to step 802 where a playlist may be created that represents the user's selected audio information, [0079] for the method then proceeding to step 807 where the audio information is wirelessly communicated to the selected device, and [0081] for upon communicating the selected information, the method proceeding to step 810 where the playlist may be executed, for example, a user selecting a continuous communication of selected audio information (e.g., several hours of music,. Internet broadcast, etc.), and as such, the method continuously playing or executing the received audio information. The communications device instructs the electronic device to play selected audio tracks, including streaming tracks.).
White does not specifically disclose in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Fassett teaches
in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services [providers] across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks [database, FTP server] (see e.g., [0004] for the Yahoo! Music Engine providing users with access to a library of structured information regarding items of audio content for browsing and selection of items of audio content for playback, [0005] for a user navigating to a given web site that is hosting audio content and selecting a given item of audio content for download to a local data store for playback, [0026] for the index that the search provider generates indexing both structured and unstructured audio content and information describing the audio content, structured content generally referring to audio content and audio content metadata from audio content providers, such as the Yahoo! Music Engine, which maintain available audio content and metadata according to a structured format, for example, maintaining structured audio content and metadata including maintaining audio content and metadata according to a known structure in a database whereby the metadata is structured according to one or more data fields that may be searched for specific data items, unstructured content generally referring to audio content and metadata that is not maintained according to a known structure, for example, unstructured audio content and metadata including one or more items of audio content made available through an FTP server whereby each item of audio content is stored on a file system and metadata for audio content is contained within a given item of audio content as ID3 tags, [0030] for a search engine 116 receiving search requests from client devices 124a, 124b and 124c communicatively coupled to the network 122, [0033] for the query planner component 118 calculating one or more logical units that a query contains, as well as a category for each of the one or more logical units, the query planner component 118 providing these data to the search engine 116 as logical units and associated annotations indicating a context for a given logical unit, and the search engine 116 executing the query against the index in the index data store 114 according to the logical units that the query planner component 118 provides to generate a result set, [0036] for an item of audio content including a stream of audio information, etc. , and [0042]-[0044] for indexing artist, album, and song information being indexed. In response to receiving a query, providers are searched across artist, album, and song information for audio content having metadata that matches portions of the search query. Structured audio content providers provide a database of on-demand streaming audio content and unstructured content sources provide an FTP of on-demand streaming audio content.); and
receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service [preferred provider] of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services [additional provider] (see e.g., [0048] for the ranked result set being output to the user for rendering and display on a client device, step 422, [0051] for result sets that are responsive to a user's query, which may be ranked, including links to a preferred provider of an item of audio content identified in a result set and [0053] for a check being performed to determine if the item audio content identified by the reference is available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, where the item of audio content is available from the preferred provider of audio content, the system presenting a link to navigate to the preferred provider of audio content for download or playback of the item of audio content, step 514, where the item of audio content is not available from the preferred provider of audio content, step 510, or after the link is presented, step 514, a check being performed to determine if additional references to items of audio content are contained in the result set, step 516, and if additional references are present, processing returning to step 502 with the selection of a subsequent reference, otherwise processing ending, step 516. The client device display receives search results, which include search results from the preferred provider and search results from an additional provider.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White to in response to receipt of the data representing the particular search input, perform a search of multiple streaming audio services across multiple search classification fields for audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, the multiple search classification fields comprising artist name, track title, and album name, wherein each streaming audio service provides one or more of: (i) a library of on-demand streaming audio tracks; and receive, via a network interface of the mobile device, data representing search results to the search, the received search results comprising first search results from a first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services and second search results from a second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Fassett, for the benefit of searching both structured and unstructured audio content, including information regarding the same (see e.g., Fassett, [0006]).
White in view of Fassett does not specifically disclose the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields. However, Carrigan teaches
the tabbed control interface [page] comprising multiple tabs [“All”/”My Music”] corresponding to respective streaming audio services [music service catalog/personal collection] of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups [“Top songs”/”Albums”] that correspond to respective first search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups [track list for “Hot Album” and track list for “Take the Leap”] that correspond to respective second search classification fields [track names, album names] of the multiple search classification fields (see e.g., FIG. 3, FIG. 4, abstract for a listing of media content items that satisfy selection criteria being presented in a page with multiple tabs, one tab including a listing of all content items from the streaming music service that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are associated with the user's personal collection, and another tab including a listing of all content items in the user's personal collection that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are in the catalog of the streaming music service, [0046] for “All” tab 310 being selected to view a listing of catalog content items by the artist, and “My Music” tab 312 being selected to view a listing of content items by the artist that are in the user's personal music profile, [0048] for the “All” tab listing shown in tab content area 320 being organized by content type and “Top songs” section 332 featuring a selection of the artist's content based on a popularity metric, [0049] for “Albums” section 338 including an entry for each album by the artist that is present in catalog repository 110, [0055] for responsive to user selection of “My Music” tab 312, content area 420 providing a different listing and specifically the listing of content items in area 420 including content items that are in the user's personal music profile 200 and attributed to the artist whose artist page is being rendered, and [0056] for entries being grouped by album, and under each album is a track list showing the songs (or “tracks”) from the album that are in the user's personal media profile, for example, in the case of album 430 (“Hot Album”), all tracks being shown in track list 432, this signifying that the user has purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded all songs on the album, for instance, if the user purchases an album, all songs from the album being automatically included in the user's personal media profile 200, and in the case of album 434 (“Take the Leap”), only two tracks being shown in track list 436, signifying that the user has only purchased, bookmarked, and/or downloaded these two songs. The page includes an “All” tab corresponding to the music service catalog and a “My Music” tab corresponding to the personal collection. The music service catalog search results are divided into groups, including “Top songs” corresponding to track names and “Albums” corresponding to album names. The personal collection search results are divided into groups, including a track list for “Hot Album” corresponding to track names/album names and a track list for “Take the Leap” corresponding to track names/album names.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White in view of Fassett to include the tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, as taught by Carrigan, for the benefit of providing more holistic access to media content (see e.g., Carrigan, [0006[).
Claims 4, 5, 8-10, 14, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0149115) in view of Fassett et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0033228) and further in view of Carrigan et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357376) as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, and 20 above, and further in view of Barrett (US Publication No. 2013/0268522).
As to claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: search a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
search a media library across the multiple search classification fields [parameters] for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0037] for devices having display capabilities such as wireless phones, PDAs, computers, gaming platforms, remote controls, multi-media players, or the like, employing the teachings of the present disclosure and being considered within the scope of the present disclosure, [0038] for the core of a set top box/digital video recorder 200 being shown, the device 200 shown also being incorporated into other systems including the display device 114 itself, [0061] for the search engine module 404 including a trawler/search agent 406 which indexes local and local network media and this media including any locally stored content (such as that copied to the storage device 212 or available on local USB media), or on any discoverable media serving devices (such as DLNA servers on the network), [0069] for the search proxy 412 performing the search based on the received at least one search parameter via the trawler/search agent 406, and [0075] for the fifth result 612 being a result for the movie "Forrest Gump" in an Audio Video Interleave (AVI) format which is locally stored and is available at no cost. Files stored in local storage are searched across multiple parameters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: search a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: search a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
search a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0037] for devices having display capabilities such as wireless phones, PDAs, computers, gaming platforms, remote controls, multi-media players, or the like, employing the teachings of the present disclosure and being considered within the scope of the present disclosure, [0038] for the core of a set top box/digital video recorder 200 being shown, the device 200 shown also being incorporated into other systems including the display device 114 itself, [0061] for the search engine module 404 including a trawler/search agent 406 which indexes local and local network media and this media including any locally stored content (such as that copied to the storage device 212 or available on local USB media), or on any discoverable media serving devices (such as DLNA servers on the network), [0069] for the search proxy 412 performing the search based on the received at least one search parameter via the trawler/search agent 406, and [0075] for the fifth result 612 being a result for the movie "Forrest Gump" in an Audio Video Interleave (AVI) format which is locally stored and is available at no cost. Files stored in a local network are searched across multiple parameters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: search a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: send, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
send, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: send, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 9, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: perform a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services; and perform a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
perform a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers); and
perform a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: perform a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services; and perform a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 10, the limitations of parent claims 1 and 9 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: perform searches of at least one additional streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
perform searches of at least one additional streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to perform the search comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: perform searches of at least one additional streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein performing the search comprises: searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein performing the search comprises:
searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields [parameters] for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0037] for devices having display capabilities such as wireless phones, PDAs, computers, gaming platforms, remote controls, multi-media players, or the like, employing the teachings of the present disclosure and being considered within the scope of the present disclosure, [0038] for the core of a set top box/digital video recorder 200 being shown, the device 200 shown also being incorporated into other systems including the display device 114 itself, [0061] for the search engine module 404 including a trawler/search agent 406 which indexes local and local network media and this media including any locally stored content (such as that copied to the storage device 212 or available on local USB media), or on any discoverable media serving devices (such as DLNA servers on the network), [0069] for the search proxy 412 performing the search based on the received at least one search parameter via the trawler/search agent 406, and [0075] for the fifth result 612 being a result for the movie "Forrest Gump" in an Audio Video Interleave (AVI) format which is locally stored and is available at no cost. Files stored in local storage are searched across multiple parameters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein performing the search comprises: searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on the mobile device, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein performing the search comprises: searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein performing the search comprises:
searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0037] for devices having display capabilities such as wireless phones, PDAs, computers, gaming platforms, remote controls, multi-media players, or the like, employing the teachings of the present disclosure and being considered within the scope of the present disclosure, [0038] for the core of a set top box/digital video recorder 200 being shown, the device 200 shown also being incorporated into other systems including the display device 114 itself, [0061] for the search engine module 404 including a trawler/search agent 406 which indexes local and local network media and this media including any locally stored content (such as that copied to the storage device 212 or available on local USB media), or on any discoverable media serving devices (such as DLNA servers on the network), [0069] for the search proxy 412 performing the search based on the received at least one search parameter via the trawler/search agent 406, and [0075] for the fifth result 612 being a result for the movie "Forrest Gump" in an Audio Video Interleave (AVI) format which is locally stored and is available at no cost. Files stored in a local network are searched across multiple parameters.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the mobile device is connected to a local area network, and wherein performing the search comprises: searching a media library across the multiple search classification fields for additional audio tracks having metadata that matches the particular search input, wherein the media library comprises additional audio tracks that are represented by respective files stored in one or more local data storages on one or more computing devices connected to the local area network, and wherein the files stored in the one or more local data storages are each different from files provided by the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 18, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein performing the search comprises: sending, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches performing the search comprises:
sending, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein performing the search comprises: sending, via the network interface, search queries to respective servers of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
As to claim 19, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein performing the search comprises: performing a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services; and performing a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services. However, Barrett teaches wherein performing the search comprises:
performing a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers); and
performing a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services (see e.g., [0062] for the web proxy 408 being a scalable service that takes search requests and forwards them to traditional web search engines, then parses the results and passes back appropriate information (including metadata and graphics where possible) to a search proxy 412, [0064] for when a search is initiated from the user interface 216, the search proxy 412 forwarding the search to multiple endpoints via modules 406, 408, 410, then amalgamating or merging the results and feed them back to a search presentation module 414 and in this way, the system of the present disclosure providing access to a broad range of content, and having a search results displayed from not only a single service itself, but also content available from a wide variety of services such as local devices in the consumers home (via the search agent 406) and a range of sources on the internet (via web proxy 408), and [0089] external streaming services such as Youtube and individual pieces of content on those servers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein performing the search comprises: performing a search of the first streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services; and performing a search of the second streaming audio service of the multiple streaming audio services, as taught by Barrett, for the benefit of performing a unified search across local and remote domains (see e.g., Barrett, [0006]).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0149115) in view of Fassett et al. (US Publication No. 2007/0033228) and further in view of Carrigan et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0357376) as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13, and 20 above, and further in view of Finkelstein et al. (US Publication No. 2009/0089676).
As to claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White teaches
wherein the search classification fields further comprise musical genres, and search results having genre metadata that matches the particular search input (see e.g., [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre.).
White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group of the two or more first groups. However, Finkelstein teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group [menu item] of the two or more first groups (see e.g., [0051] for when a particular navigation tab is selected or active, a corresponding view being presented which may include menu items associated with the particular navigation tab, in FIG. 5, audio navigation tab 502 being selected or active, accordingly, tabbed multimedia GUI 500 including various menu items for navigating to audio content and/or performing available operations associated with audio content, and in one exemplary embodiment, tabbed multimedia GUI 500 displaying a playlists menu item 514, a genres menu item 516, an artists menu item 518, an albums menu item 520, and a songs menu item 522 and [0053] for selecting genres menu item 516 to display audio content by music genre).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group of the two or more first groups, as taught by Finkelstein, for the benefit of allowing the user to quickly navigate to media content (see e.g., Finkelstein, [0048]).
As to claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. White does not specifically disclose wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input. However, Fassett teaches
wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input (see e.g., [0054] for providing controls restricting the result set to items of audio content that are music 606 or podcasts 608).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input, as taught by Fassett, for the benefit of targeting the result set (see e.g., Fassett, [0005]).
White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group of the two or more first groups. However, Finkelstein teaches wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to:
display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group [menu item] of the two or more first groups (see e.g., [0051] for when a particular navigation tab is selected or active, a corresponding view being presented which may include menu items associated with the particular navigation tab, [0070] for in FIG. 9, online and bookmarks navigation tab 504 being selected or active, accordingly, tabbed multimedia GUI 900 displaying various menu items for navigating to and/or performing available operations associated with online media content, and for example, tabbed multimedia GUI 900 providing menu items for enabling a user to manage, browse, and display online content available through a variety of online media channels and/or services, and [0077] for various types of menu items being provided by tabbed multimedia GUI 900 to enable access to a variety of online media channels and/or services such as audio and/or video streaming, audio downloads for ring tones and/or music, picture and/or video downloads, audio and/or video podcasts, online communities for sharing media content, Web video searching and sharing, digital photograph searching and sharing, Internet radio and/or television stations, RSS feeds, blogs, and others).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to display the results in the tabbed control interface comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the mobile device is configured to: display, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group of the two or more first groups, as taught by Finkelstein, for the benefit of allowing the user to quickly navigate to media content (see e.g., Finkelstein, [0048]).
As to claim 16, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White teaches
wherein the search classification fields further comprise musical genres, and search results having genre metadata that matches the particular search input (see e.g., [0057] for a search engine being provided allowing a user to search for a specific type of audio information such as an artist, song title, and genre.).
White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprises: displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group of the two or more first groups. However, Finkelstein teaches wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprises:
displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group [menu item] of the two or more first groups (see e.g., [0051] for when a particular navigation tab is selected or active, a corresponding view being presented which may include menu items associated with the particular navigation tab, in FIG. 5, audio navigation tab 502 being selected or active, accordingly, tabbed multimedia GUI 500 including various menu items for navigating to audio content and/or performing available operations associated with audio content, and in one exemplary embodiment, tabbed multimedia GUI 500 displaying a playlists menu item 514, a genres menu item 516, an artists menu item 518, an albums menu item 520, and a songs menu item 522 and [0053] for selecting genres menu item 516 to display audio content by music genre).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprises: displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results having genre metadata in the first tab within a genre group of the two or more first groups, as taught by Finkelstein, for the benefit of allowing the user to quickly navigate to media content (see e.g., Finkelstein, [0048]).
As to claim 17, the limitations of parent claim 11 have been discussed above. White does not specifically disclose wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input. However, Fassett teaches
wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input (see e.g., [0054] for providing controls restricting the result set to items of audio content that are music 606 or podcasts 608).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White wherein the search classification fields further comprise podcasts, and particular search results of podcasts that have metadata matching the particular search input, as taught by Fassett, for the benefit of targeting the result set (see e.g., Fassett, [0005]).
White and Fassett in view of Carrigan does not specifically disclose wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprise: displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group of the two or more first groups. However, Finkelstein teaches wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprises:
displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group [menu item] of the two or more first groups (see e.g., [0051] for when a particular navigation tab is selected or active, a corresponding view being presented which may include menu items associated with the particular navigation tab, [0070] for in FIG. 9, online and bookmarks navigation tab 504 being selected or active, accordingly, tabbed multimedia GUI 900 displaying various menu items for navigating to and/or performing available operations associated with online media content, and for example, tabbed multimedia GUI 900 providing menu items for enabling a user to manage, browse, and display online content available through a variety of online media channels and/or services, and [0077] for various types of menu items being provided by tabbed multimedia GUI 900 to enable access to a variety of online media channels and/or services such as audio and/or video streaming, audio downloads for ring tones and/or music, picture and/or video downloads, audio and/or video podcasts, online communities for sharing media content, Web video searching and sharing, digital photograph searching and sharing, Internet radio and/or television stations, RSS feeds, blogs, and others).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communications device of White and Fassett in view of Carrigan wherein displaying the results in the tabbed control interface comprises: displaying, via the controller interface on the graphical display of the mobile device, particular results of podcasts in the first tab within a podcast group of the two or more first groups, as taught by Finkelstein, for the benefit of allowing the user to quickly navigate to media content (see e.g., Finkelstein, [0048]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 3-4 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues:
The Office acknowledges that the display of the claimed tabbed control interface is supported by Figs 12-17, but asserts that neither the descriptions nor the drawings disclose tabs "corresponding to respective streaming audio services." May 21 NFOA, pg. 3. Instead, as pointed out by the Office, the tabs correspond to respective search classification fields (i.e., "ARTISTS,""ALBUMS," and "TRACKS"). Id. Then, within each tab, the search results are sorted by source (e.g., by streaming audio service such as "RDIO" and "PANDORA RADIO") into groups. Id. This UI structure can be referred to as "search classification field>source" structure and is recited in U.S. Pat. No. 10,095,785.
Relative to the '785 patent, pending claim 1 switches the UI structure for search results from "search classification field>source" to "source>search classification field." That is, the tabs correspond to sources (instead of search classification fields) and within each tab, search results are sorted by search classification field (instead of source) into groups. This alternative is supported by Applicant's specification, which discloses that "Per block 912, the information is displayed on the user interface of the controller based on the sorting of block 910. The information may be arranged on the user interface based on the classification fields, the audio source(s), or both." Specification [0105]. Applicant submits that in view of this non-limiting disclosure, a person of ordinary skill would recognize a "source> search classification field" UI structure could be used instead of the "search classification field>source" structure.
In an attempt to improperly limit Applicant's disclosure to the example shown in Figs. 12- 17, the Office may contend that the disclosure in [0105] merely describes the UI structure in Figs. 12-17. However, this position is contravened by the immediately-following description which describe Figs. 12-17 in more detail and suggests the alternative UI structure. In particular, after describing one UI structure example in connection with Fig. 12, the specification discloses that "the retrieved information may be sorted for the other classification fields and/or audio sources." Specification [0114]. According to this permissive disclosure, a person of ordinary skill would clearly recognize that not only can search results be sorted by source within a tab as shown in Fig. 12, but also sorted by search classification field as claimed. Neither the law nor the person of ordinary skill require examples such as Figs. 12-17 to be repeated ad nauseum for each alternative.
In sum, given that (1) "search classification field>source" UI structure has been previously found to satisfy the written description and enablement requirements and (2) alternatives for sorting (and thus displaying) by either search classification field and/or source are explicitly disclosed, Applicant submits that a person of ordinary skill would recognize possession of the claimed invention, thus satisfying the written description requirements. For this reason, Applicant was improperly denied the benefit of their priority claim.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Applicant’s specification only suggests that tabs include classification fields and never suggests that tabs include audio services or any other alternative. MPEP §2161.01 (I) recites “[t]o satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing Reiffin v. Microsoft Corp., 214 F.3d 1342, 1345, 54 USPQ2d 1915, 1917 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (‘The purpose of [the written description requirement] is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification’); LizardTech Inc. v. Earth Resource Mapping Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1345, 76 USPQ2d 1724, 1732 (Fed. Cir. 2005)” and “[s]pecifically, the specification must describe the claimed invention in a manner understandable to a person of ordinary skill in the art in a way that shows that the inventor actually invented the claimed invention at the time of filing.” In this instance, a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of tabs corresponding to audio services and search classification fields within each tab.
The specification’s recitation that “[t]he information may be arranged on the user interface based on the classification fields, the audio source(s), or both” in no way suggests that the inventor had possession of an alternative arrangement to displaying both classification fields and audio services beyond what is depicted in FIGS. 12-17. Rather, the recitation simply discloses that the display may be based only on classification, only on audio sources, or on both classification fields and audio sources. The recitation never suggests multiple arrangements of a user interface that includes both classification fields and audio sources, no less the specific arrangement claimed by Applicant of tabs including audio sources and classification fields being within tabs.
Similarly, the specification’s recitation that “the retrieved information may be sorted for the other classification fields and/or audio sources” also does not suggest an alternative to the layout of FIGS. 12-17. The description, after providing an example in which results are displayed for Pandora, Rhapsody, and Songza for the Artist field, simply discloses that results may be sorted for other classification fields (other than Artist) and/or audio sources (other than Pandora, Rhapsody, and Songza). Again, the recitation never suggests alternative ways of displaying the classification fields and sources, no less the specific arrangement claimed by Applicant of tabs including audio sources and classification fields being within tabs. Accordingly, Applicant’s prior-filed disclosures fail to provide adequate support in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
On pages 4-5 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues:
Applicant submits that the Office failed to make a legally-sufficient determination of lack of enablement and thus the claims are presumed enabled. See MIPEP 2164.04 ("In order to make a rejection, the examiner has the initial burden to establish a reasonable basis to question the enablement provided for the claimed invention"). Recall that the standard for enablement is not whether the specification has provided in the specification all details needed to make the invention. Rather, MPEP § 2164.01 provides that the test for enablement is whether one reasonably skilled in the art could make or use the invention from the disclosures in the patent coupled with information known in the art without undue experimentation. MIPEP § 2164.01. Determining whether experimentation" is "undue" is not a single, simple factual determination, but rather is a conclusion reached by weighing many factors, known as the Wands factors. MPEP 2164.01(a). Where the Office does not weigh the Wands factors, the Office has not met its burden of adequately explaining why those skilled in the art would have to undertake undue experimentation to practice the claimed invention. Id.
For instance, in Ex Parte Beppu, the PTAB reversed the examiner's conclusion of lack of enablement when the examiner did not weigh the Wands factors. The examiner had alleged that certain features of claim 11 and 13 lacked enablement as they were not adequately supported by the specification. Ex Parte Beppu, Appeal 2018-001517, pg. 6 (PTAB Nov. 5, 2018). In reversing this decision, the PTAB found that the enablement rejection was insufficient as the examiner's reliance on whether the features were supported by the disclosure had not adequately explained why a person of ordinary skill would have to engage in undue experimentation. Id. at pg. 8.
Here, like the reversed analysis in Beppu, the Office has merely alleged that details related to certain features of claims 1, 12, and 20 have not been disclosed without considering whether these details could be provided by a person of ordinary skill in the art without undue experimentation. In the Office Action, the analysis begins and ends with the assertion that there is no disclosure of this feature; there is simply no explanation of why these details cannot be provided by a person of ordinary skill without undue experimentation, much less a weighing of the Wands factors, as required. For this reason, Applicant submits that the Office has not met its burden of establishing a lack of enablement with respect to claims 1, 12, and 20z. Moreover, the claims are fully enabled for at least the reason that the specification provides sufficient disclosure to make and use the invention without undue experimentation as described above.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. The basis for rejecting Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed applications is that the prior-field disclosures fail to provide adequate support. MPEP 211.05(I) recites “[t]o be entitled to the benefit of the filing date of an earlier-filed application, the later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or earlier-filed nonprovisional application or provisional application for which benefit is claimed); the disclosure of the invention in the prior application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Prods., Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Accordingly, the disclosure of the prior-filed application must provide adequate support and enablement for the claimed subject matter of the later-filed application in compliance with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) except for the best mode requirement.” In this instance, the prior-filed disclosures are insufficient due to inadequate support rather than inadequate enablement. Therefore, claims 1-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior applications.
On pages 6-7 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues:
Even if Carrigan did qualify as prior art, Carrigan does not teach or suggest the admittedly- deficient features of White and Fassett for which it is relied upon in the rejections of independent claims 1, 12, and 20. The Office acknowledges that White and Fassett are deficient as to "a tabbed control interface comprising multiple tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio services of the multiple streaming audio services, wherein a first tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the first search results divided into two or more first groups that correspond to respective first search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields, and wherein a second tab of the tabbed control interface comprises at least a portion of the second search results divided into two or more second groups that correspond to respective second search classification fields of the multiple search classification fields." May 21 NFOA, pg. 12-13. Instead the Office relies upon the "All" tab 310 and the "My Music" tab 312 of the artist page 300 to remedy these deficiencies. Id. at 13.
Carrigan clearly and unequivocally teaches that both the "All" tab 310 and the "My Music" tab 312 correspond to the same streaming audio service. Carrigan teaches that the "Artist page 300 can include a collection of information about a particular artist whose work is represented in catalog repository 110." Carrigan [0045]. In particular, the Artist page 300 can include various user-selectable "tabs" to allow the user to view different subsets of information about the artist . the "All" tab 310 can be selected to view a listing of catalog content items by the artist, and "My Music" tab 312 can be selected to view a listing of content items by the artist that are in the user's personal music profile." Id at [0046].
In an attempt to map Carrigan's teachings to Applicant's claim limitations, the Office asserts that "music service catalog" amounts to one streaming audio service while the "personal collection" amounts to another streaming audio service. A "personal collection" clearly does not suggest a streaming audio service. Instead, Carrigan clearly teaches that the personal collection includes items from multiple sources, include offline and online sources such as the user's device or the streaming media service 102. Carrigan [0024].
Even if a "personal collection" can be considered to amount a "streaming audio service," the tabs taught by Carrigan do not correspond to "respective" streaming audio services as recited. Instead, Carrigan explicitly teaches that both the "All" tab (including a listing of catalog content) and the "My Music" tab (including a listing of content items that are in the user's personal music profile) include media items from the same streaming audio service. Compare Carrigan [0018] (describing the streaming media server 102 accessing the catalog repository 110 which can store media content items for delivery to the user devices 106, i.e., a streaming audio service) with [0024] (describing the personal media library (i.e., the personal collection/personal music profile) as including media items from the same streaming media service 102). Given this overlap in content source between tabs, Carrigan cannot be considered to teach tabs corresponding to respective streaming audio sources as recited.
For the foregoing reasons, the pending Section 103 rejections of independent claims 1, 12, and 20 are improper and should be withdrawn. The remaining claims are patentable by virtue of their dependency in addition to reciting further distinguishing features. Accordingly, the Section 103 rejection of these claims should be withdrawn for at least the reasons discussed above.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments. Carrigan teaches that audio may be streamed from both the music service catalog and the personal collection, which may contain entirely different content items from one another. “A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art” (see MPEP § 2123(I)). Carrigan recites that “[a] listing of media content items that satisfy selection criteria can be presented in a page with multiple tabs. One tab can include a listing of all content items from the streaming music service that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are associated with the user's personal collection. Another tab can include a listing of all content items in the user's personal collection that satisfy the criteria, regardless of whether the content items are in the catalog of the streaming music service” (see abstract, emphasis added). Accordingly, Carrigan discloses an embodiment in which none of the content items listed by the music service catalog are associated with the personal collection and none of the content items listed by the personal collection are associated with the music service catalog.
Carrigan further recites that “storage subsystem 704 can store media app 120 of FIG. 1 and associated data (e.g., personal media library 122)” (see [0083]), “a user can operate input devices of user interface 706 to invoke the functionality of computer system 700 and can view and/or hear output from computer system 700 via output devices of user interface 706” (see [0084]), and “user interface 706 can be remotely located with respect to processing subsystem 702 and/or storage subsystem 704” (see Id.). Accordingly, the personal media library may stream audio to a remote output device. Thus, Carrigan sufficiently discloses distinct streaming audio services corresponding to different tabs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Berger et al. (US Publication No. 2008/0301562) for marking the web resources related tabs with marking identifying their activity such as streaming audio, streaming video, streaming text information (see [0094]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
10-22-2025
/DARA J GLASSER/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161