DETAILED ACTION
SUMMARY
2. Patent application filed on May 04, 2023, has been received and made of record. There are 1-20 claims in the application of which claims 1, and 15 are independent claims. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-20 recite different components of the double-end laser rangefinder with numerical value in parenthesis. It would be confusing for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand either the numerical number in parenthesis is part of the claim invention or not. Applicant is advised to delete the numerical number in parenthesis of the components from the respective claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 4-8, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG WEI(CN 21280620U)(herein after WEI) in view of VAN DER VELDE et al.(US 2015/0309163 A1)(herein after VELDE).
Regarding claim 1, WEI teaches a double-end laser rangefinder (dual-lamp bidirectional laser rangefinder, Para-1), comprising:
a main frame(inner core 12, fig.2);
a mainboard(DOME9, board 10, fig.2, Para-31) mounted to the main frame(12);
an [one-piece] optical mechanism(lamp assembly 19, fig.2, Para-27) provided in the main frame(12), wherein the [one-piece] optical mechanism(19) comprises a first end and a second end integrally formed as a [one-piece] structure(fig.2);
two lens-mounting bases(Para-31: the lamp assembly 19 on the inner core 12 squeezed and fixed by the inner wall of the outer cylinder 2, -----. Then the clip 21 on the lamp head decorative cover 20 is inserted into the slots 16 sets at both ends of the inner core 12 thereby locking the position of the inner core 12 inside the outer cylinder 2 and completing the assembly), wherein one of the two lens-mounting bases is placed on the first end, and the other of the two lens-mounting bases is placed on the second end(fig.2); and
two lens groups(lamp assembly 19)(lamp assembly is not a light source only, it contains base, light source, mirror, optical lenses to get optimum light from the light source) mounted on the two lens-mounting bases respectively(Para-31), [wherein the two lens groups are coaxial].
Nevertheless, WEI is not found to teach expressly the double-end laser rangefinder, wherein the optical mechanism is one- piece optical mechanism structure and two lens group are coaxial.
However, VELDE teaches an optical signal processing unit in a vehicle, wherein the optical mechanism is one-piece optical mechanism structure(figs.1-2, 4-5 &7 and related text; also Para-116) and two lens group are coaxial(fig.8, Para-125: the proximal ends of the signal guides 2a are disposed near or against each other—with optical exits facing the optical system 102, 103—, preferably centrally on the optical axis of the system 102, 103; concentric with optical axis 102, 103). VELDE also discloses two lens groups mounted on the two lens-mounting base respectively(holder frame, figs.7-8, Para-122).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified WEI with the teaching of VELDE to include the feature in order to provide a reliable and durable optical system which could be installed relatively simply, has relatively less components, which could be supplied in a cost-wise relatively favorable manner, and suffers from relatively little power loss concerning signal transmission.
Regarding claim 2, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, wherein the main frame(inner core 12, fig.2, WEI) is integrally formed as a one-piece structure(fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 4, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 2, wherein the one-piece optical mechanism(light assembly 19, fig.2, WEI; optical elements 100, 102, 103, figs.7-8, VELDE) and the main frame(fig.2, WEI; fig.1, VELDE) are integrally formed as a one-piece structure.
Regarding claim 5, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, further comprising a shell(outer cylinder 2, fig.2, WEI), wherein the shell encloses the main frame(12), and the two lens groups (lamp assembly 19, fig.2, WEI) are exposed from the shell(2, fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 6, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 5, wherein a portion of the shell(outer cylinder 2, fig.2, WEI) corresponding to the keyboard(button assembly 4, fig.2, Para-31, WEI) is formed with key holes(fig.2), the double-head laser rangefinder is provided with keys(button assembly 4, Para-27, WEI) assembled in the key holes(fig.2), and the keys are electrically connected to the mainboard(DOME9, button board 10, fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 7, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 5, wherein the shell(outer cylinder 2, fig.2, WEI) is formed with a screen hole(mounting groove, Para-31, WEI), the display screen(display screen 11, fig.2, Para-31, WEI) is assembled in the screen hole (mounting groove), and the display screen(display screen 11) are electrically connected to the mainboard(DOME9, button board 10, fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 8, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 6, wherein the double-end laser rangefinder further comprises a shell cover(screen outer frame 7, fig.3, Para-31, WEI)which is disposed over the shell(outer cylinder 2)) to enclose the mainboard (DOME9, button board 10).
Regarding claim 11, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, wherein the double-end laser rangefinder further comprises a lateral positioning optical module(ON switch, fig.4, WEI)(having light to display) mounted on the main frame(fig.2), and an emergent direction of the lateral positioning optical module is perpendicular to a lengthwise direction of the one-piece optical mechanism extended from one of the first and second ends toward the other of the first and second ends(fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 12, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 11, wherein the lateral positioning optical module(fig.4, WEI) comprises a laser marking module(indicated either LASER is on or off), and an emergent position of the laser marking module is located at a middle of the main frame(fig.2, WEI).
Regarding claim 13, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, wherein each of the lens groups(lamp assembly 19, fig.2, WEI; 100, 101, 102, 103, figs.1-2,&7-8, and related texts, also Para-71, VELDE) comprises a transmitting lens(figs.1-2,&7-8, and related texts, also Para-71, VELDE) and a receiving lens(figs.1-2,&7-8, and related texts, also Para-71, VELDE), each of the two lens mounting bases comprises a first mounting space for accommodating the receiving lens(es)(figs.7-8, Para-122, VELDE) and a second mounting space for accommodating the transmitting lens(es) (figs.7-8, Para-122, VELDE), a laser(lamp assembly 19, fig.2, WEI) being disposed in each of the second mounting spaces(Para-122, VELDE) and coaxial with a corresponding one of the transmitting lenses(figs.7-8, VELDE); the receiving lenses of the two lens groups are coaxial with each other(figs.7-8, VELDE), the transmitting lenses of the two lens groups are coaxial with each other(figs.7-8, VELDE).
Regarding claim 14, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 13, wherein the mainboard is supported on one side of the one-piece optical mechanism(fig.2, WEI), and the mainboard comprises two opposite ends each of which at least partly covers a corresponding one of the mounting bases(fig.2, WEI).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1, since claim 15 recites identical claim limitations as in claim 1 except minor and/or insignificant change in wording and terminology.
Regarding claim 16, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 15, wherein the two lens mounting bases are integrally formed with the one-piece optical mechanism(figs.1-2,7-8, VELDE).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 13, since claim 17 recites identical claim limitations as in claim 13 except minor and/or insignificant change in wording and terminology.
Regarding claim 18, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 17, further comprising a light receiver(Para-20, VELDE) located at an optical axis of each of the receiving lens, wherein the light receiver is electrically connected to the mainboard(Para 71-74, VELDE).
8. Claims 3, 9-10, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG WEI(CN 21280620U) in view of VAN DER VELDE et al.(US 2015/0309163 A1) and further in view of JIANJIE et al.(CN 210864032U)(herein after JIANJIE).
Regarding claim 3, WEI as modified by VELDE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 1, wherein the mainboard comprising a key module(button assembly 4, fig.2, WEI)formed as a one-piece structure but fails to disclose that the mainboard comprising a ranging module, a control module and a key module integrally formed as a one-piece structure.
However, JIANJIE teaches a bidirectional laser ranging module and terminal, wherein the mainboard(figs.4-5) comprising a ranging module(first ranging module 3 or second ranging module 4, figs.4-5, Page-4, Lines 8-17), a control module(processor 8, figs.4-5, Lines 8-17) and a key module (606) integrally formed as a one-piece structure.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to have modified WEI further with the teaching of JIANJIE to include the feature in order to provide a bidirectional laser ranging module and terminal that could directly obtain spatial distance in a single measurement, and does not require moving the ranging module during the bidirectional ranging process.
Regarding claim 9, [WEI as modified by VELDE and] JIANJIE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 5, wherein a battery module(power conversion device, Page-3, Lines 33-36) is disposed in the main frame(figs.4-5), a conductive cable or contactor(connector 2, fig.1, Page-3, Lines 33-36) connected to the battery module(power conversion device) is disposed on the mainboard(Page-3, Lines 33-36), and a charging port(Page-4, Line-18: connector 2 is a Universal Serial BUS USB) electrically connected to the conductive cable or contactor(2) is disposed on the shell(body 1, fig.1) of the double-head laser rangefinder(for motivation, see the rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 10, [WEI as modified by VELDE and] JIANJIE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 5, wherein an anti-falling-silicone(anti-falling-silicone is a well-known in the art in USB-C connector) protruding part (connector 2, fig.1) is disposed on the shell(body 1, fig.1) (for motivation, see the rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 19, WEI as modified by VELDE and JIANJIE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 15, further comprising a ranging board(processor 8, fig.5, JIANJIE) configured for controlling emitting and receiving the ranging laser light(JIANJIE: The processor 8 controls and drives the laser emitter 6 to emit a light beam, and calculates the distance in one direction based on the reflected light beam detected by the laser detector 7), a control board configured for processing data(JIANJIE) and controlling displaying information on a screen(display screen 11, fig.2 WEI)(it is obvious to have display to display image and other information), and a key board(button assembly 4, fig.2, WEI) configured for processing and outputting signals generated by pressing keys (it is obvious to have display information based on key pressing), wherein the ranging board, the control board and the key board are integrated to form a single mainboard(fig.5, JIANJIE)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 3).
Regarding claim 20, [WEI as modified by VELDE and] JIANJIE teaches the double-end laser rangefinder according to Claim 19, further comprising a main frame, wherein the one-piece optical mechanism is disposed in the main frame, the mainboard is covered on the one-piece optical mechanism, and the one-piece optical mechanism and the main frame are integrally formed as a one-piece structure(figs.4-5)(for motivation see the rejection of claim 3).
Examiner Note
9. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621