Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The word “tan” by the limitation “the first switch is coupled to …… “ should be changed to ‘the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102[(a1) as being anticipated by Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060).
Regarding claim 1, Walley teaches a power system in (see figs. 13B) comprising: a first switch (1302), a second switch (1304), a first switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (switches + 1310-1), a second switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (switches +1310-2), an inductive voltage conversion circuit (inductive buck), a first charging end (see positive terminal of battery,/load 1306) and a second charging end (see positive terminal of battery/load, 1308), an input side of the inductive converter (buck converter) is coupled to an input end or the input end (see fig. 13B), an output side of the buck converter is coupled to the first charging end through a first switch (1302) and to the second charging end through switch (1304), the first switched capacitor circuit (switches +1301-1) is coupled to and located between the input end (see input terminal of the buck converter) and the first charging end (positive terminal of battery/load, 1306) and the second switched capacitor (see 1310-2 with coupled switches) coupled to and located between the input end (terminal coupled to the buck converter) and the second charging end (positive terminal of battery 1308).
Regarding claim 2, Walley teaches wherein the power system further comprises a discharging end configured to supply power to a load, and the discharging end is coupled to and located between the inductive voltage conversion circuit and the first switch, and between the inductive voltage conversion circuit and the second switch (see the path connected after the buck converter) to send power to the load (Vsys) which appears to be coupled between the buck converter (inductive buck converter) and switches (1302, 1304).
Regarding claim 3, Walley teaches wherein the power system further comprises a first battery and a second battery, and the first charging end and the second charging end are configured to charge the first battery and the second battery respectively (see fig. 13B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Kabasawa et al. (US 2012/0038320).
Regarding claim 4, Walley teaches in for instance a control circuit in (see figs., fig. 4) wherein a control circuit can be used to control charging of a battery but fails to teaches a battery charger control unit in (see fig. 4) for instance for controlling charging of a battery but fails to teach wherein the power system further comprises a control circuit, and the control circuit is configured to: in response to that a voltage of the first charging end “connected to a battery” and a voltage of the second charging end “connected to a battery” are within a preset voltage range, control the first switch and the second switch to be off read by the examiner as when the batteries connected in parallel are fully charged for instance which reads on the pre-set voltage range, they can be disconnected via switches.
Kabasawa et al. teaches a battery charger and battery charging in (see para 0031) that the batteries connected in parallel to one another can be disconnected via switches when fully charged in (see para 0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kabasawa into that of Walley thus making it possible to operate loads with the needed power source and not to overcharge batteries to extend its lifespan.
Regarding claim 7, , Walley teaches in for instance a control circuit in (see figs., fig. 4) wherein a control circuit can be used to control charging of a battery but fails to teaches a battery charger control unit in (see fig. 4) for instance for controlling charging of a battery but wherein the control circuit is further configured to: in response to that the voltage of the first charging end and the voltage of the second charging end are outside the preset voltage range, control the first switch and the second switch to be on. Read by the examiner as turning on the switches coupled to the charging ends when the batteries are below a certain threshold
Kabasawa et al. teaches a battery charger and battery charging in (see para 0031) that the batteries connected in parallel to one another can be turned on via switches when it fails to meet a certain threshold in (see para 0031).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kabasawa into that of Walley thus making it possible to power loads with adequate power by making sure batteries are fully charged to act as a standby sources should in case the main power AC fails.
Regarding claim 10, The combination including Walley teaches transistors coupled to batteries (1302, 1304) coupled to respective batteries for charging, discharging and connection/disconnection to loads in (see figs 13).
Claim(s) 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Yang (WO 2020101784).
Regarding claim 5, Walley teaches being able to possible activate a mode in (see para 0034) but fails to teach wherein the power system further comprises a control circuit, and the control circuit is configured to: in response to that a voltage of the first charging end and a voltage of the second charging end are within a preset voltage range, control the inductive voltage conversion circuit to stop providing electric energy, control the first switched capacitor circuit to provide electric energy to the first charging end, control the second switched capacitor circuit to provide electric energy to the second charging end, and control at least one of the first switch and the second switch to be on. The examiner would read the claimed limitation as switching between an inductive converter charging mode to a switched capacitive charging mode when the batteries connected to the charging end has a voltage output that satisfies a voltage level or range or threshold.
Yang teaches a battery charging system in (see para 0071-0079 and figs.) wherein a buck converter can be used for charging a load (batteries in light of Walley) till a threshold or a certain level is attained after which the buck converter can be disabled and then the switched capacitor can then be enabled. Yang teaches a single battery and not a plurality of batteries but the concept of being able to switch between an inductive charging mode to a switched capacitive charging mode would equally be applicable to a system with multiple batteries as taught by Walley, duplicating the charging process for the multiple batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yang into that of Walley thus making it possible to charge batteries effectively via inductive charging and faster via capacitive charging, even though with limited energy, based on the needs of coupled loads.
Regarding claim 12, Walley teaches a power system in (see figs. 13B) comprising: a first switch (1302), a second switch (1304), a first switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (1310-1), a second switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (1310-2), an inductive voltage conversion circuit (inductive buck), a first charging end (see positive terminal of battery,/load 1306) and a second charging end (see positive terminal of battery/load, 1308), an input side of the inductive converter (buck converter) is coupled to an input end or the input end (see fig. 13B), an output side of the buck converter is coupled to the first charging end through a first switch (1302) and to the second charging end through switch (1304), the first switched capacitor circuit (1301-1 with coupled switches) is coupled to and located between the input end (see input terminal of the buck converter) and the first charging end (positive terminal of battery/load, 1306) and the second switched capacitor circuit (see 1310-2 with coupled switches) coupled to and located between the input end (terminal coupled to the buck converter) and the second charging end (positive terminal of battery 1308).
Walley teaches being able to possible activate a mode in (see para 0034) but fails to teach wherein the power system further comprises a control circuit, and the control circuit is configured to: in response to that a voltage of the first charging end and a voltage of the second charging end are within a preset voltage range, control the inductive voltage conversion circuit to stop providing electric energy, control the first switched capacitor circuit to provide electric energy to the first charging end, control the second switched capacitor circuit to provide electric energy to the second charging end, and control at least one of the first switch and the second switch to be on. The examiner would read the claimed limitation as switching between an inductive converter charging mode to a switched capacitive charging mode when the batteries connected to the charging end has a voltage output that satisfies a voltage level or range or threshold.
Yang teaches a battery charging system in (see 0071-0079, figs.) wherein a buck converter can be used for charging a load (batteries in light of Walley) till a threshold or a certain level is attained after which the buck converter can be disabled and then the switched capacitor can then be enabled. Yang teaches a single battery and not a plurality of batteries but the concept of being able to switch between an inductive charging mode to a switched capacitive charging mode would equally be applicable to a system with multiple batteries as taught by Walley, duplicating the charging process for the multiple batteries.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yang into that of Walley thus making it possible to charge batteries effectively via inductive charging and faster via capacitive charging, even though with limited energy, based on the needs of coupled loads and how urgent it’s needed to keep certain loads running.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Yang (WO 2020101784) and further in view of Jing et al. (US 2021/0067033) .
Regarding claims 6 and 13, The combination fails to teach wherein the control circuit is further configured to: in response to that at least one of the voltage of the first charging end and the voltage of the second charging end is higher than an upper limit of the preset voltage range, control a switched capacitor circuit coupled to the charging end whose voltage exceeds the upper limit of the preset voltage range to stop providing electric energy. The examiner reads or would read that as switching off switched capacitive circuit charging after a certain threshold has been achieved for or when charging a battery.
Jing teaches a battery charging system in (see para 0053, 0065, 0066) with two charging schemes namely a master charger which could be a buck charger and a slave charger which could be a switched capacitor. According to Jing, switching can be transitioned from a buck operation to a switch capacitor and then back to a buck operation depending on operation conditions. Note that Jing teaches transitioning to a buck operation and stopping a switched capacitor circuit from providing electrical energy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Jing into that of the combination thus making it possible to control charging of batteries and to power loads via a fast charging method and long duration
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Kabasawa et al. (US 2012/0038320) and further in view of Minnickel et al. (US 11,738,432).
Regarding claim 8, The combination fails to teach, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: in response to that at least one of a voltage of the first charging end and a voltage of a second charging end greater than a preset voltage threshold of the discharging end (load voltage), control at least one of the first switch and the second switch to be on. Read by the examiner to be the path connected to a battery via a switch capable of powering a load is activated to discharge energy to a load given it satisfies the needs of a load
Minnickel et al. teaches a load powering system in (see cols. 7-8) wherein the voltage threshold met by either a storage means (supercapacitors or battery) can be used to power a load based on the load power requirement by activating a switch connected to the power sources (see specifically col. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Minnickel into the combination thus making it possible to switch between power sources based on load power requirement and at the same time charge other sources as backup while the primary source is being used.
Regarding claim 9, see the explanation as set forth regarding claim 8. Furthermore, initially the supercapacitor can be switched on and then the battery can be switched on after switching off the supercapacitor based on load power requirement in (see col. 9 of Minnickel) the examiner reads the discharging end as the load voltage requirement which can be power by one of the sources based on its voltage levels and which one is suitable to power the load.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Yang (WO 2020101784) and further in view of Kabasawa et al. (US 2012/0038320)
Regarding claim 14, The combination including Walley teaches in for instance a control circuit in (see figs., fig. 4) wherein a control circuit can be used to control charging of a battery but fails to teaches a battery charger control unit in (see fig. 4) for instance for controlling charging of a battery but wherein the control circuit is further configured to: in response to that the voltage of the first charging end and the voltage of the second charging end are outside the preset voltage range, control the first switch and the second switch to be on. Read by the examiner as turning on the switches coupled to the charging ends when the batteries are below a certain threshold
Kabasawa et al. teaches a battery charger and battery charging in (see para 0031) that the batteries connected in parallel to one another can be turned on via switches when it fails to meet a certain threshold in (see para 0031).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kabasawa into that of Walley thus making it possible to power loads with adequate power by making sure batteries are fully charged to act as a standby sources should in case the main power AC fails.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Yang (WO 2020101784) and further in view of Minnickel et al. (US 11,738,432).
Regarding claim 15, The combination fails to teach, wherein the control circuit is further configured to: in response to that at least one of a voltage of the first charging end and a voltage of a second charging end greater than a preset voltage threshold of the discharging end (load voltage), control at least one of the first switch and the second switch to be on. Read by the examiner to be the path connected to a battery via a switch capable of powering a load is activated to discharge energy to a load given it satisfies the needs of a load
Minnickel et al. teaches a load powering system in (see cols. 7-8) wherein the voltage threshold met by either a storage means (supercapacitors or battery) can be used to power a load by activating a switch connected to the power sources (see specifically col. 9). The voltage of the bus or needed on the bus to power the load can be applied accordingly
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Minnickel into the combination thus making it possible to switch between power sources based on load power requirement and at the same time charge other sources as backup while the primary source is being used.
Regarding claim 16, see the explanation as set forth regarding claim 8. Furthermore, initially the supercapacitor can be switched on and then the battery can be switched on after switching off the supercapacitor based on load power requirement in (see col. 9 of Minnickel) the examiner reads the discharging end as the load voltage line requirement which can be power by one of the sources based on its voltage levels and which one is suitable to power the load.
Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Hu et al. (US 2014/0203780) and further in view of Ye et al. (US 2012/0293002).
Regarding claim 17, Walley teaches a power system in (see figs. 3B) comprising: a first switch (1302), a second switch (1304), a first switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (1310-1), a second switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (1310-2), an inductive voltage conversion circuit (inductive buck), a first charging end (see positive terminal of battery,/load 1306) and a second charging end (see positive terminal of battery/load, 1308), an input side of the inductive converter (buck converter) is coupled to an input end or the input end (see fig. 13B), an output side of the buck converter is coupled to the first charging end through a first switch (1302) and to the second charging end through switch (1304), the first switched capacitor (1301-1)is coupled to and located between the input end (see input terminal of the buck converter) and the first charging end (positive terminal of battery/load, 1306) and the second switched capacitor (see 1310-2 with coupled switches) coupled to and located between the input end (terminal coupled to the buck converter) and the second charging end (positive terminal of battery 1308).
The limitation “in response to no voltage input to a power system, obtaining a voltage of a first charging end coupled to a first battery in the parallel battery pack and a voltage of a second charging end coupled to a second battery in the parallel battery pack” not explicitly taught by Walley, however, when there is no AC power, the only alternative power to power the loads would be the backup power the batteries “1306” “1308”;
Hu et al. teaches a system and method for active charge and discharge current balancing connected battery packs wherein a regulator in (see para 0022) can be used to determine current or for sensing voltage through the branches connected to the parallel connected battery packs. Hu teaches supplying power to a load via energy from the first and/or second battery unit when there is no AC power in (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hu into that of the combination thus making it possible to detect output voltages of batteries in order to make decisions regarding which battery to discharge to a load to avoid undercurrent or overvoltage.
The combination fails to teach explicitly the subject mater comprising turning on a first switch when the voltage of the first charging end is greater than the voltage of the second charging end; obtaining a voltage of a discharging end that supplies power to a load; and turning on a second switch when the voltage of the discharging end is less than the voltage of the second charging end.
Ye et al. teaches a power system, analogous to the present invention, wherein batteries can be connected in parallel and to an external source (AC) in (see para 0034, 0039-0044, 0051-0061, 0063, 0070). According to Ye, when the AC power is abnormal or fails meaning the bus receiving power from the AC would detect no current, the first switch coupled to a battery can be connected to supply power to a load wherein the first battery has a higher voltage than the second. The battery with the highest voltage, if unable to power the load bus due to insufficient voltage would then be supplemented with energy from a parallel connected battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Yu into that of the combination thus making it possible to maintain power to a load even when power from the grid is abnormal or out to keep it operating.
Regarding claim 18, The examiner takes official notice that it’s well known in the art to keep power supplies active (on) based on the power needs of connected loads in this case both batteries can be connected by turning or keeping the switches on. The combination including Yu teaches a possibility wherein both switches coupled to batteries can be connected to supply power to loads even not initially in (see para 0070) after re-connection.
Regarding claim 19, The combination including Walley and Hu teaches a plurality of transistors coupled to respective batteries in a parallel mode in (see G1/G2 of Hu et al. or 1302/1304 of fig. 13 of Walley et al.).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walley et al. (US 2018/0041060) in view of Hu et al. (US 2014/0203780) and further in view of Minnickel (US 11,738,432).
Regarding claim 17, Walley teaches a power system in (see figs. 13B) comprising: a first switch (1302), a second switch (1304), a first switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (switches + 1310-1), a second switched capacitor circuit with coupled switches (switches +1310-2), an inductive voltage conversion circuit (inductive buck), a first charging end (see positive terminal of battery,/load 1306) and a second charging end (see positive terminal of battery/load, 1308), an input side of the inductive converter (buck converter) is coupled to an input end or the input end (see fig. 13B), an output side of the buck converter is coupled to the first charging end through a first switch (1302) and to the second charging end through switch (1304), the first switched capacitor (1301-1)is coupled to and located between the input end (see input terminal of the buck converter) and the first charging end (positive terminal of battery/load, 1306) and the second switched capacitor (see 1310-2 with coupled switches) coupled to and located between the input end (terminal coupled to the buck converter) and the second charging end (positive terminal of battery 1308).
Hu et al. teaches a system and method for active charge and discharge current balancing connected battery packs wherein a regulator in (see para 0022) can be used to determine current or for sensing voltage through the branches connected to the parallel connected battery packs. Hu teaches supplying power to a load via energy from the first and/or second battery unit when there is no AC power in (see fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Hu into that of the combination thus making it possible to detect output voltages of batteries in order to make decisions regarding which battery to discharge to a load to avoid undercurrent or overvoltage.
The combination fails to teach explicitly the subject matter comprising turning on a first switch when the voltage of the first charging end is greater than the voltage of the second charging end; obtaining a voltage of a discharging end that supplies power to a load; and turning on a second switch when the voltage of the discharging end is less than the voltage of the second charging end.
Minnickel et al. teaches a load powering system in (see cols. 7-8) wherein the voltage threshold met by either a storage means (supercapacitors or battery) can be used to power a load based on the load power requirement by activating a switch connected to the power sources (see specifically col. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Minnickel into the combination thus making it possible to switch between power sources based on load power requirement and at the same time charge other sources as backup while the primary source is being used.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836