DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2022/00310942) (hereafter “Shin”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Shin teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0412]-[0428]). Shin teaches that the light emitting layer can comprise a host material and a dopant that emits light between 400nm and 490nm (paragraphs [0412]-[0428], Table 2). Shin teaches that the host material can have the following structure,
(paragraph [0233]). Shin teaches that the general formula that
is derived from allows for the dibenzofuran group to be substituted with a phenyl group (paragraphs [0225]-[0233]). Shin teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in electronic apparatus (paragraph [0050]).
Shin does not specifically teach a compound where the dibenzofuran group is substituted with a phenyl group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try to make a compound according the general formula of Shin, where the dibenzofuran group in
is substituted with a phenyl group. The general formula Shin allows for the substitution of a phenyl group on the dibenzofuran group. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act a similar manner as the other compounds of Shin, host materials for blue emitting materials. This would lead to compounds that meet applicant’s formula 29, 33, 37, 41, 45, 49, and 53.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/311,575 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of copending Application No. 18/311,575 claims the compound/formula of the instant application as part of a mixture used in electroluminescent device. The emitting material used in copending Application No. 18/311,575 is a blue emitting material and meets the claimed emitting wavelength. The only different between copending Application No. 18/311,575 and the claims of the instant application is that the compounds of copending Application No. 18/311,575 comprise additional compounds not claimed by the applicant. The claims copending Application No. 18/311,575 anticipated the applicant’s claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Han et al. (WO 2021/029616) teaches dibenzofuran compounds substituted with carbazole groups and triazine groups.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759