CTNF 18/312,015 CTNF 83554 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-06 AIA Claim s 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 May 2026 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Churchill (US PN 7,839,058) . Considering claim 1, Churchill (Figures 1a-1b) teaches a system, comprising: a first mechanical resonator having a beam (28 + col. 4 lines 7-15) connected to a body (29 + col. 4 lines 7-15) that is subject to a flexural wave, the first mechanical resonator has a latent absorption; a first electrical resonator comprising: a piezoelectric device (32a + 32b + col. 4 lines 21-25), bonded to the beam, that generates electricity in response to the flexural wave propagating through the body (col. 4 lines 21-35); a shunting circuit (49 + col. 5 lines 1-6), connected to the piezoelectric device and tuned based on a calculated exceptional point for the system (col. 5 lines 1-6) that alters an absorption of the first mechanical resonator (col. 5 lines 1-15) and controls a voltage and current shunted to the piezoelectric device to absorb the flexural wave (col. 5 lines 10-25). Considering claim 8, Churchill (Figures 1a-1b) comprising: a first mechanical resonator having a beam (28 + col. 4 lines 7-15) connected to a body (29 + col. 4 lines 7-15) that is subject to a flexural wave; a first electrical resonator, comprising: a piezoelectric device (32a + 32b + col. 4 lines 21-25), bonded to the beam, that generates electricity in response to the flexural wave propagating through the body (col. 5 lines 10-20); a shunting circuit (49 + col. 5 lines 1-6), connected to the piezoelectric device and tuned based on a calculated exceptional point for the system that: alters an absorption of the first mechanical resonator towards perfect absorption or perfect reflection (col. 5 lines 1-6) and controls a voltage and current shunted to the piezoelectric device to absorb the flexural wave (col. 5 lines 1-6) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill (US PN 7,839,058) . Considering claims 6 and 13, Churchill teaches the claimed invention except for a second mechanical resonator connected to the body; and a second electrical resonator coupled to the second mechanical resonator, wherein the second electrical resonator has a different wave absorption coefficient than the first electrical resonator. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a second mechanical resonator connected to the body; and a second electrical resonator coupled to the second mechanical resonator, wherein the second electrical resonator has a different wave absorption coefficient than the first electrical resonator, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2-5, 7, 9-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill (US PN 7,839,058) and in view of Kutej (PG Pub 20180021811) . Considering claims 2 and 9, Churchill teaches the shunting circuit as described above. However, Churchill does not teach an inductor and a resistor connected in series that increase a wave absorption coefficient of the first electrical resonator, the inductor and resistor tuned to the calculated exceptional point for the system. Kutej (Figures 1-2) teaches an inductor (14 + paragraph 0026) and a resistor (13 + paragraph 0026) connected in series that increase a wave absorption coefficient of the first electrical resonator, the inductor and resistor tuned to the calculated exceptional point for the system (the limitation is a goal of the invention). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include an inductor and a resistor connected in series that increase a wave absorption coefficient of the first electrical resonator, the inductor and resistor tuned to the calculated exceptional point for the system into Churchill’s device for the benefit of adjusting for changes in transducer resonant frequency. Considering claims 3 and 10, Kutej (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein the resistor having a first resistance value alters the system to totally reflect the flexural wave (13 + paragraph 0026 + the limitation is a goal of the invention). Considering claims 7 and 14, Kutej discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first electrical resonator is tuned to totally absorb the flexural wave and the second electrical resonator is tuned to totally reflect the flexural wave. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include, the first electrical resonator is tuned to totally absorb the flexural wave and the second electrical resonator is tuned to totally reflect the flexural wave, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. Considering claims 5 and 12, Kutej (Figures 1-2) teaches wherein the inductor (14 + paragraph 0026) is tuned to align a frequency peak of an altered absorption spectrum with a frequency peak of a latent absorption spectrum (the limitation is a goal of the invention). Considering claims 4 and 11, discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the resistor having a second resistance value that is greater than the first resistance value alters the system to totally absorb the flexural wave. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the resistor having a second resistance value that is greater than the first resistance value alters the system to totally absorb the flexural wave, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRYAN P GORDON whose telephone number is (571)272-5394. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dedei K Hammond can be reached at 571-270-7938. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/312,015 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837