DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-14, and 16-22 are pending and are subject to this office action. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 have been amended. Claim 15 is cancelled. Claims 21-22 are newly added.
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s response filed on 11/05/2025 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to require a first and second characteristic instead of a first and second configuration and claim 12 to require the metallic foil be heated by a smoking device instead of one or more heating elements. Therefore, the amendment overcomes the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7-9, filed 11/05/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to require that the metallic foil has a different characteristic at the locations of the capsule configured to contact the electrodes and the locations of the capsule configured to contact the electrodes are spaced by more than 5mm axially, which was not previously presented. Therefore, the anticipation rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of previously applied prior art.
On pg. 8, Applicant argues that Fuisz does not disclose that the contact locations of the capsule have a different characteristic, as required by the amendments to claim 1. The Examiner disagrees. The specification discloses a characteristic may be the presence or absence of holes in the foil (pg. 29). Fuisz discloses an embodiment where the contacts (23) are free of holes and the foil (18”) in between the contacts (23) comprises a mesh with holes (Fig. 19, [0228]). Therefore, Fuisz discloses that the contact locations have a different characteristic.
On pg. 8, Applicant argues that Fuisz does not disclose the limitation, “the locations of the capsule configured to contact the electrodes are spaced apart along a length of more than 5 mm in an axial direction along the metallic foil”, as required by the amendments to claim 1. The Examiner disagrees. Fuisz discloses the chamber length of a similar device (GLOTM device) is 77.5mm ([0087]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply this chamber length to the device disclosed by Fuisz. A chamber length of 77.5mm and the spacing of electrodes in Fig. 9 reasonably suggest the electrodes are spaced by a distance that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 5mm. Since the contacts (23) of the tobacco stick are configured to contact the electrodes (14), it follows that the contacts (23) would also be spaced by a distance that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 5mm and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
On pg. 10, Applicant argues that the rejection of claims 1 and 5 and claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are moot in view of the amendments to claim 1. The Examiner agrees and the rejections are withdrawn. However, a non-statuary double patenting rejection is made below in view of the amendments to claim 1.
The rejections below are maintained and modified where necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/04/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Fuisz discloses a tobacco stick (9, “a smoking article /capsule”, Fig. 15), comprising:
A metal foil resistance heater (18’) rolled together with a tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15, [0222])
The outer edge of the metallic foil (18) surrounds the tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15)
The tobacco stick (9) is configured for insertion into a vaporizing device with two semi-rings (14, “a first and second electrode”) that contact the contacts (23) of the tobacco stick (9, Fig. 10, [0183-0184], Fig. 16, [0023-0024]).
The metal foil resistance heater (18) has contacts (23, “location at which the electrodes are configured to contact the metallic foil”) for contacting semi-ring (14, “electrodes”) of the vaporizer and a region between the contacts (23) comprising the metallic foil (18”) that surrounds the tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15, Fig. 16, [0222-02224]).
The specification discloses a characteristic may be the presence or absence of holes in the foil (pg. 29).
Fuisz discloses an embodiment where the contacts (23) are free of holes and the foil (18”) in between the contacts (23) comprises a mesh with holes (Fig. 19, [0228]) which is considered to meet the limitation of a first characteristic at the locations configured to contact the electrodes, a second characteristics in between the electrode contact points, where the first characteristic is different from the second characteristic.
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose the locations of the capsule configured to contact the foil are spaced apart more than 5mm in an axial direction.
However, Fuisz discloses the chamber length of a similar device (GLOTM device) is 77.5mm ([0087]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by providing the chamber in a length of 77.5mm, Fuisz discloses two electrode rings (14) spaced axially within a chamber but is silent to the dimensions of the chamber, Fuisz teaches a chamber length of a similar device is 77.5mm and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar devices when selecting chamber dimensions, and this involves applying a known chamber length to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Fuisz discloses the electrode rings (14) are spaced in the center of the chamber having about a third of the chamber above the rings (14), a third of the chamber length below the rings (14), and a third of the chamber length between the rings (14, Fig. 9) which reasonably suggests the electrode rings (14) are spaced by a length that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 5mm and which reasonably suggests the contacts (23) on the smoking article configured to contact the electrodes (14) are also spaced axially by a length that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 5mm and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 3, Fuisz discloses the metal foil resistance heater (18) may be adhered to the inside of a cardboard tube ([0115]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a carboard tube would prevent the tobacco stick (9) from collapsing and therefore facilitate electrical contact between the electrodes and the resistance heater (18).
Regarding claim 5, Fuisz discloses the metallic foil (18) is wound in a spiral through the tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15, [0222]).
Regarding claim 7, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) is configured for insertion into a vaporizing device, where the vaporizing devices comprises a battery (2, Fig. 3, [0181]).
The Examiner notes that claim 7 is directed to an apparatus for use with a smoking device and is limited to the apparatus. The smoking device does not impart patentability to the claim. The overall resistance to the capsule relative to the internal resistance of a battery of the smoking device is claimed as intended use of the capsule. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The tobacco stick (9) disclosed by Fuisz is configured for use with a vaporizing device comprising a battery (2) and is considered to be capable of being used with a vaporizing device having substantially the same resistance.
Regarding claim 10, Fuisz discloses:
The tobacco stick (9) may be wrapped in a paper material ([0180]).
The metallic foil resistance heater (18) comprises contacts (23) disposed on the outside of the tobacco stick (9) for contact with semi-rings (14, “electrodes”) of a vaporizer (Fig. 16, [0138, 0222-0224]).
An embodiment where the heater (18) is on the inside of the paper with the contacts (23) on the outside ([0116])
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose openings in the outer paper wrapping where the electrodes of a smoking device can contact the metallic foil. However, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick where a metallic foil resistance heater (18) is on the inside of a paper wrapping with contacts (23) disposed on the outside of the paper configured for connection with semi-rings (14, “electrodes”) of a vaporing device which reasonably suggests openings would be present in the paper wrapping to allow contact between the semi rings (14) and the metallic foil resistance heater (18).
Regarding claim 12, Fuisz discloses a tobacco stick (9) comprising a metallic foil resistance heater (18) and a tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15, [0222]).
The Examiner notes that claim 12 is directed to a smoking article for use with a smoking device and is limited to the smoking article. The smoking device flattening the capsule does not impart patentability to the claim. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The tobacco stick (9) disclosed by Fuisz comprises a tobacco substrate (22) and metallic foil. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the tobacco stick is capable of being flattened by a smoking device and therefore the tobacco stick (9) is considered to be capable of being flattened by a smoking device prior to the metallic foil being heated by the smoking device.
Regarding claim 21, Fuisz does not explicitly disclose the locations of the capsule configured to contact the foil are spaced apart more than 15mm in an axial direction.
However, Fuisz discloses the chamber length of a similar device (GLOTM device) is 77.5mm ([0087]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by providing the chamber in a length of 77.5mm, Saygili teaches the electrical contact coating improves contact resistance and strength of the electrical contact portion but teaches a chamber a length of a similar device is 77.5mm and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar devices for workable dimensions , and this involves applying a known chamber length to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Fuisz discloses the electrode rings (14) are spaced in the center of the chamber having about a third of the chamber above the rings (14), a third of the chamber length below the rings (14), and a third of the chamber length between the rings (14, Fig. 9) which reasonably suggests the electrode rings (14) are spaced by a length that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 15mm and which reasonably suggests the contacts (23) on the smoking article configured to contact the electrodes (14) are also spaced axially by a length that overlaps with the claimed range of greater than 15mm and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Claims 2, 4, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/04/2023) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Bowen (US 20200037669 A1).
Regarding claim 2, The metal foil resistance heater (18) has contacts (23, “location at which the electrodes are configured to contact the metallic foil”) for contacting semi-ring (14, “electrodes”) of the vaporizer and a region between the contacts (23) comprising the metallic foil (18”) that surrounds the tobacco substrate (22, Fig. 15, Fig. 16, [0222-02224]).
Fuisz is silent to the thickness of the metallic foil resistance heater (18).
However, Bowen, directed to a vaporizer cartridge (420), discloses:
A heating element (350) comprising an electrically conductive foil treated to increase the electrical resistance in a desired part of the foil by varying the thickness (Fig. 3B, [0071])
The heating element may have areas with electrically conductive material for connection with a vaporizer contact to allow current to be transferred to the heating element ([0071])
The different thicknesses create areas with different electrical resistance resulting in heating the areas to different temperatures ([0071]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by increasing the thickness in the regions that contact the electrodes of the device (first configuration) as taught by Bowen because both Fuisz and Bowen are directed to aerosol generating devices, Bowen teaches increasing the thickness can increase the electrical conductivity and a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that sufficient electrical conductivity is needed in the contact region for the vaporizer to transfer current to the heating element, and this involves varying the thickness of a similar metallic foil heater in a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Regarding 4, Fuisz discloses a tobacco stick (9) comprising a metallic foil resistance heater (18, Fig. 15).
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose a plurality of regions with different electrical resistance profiles that results in the regions heating to different temperatures.
However, Bowen, directed to a vaporizer cartridge (420), discloses:
A heating element (450) comprising a sheet (448) made out of a thermally conductive material which includes perforations (460) that can increase the electrical resistance in a desired part of the foil (Fig. 3B, Fig. 4B, [0071, 0074])
The shape, density, and arrangement of the perforations can vary to create areas with different electrical resistance resulting in heating the areas to different temperatures (Fig. 3B, [0071])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz, by providing perforations in different shapes, densities, and arrangement throughout the metallic foil taught by Bowen because both Fuisz and Bowen are directed to aerosol generating devices, Bowen discloses varying the shape, density, and arrangement of the perforations in a metallic foil to create areas with different electrical resistance so that they can be heated to different temperatures, and this involves applying perforations in a known manner in a similar metallic foil heater to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Fuisz discloses the metal foil resistance heater (18) has contacts (23) for contacting semi-ring (14, “electrodes”) of the vaporizer and a between the contacts (23, Fig. 15, Fig. 16, [0222-02224]).
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose a lower electrical resistance in the contacts (23) that contact the electrodes of the device than the region between the contacts (23).
However, Bowen, directed to a vaporizer cartridge (420), discloses:
A heating element (350) comprising an electrically conductive foil treated to increase the electrical resistance in a desired part of the foil by varying the thickness (Fig. 3B, [0071])
The heating element may have areas with electrically conductive material for contact with a vaporizer contact to allow current to be transfer to the heating element ([0071])
The different thicknesses create areas with different electrical resistance resulting in heating the areas to different temperatures ([0071]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by increasing the thickness in the regions that contact the electrodes of the device (first configuration) as taught by Bowen because both Fuisz and Bowen are directed to aerosol generating devices, Bowen teaches increasing the thickness can increase the electrical conductivity (i.e. lower electrical resistance) and a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that sufficient electrical conductivity is needed in the contact region for the vaporizer to transfer current to the heating element, and this involves varying the thickness of a similar metallic foil heater in a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Fuisz discloses an embodiment where the foil (18”) in between the contacts (23) comprises a mesh with holes (Fig. 19, [0228]).
The specification discloses the foil may be etched to create holes or slits in the foil (pg. 29).
Therefore, the holes present in the metallic resistive heater (18) between the contacts (23, Fig. 19) and are therefore considered to meet the claim limation of etched foil between the locations configured to contact the metallic foil.
Regarding claim 18, Fuisz discloses an embodiment where the foil (18”) in between the contacts (23) comprises a mesh with openings (Fig. 19, [0228]).
Regarding claim 19, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) may be wrapped in a paper material ([0180]) which reasonably suggests the paper material covers the openings in the region between the contacts (23) for the electrodes (Fig. 15, Fig. 19).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/04/2023) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Saygili (US 20230346019 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) comprises electrical contacts (23, Fig. 16, [0023-0024]).
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose an electrical contact coating.
However, Saygili, directed to an aerosol-generating device (abstract, Fig. 1B), discloses:
A resistive heater element (32) formed of a metallic foil having a heater portion (36) connected to two contact portions (25, 37) for connection to electrical contacts (15, 17) of the main unit of the device (Fig. 1B, [0186-0187]); and
The electrical contact portions are coated with an electrically conductive material such as gold or copper to improve contact resistance with the power supply and provide greater strength to the electrical contact portions ([0029, 0068]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by coating the contacts of the tobacco stick with an electrically conductive material such as gold or copper as taught by Saygili because both Fuisz and Saygili are directed to aerosol generating devices, Saygili teaches the electrical contact coating improves contact resistance and strength of the electrical contact portion, and this involves applying a known coating to an electrical contact in a similar device to yield predictable results.
Claims 8, 9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/04/2023) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ademe (US 20150157052 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) is wrapped in a paper material (Fig. 15, [0116, 0180])
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose the paper material is adhered to itself along a band of overlap.
However, Ademe, directed to a smoking article (abstract, Fig. 1), discloses:
An outer wrapping material (80) arranged so that one end of the outer wrapping material (80) overlaps the opposite end resulting in an overlap zone (95, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0047, 0048]).
An adhesive (98) is applied to the overlap zone (95) to secure the outer wrapping (80) around a heat conducting foil (60) in a tubular fashion (Fig. 2, [0048])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by affixing the paper wrapper around the metallic foil with an overlap zone secured with an adhesive as taught by Ademe because both Fuisz and Ademe are directed to aerosol generating devices, Ademe teaches the adhesive and overlap zone secures the paper covering around the smoking article, and this involves applying a known means of affixing a paper covering to a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect an adhesive used to connect a paper wrapper to a smoking article to be an electrically insulating material and therefore isolate an inner layer of the metallic foil from the electrodes of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) is wrapped in a paper material (Fig. 15, [0116, 0180])
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose the paper material is adhered to itself along a band of overlap.
However, Ademe, directed to a smoking article (abstract, Fig. 1), discloses:
An outer wrapping material (80) arranged so that one end of the outer wrapping material (80) overlaps the opposite end resulting in an overlap zone (95, Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0047, 0048]).
An adhesive (98) is applied to the overlap zone (95) to secure the outer wrapping (80) around a heat conducting foil (60) in a tubular fashion (Fig. 2, [0048])
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by affixing the paper wrapper around the metallic foil with an overlap zone secured with an adhesive as taught by Ademe because both Fuisz and Ademe are directed to aerosol generating devices, Ademe teaches the adhesive and overlap zone secures the paper covering around the smoking article, and this involves applying a known means of affixing a paper covering to a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Fuisz further discloses an embodiment where the foil (18”) in between the contacts (23) comprises a mesh with holes (Fig. 19, [0228]).
The specification discloses slits (136) in the metal foil to increase the resistance along the band of overlap (pg. 31, Fig. 24A, 24B).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect holes in the metallic foil to increase the resistance and since the holes are present throughout the foil disposed within the paper covering, a person having ordinary skill in the art would further recognize that the holes would increase the resistance of the metallic foil along the band of overlap in the outer paper covering.
Regarding claim 11, Fuisz is silent to the thickness of the metallic foil resistance heater (18).
However, Ademe, directed to a smoking article (abstract, 10, Fig. 1), discloses:
A smoking article (10) comprising an aerosol generating segment (55) circumscribed by a metal foil (60, Fig. 1, [0038])
The metal foil (60) has a thickness of about 0.0005 to 0.05mm ([0038, 0076]). The claimed range lies within the range taught by the prior art and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by providing the metallic foil in a thickness of 0.0005 to 0.05mm as taught by Ademe because both Fuisz and Ademe are directed to aerosol generating devices, Fuisz is silent to the thickness of the foil, Ademe teaches a known range of thicknesses for a metallic foil heater, and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar smoking articles for workable ranges of metallic foil thickness and this involves applying a known thickness to a similar metallic foil in a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 13, Fuisz is silent to the length of the tobacco stick (9).
However, Ademe, directed to a smoking article (abstract, 10, Fig. 1), discloses:
A smoking article (10) comprising an aerosol generating segment (55) circumscribed by a metal foil (60, Fig. 1, [0038])
The smoking article (10) has a length of 70-120 mm ([0045]). The range taught by the prior art lies within the claimed range and is therefore considered prima facie obvious.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify Fuisz by providing the tobacco stick in a length of 70 -120 mm as taught by Ademe because both Fuisz and Ademe are directed to aerosol generating devices, Fuisz is silent to the length of the tobacco stick, Ademe teaches a known range of lengths for a smoking article having a metallic foil heater, and one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to look to similar smoking articles for workable ranges of length and this involves applying a known length to a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Fuisz discloses the user draws on the end of the tobacco stick (9) to draw heated air axially through the length of the tobacco stick (9, [0206]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 05/04/2023) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Graf (US 20220279838 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Fuisz discloses the tobacco stick (9) may be wrapped in a paper material ([0180]).
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose the paper covering does not cover the openings/voids in the second configuration of the metallic foil.
However, Graf, directed to an aerosol generating article (abstract), discloses:
An aerosol generating article (2) comprising a retaining wrap (35) of aluminum foil (36) that circumscribes an aerosol forming substrate (10, Fig. 1, [0189-0191]).
Openings (41,42) in the retaining wrap (35) allow air to reach a combustible heat source through the side of the aerosol generating article (2) to facilitate ignition and combustion of the combustible heat source (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, [0009, 0189]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by to modify the tobacco stick to have an opening in the paper in the region between the contacts as taught by Graf because both Fuisz and Graf are directed to aerosol generating articles, Graf discloses the openings facilitate air entering through the sidewall and this involves applying a known opening in the sidewall to a similar smoking article to yield predictable results.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023 A1, as cited on IDS dated 04/26/2023), as applied to claim 3 above, further in view of Reevell (GB 2534208 A, as cited on IDS dated 08/12/2024).
Regarding claim 22, Fuisz discloses the metal foil resistance heater (18) may be adhered to the inside of a cardboard tube ([0115]) which would prevent the tobacco stick from collapsing, as discussed above.
Fuisz also discloses a smoking device designed for a tobacco stick to be placed in the chamber without deforming or damaging the electrical contact surfaces of the tobacco stick ([0084]).
Fuisz does not explicitly disclose a collapse prevention element that is only present at the axial locations configured to contact the electrodes.
However, Reevell, directed to an aerosol generating article (Fig. 11), discloses:
An aerosol generating article comprising a non-compressible element (52, 54) that cannot be easily compressed by the hand of an average user (Fig. 11, pg. 10 lines 30-34, pg. 29 lines 24-31)
The non compressible element may prevent a region of the aerosol generating article from being compressed by an aerosol generating device (pg. 11 lines 19-22)
The non compressible element may be in tubular form (Pg. 11 line 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Fuisz by substituting the carboard tube with non-compressible elements at the axial locations configured to contact the electrodes as taught by Reevell because both Fuisz and Reevell are directed to aerosol generating articles, Fuisz discloses a vaporizer design the prevents damage to the contact points on the tobacco stick and Reevell discloses a non-compressible element to prevent compression of a smoking article in specific regions, and this involves applying a known collapse prevention element to a similar smoking article to yield predictable results of preventing damage to the contact point on the tobacco stick.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, and 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim claims 1 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/307,534.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The co-pending claims and the rejected claims differ in that the features of the rejected independent claim are present in multiple claims of the co-pending application. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the features of the dependent claims to arrive at the instantly claimed invention.
Therefore, all of the elements of provisionally rejected claims 1, 5, and 10 are present and obvious over conflicting claims 1 and 7 of co-pending Application No. 18/307,534.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.F.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755