Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2007/0164509 A1 (hereinafter, “Hylak”).
Regarding claim 1, Hylak discloses a foosball table comprises a pivot assembly pivotably connecting a distal portion of a player-figure shaft relative to a playing surface of the foosball table so that a proximal portion of the player-figure shaft moves substantially longitudinally relative to the playing surface (Fig. 5, 260 pivot connection).
Regarding claim 2, Hylak further discloses wherein said substantially longitudinal movement is defined by a circular motion of the proximal portion about a z-axis of the pivot assembly (Fig. 5, 260 pivot connection, paragraph 0043 and 0046).
Regarding claim 3, Hylak further discloses wherein the playing surface is a two-dimensional area defined by a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction, and wherein the z-axis defines a z-direction perpendicular to the longitudinal and lateral directions (Fig. 5, paragraph 0042-0043).
Regarding claim 4, Hylak further discloses wherein the longitudinal movement is confined by a longitudinal slot disposed in an exterior panel of the foosball table (Fig. 5, 264 slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0164509 A1 (hereinafter, “Hylak”) in view of US 5112047 (hereinafter, “Monneret”).
Regarding claim 5, Hylak discloses a foosball table comprises a pivot assembly pivotably connecting a distal portion of a player-figure shaft relative to a playing surface of the foosball table (Fig. 5, 260 pivot connection) so that a proximal portion of the player-figure shaft moves substantially longitudinally relative to the playing surface, wherein said substantially longitudinal movement is defined by a circular motion of the proximal portion about a z-axis of the pivot assembly (Fig. 5, 260 pivot connection, paragraph 0043), wherein the playing surface is a two-dimensional area defined by a longitudinal direction and a lateral direction, and wherein the z-axis defines a z-direction perpendicular to the longitudinal and lateral directions (Fig. 5, paragraph 0042-0043), wherein the longitudinal movement is confined by a longitudinal slot (Fig. 5, 264 slot) disposed in an exterior panel of the foosball table.
Hylak does not disclose in this embodiment that the pivot assembly is contained in an anteroom adjacent to the playing surface. Monneret discloses a similar anteroom (Fig. 2, 5’) that “the bars never project outside the wall supporting them since they are always housed inside this wall” (Col. 1, Lines 60-40). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to contain the distal portion of a foosball shaft (including a pivot residing at the distal end of a shaft) within walls to prevent “axial displacement of a rod in the direction of its free end by one of the participants in the game risked injuring the opponent located on the side of this free end” (Col. 1, lines 31-27).
Regarding claim 6, the combined Hylak and Monneret disclose that the anteroom is defined by the exterior panel (Monneret: Fig. 2, 5) and an interior sidewall (Monneret: Fig. 2, 5’) defining a longitudinal edge of the playing surface (Monneret: Fig. 1, 3 base).
Regarding claim 7, the combined Hylak and Monneret disclose each player figure on player-figure shaft is movable rotatable (Hylak: Paragraph 0049) and linearly (Hylak: Paragraph 0048) about a lateral axis and pivotable about the z-axis (Hylak: Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 8, the combined Hylak and Monneret disclose that the longitudinal slot extends in a longitudinal direction and that “slots 264 may be of varying length along the longitudinal axis L of game table 220” (Hylak: Paragraph 0045), which could encompass at least twice a distance of a diameter of the player-figure shaft. Additionally, Fig. 5 of Hylak makes it obvious that the shown embodiment’s slots are at least twice the diameter of the shaft.
Regarding claim 9, the combined Hylak and Monneret disclose that a distal end of the player-figure shaft ends prior to the exterior panel (Monneret: Fig.2). Again, Monneret recites “the bars never project outside the wall supporting them since they are always housed inside this wall” (Col. 1, Lines 60-40), with the wall being equivalent to the exterior panel.
Regarding claim 10, the combined Hylak and Monneret disclose each player figure of the player-figure shaft is linearly adjustable along a length of the player-figure shaft. Hylak recites in paragraph 0049, that “players may be optionally be exchangeable or fixed at pre-selected positions” with a rod that passes through a hole (Hylak: Fig. 6, 257). The player figure inherently is linearly adjustable along a length of the shaft when the rod is moved in a linear/reciprocating manner which is the conventional manner how a player figure moves in foosball.
Conclusion
/S.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3711 /EUGENE L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711