DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: It's been noted that there are multiple chemical structures with poor resolution. Applicant is advised to review the specification and ensure the quality and resolution of the chemical structures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-10, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6: All the heterocyclic compounds have poor resolution.
Regarding claim 7: The heterocyclic moiety shown has poor resolution.
Regarding claim 8: Formulae A-1 to A-13 have poor resolution.
Regarding claim 9: Formulae 4-1 to 4-17 have poor resolution.
Regarding claim 10: Formulae 1-109 to 1-111 have poor resolution.
Regarding claim 19: The formulae shown have poor resolution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because Formulae 1-73, 1-74, and 1-75 in claim 10 appear to be a duplicate of Formulae 1-109, 1-110, and 1-111 in claim 10 respectively. Applicant is advised to correct any errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The use of the term “may be represented” renders the claim indefinite as it implies there is a possibility that the formulae shown are part of the claimed invention but might not be required. For purposes of examination the claim is given its broadest reasonable interpretation and examiner has interpreted the formulae as being or not being part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO 2015009102 A1, Patentscope English machine translation) in view of Fennimore (US 20170200893 A1).
Regarding claims 1 – 6, Choi teaches compound cpd31 (WO 2015009102 A1, page 11, paragraph 49). Compound cpd31 reads on Formula 1, wherein Formula 1 n1 is 2, E1 is represented by Formula A, n2 is 0, and R1 – R7 are each hydrogen (see below). Choi does teach that at least one deuterium may be present in compounds represented by Formula 4 (page 7, paragraph 40).
However, Choi fails to specifically teach that compound cpd31 comprises at least one deuterium as required by claims 1, 2, 5, and 6. Choi also fails to teach at least one of conditions 1’ to 7’ as required by claim 3. Furthermore, Choi fails to teach wherein cpd31 a substitution ratio of deuterium is greater than or equal to 10% as required by claim 4.
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches compounds cpd27 (page 11, paragraph 49) and cpd43 (page 12, paragraph 51). Compounds cpd27 and cpd43 read on Formulae 3-6 and 3-14 respectively, but fail to read on wherein in said formulae at least one hydrogen is substituted with deuterium (see below).
Regarding claim 8, Choi teaches compounds cpd27, cpd31, and cpd43 as described above. Compounds cpd27, cpd31, and cpd43 read on at least one of Formulae A-1 – A-13, but fail to read on wherein in said formula at least one hydrogen is substituted with deuterium.
Regarding claim 9, Choi teaches compounds cpd27 and cpd31 as described above. Compounds cpd27 and cpd31 read on Formulae 4-9, and 4-2 respectively, but fail to read on wherein in said formulae at least one hydrogen is substituted with deuterium (see below).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches compounds cpd27, cpd31, and cpd43. Compounds cpd27, cpd31, and cpd43 read on Formulae 1-86, 1-74, and 1-230 respectively, but fail to read on wherein in said formulae at least one hydrogen is substituted with deuterium (see below).
Regarding claim 11, Choi teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a cathode, and at least one organic material layer interposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein at least one of the organic material layers is preferably formed of a compound represented by formulae 2 to 4, wherein cpd31 is one such compound (page 14, paragraph 63). Choi also teaches that it is preferable that at least one of the organic layers is a light emitting layer (page 14, paragraph 64). However, Choi fails to teach wherein the organic electroluminescent device the compound represented by formulae 2 to 4 in the organic material layer is a deuterated compound.
Regarding claims 12-15, Choi teaches an organic electroluminescent device wherein the one or more organic layers may be at least one of a hole injecting layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and an electron injection layer and at least one organic material layer thereof may include a compound of chemical formula 1 of their invention (page 14, paragraph 64). Furthermore, Choi teaches the organic material layer including the compound of formula 1 may be a light emitting layer, a hole transport layer, and/or an electron transport layer (page 14, paragraph 64). However, Choi fails to teach wherein the heterocyclic compound in the emitting layer, hole transport layer, and/or electron transport layer is a deuterated compound.
Fennimore teaches deuterated materials can be less susceptible to degradation by holes, electrons, or excitons, have greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime compared to their non-deuterated analogs (US 20170200893 A1, paragraph 098). Fennimore also teaches deuterated materials may be 10-100% deuterated (paragraph 097).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound cpd31 as required by claims 1,2, and 4 – 6 to provide a compound that is less susceptible to degradation by holes, electrons, or excitons, have greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime, as taught by Fennimore.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compound cpd31 such that it reads on the claimed Formula 1’ wherein each R1 is deuterium and d1 is 4 as required by claim 3, because it would have been choosing specific locations on the modified compound in which to place deuterium atoms, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the emission layer of the device of Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by/devices comprising (at least one deuterium) having the benefits taught by Fennimore in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deuterate compounds cpd27, cpd31, and/or cpd43 such that they read on at least one of the claimed Formulae in Claims 7 – 10 to provide a compound that is less susceptible to degradation by holes, electrons, or excitons, have greater processing tolerance, and can potentially improve device lifetime, as taught by Fennimore.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide compound cpd31 in a device having the structure of an anode, a hole injecting layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode, wherein cpd31 in view of Fennimore is provided in the emission layer, hole transport layer, or electron transport layer, because one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected the elements of Choi to predictably maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined, and this would have been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Regarding claim 20, although the instant claim is drawn to an apparatus, the only positive limitation of the claimed apparatus is organic light emitting device of claim 11. Claim 20 does not add any further structural or functional limitations to the device and or heterocyclic compound. Choi in view of Fennimore teaches the organic light-emitting device of claim 11, as described above, and does not include any components that would make it unfit for use as an apparatus. Therefore, the organic light-emitting device of Choi according to claim 11 may be considered an apparatus.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (WO 2015009102 A1) in view of Fennimore (US 20170200893 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 20170346029 A1).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Choi in view of Fennimore teaches the claimed invention above but fails to teach an OLED wherein the emission layer further comprises a phosphorescent dopant and/or a fluorescent dopant.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Choi in view of Fennimore teaches the claimed invention above, but fails to teach an OLED wherein the emission layer further comprises an electron-transporting host, wherein the electron -transporting host comprises a cyano group, a π electron-deficient nitrogen-containing C1-C60 cyclic group, a phosphine oxide group, a phosphine sulfide, a sulfur oxide group, a sulfur dioxide group, or a combination thereof.
Kim discusses in the background section, that in phosphorescent organic light-emitting devices using a phosphorescent dopant, all singlet and triplet excitons can be subjected to conversion to generate light, thereby achieving a high efficiency (US 20170346029 A1, paragraph 0002). Kim also recognizes the benefits of using a delayed fluorescent dopant, which improves device efficiency by increasing singlet excited states of the fluorescent dopant by converting triplet excited states to singlet excites states by reverse intersystem crossing (paragraph 002). Kim teaches an organic light-emitting device wherein according to one embodiment the organic layer includes an emission layer including an exciplex host or a delayed fluorescent compound, a phosphorescent dopant, and a fluorescent dopant (paragraph 038). Kim also teaches when a combination of a hole transporting host and an electron transporting host which form an exciplex, or a delayed fluorescent organic compound is used as a host in an emission layer, and such host is doped with both phosphorescent dopant and a fluorescent dopant, a fluorescent organic light-emitting device with a high external quantum efficiency and a high efficiency at a high luminance may be provided (paragraph 023).
Kim also teaches an organic light-emitting device comprising an emission layer (page 2, Figure 1, layer 16), wherein the emission layer the electron-transporting host which forms an exciplex, may include a π electron-deficient heteroaryl compound, a phosphine oxide group-containing compound, a sulfur oxide group-containing compound, or a triazine derivative (paragraph 016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi and Fennimore in view of Kim to produce an organic light-emitting device, comprising a phosphorescent and/or a fluorescent dopant to obtain the benefits described above, such that the device contains high external quantum efficiency and a high efficiency at a high luminance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Choi and Fennimore in view of Kim to produce an organic light-emitting device, comprising an emission layer further comprising an electron transporting host wherein the electron transporting host is at least one of the claimed groups, with high external quantum efficiency and a high efficiency at a high luminance.
Conclusion
/K.D./
Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786