DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/27/2026. This Action is made FINAL.
Claims 1, 22-29 and 32-39 are pending and they are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed regarding claim 1 (page 14-15), “The Office Action asserted that Cherunni discloses container cluster scaling operations, including releasing nodes as part of a scale-down process. The Office Action also acknowledged, however, that Cherunni does not disclose transmitting, prior to releasing a node, an indication to a management and orchestration entity to transfer workloads running on that node to other nodes in the cluster. Applicant respectfully submits that this missing feature is addressed in the present claim language and is described in conjunction with the subsequent instruction to the VIM to delete the node. To address this missing element, the Office Action cited Patel, which discloses migration of containers in response to a host being overloaded. Patel's teaching arises in a different technical context: namely, redistributing workloads to alleviate load imbalance at a particular host. Patel's teaching is not in the context of managing scale-down in response to excess capacity. Stated differently, Cherunni is relied on for reducing resources in response to lower demand, whereas Patel's migration discussion addresses relieving a bottleneck caused by insufficient resources at a host. The Office Action does not identify any teaching in either reference suggesting that Patel's overload-driven migration mechanism would be incorporated into Cherunni's scale-down workflow.”, and
“The Office Action does not point to a disclosure in Cherunni or Patel of this particular coordination, in which the container cluster management entity communicates with the management and orchestration entity regarding workload transfer and then separately instructs the VIM to delete the node as part of the same scale-down operation. The examiner would like to point out both Cherunni and Patel discloses dynamic/elastic scaling of virtualized resources.”
Cherunni discloses scale-out (i.e. scale up) and tear-down (i.e. scale down) of virtualized resources. [Paragraph 32], The VIM may communicate the state information to the container management platform to make decisions regarding VNF placement, scale-out, and tear-down.
Patel discloses scale-up and scale-down of system capacity. [Paragraph 25], Various embodiments provide mechanisms to persist and recover PTT pre-established sessions, mechanisms to dynamically scale-up and scale-down the load handling capacity of the system.
Cherunni discloses VIM which manage allocation, upgrade (i.e. scale-out) or release/tear-down/destroy of a node (i.e. VM/container) to manage life cycle of virtual resources.
[Paragraph 22], Among other functions, the VIM can manage the allocation, upgrade, release, and reclamation of NFV infrastructure resources and optimize their use. [Paragraph 30], The deployment of VNFs can be virtual machine only, containers only, or hybrid… [Paragraph 32], The VIM may communicate the state information to the container management platform to make decisions regarding VNF placement, scale-out, and tear-down… [Paragraph 60], The VIM 316 may manage the life cycle of virtual resources in an NFVI 326 domain. In particular, the VIM 316 may create, maintain, and tear down VMs from physical resources in an NFVI 326 domain.
Therefore, arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 22-29 and 32-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherunni (Pub 20200412596) in view of Patel et al. (Pub 20160205519) (hereafter Patel).
As per claim 1, Cherunni teaches:
A method for use in a container cluster management entity, the method comprising: ([Paragraph 23], Kubernetes can include an open-source container orchestration system for automating application deployment, scaling, and management. Kubernetes can provide a platform for automating deployment, scaling, and operations of application containers across clusters of hosts. A pod in Kubernetes can include a scheduling unit.)
in response to at least one triggering condition for scaling down, performing a container cluster scaling operation on cluster instance resources in a container cluster instance, the container cluster scaling comprising:
transmitting, to a management and orchestration entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in the container cluster instance, wherein the one or more workloads comprises at least one network service or at least one virtualized network function instance; and
subsequently instructing a virtualized infrastructure manager (VIM) to delete the at least one second node. ([Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 35], With automation, the disclosed systems can spin up or destroy VNFs (as VMs or containers) to elastically scale network functions to match dynamic demand… [Paragraph 2], Network function virtualization orchestrators (“NFVOs”) may use underlying virtual infrastructure managers (“VIMs”) for implementing the VNF services according to service requirements. [Paragraph 22], Among other functions, the VIM can manage the allocation, upgrade, release, and reclamation of NFV infrastructure resources and optimize their use. [Paragraph 30], The deployment of VNFs can be virtual machine only, containers only, or hybrid… [Paragraph 32], The VIM may communicate the state information to the container management platform to make decisions regarding VNF placement, scale-out, and tear-down… [Paragraph 60], The VIM 316 may manage the life cycle of virtual resources in an NFVI 326 domain. In particular, the VIM 316 may create, maintain, and tear down VMs from physical resources in an NFVI 326 domain.)
Cherunni teaches scaling operations (in/out) of VNF(s) (container(s)/VM(s)) and subsequently releasing node(s) based on scaling operations.
However, Cherunni does not explicitly disclose transmitting, to a management and orchestration entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in the container cluster instance.
Patel teaches transmitting, to a management and orchestration entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in the container cluster instance. ([Paragraph 2], This patent application is related to the following co-pending and commonly assigned patent application filed on the same date: “System and Method for Elastic Scaling using a Container-Based Platform” (Attorney Docket No. KOD-013), which application is hereby incorporated by reference herein as if reproduced in its entirety. [Paragraph 25], Various embodiments provide mechanisms to persist and recover PTT pre-established sessions, mechanisms to dynamically scale-up and scale-down the load handling capacity of the system… [Paragraph 35], Service orchestration layer 202 is the highest layer of abstraction in infrastructure management architecture 200. Service orchestration layer 202 is a layer on top of which various service components that constitute the PTT System operate. A service orchestrator in service orchestration layer 202 uses service metrics to scale service clusters 210 (e.g., groups of containers may be referred to collectively as a container cluster) for each service component (e.g., the various service components illustrated in FIG. 3, below). Scaling service clusters 210 may include transmitting scaling triggers to lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). In some embodiments, the scaling of service clusters 210 may be in real time. These scaling triggers may be based on service metrics transmitted to service orchestration layer 202 from lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). Embodiment service metrics for a PTT platform may include, for example, number of PTT pre-established sessions, PTT call setup rate, PTT call leg setup rate (e.g., latency), number of concurrently active PTT calls, number of concurrently active PTT call legs, number of media codec instances in active use, combinations thereof, and the like. Service orchestration layer 202 may also create new container instances to replace failed container instances, for example, based on faults transmitted to service orchestration layer 202 from lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). [Paragraph 36], Container management layer 204 operates on top of a pool of virtual machines (e.g., compute nodes 212 in virtual infrastructure management layer 206) to manage the distribution of services clusters 210 across various compute nodes 212. For example, container management layer 204 may manifest container instances for each service cluster 210 across compute nodes 212… Container management layer 204 may instantiate new compute nodes to scale the system when needed based on the platform metrics. For example, container management layer 204 may transmit scaling triggers to virtual infrastructure management layer 206 to instantiate new compute nodes or to remove compute nodes as desired. In some embodiments, container management layer 204 may also transmit desired compute node profiles with the scaling triggers to virtual infrastructure management layer 206. [Paragraph 46], FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram 400 of interactions between various service orchestration and container management modules/layers in an embodiment PTT system platform (e.g., PTT platform 106). In some embodiments, service cluster management is function of service orchestration. As part of service cluster management, PTT platform 106 may perform one or more of the following non-limiting functions: service instantiation and configuration, automatically scaling the system based on one or more capacity indicators, automatically updating a load balancer pool when new pool members are added or removed, and migrating containers from one host (e.g., a virtual compute node) to another when a host is overloaded.)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Cherunni wherein in response to a dynamic scaling condition (scale down), scale down cluster scaling operation is performed in a container cluster instance workload(s) (network service/virtualized network function) by monitoring and analyzing dynamic requirements, capacity management and performance of the workload(s), and instructing VIM to release/delete a node from a container cluster instance based on the dynamic scaling operation, into teachings of Patel wherein dynamic scaling operation transmits a request/indication to migrate the workload(s) from one node to other nodes, because this would enhance the teachings of Cherunni wherein by transmitting the request/indication to a management and orchestration entity to migrate/transfer the workload(s) to other nodes of the container cluster instance, it allows management and orchestration entity to interact to perform automatic/dynamic scaling operations based on various indicators such as capacity, performance, service availability requirement, etc.
As per claim 22, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches wherein the at least one triggering condition comprises at least one of:
updating a container cluster descriptor template corresponding to the container cluster instance,
receiving, from a management entity, a request of performing the container cluster scaling operation on the cluster instance resources in the container cluster instance,
determining that available cluster instance resources of the container cluster instance are below a scaling threshold, or
determining that available cluster instance resources of the container cluster instance are insufficient for a cluster instance resource requirement of a container cluster instance requested by a network service or a virtualized network function instantiation operation. ([Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches.)
As per claim 23, rejection of claim 22 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches wherein the scaling threshold is associated with a container cluster manager scaling policy pre-configured in the container cluster management entity. ([Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 20], SLAs can be output-based in that their purpose is specifically to define what the end user can receive. For instance, an SLA can define performance characteristics of a network sliced being leased to a tenant. The SLA can specify VNF performance thresholds for one or more VNFs in a service chain for the slice. [Paragraph 42], At stage 104, the method may include selectively generating at least one container based on the VNF descriptor. Further, the disclosed systems may configure the VIM to handle policy-driven (for example, SLA-based) attributes defined in the descriptors (for example, VVLDs, VNFDs, and PNFDs).)
As per claim 24, rejection of claim 22 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches transmitting, to a container infrastructure service management entity, a request of determining a container resource requirement of the network service or the virtualized network function instantiation operation, and
receiving, from the container infrastructure service management entity, the cluster instance resource requirement of the container cluster instance requested by the network service or the virtualized network function instantiation operation. ([Paragraph 2], Network function virtualization orchestrators (“NFVOs”) may use underlying virtual infrastructure managers (“VIMs”) for implementing the VNF services according to service requirements. For example, a relatively complex VNF service may be constructed of a master VNF and multiple dependent VNFs. Such a VNF may have an instruction set that defines a descriptor such as a virtual VNF link descriptor (“VVLD”) and a physical network function descriptor (“PNFD”). The VVLD and the PNFD may describe the virtual and physical network requirements for the VNF. The instruction set may conform with a service level agreement (“SLA”) and can describe links to use or avoid in the physical network based on the descriptor. The SLA can govern performance requirements for various tenants. The orchestration may be critical to ensure the execution of appropriate SLAs for tenants and end users that subscribe to the VNF service. For instance, a virtual evolved packet core (“EPC”) service may be allotted to a set of subscribers as part of a 5G network slice. An example SLA may describe that the total end-to-end latency for traffic flows within the various components of a corresponding multi-part VNF may not exceed about 10 milliseconds. [Paragraph 9], The stages can further include selectively generating at least one container on the physical network based on the VNF descriptor. The stages can include determining, by the VIM, an integrated network requirement based on state information associated with the integrated network. The stages can also include providing, by the VIM, to a container management platform, the integrated network requirement, and generating, by the container management platform, a VNF in the container to fulfill the integrated network requirement. In some examples, the VNF can include a first subordinate VNF that includes at least one microservice, and the stages can further include: generating a parent VNF on the integrated network, the parent VNF including the first subordinate VNF. The stages can also include causing a second subordinate VNF including a virtual machine to be generated on the parent VNF based on the VNF descriptor to fulfill the integrated network requirement. The stages can further include generating, based on the VNF descriptor, a VM to fulfill the integrated network requirement.)
As per claim 25, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches wherein the container cluster scaling operation on the cluster instance resource in the container cluster instance comprises
expanding or reducing node resources of at least one third node in the container cluster instance,
wherein the node resources comprise at least one of computing resources, storage resources or network resources, wherein the at least one second node in the container cluster instance is released, and wherein the method further comprises: transmitting, to a management and orchestration entity, an indication of transferring at least one network service or at least one virtualized network function instance running in the at least one second node to other nodes in the container cluster instance. ([Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 32], The VIM may instantiate a container by maintaining state information regarding the containers and pods, related IP and MAC information, and node information. The VIM may identify, during workload creation, corresponding resource requirements for executing the workload based on descriptors of the VNF. [Paragraph 35], Automation and orchestration can facilitate programmatically controlling, monitoring, and repairing or replacing networking components without direct human involvement. With automation, the disclosed systems can spin up or destroy VNFs (as VMs or containers) to elastically scale network functions to match dynamic demand. [Paragraph 71], In some examples, the resources depicted in FIG. 4 may include clusters 410 for the VIM 408 or compute nodes 422 for the container management platform 420. The clusters 410 of the VIM 408 may include representative cluster A 411 and cluster B 412. The compute nodes in the container management platform 420 may be referred to as a pod, such as example pod A 423 and pod B 424. [Paragraph 37], VNFs can move individual network functions out of dedicated hardware devices into software that runs on commodity hardware. [Paragraph 35], With automation, the disclosed systems can spin up or destroy VNFs (as VMs or containers) to elastically scale network functions to match dynamic demand)
As per claim 26, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches wherein the performing the container cluster scaling operation on the cluster instance resources in the container cluster instance in response to the at least one triggering condition comprises:
interacting with a virtualized infrastructure manager (VIM) for performing the container cluster scaling operation on the cluster instance resources in the container cluster instance, or
transmitting, to the VIM, a request of performing the container cluster scaling operation on the cluster instance resources in the container cluster instance. ([Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 32], The VIM may instantiate a container by maintaining state information regarding the containers and pods, related IP and MAC information, and node information. The VIM may identify, during workload creation, corresponding resource requirements for executing the workload based on descriptors of the VNF. [Paragraph 71], In some examples, the resources depicted in FIG. 4 may include clusters 410 for the VIM 408 or compute nodes 422 for the container management platform 420. The clusters 410 of the VIM 408 may include representative cluster A 411 and cluster B 412. The compute nodes in the container management platform 420 may be referred to as a pod, such as example pod A 423 and pod B 424.)
As per claim 27, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches updating the container cluster instance based on the scaled cluster instance resources of the container cluster instance, wherein at least one of:
the updating the container cluster instance based on the scaled cluster instance resources of the container cluster instance comprises at least one of: adding at least one first node to the container cluster instance, deleting at least one second node from the container cluster instance, or updating node resources allocated to at least one third node in the container cluster instance, or
the method further comprises: updating runtime information associated with the scaled cluster instance resources of the updated container cluster instance, and transmitting, to a management entity, at least one of a notification indicating that the container cluster instance is updated or the runtime information of the updated container cluster instance. ([Paragraph 10], The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 30], Having a container in place to host microservices can allow active schedule and management to optimize resource utilization. A container orchestration engine can enable the provisioning of hosts resources to containers, the assignment of containers to hosts, and the instantiation and rescheduling of containers. [Paragraph 32], The VIM may communicate the state information to the container management platform to make decisions regarding VNF placement, scale-out, and tear-down. [Paragraph 71], The compute nodes in the container management platform 420 may be referred to as a pod, such as example pod A 423 and pod B 424. [Paragraph 23], Kubernetes can include an open-source container orchestration system for automating application deployment, scaling, and management. Kubernetes can provide a platform for automating deployment, scaling, and operations of application containers across clusters of hosts. A pod in Kubernetes can include a scheduling unit.)
As per claim 28, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Cherunni teaches wherein the cluster instance resources are associated with at least one of the number of nodes in the container cluster instance or node resources of the nodes in the container cluster instance, and wherein the node resources comprise at least one of computing resources, storage resources or network resources. ([Paragraph 71], The compute nodes in the container management platform 420 may be referred to as a pod, such as example pod A 423 and pod B 424. [Paragraph 23], Kubernetes can include an open-source container orchestration system for automating application deployment, scaling, and management. Kubernetes can provide a platform for automating deployment, scaling, and operations of application containers across clusters of hosts. A pod in Kubernetes can include a scheduling unit. A pod in Kubernetes can include a scheduling unit. The pod can add a higher level of abstraction by grouping containerized components. A pod can include containers that can be co-located on the host machine and can share resources. Openstack can include an open-source cloud operating system that automates the management of the compute, storage, and networking components of a cloud environment. [Paragraph 24], Conventional systems may use an orchestrator distinguish between which VNFs to be directed towards the container management platform or the VIM. The orchestrator may include a network functions virtualization (“NFV”) management and orchestrator (“MANO”). An example of network functions virtualization management and network orchestration (“NFV MANO”) can refer to a framework developed by a working group of the same name within the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (“ETSI”) for NFV. The NFV MANO can include the ETSI-defined framework for the management and orchestration of all resources in a virtualized data center including compute, networking, storage, and VM resources.)
As per claim 29, Cherunni teaches:
A method for use in a management and orchestration entity, the method comprising:
receiving, from a container cluster management entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in a container cluster instance, wherein the one or more workloads comprise at least one network service or at least one virtualized network function instance; and
in response to receiving the indication, transferring the one or more workloads to the other nodes in the container cluster instance to enable subsequent instructing of a virtualized infrastructure manager (VIM) to delete the at least one second node. ([Paragraph 2], An example SLA may describe that the total end-to-end latency for traffic flows within the various components of a corresponding multi-part VNF may not exceed about 10 milliseconds. [Paragraph 10], In some examples, the container management platform can generate at least one microservice based on an occurrence of a predetermined event defined by the VNF descriptor. The events can refer to actions or occurrences recognized by software, which may originate asynchronously from the external environment, that may be handled by the software. The policy and mediation engine may instantiate such microservices by the VIM based on certain triggers defined by the VNF descriptors. The generation of the VNF can include determining at least one of a VNF placement (for example, installation and configuration), an addition of other VNFs, or a VNF teardown. The disclosed systems may perform additional activities as part of the generation of the VNF, including providing VNF scaling based on dynamic requirements from the network, monitoring and analyzing VNFs for errors, capacity management, and performance, and upgrading and updating VNFs for applying new releases and patches. [Paragraph 20], SLAs can be output-based in that their purpose is specifically to define what the end user can receive. For instance, an SLA can define performance characteristics of a network sliced being leased to a tenant. The SLA can specify VNF performance thresholds for one or more VNFs in a service chain for the slice. [Paragraph 42], At stage 104, the method may include selectively generating at least one container based on the VNF descriptor. Further, the disclosed systems may configure the VIM to handle policy-driven (for example, SLA-based) attributes defined in the descriptors (for example, VVLDs, VNFDs, and PNFDs). [Paragraph 33], Further, the VIM may be configured to handle policy-driven (for example, SLA-based) attributes defined in descriptions (for example, VVLDs, VNFDs, and PNFDs). [Paragraph 40], The VNF manager may communicate the VNF's service attributes to the MANO to perform and adhere to a given SLA. [Paragraph 35], With automation, the disclosed systems can spin up or destroy VNFs (as VMs or containers) to elastically scale network functions to match dynamic demand… [Paragraph 2], Network function virtualization orchestrators (“NFVOs”) may use underlying virtual infrastructure managers (“VIMs”) for implementing the VNF services according to service requirements. [Paragraph 22], Among other functions, the VIM can manage the allocation, upgrade, release, and reclamation of NFV infrastructure resources and optimize their use. [Paragraph 30], The deployment of VNFs can be virtual machine only, containers only, or hybrid… [Paragraph 32], The VIM may communicate the state information to the container management platform to make decisions regarding VNF placement, scale-out, and tear-down… [Paragraph 60], The VIM 316 may manage the life cycle of virtual resources in an NFVI 326 domain. In particular, the VIM 316 may create, maintain, and tear down VMs from physical resources in an NFVI 326 domain.)
Cherunni teaches scaling operations (in/out) of VNF(s) (container(s)/VM(s)) and subsequently releasing node(s) based on scaling operations.
However, Cherunni does not explicitly disclose receiving, from a container cluster management entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in a container cluster instance; and in response to receiving the indication, transferring the one or more workloads to the other nodes in the container cluster instance.
Patel teaches receiving, from a container cluster management entity, an indication to transfer one or more workloads running on at least one second node to other nodes in a container cluster instance; and in response to receiving the indication, transferring the one or more workloads to the other nodes in the container cluster instance. ([Paragraph 2], This patent application is related to the following co-pending and commonly assigned patent application filed on the same date: “System and Method for Elastic Scaling using a Container-Based Platform” (Attorney Docket No. KOD-013), which application is hereby incorporated by reference herein as if reproduced in its entirety. [Paragraph 25], Various embodiments provide mechanisms to persist and recover PTT pre-established sessions, mechanisms to dynamically scale-up and scale-down the load handling capacity of the system… [Paragraph 35], Service orchestration layer 202 is the highest layer of abstraction in infrastructure management architecture 200. Service orchestration layer 202 is a layer on top of which various service components that constitute the PTT System operate. A service orchestrator in service orchestration layer 202 uses service metrics to scale service clusters 210 (e.g., groups of containers may be referred to collectively as a container cluster) for each service component (e.g., the various service components illustrated in FIG. 3, below). Scaling service clusters 210 may include transmitting scaling triggers to lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). In some embodiments, the scaling of service clusters 210 may be in real time. These scaling triggers may be based on service metrics transmitted to service orchestration layer 202 from lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). Embodiment service metrics for a PTT platform may include, for example, number of PTT pre-established sessions, PTT call setup rate, PTT call leg setup rate (e.g., latency), number of concurrently active PTT calls, number of concurrently active PTT call legs, number of media codec instances in active use, combinations thereof, and the like. Service orchestration layer 202 may also create new container instances to replace failed container instances, for example, based on faults transmitted to service orchestration layer 202 from lower layers (e.g., container management layer 204). [Paragraph 36], Container management layer 204 operates on top of a pool of virtual machines (e.g., compute nodes 212 in virtual infrastructure management layer 206) to manage the distribution of services clusters 210 across various compute nodes 212. For example, container management layer 204 may manifest container instances for each service cluster 210 across compute nodes 212… Container management layer 204 may instantiate new compute nodes to scale the system when needed based on the platform metrics. For example, container management layer 204 may transmit scaling triggers to virtual infrastructure management layer 206 to instantiate new compute nodes or to remove compute nodes as desired. In some embodiments, container management layer 204 may also transmit desired compute node profiles with the scaling triggers to virtual infrastructure management layer 206. [Paragraph 46], FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram 400 of interactions between various service orchestration and container management modules/layers in an embodiment PTT system platform (e.g., PTT platform 106). In some embodiments, service cluster management is function of service orchestration. As part of service cluster management, PTT platform 106 may perform one or more of the following non-limiting functions: service instantiation and configuration, automatically scaling the system based on one or more capacity indicators, automatically updating a load balancer pool when new pool members are added or removed, and migrating containers from one host (e.g., a virtual compute node) to another when a host is overloaded.)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Cherunni wherein in response to a dynamic scaling condition (scale down), scale down cluster scaling operation is performed in a container cluster instance workload(s) (network service/virtualized network function) by monitoring and analyzing dynamic requirements, capacity management and performance of the workload(s), and instructing VIM to release/delete a node from a container cluster instance based on the dynamic scaling operation, into teachings of Patel wherein dynamic scaling operation transmits a request/indication to migrate the workload(s) from one node to other nodes, because this would enhance the teachings of Cherunni wherein the request/indication received to migrate/transfer the workload(s) to other nodes of the container cluster instance, it allows management and orchestration entity to interact to perform automatic/dynamic scaling operations based on various indicators such as capacity, performance, service availability requirement, etc.
As per claims 32-39, these are device claims corresponding to the method claims 1 and 22-28. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONG U KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197