DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification/Drawings
In view of Applicant’s new drawings, the prior objection for new matter is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of Applicant’s arguments, the prior 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga (US 2024/0423071), Zhou et al. (US 2017/0183567), Lin et al. (US 2021/0028327), Ichihashi et al. (US 2021/0134890), Yamazaki (US 2013/0113843), Park et al. (US 2022/0037623), Bae et al. (US 2022/0199694), Nakamura (US 2012/0228603), Mitsuhashi et al. (US 2007/0269621), and Nakatani et al. (US 2010/0289728), all of record.
(Re Claim 1) Hiraga teaches a display apparatus comprising: a first substrate (11; Fig. 2); a first light-emitting diode (20R; Fig. 2), a second light-emitting diode (20G; Fig. 2), and a third light-emitting diode (20B; Fig. 2), which are disposed on the first substrate and emit light of a wavelength belonging to a first wavelength band (white light emitted by each light-emitting diode; ¶¶58, 79); an encapsulation layer (13; Fig. 2) covering the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode and the third light-emitting diode; a bank layer (14F; Fig. 2) on the encapsulation layer, the bank layer comprising: a first bank opening (right opening; Fig. 2) corresponding to the first light-emitting diode; a second bank opening (left opening; Fig. 2); corresponding to the second light-emitting diode; and a third bank opening (central opening; Fig. 2) corresponding to the third light-emitting diode.
Hiraga has not been shown to teach a display apparatus additionally comprising:
a first quantum dot layer disposed in the first bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a second wavelength band; a second quantum dot layer disposed in the second bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a third wavelength band; a first organic capping layer disposed in the second bank opening and covering the second quantum dot layer; and an inorganic capping layer covering the bank layer, the first quantum dot layer, and the first organic capping layer; and
a color filter layer over the inorganic capping layer, the color filter layer comprising a first color filter, a second color filter, and a third color filter, which respectively overlap the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode, and the third light-emitting diode, when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first substrate,
wherein the bank layer comprises a first bank layer on the encapsulation layer and having a Iyophilic surface and a second bank layer on the first bank layer and havina a Iyophobic surface, and wherein a fixed point at which an upper surface of the first quantum dot layer contacts a sidewall of the first bank opening coincides with or is adjacent to a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall of the first bank opening.
Zhou teaches replacing dyes within color filters with quantum dots (¶4).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to replace the dyes of the color filters 14R, 14G, and 14B of Hiraga with quantum dots that emit light of the same color as the filters were allowing to pass, quantum dots have good color purity and help solve brightness loss (Zhou: ¶4).
This results in modified Hiraga teaching a first quantum dot layer (14R; Fig. 2) disposed in the first bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a second wavelength band (Zhou: ¶4);
a second quantum dot layer (14G; Fig. 2) disposed in the second bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a third wavelength band (Zhou: ¶4).
Zhou also teaches that light-emitting diodes may emit either white or blue light (¶¶165-166).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the light-emitting diodes of modified Hiraga such that they emit blue instead of white light as blue light is known to effectively excite quantum dots (Zhou: ¶162), and blue and white light are known alternatives when utilizing quantum dot layers for light emission (¶¶148-149, 165-166).
Lin teaches forming organic capping layers (314; Fig. 9) over a first quantum dot layer (306 on the left; Fig. 8) and a second quantum dot layer (306 in the center; Fig. 9), wherein the organic capping layers are disposed in bank openings (left and center bank openings of 604; Fig. 9).
Ichihashi teaches forming a bank (19; Fig. 1) such that the thickness is greater than that of color affecting layers within openings in the bank (¶84).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form capping layers, as taught by Lin, respectively within the first bank opening and the second bank opening that contact the first and second quantum dot layers, to cut out blue light that would otherwise affect the color purity of light emitting from the first and second bank openings (Lin: ¶56).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the bank layer such that it is thicker than the combination of the capping layers from Lin, and the quantum dot layers, of modified Hiraga, as this prevents color mixing (Ichihashi: ¶84).
Doing so ensures that the first organic capping layer is disposed in the second bank opening and covers the second quantum dot layer.
Yamazaki teaches that a yellow color filter may be formed using an organic resin (¶168).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the capping layers taught by Lin, such that they are organic capping layers, as an organic resin is a material known to be used to form yellow color filters, and Lin does not describe a particular material composition for the capping layers. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
This results in the first capping layer being a first organic capping layer.
Park teaches forming an inorganic capping layer (CP1; Fig. 7, ¶194) covering a bank layer (BNK2; Fig. 7).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form an inorganic capping layer as taught by Park such that it covers the bank layer of modified Hiraga, as this prevents contamination of the underlying layers (¶194), which include the first quantum dot layer and the first organic capping layer of modified Hiraga.
Nakamura teaches forming the color filter layer (230R+230G+230B; Fig. 3A) on a second substrate (210; Fig. 3A) away from the first substrate and the first and second color conversion layers (190R+190G; 3A) to allow for a subsequent gap fill operation (¶49) using a filler (¶46).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the color filter layer CFL and layer CPL of Bae on the second substrate ENC of Bae, separate from the quantum dot layers of modified Hiraga, as this reduces the amount of heat the color filters are exposed to (Nakamura: “heat-drying the ink droplet”; ¶7; Bae: “after the inkjet…curing may be performed”; ¶208).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to have the first, second, and third filter openings from Bae, as shown in the markup of Bae’s Fig. 7, respectively overlap the first, second, and third light-emitting diodes of modified Hiraga, as this allows for the light emitted from each diode to avoid unnecessary absorption through more opaque materials.
This results in modified Hiraga teaching a second substrate (Bae: ENC; Fig. 7) over the first substrate with the bank layer therebetween; and
a color filter layer (Bae: CFL; Fig. 7) over the inorganic capping layer and disposed on a lower surface of the second substrate in a direction toward the first substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a first color filter (Bae: CF1), a second color filter (Bae: CF2), and a third color filter (CF3 which respectively overlap the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode, and the third light-emitting diode, when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first substrate.
Mitsuhashi teaches forming a bank layer (B; Fig. 2) comprising: a first bank layer (B1; Fig. 2) having a lyophilic surface (¶47); and a second bank layer (B2; Fig. 2) having a lyophobic surface (¶47).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the bank layer of modified Hiraga using a sequential stack of a lyophilic and lyophobic material as taught by Mitsuhashi, and maintaining the geometry of bank layer of Hiraga, as providing an interface between a lyophilic and lyophobic materials allows for pinning the edges of deposited material layers to a desired location, improving the uniformity of deposited material layers across bank openings (Nakatani: ¶118).
As the bank layer is set thicker than the first organic capping layer and the second quantum dot layer (see rejection of claim 1; Ichihashi: ¶84), the upper surface of the first organic capping layer is inside of, and contacts, a sidewall (left) of the first bank opening. The first quantum dot layer is pinned at the interface due to the lyophilic and lyophobic parts of the bank layer (Mitsuhashi: ¶47; Nakatani: ¶118).
The fixed point then coincides with a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall (on the left) of the second bank opening, and it is at this fixed point that an upper surface (topmost) of the first quantum dot layer contacts a sidewall of the first bank opening, and the fixed point coincides with an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer that contacts the sidewall of the first bank opening.
(Re Claim 3) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 2, but has not been shown to teach wherein a fixed point at which an upper surface of the first organic capping layer contacts a sidewall of the second bank opening coincides with or is adjacent to a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall of the second bank opening.
However, as the bank layer is set thicker than the first organic capping layer and the second quantum dot layer (see rejection of claim 1; Ichihashi: ¶84), the upper surface of the first organic capping layer is inside of, and contacts, a sidewall (left) of the second bank opening. The first organic capping layer is deposited on second quantum dot layer, and so is next to the interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer, as the second quantum dot layer is pinned at the interface (Mitsuhashi: ¶47; Nakatani: ¶118).
The fixed point then is adjacent to a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall (on the left) of the second bank opening, as the point with respect to the interface is close to the fixed point.
(Re Claim 4) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second quantum dot layer has a concave shape (Fig. 2) in which a thickness of a central portion is less than a thickness of a peripheral portion adjacent to a sidewall of the second bank opening (Fig. 2).
(Re Claim 9) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second quantum dot layer comprises InxGa(1-x)P, AgInxGa(1-x)S2, AgInS2, AgGaS2, CuInS2, CuInSe2, CuGaS2, CuGaSe2, ZnSe (Zhou: ¶66), ZnTexSe(1-x), or a mixture thereof.
(Re Claim 10) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 9, but has not been shown to teach wherein the first wavelength band is in a range of about 450 nm to about 495 nm, and the third wavelength band is in a range of about 495 nm to about 570 nm.
Bae teaches that light-emitting diodes emitting blue light emit in a band of about 400 nm to about 500 nm (¶166), and that green quantum dots emit in a wavelength band of about 500 nm to about 570 nm (¶170).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
(Re Claim 11) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a second organic capping layer (the organic capping layer of modified Hiraga disposed in the first bank opening, in view of Lin and Yamazaki above) disposed in the first bank opening and covering the first quantum dot layer.
(Re Claim 12) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a second substrate (corresponding to ENC of Bae) over the first substrate with the bank layer therebetween (Hiraga: Fig. 2); and the color filter layer disposed on a lower surface (bottom surface; see the claim 1 rejection) of the second substrate in a direction toward the first substrate, wherein the color filter layer comprises a first filter opening (between Bae’s CF2 and CF3; see Bae’s Fig. 7 markup) defined by the second color filter and the third color filer (Bae: Fig. 7), a second filter opening (between Bae’s CF1 and CF3; Bae’s Fig. 7 markup) defined by the first color filter and the third color filter, and a third filter opening (between Bae’s CF1 and CF2; see Bae’s Fig. 7 markup) defined by the first color filter and the second color filter,
wherein the first filter opening, the second filter opening, and the third filter opening respectively overlap the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode, and the third light-emitting diode, when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first substrate (see the rejection of claim 1 above and Bae’s Fig. 7 markup).
(Re Claim 13) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 12, but has not been shown to teach the display apparatus further comprising: a low-refractive index layer contacting a lower surface of the color filter layer which is disposed on a lower surface of the second substrate in the direction toward the first substrate.
Bae teaches coating a low-refractive index layer (CPL; ¶186) such that it contacts a lower surface of the color filter layer in the direction toward a first substrate (BSL; Fig. 7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to have a low-refractive index layer contacting a lower surface of the color filter layer in the direction toward the first substrate of modified Hiraga, as taught by Bae, as this improves light emission characteristics (Bae: ¶186).
This results in modified Hiraga teaching the display apparatus of claim 12, further comprising:
a low-refractive index layer (Bae’s CPL) contacting a lower surface (bottom surface of Bae’s CFL) of the color filter layer which is disposed on a lower surface (bottom surface of Bae’s ENC) of the second substrate in the direction toward the first substrate.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hiraga (US 2024/0423071), Zhou et al. (US 2017/0183567), Lin et al. (US 2021/0028327), Ichihashi et al. (US 2021/0134890), Yamazaki (US 2013/0113843), Park et al. (US 2022/0037623), Bae et al. (US 2022/0199694), Nakamura (US 2012/0228603), Mitsuhashi et al. (US 2007/0269621), and Nakatani et al. (US 2010/0289728), all of record, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Sun (US 2020/0312915) of record.
(Re Claim 5) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 4, but has not been shown to teach wherein, in the first organic capping layer, a thickness of a central portion is equal to a thickness of a peripheral portion adjacent to the sidewall of the second bank opening.
Sun teaches adjusting the thickness across an upper surface of capping layers (400B+400C; Fig. 5).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to adjust the thickness across the first organic capping layer, such that a thickness of a central portion of the first organic capping layer is equal to a thickness of a peripheral portion adjacent to the sidewall of the second bank opening, as changing the thickness of a color filter across its surface, such that it has a particular curvature, is a result-effective variable of transmittance (Sun: ¶¶67, 77). Therefore, the claimed thickness relationship would have been obvious to optimize and ascertainable through routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Hiraga (US 2024/0423071), Zhou et al. (US 2017/0183567), Lin et al. (US 2021/0028327), Ichihashi et al. (US 2021/0134890), Yamazaki (US 2013/0113843), Park et al. (US 2022/0037623), Bae et al. (US 2022/0199694), Nakamura (US 2012/0228603), Mitsuhashi et al. (US 2007/0269621), and Nakatani et al. (US 2010/0289728), all of record, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seo et al. (US 2015/0349284) of record.
(Re Claim 8) Modified Hiraga teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but has not been shown to teach wherein a thickness of the first organic capping layer is in a range of about 0.1 μm to about 3 μm.
Seo teaches forming a capping layer (yellow color filter; ¶301) with a thickness of 0.80 µm (¶301).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to utilize the thickness of Seo as this predictably forms a yellow filter allowing light to pass through in a display. Also, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraga (US 2024/0423071), Zhou et al. (US 2017/0183567), Lin et al. (US 2021/0028327), Ichihashi et al. (US 2021/0134890), Yamazaki (US 2013/0113843), Park et al. (US 2022/0037623), Kim et al. (US 2019/0296088), Bae et al. (US 2022/0199694), Seo et al. (US 2015/0349284), Yoon et al. (US 2017/0153368), Chen et al. (US 2019/0252365), Mitsuhashi et al. (US 2007/0269621), and Nakatani et al. (US 2010/0289728), all of record.
(Re Claim 26) Hiraga teaches a display apparatus comprising: a first substrate (11; Fig. 2); a first light-emitting diode (20R; Fig. 2), a second light-emitting diode (20G; Fig. 2), and a third light-emitting diode (20B; Fig. 2), which are disposed on the first substrate and emit light of a wavelength belonging to a first wavelength band (white light emitted by each light-emitting diode; ¶¶58, 79); an encapsulation layer (13; Fig. 2) covering the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode, and the third light-emitting diode; a bank layer (14F; Fig. 2) on the encapsulation layer, the bank layer comprising: a first bank opening (right opening; Fig. 2) corresponding to the first light-emitting diode; a second bank opening (left opening; Fig. 2) corresponding to the second light-emitting diode; and a third bank opening (central opening; Fig. 2) corresponding to the third light-emitting diode;
wherein the bank layer comprises a first bank layer on the encapsulation layer and having a Iyophilic surface and a second bank layer on the first bank layer and havina a Iyophobic surface, and wherein a fixed point at which an upper surface of the first quantum dot layer contacts a sidewall of the first bank opening coincides with or is adjacent to a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall of the first bank opening.
Hiraga has not been shown to teach a display apparatus comprsing:
a first quantum dot layer disposed in the first bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a second wavelength band; a second quantum dot layer disposed in the second bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a third wavelength band; a first organic capping layer disposed in the second bank opening and covering the second quantum dot layer; an inorganic capping layer covering the bank layer, the first quantum dot layer, and the first organic capping layer; an organic low-refractive index layer on the inorganic capping layer and filling the first bank opening, the second bank opening, and the third bank opening; an inorganic protective layer on the organic low-refractive index layer; and a color filter layer directly contacting the inorganic protective layer, wherein the color filter layer comprises a first filter opening, a second filter opening, and a third filter opening which respectively overlap the first light-emitting diode, the second light-emitting diode, and the third light-emitting diode, when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first substrate.
Zhou teaches replacing dyes within color filters with quantum dots (¶4).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to replace the dyes of the color filters 14R, 14G, and 14B of Hiraga with quantum dots that emit light of the same color as the filters were allowing to pass, quantum dots have good color purity and help solve brightness loss (Zhou: ¶4).
This results in modified Hiraga teaching a first quantum dot layer (14R; Fig. 2) disposed in the first bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a second wavelength band (Zhou: ¶4);
a second quantum dot layer (14G; Fig. 2) disposed in the second bank opening and which converts light of a wavelength belonging to the first wavelength band to light of a wavelength belonging to a third wavelength band (Zhou: ¶4).
Zhou also teaches that light-emitting diodes may emit either white or blue light (¶¶165-166).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the light-emitting diodes of modified Hiraga such that they emit blue instead of white light as blue light is known to effectively excite quantum dots (Zhou: ¶162), and blue and white light are known alternatives when utilizing quantum dot layers for light emission (¶¶148-149, 165-166).
Lin teaches forming organic capping layers (314; Fig. 9) over a first quantum dot layer (306 on the left; Fig. 8) and a second quantum dot layer (306 in the center; Fig. 9), wherein the organic capping layers are disposed in bank openings (left and center bank openings of 604; Fig. 9).
Ichihashi teaches forming a bank (19; Fig. 1) such that the thickness is greater than that of color affecting layers within openings in the bank (¶84).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form capping layers, as taught by Lin, respectively within the first bank opening and the second bank opening that contact the first and second quantum dot layers, to cut out blue light that would otherwise affect the color purity of light emitting from the first and second bank openings (Lin: ¶56).
Additionally, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the bank layer such that it is thicker than the combination of the capping layers from Lin, and the quantum dot layers, of modified Hiraga, as this prevents color mixing (Ichihashi: ¶84).
Doing so ensures that the first organic capping layer is disposed in the second bank opening and covers the second quantum dot layer.
Yamazaki teaches that a yellow color filter may be formed using an organic resin (¶168).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the capping layers taught by Lin, such that they are organic capping layers, as an organic resin is a material known to be used to form yellow color filters, and Lin does not describe a particular material composition for the capping layers. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
This results in the first capping layer being a first organic capping layer.
Park teaches forming an inorganic capping layer (CP1; Fig. 7, ¶194) covering a bank layer (BNK2; Fig. 7).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form an inorganic capping layer as taught by Park such that it covers the bank layer of modified Hiraga, as this prevents contamination of the underlying layers (¶194), which include the first quantum dot layer and the first organic capping layer of modified Hiraga.
Chen teaches that quantum dot layers may have a thickness between 3 µm and 130 µm (¶26).
Seo teaches forming a capping layer (yellow color filter; ¶301) with a thickness of 0.80 µm (¶301).
Yoon teaches forming an inorganic capping layer with a thickness of 1 µm (¶¶70, 72).
As Ichihashi teaches that the bank layer may have a thickness greater than the combined thickness of the quantum dot layers, the organic capping layers, and the inorganic capping layer (Ichihashi: ¶84), and these thicknesses produce layers predictably capable of performing their intended functions, a PHOSITA would find it obvious that there would be space left to fill within the bank openings when utilizing these thicknesses. See also In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436 and In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257.
Kim teaches forming a low-refractive index layer (140; Fig. 12) on a capping layer (171; Fig. 12), which is on a first and second quantum dot layer (150R and 150G; Fig. 12).
Though Kim does not describe the material of the low-refractive index layer 140, another low-refractive index layer 240 is described as being made from an organic material (¶62). A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the low-refractive index layer 140 of Kim using the organic material taught for another, as such a material is suitable for forming a low-refractive index layer. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Furthermore, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the organic low-refractive index layer 140 as taught by Kim on the inorganic capping layer of modified Hiraga, such that it fills the first, second, and third bank openings of modified Hiraga, as organic low-refractive layers improve the color conversion efficiency of quantum dot layers (Kim: ¶62), and there is room within the bank openings to fill (see discussion around Chen, Seo, Yoon, and Ichihashi above).
Kim also teaches forming an inorganic protective layer (172; Fig. 12).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to also form the inorganic protective layer 172 of Kim on the organic low-refractive index layer of modified Hiraga, as taught by Kim, in order to protect underlying layers from water or high-temperature processes (Kim: ¶105).
Bae teaches that quantum dots layers (LCP1+LCP2; Fig. 7) may also be utilized with a color filter layer (CFL; Fig. 7, ¶62), where the color filter layer is formed on a second substrate (ENC; Fig. 7, ¶62) that has a first, second, and third filter opening (Fig. 7 markup) overlapping respectively with a first, second, and third light-emitting diode, (LD1, LD2, and LD3; Fig. 7).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to stack a color filter layer as taught by Bae over the quantum dot layers of modified Hiraga, as this allows for further control over the color of light emitted from a particular device region.
Kim teaches that a color filter layer may be formed either on a second substrate (210; Fig. 10) and then bonded, or deposited as part of a series of depositions on a first substrate (110; Fig. 12, ¶¶167-168).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious then to have the color filter layer of Bae formed directly on, and therefore contacting, the inorganic protective layer of modified Hiraga, as sequential deposition on the inorganic protective layer rather than deposition on a second substrate is an alternative method of forming a color filter layer over quantum dot layers. See Ruiz v. AB Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270.
Bae teaches forming the color filter layer with a first, second, and third filter opening (See Bae’s Fig. 12 markup below).
Furthermore, Kim teaches aligning the color filter layer such that in either method of forming the color filter layer, the color filters are disposed over their respective color’s light emitting area and diodes (Fig. 10 and 12).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to align the color filter layers of Bae such that the first, second, and third filter openings respectively overlap the first, second, and third light-emitting diodes, when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the first substrate, as this allows for light emitted from each diode to be appropriately filtered to produce an RGB display, as intended by Hiraga (Hiraga: Fig. 1).
Mitsuhashi teaches forming a bank layer (B; Fig. 2) comprising: a first bank layer (B1; Fig. 2) having a lyophilic surface (¶47); and a second bank layer (B2; Fig. 2) having a lyophobic surface (¶47).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the bank layer of modified Hiraga using a sequential stack of a lyophilic and lyophobic material as taught by Mitsuhashi, and maintaining the geometry of bank layer of Hiraga, as providing an interface between a lyophilic and lyophobic materials allows for pinning the edges of deposited material layers to a desired location, improving the uniformity of deposited material layers across bank openings (Nakatani: ¶118).
As the bank layer is set thicker than the first organic capping layer and the second quantum dot layer (see rejection of claim 1; Ichihashi: ¶84), the upper surface of the first organic capping layer is inside of, and contacts, a sidewall (left) of the first bank opening. The first quantum dot layer is pinned at the interface due to the lyophilic and lyophobic parts of the bank layer (Mitsuhashi: ¶47; Nakatani: ¶118).
The fixed point then coincides with a point at which an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer contacts the sidewall (on the left) of the second bank opening, and it is at this fixed point that an upper surface (topmost) of the first quantum dot layer contacts a sidewall of the first bank opening, and the fixed point coincides with an interface between the first bank layer and the second bank layer that contacts the sidewall of the first bank opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “a sufficiently reasoned explanation for why a skilled artisan would modify Hiraga’s specific white-OLED/color-filter/lens architecture into Applicant’s claimed quantum-dot/capping/color-filter stack with a reasonable expectation of success” has not been provided (remarks, p. 15).
However, each art teaching was explained and motivation subsequently provided; it is unclear where an explanation is omitted or defective. Applicant does specify the lack of a “sufficiently reasoned” explanation, but nowhere was a defective argument actually pointed out. The Applicant understands that “[t]he Office Action explains why each cited reference may disclose a useful component in its own context” (remarks, p. 16), and that motivations were provided that were “component-specific and result-oriented” (remarks, p. 17).
Applicant does point out that “Hiraga’s stated benefit is tied to the very filter-in-cell/lens configuration that the rejection would substantially rebuild” (remarks, p. 15). But as expressed in the response to arguments in the final rejection mailed 6/22/2026, so long as modifications to Hiraga do not alter Hiraga into something other than a display device or otherwise render Hiraga unsuitable for performing a display function, especially when only a change in the properties of Hiraga as a display occurs, nothing teaches away from the modification. In this case, the display properties of Hiraga are changed such that e.g., better color purity is achieved (Zhou: ¶4). In view of Zhou for example, it is known to replace dyes with quantum dots in color filters (e.g., Zhou: “It is one of the manners for solving brightness loss of back light in the prior art to replace the dye molecules in red, green, and blue color filters with photoluminescent particles binding normal organic ligands, such as quantum dots (simply referred to as QDs), i.e., forming a quantum dot color filter film” (¶4)). Applicant has not shown where any one or more of the proposed changes to Hiraga’s invention result in a defective or unsuitable device; nor has it been shown that any of the motivations given for these changes are defective or insufficient.
Also, though Hiraga’s display has particular properties before applying the teachings of the art, that changes may result in different properties – some better, some worse – does not alone preclude those changes from being obvious (“Hiraga’s stated benefit is tied to the very filter-in-cell/lens configuration that the rejection would substantially rebuild”; remarks. p. 15). For example, in Allied Erecting v. Genesis Attachments, 825 F.3d 1373, 1381, 119 USPQ2d 1132, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the court stated "[a]lthough modification of the movable blades may impede the quick change functionality disclosed by Caterpillar, ‘[a] given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine’" (quoting Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165, 77 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (citation omitted)).
Furthermore, due to pinning of the quantum dot layers at the interface between the first and second bank layer, a lens shape will still form in modified Hiraga, preserving a lens configuration of Hiraga. See Fig. 1A-3 of Mitsuhashi and the discussion around Fig. 5 of Nakatani.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new rejection.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898