DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on May 22, 2026.
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 1-30 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0403055, hereinafter Bhamri, in view of El Hamss et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0158655, hereinafter El Hamss, and Myung et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0262764, hereinafter Myung.
Regarding Claim 1, Bhamri discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, wherein the memory comprises instructions executable by the at least one processor (Abstract; Figure 1-3 and 9) to cause the UE to:
receive a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with per-beam channel access procedures for communicating in one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands (Figure 9; Paragraph [0081-0093] In various embodiments, the method 900 includes receiving 902 information configuring a single channel occupancy time for multi-beam transmission in an unlicensed channel. In some embodiments, the method 900 includes performing 904 sensing for the single channel occupancy time. The sensing includes: omni-directional sensing at a beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on a plurality of beams at the beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on the plurality of beams in a time domain multiplexing manner before each transmission based on a time gap between transmissions; or some combination thereof);
perform a per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of a plurality of beams (Figure 9; Paragraph [0081] sensing for the single channel occupancy time. The sensing includes: omni-directional sensing at a beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on a plurality of beams at the beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on the plurality of beams in a time domain multiplexing manner before each transmission based on a time gap between transmissions; or some combination thereof.);
and communicate via one or more beams from the plurality of beams based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration and the per-beam channel access procedures being successful for at least a subset of beams of the plurality of beams (Paragraph [0056-0058] In one implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then the device may perform directional LBT before the transmission 1 on beam 1 and upon success, COT is initiated. Following transmission 1 and before the start of transmission 2 on beam 2, the device may perform short directional LBT on beam 2 and upon successful LBT on beam 2, the device will start transmission 2 on beam 2 using the remaining COT duration that was initiated by the transmitter device before transmission 1 on beam 1. In another implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled).
Bhamri readily discloses reception of a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with per-beam channel access procedures, performing a channel access procedure and communicating via one or more beams based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration and the per-beam channel access procedures being successful but may not explicitly disclose the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of a plurality of beams.
However, El Hamss more specifically teaches the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of a plurality of beams (Figure 7; Paragraph [0182-0189] a WTRU may receive configuration information that indicates a first channel access method and a second channel access method. For example, first and second channel access methods may be different based on one or more of the following: a spatial filter setting; a sensing duration; an energy detection threshold; a contention window size; a priority of the transmission triggering channel access procedure; beam direction(s); beam width(s); ED threshold(s); and/or the like. , the WTRU may select the first channel access method associated with a first uplink transmission on a channel. For example, a WTRU may be configured to select a channel access method based on one or more of the following: a channel access category indicated by a gNB (e.g., LBT type); the type of transmission; a priority of a transmission; a resource intended for transmission; a physical channel or transport channel associated with the transmission; the WTRU's procedure(s); the WTRU may access the channel via the first channel access method and transmit the first uplink transmission on the channel. The first channel access method may comprise the channel being sensed for a first duration using a first beam. a WTRU may access the channel via the second channel access method and transmit the second uplink transmission on the channel. The second channel access method may comprise the channel being sensed for a second duration using a second beam and/or the channel being sensed for a third duration using a third beam; Paragraph [0135-0157] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri with the teachings of El Hamss. The method enables utilizing a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to access a channel using multiple channel access methods associated with multiple uplink transmissions based on a determination of persistent interference associated with the channel (El Hamss Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008, 0044 and 0149]).
Bhamri in view of El Hamss briefly disclose simultaneously performing a channel access procedure (See Bhamri Paragraph [0061]) but may not explicitly disclose wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously.
However, Myung more specifically teaches wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously (Paragraph [0200] LBT for a plurality of beams transmitted through SDM/TDM in the COT may be performed differently according to capability. For example, when capability is sufficient so that LBT in a plurality of beam directions is capable of being simultaneously performed, simultaneous sensing may be performed; Paragraph [0220] Upon simultaneously performing LBT for sensing beams that cover all Tx beams to be transmitted in a COT, respectively, the UE or the BS may perform transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to successful sensing beam directions through SDM, except for transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to failed sensing beam directions; Paragraph [0295] When LBT is performed using a common backoff counter value for all beams (e.g., sensing beams) as in [Method #3-1], if random backoff-based LBT is simultaneously performed through a plurality of sensing beams that covers a plurality of Tx beam directions, respectively, for a multi-beam COT in each single channel, a counter value may be configured/indicated to be decreased only when LBT is successful for all of the sensing beams. This operation may be performed as if a plurality of sensing beams operates as one single (wide) sensing beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Myung. The method determines the most efficient signal transmission/reception method according to the corresponding multiplexing type and the corresponding sensing beam, and determines the LBT method for efficiently transmitting and receiving signals through multiple channels and/or the beams (Myung Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions to communicate via the one or more beams are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate on a channel during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the per-beam channel access procedures being successful for the subset of beams, the one or more beams comprising the subset of beams (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 3, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 2. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the channel occupancy configuration enables use of the channel occupancy time by the UE when only the subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 4, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions to communicate via the one or more beams are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: communicate on a channel during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the per-beam channel access procedures being successful for every beam of the plurality of beams, the one or more beams comprising the plurality of beams (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 5, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 4. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the channel occupancy configuration disables use of the channel occupancy time by the UE when only the subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 16, Bhamri discloses a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory comprises instructions executable by the at least one processor (Abstract; Figure 1-3 and 9) to cause the network entity to:
transmit a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with per-beam channel access procedures for communicating in one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands (Figure 9; Paragraph [0081-0093] In various embodiments, the method 900 includes receiving 902 information configuring a single channel occupancy time for multi-beam transmission in an unlicensed channel. In some embodiments, the method 900 includes performing 904 sensing for the single channel occupancy time. The sensing includes: omni-directional sensing at a beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on a plurality of beams at the beginning of the single channel occupancy time; directional sensing on the plurality of beams in a time domain multiplexing manner before each transmission based on a time gap between transmissions; or some combination thereof);
and communicate with a user equipment (UE) via one or more beams from a plurality of beams based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration (Paragraph [0056-0058] In one implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then the device may perform directional LBT before the transmission 1 on beam 1 and upon success, COT is initiated. Following transmission 1 and before the start of transmission 2 on beam 2, the device may perform short directional LBT on beam 2 and upon successful LBT on beam 2, the device will start transmission 2 on beam 2 using the remaining COT duration that was initiated by the transmitter device before transmission 1 on beam 1. In another implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled).
Bhamri readily discloses reception of a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with per-beam channel access procedures, performing a channel access procedure and communicating via one or more beams based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration and the per-beam channel access procedures being successful but may not explicitly disclose the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of a plurality of beams.
However, El Hamss more specifically teaches the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of a plurality of beams (Figure 7; Paragraph [0182-0189] a WTRU may receive configuration information that indicates a first channel access method and a second channel access method. For example, first and second channel access methods may be different based on one or more of the following: a spatial filter setting; a sensing duration; an energy detection threshold; a contention window size; a priority of the transmission triggering channel access procedure; beam direction(s); beam width(s); ED threshold(s); and/or the like. , the WTRU may select the first channel access method associated with a first uplink transmission on a channel. For example, a WTRU may be configured to select a channel access method based on one or more of the following: a channel access category indicated by a gNB (e.g., LBT type); the type of transmission; a priority of a transmission; a resource intended for transmission; a physical channel or transport channel associated with the transmission; the WTRU's procedure(s); the WTRU may access the channel via the first channel access method and transmit the first uplink transmission on the channel. The first channel access method may comprise the channel being sensed for a first duration using a first beam. a WTRU may access the channel via the second channel access method and transmit the second uplink transmission on the channel. The second channel access method may comprise the channel being sensed for a second duration using a second beam and/or the channel being sensed for a third duration using a third beam; Paragraph [0135-0157] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri with the teachings of El Hamss. The method enables utilizing a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to access a channel using multiple channel access methods associated with multiple uplink transmissions based on a determination of persistent interference associated with the channel (El Hamss Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008, 0044 and 0149]).
Bhamri in view of El Hamss briefly disclose simultaneously performing a channel access procedure (See Bhamri Paragraph [0061]) but may not explicitly disclose wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously.
However, Myung more specifically teaches wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously (Paragraph [0200] LBT for a plurality of beams transmitted through SDM/TDM in the COT may be performed differently according to capability. For example, when capability is sufficient so that LBT in a plurality of beam directions is capable of being simultaneously performed, simultaneous sensing may be performed; Paragraph [0220] Upon simultaneously performing LBT for sensing beams that cover all Tx beams to be transmitted in a COT, respectively, the UE or the BS may perform transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to successful sensing beam directions through SDM, except for transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to failed sensing beam directions; Paragraph [0295] When LBT is performed using a common backoff counter value for all beams (e.g., sensing beams) as in [Method #3-1], if random backoff-based LBT is simultaneously performed through a plurality of sensing beams that covers a plurality of Tx beam directions, respectively, for a multi-beam COT in each single channel, a counter value may be configured/indicated to be decreased only when LBT is successful for all of the sensing beams. This operation may be performed as if a plurality of sensing beams operates as one single (wide) sensing beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Myung. The method determines the most efficient signal transmission/reception method according to the corresponding multiplexing type and the corresponding sensing beam, and determines the LBT method for efficiently transmitting and receiving signals through multiple channels and/or the beams (Myung Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0025]).
Regarding Claim 17, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions to communicate via the one or more beams are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: communicate on a channel during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration, the one or more beams comprising a subset of beams from the plurality of beams (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 18, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 17. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the channel occupancy configuration enables use of the channel occupancy time by a user equipment (UE) when only the subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Regarding Claim 19, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions to communicate via the one or more beams are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: communicate on a channel during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration, the one or more beams comprising the plurality of beams (Bhamri Paragraph [0056-0058] In one implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then the device may perform directional LBT before the transmission 1 on beam 1 and upon success, COT is initiated. Following transmission 1 and before the start of transmission 2 on beam 2, the device may perform short directional LBT on beam 2 and upon successful LBT on beam 2, the device will start transmission 2 on beam 2 using the remaining COT duration that was initiated by the transmitter device before transmission 1 on beam 1. In another implementation of the first embodiment, if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Figure 7; Paragraph [0137-0157 and 0182-0189]).
Regarding Claim 20, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 19. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the channel occupancy configuration disables use of the channel occupancy time by a UE when only a subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure (Bhamri Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled; El Hamss Paragraph [0156-0163]).
Claim 6, 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shibaike et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0324006, hereinafter Shibaike.
Regarding Claim 6, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung briefly disclose timers but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to perform the per-beam channel access procedure are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: perform the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams based at least in part on one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedure, wherein the UE determines that the per-beam channel access procedures are successful upon expiration of the one or more timers.
However, Shibaike more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to perform the per-beam channel access procedure are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: perform the per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams based at least in part on one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedure, wherein the UE determines that the per-beam channel access procedures are successful upon expiration of the one or more timers (Paragraph [0120] the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports a timer that indicates an upper limit of the LBT period at the time of expiration in the sensing using each beam according to time division multiplexing; Paragraph [0052-0058 and 114] Transmission may be performed by applying, in the COT, the transmission beam or transmission beamforming corresponding to the successful reception beam or successful reception beamforming in the LBT sensing. Note that a beam: that is wider than other beams; that covers other beams; or that includes other beams, may be defined as a beam that covers at least spatial directions of the other beams, or may be defined differently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Shibaike. Shibaike provides a solution for more efficient LBT procedures (Shibaike Abstract; Paragraph [0006-0009]).
Regarding Claim 11, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung briefly disclose timers but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to support the per-beam channel access procedure, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on the capability message.
However, Shibaike more specifically teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to support the per-beam channel access procedure, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on the capability message (Paragraph [0120] the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports a timer that indicates an upper limit of the LBT period at the time of expiration in the sensing using each beam according to time division multiplexing; Paragraph [0052-0058 and 114] Transmission may be performed by applying, in the COT, the transmission beam or transmission beamforming corresponding to the successful reception beam or successful reception beamforming in the LBT sensing. Note that a beam: that is wider than other beams; that covers other beams; or that includes other beams, may be defined as a beam that covers at least spatial directions of the other beams, or may be defined differently).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Shibaike. Shibaike provides a solution for more efficient LBT procedures (Shibaike Abstract; Paragraph [0006-0009]).
Regarding Claim 25, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive a capability message indicating a capability of a UE to support the per-beam channel access procedures, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on the capability message.
However, Shibaike more specifically teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive a capability message indicating a capability of a UE to support the per-beam channel access procedures, wherein receiving the control message is based at least in part on the capability message (Paragraph [0114] Based on the RRC configuration, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports LBT in which sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed for obtaining the COT in which multiple beams are applied. In addition, in order to obtain the COT in which multiple beams are applied, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports a UE side operation based on the RRC configuration in a case where the base station 10 performs an LBT in which the sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Shibaike. Shibaike provides a solution for more efficient LBT procedures (Shibaike Abstract; Paragraph [0006-0009]).
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri in view of El Hamss, Myung and Shibaike as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Babaei U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0203400, hereinafter Babaei.
Regarding Claim 7, Bhamri in view of El Hamss, Myung and Shibaike disclose the UE of Claim 6. Bhamri in view of El Hamss, Myung and Shibaike disclose timers but may not explicitly disclose wherein the control message comprises an indication of the one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedure.
However, Babaei more specifically teaches wherein the control message comprises an indication of the one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedure (Paragraph [0345-0356] Configuration parameters may comprise one or more second parameters (e.g., one or more counter and/or timer values) for detection of a beam failure based on a beam failure detection process and for recovery based on a beam failure recovery process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss, Myung and Shibaike with the teachings of Babaei. The likelihood of correct reception of packets are increased by enabling higher reliability with packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) packet duplication. The existing beam failure and consistent LBT failures recovery processes is enhanced (Babaei Abstract; Paragraph [0345-0347]).
Regarding Claim 21, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose timers but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit an indication of one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedures, wherein the control message comprises the indication.
However, Babaei more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit an indication of one or more timers associated with the per-beam channel access procedures, wherein the control message comprises the indication (Paragraph [0345-0356] Configuration parameters may comprise one or more second parameters (e.g., one or more counter and/or timer values) for detection of a beam failure based on a beam failure detection process and for recovery based on a beam failure recovery process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss, Myung and Shibaike with the teachings of Babaei. The likelihood of correct reception of packets are increased by enabling higher reliability with packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) packet duplication. The existing beam failure and consistent LBT failures recovery processes is enhanced (Babaei Abstract; Paragraph [0345-0347]).
Claims 8, 9, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung as applied to claim 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0319819, hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 8, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a UE-specific configuration for the UE.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a UE-specific configuration for the UE (Paragraph [0230-0231 and 0339] Configuration information for channel occupancy, for example, period information for channel occupancy, is indicated in cell-common signaling and/or UE-specific signaling. Preferably, the configuration information of channel occupancy for the operating mode of UE-initiated channel occupancy includes the period information for channel occupancy and the starting point information of the period, such as the offset relative to a reference time point. For example, the reference time point is the starting point of an even indexed radio frame; According to another example, for the same UE, the parameters for UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information are different from those configured by UE-specific signaling. For example, the UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information is slot 1-5, and the channel occupancy configured by UE-special signaling is slot 2-6. Paragraph [0249] The base station may configure the specific time resources through signaling, e.g., RRC or MAC signaling, or may dynamically indicate the specific time resources through physical layer signaling, e.g., cell-common PDCCH or user-group-based PDCCH indicates the specific time resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Wang. The method enables utilizing a coordinating mechanism for spectrum resources, so that respective nodes can utilize spectrum resources as efficiently as possible and the interference among respective nodes is relatively controllable, thus improving efficiency of a communication system based on the coordinating mechanism, and hence improving uplink and downlink transmission in an efficient manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Regarding Claim 9, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive a system information message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a cell-specific configuration for a cell provided by a network entity.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to receive the control message are executable by the at least processor to cause the UE to: receive a system information message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a cell-specific configuration for a cell provided by a network entity (Paragraph [0230-0231 and 0339] Configuration information for channel occupancy, for example, period information for channel occupancy, is indicated in cell-common signaling and/or UE-specific signaling. Preferably, the configuration information of channel occupancy for the operating mode of UE-initiated channel occupancy includes the period information for channel occupancy and the starting point information of the period, such as the offset relative to a reference time point. For example, the reference time point is the starting point of an even indexed radio frame; According to another example, for the same UE, the parameters for UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information are different from those configured by UE-specific signaling. For example, the UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information is slot 1-5, and the channel occupancy configured by UE-special signaling is slot 2-6. Paragraph [0249] The base station may configure the specific time resources through signaling, e.g., RRC or MAC signaling, or may dynamically indicate the specific time resources through physical layer signaling, e.g., cell-common PDCCH or user-group-based PDCCH indicates the specific time resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Wang. The method enables utilizing a coordinating mechanism for spectrum resources, so that respective nodes can utilize spectrum resources as efficiently as possible and the interference among respective nodes is relatively controllable, thus improving efficiency of a communication system based on the coordinating mechanism, and hence improving uplink and downlink transmission in an efficient manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Regarding Claim 22, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a radio resource control message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a UE-specific configuration for the UE.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a radio resource control message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a UE-specific configuration for the UE (Paragraph [0230-0231 and 0339] Configuration information for channel occupancy, for example, period information for channel occupancy, is indicated in cell-common signaling and/or UE-specific signaling. Preferably, the configuration information of channel occupancy for the operating mode of UE-initiated channel occupancy includes the period information for channel occupancy and the starting point information of the period, such as the offset relative to a reference time point. For example, the reference time point is the starting point of an even indexed radio frame; According to another example, for the same UE, the parameters for UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information are different from those configured by UE-specific signaling. For example, the UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information is slot 1-5, and the channel occupancy configured by UE-special signaling is slot 2-6. Paragraph [0249] The base station may configure the specific time resources through signaling, e.g., RRC or MAC signaling, or may dynamically indicate the specific time resources through physical layer signaling, e.g., cell-common PDCCH or user-group-based PDCCH indicates the specific time resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Wang. The method enables utilizing a coordinating mechanism for spectrum resources, so that respective nodes can utilize spectrum resources as efficiently as possible and the interference among respective nodes is relatively controllable, thus improving efficiency of a communication system based on the coordinating mechanism, and hence improving uplink and downlink transmission in an efficient manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Regarding Claim 23, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a system information message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a cell-specific configuration for a cell provided by the network entity.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the control message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a system information message indicating the channel occupancy configuration, the channel occupancy configuration comprising a cell-specific configuration for a cell provided by the network entity (Paragraph [0230-0231 and 0339] Configuration information for channel occupancy, for example, period information for channel occupancy, is indicated in cell-common signaling and/or UE-specific signaling. Preferably, the configuration information of channel occupancy for the operating mode of UE-initiated channel occupancy includes the period information for channel occupancy and the starting point information of the period, such as the offset relative to a reference time point. For example, the reference time point is the starting point of an even indexed radio frame; According to another example, for the same UE, the parameters for UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information are different from those configured by UE-specific signaling. For example, the UE-initiated channel occupancy configured by system information is slot 1-5, and the channel occupancy configured by UE-special signaling is slot 2-6. Paragraph [0249] The base station may configure the specific time resources through signaling, e.g., RRC or MAC signaling, or may dynamically indicate the specific time resources through physical layer signaling, e.g., cell-common PDCCH or user-group-based PDCCH indicates the specific time resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Wang. The method enables utilizing a coordinating mechanism for spectrum resources, so that respective nodes can utilize spectrum resources as efficiently as possible and the interference among respective nodes is relatively controllable, thus improving efficiency of a communication system based on the coordinating mechanism, and hence improving uplink and downlink transmission in an efficient manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0015]).
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chien U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0146487, hereinafter Chien.
Regarding Claim 10, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 1. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the channel occupancy configuration is based at least in part on a traffic type, one or more other wireless devices communicating with the UE, a number of wireless devices in a same cell as the UE, a radio access technology used by one or more network entities or wireless devices for communicating in the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands, or any combination thereof.
However, Chien more specifically teaches wherein the channel occupancy configuration is based at least in part on a traffic type, one or more other wireless devices communicating with the UE, a number of wireless devices in a same cell as the UE, a radio access technology used by one or more network entities or wireless devices for communicating in the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0211-0235] The gNB 20 can explicitly indicate the UE-initiated COT using any one or any combinations of the following schemes: The gNB 20 can use new RRC configuration to indicate a COT type for a single FFP. For example, for the UE 10 having higher priority traffic, UE-initiated COT is configured; otherwise, gNB-initiated COT is configured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Chien. The method enables the user equipment to transmit UL data or signals within remaining portion of the COT in the FFP of the GNB-initiated COT, thus reducing latency for UL transmissions especially for configured grant UL transmissions. The method allows the user equipment to transmit the COT at a front portion of FFP of the gNB initiated COT such that the user equipment can transmit the UL data/signals (Chien Abstract; Paragraph [0003-0026]).
Regarding Claim 24, Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 16. Bhamri in view of El Hamss and Myung fail to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: identify a presence of one or more other network entities or wireless devices communicating in the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands, wherein the channel occupancy configuration is based at least in part on a radio access technology used by each of the one or more other network entities or wireless devices.
However, Chien more specifically teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: identify a presence of one or more other network entities or wireless devices communicating in the one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands, wherein the channel occupancy configuration is based at least in part on a radio access technology used by each of the one or more other network entities or wireless devices (Paragraph [0211-0235] The gNB 20 can explicitly indicate the UE-initiated COT using any one or any combinations of the following schemes: The gNB 20 can use new RRC configuration to indicate a COT type for a single FFP. For example, for the UE 10 having higher priority traffic, UE-initiated COT is configured; otherwise, gNB-initiated COT is configured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bhamri in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Chien. The method enables the user equipment to transmit UL data or signals within remaining portion of the COT in the FFP of the GNB-initiated COT, thus reducing latency for UL transmissions especially for configured grant UL transmissions. The method allows the user equipment to transmit the COT at a front portion of FFP of the gNB initiated COT such that the user equipment can transmit the UL data/signals (Chien Abstract; Paragraph [0003-0026]).
Claim 12, 15, 26, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung.
Regarding Claim 12, Shibaike discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: a at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory comprises instructions executable by the processor (Abstract; Figure 1 and 25-27) to cause the UE to:
transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to support per-beam channel access procedures for communicating in one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands; (Paragraph [0114] Based on the RRC configuration, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports LBT in which sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed for obtaining the COT in which multiple beams are applied. In addition, in order to obtain the COT in which multiple beams are applied, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports a UE side operation based on the RRC configuration in a case where the base station 10 performs an LBT in which the sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed.);
perform a per-beam channel access procedure for one or more beams of a plurality of beams in accordance with the capability; and communicate via the one or more beams based at least in part on the per-beam channel access procedures being successful (Paragraph [0052] Transmission may be performed by applying, in the COT, the transmission beam or transmission beamforming corresponding to the successful reception beam or successful reception beamforming in the LBT sensing. Note that a beam: that is wider than other beams; that covers other beams; or that includes other beams, may be defined as a beam that covers at least spatial directions of the other beams, or may be defined differently).
Shibaike readily discloses transmission of capability message and performing a channel access procedure in accordance with the capability and communicating using beams based at least in part on the channel access being successful but may not explicitly go into detail on performing a per-beam channel access procedure for one or more beams of a plurality of beams.
However, El Hamss more specifically teaches performing a per-beam channel access procedure for one or more beams of a plurality of beams (Figure 7; Paragraph [0094-0095 and 0135-0159] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike with the teachings of El Hamss. The method enables utilizing a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to access a channel using multiple channel access methods associated with multiple uplink transmissions based on a determination of persistent interference associated with the channel (El Hamss Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008, 0044 and 0149]).
Shibaike in view of El Hamss briefly disclose simultaneously performing a channel access procedure but may not explicitly disclose wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously.
However, Myung more specifically teaches wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously (Paragraph [0200] LBT for a plurality of beams transmitted through SDM/TDM in the COT may be performed differently according to capability. For example, when capability is sufficient so that LBT in a plurality of beam directions is capable of being simultaneously performed, simultaneous sensing may be performed; Paragraph [0220] Upon simultaneously performing LBT for sensing beams that cover all Tx beams to be transmitted in a COT, respectively, the UE or the BS may perform transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to successful sensing beam directions through SDM, except for transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to failed sensing beam directions; Paragraph [0295] When LBT is performed using a common backoff counter value for all beams (e.g., sensing beams) as in [Method #3-1], if random backoff-based LBT is simultaneously performed through a plurality of sensing beams that covers a plurality of Tx beam directions, respectively, for a multi-beam COT in each single channel, a counter value may be configured/indicated to be decreased only when LBT is successful for all of the sensing beams. This operation may be performed as if a plurality of sensing beams operates as one single (wide) sensing beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Myung. The method determines the most efficient signal transmission/reception method according to the corresponding multiplexing type and the corresponding sensing beam, and determines the LBT method for efficiently transmitting and receiving signals through multiple channels and/or the beams (Myung Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0025]).
Regarding Claim 15, Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 12. Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: receive a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with the per-beam channel access procedures (Shibaike Paragraph [0157]; El Hamss Figure 7; Paragraph [0135-0157] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT)).
Regarding Claim 26, Shibaike discloses a network entity for wireless communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, wherein the at least one memory comprises instructions executable by the processor (Abstract; Figure 1 and 25-27) to cause the network entity to:
receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) to support per-beam channel access procedures for communicating in one or more shared radio frequency spectrum bands (Paragraph [0114] Based on the RRC configuration, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports LBT in which sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed for obtaining the COT in which multiple beams are applied. In addition, in order to obtain the COT in which multiple beams are applied, the UE capability may be defined to indicate whether the terminal 20 supports a UE side operation based on the RRC configuration in a case where the base station 10 performs an LBT in which the sensing for each beam according to time division multiplexing is performed.);
and communicate with the UE via one or more beams from a plurality of beams based at least in part on the capability (Paragraph [0052] Transmission may be performed by applying, in the COT, the transmission beam or transmission beamforming corresponding to the successful reception beam or successful reception beamforming in the LBT sensing. Note that a beam: that is wider than other beams; that covers other beams; or that includes other beams, may be defined as a beam that covers at least spatial directions of the other beams, or may be defined differently).
Shibaike readily discloses transmission of capability message and performing a channel access procedure in accordance with the capability and communicating using beams based at least in part on the channel access being successful but may not explicitly go into detail on a per-beam channel access procedure for one or more beams of a plurality of beams.
However, El Hamss more specifically teaches per-beam channel access procedure for one or more beams of a plurality of beams (Figure 7; Paragraph [0094-0095 and 0135-0159] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike with the teachings of El Hamss. The method enables utilizing a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) to access a channel using multiple channel access methods associated with multiple uplink transmissions based on a determination of persistent interference associated with the channel (El Hamss Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0008, 0044 and 0149]).
Shibaike in view of El Hamss briefly disclose simultaneously performing a channel access procedure but may not explicitly disclose wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously.
However, Myung more specifically teaches wherein each per-beam channel access procedure for each beam of the plurality of beams is initiated simultaneously (Paragraph [0200] LBT for a plurality of beams transmitted through SDM/TDM in the COT may be performed differently according to capability. For example, when capability is sufficient so that LBT in a plurality of beam directions is capable of being simultaneously performed, simultaneous sensing may be performed; Paragraph [0220] Upon simultaneously performing LBT for sensing beams that cover all Tx beams to be transmitted in a COT, respectively, the UE or the BS may perform transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to successful sensing beam directions through SDM, except for transmissions of Tx beams corresponding to failed sensing beam directions; Paragraph [0295] When LBT is performed using a common backoff counter value for all beams (e.g., sensing beams) as in [Method #3-1], if random backoff-based LBT is simultaneously performed through a plurality of sensing beams that covers a plurality of Tx beam directions, respectively, for a multi-beam COT in each single channel, a counter value may be configured/indicated to be decreased only when LBT is successful for all of the sensing beams. This operation may be performed as if a plurality of sensing beams operates as one single (wide) sensing beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss with the teachings of Myung. The method determines the most efficient signal transmission/reception method according to the corresponding multiplexing type and the corresponding sensing beam, and determines the LBT method for efficiently transmitting and receiving signals through multiple channels and/or the beams (Myung Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0025]).
Regarding Claim 29, Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 26. Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung further disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: transmit a control message indicating a channel occupancy configuration that is associated with the per-beam channel access procedures (Shibaike Paragraph [0157]; El Hamss Figure 7; Paragraph [0135-0157] A WTRU may receive an indication of an LBT configuration that may be used by a gNB to initiate a COT. For example, an LBT configuration may be in a COT structure indication message. An indication may be provided, for example, by one or more of the following: a reference signal or an index of an RS; an (e.g., explicit) identification of the beam(s) used for LBT; a resource that may be used to transmit the indication of the LBT configuration; and/or a timing of the COT; A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs. A COT may be defined by a set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. A WTRU may maintain multiple COTs simultaneously on the same set of resource blocks (RBs) (e.g. in the same LBT subband(s)). For example, a WTRU may maintain a first COT using a first LBT configuration and a second COT using a second LBT configuration. Maintenance of the first and second COTs may be valid, for example, if the beams of the first and second LBT configuration do not overlap. The WTRU may maintain a COT timer per LBT configuration (e.g. per spatial COT)).
Claims 13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung as applied to claim 12 and 26 above, and further in view of Guo et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2017/0373740, hereinafter Guo.
Regarding Claim 13, Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the UE of Claim 12. Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose capability messages but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to transmit the capability message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit, within the capability message, an indication of a threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures supported by the UE.
However, Guo more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to transmit the capability message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to: transmit, within the capability message, an indication of a threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures supported by the UE (Paragraph [0069] UE beamforming related information can include whether the UE tends to use, is using, or is able to use UE beamforming, whether the UE beam sweeping is required by the UE, the maximum number of beams the UE can generate concurrently, the UE beam sweeping number, the total number of UE beams/(sub)sets of beams that are needed to cover (all the) different directions, and the like. n, the above information can be indicated to the network by way of signaling that provides information about the UE's capability. In another example implementation, all or part of the above information can be explicitly or implicitly indicated during a procedure for entering connected state by the UE. For example, the procedure can be a random access procedure or a connection establishment procedure. All or part of the information can be explicitly or implicitly indicated by the preamble (e.g. similar to Msg1 in LTE) of the random access procedure or the first UL transmission which carries UE data and/or control information (e.g. similar to Msg3 in LTE) of the random access procedure. The preamble sequence selected by the UE or the resource used by the UE to transmit a preamble can be used to indicate the UE beamforming related information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Guo. Guo provides a solution which avoids needless expending of resources and power, since the UE device and the network are synchronized and efficient about the monitoring and generating of reference signals (Guo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0065-0068]).
Regarding Claim 27, Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 26. Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose capability messages but may not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions to receive the capability message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive, within the capability message, an indication of a threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures supported by the UE.
However, Guo more specifically teaches wherein the instructions to receive the capability message are executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to: receive, within the capability message, an indication of a threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures supported by the UE (Paragraph [0069] UE beamforming related information can include whether the UE tends to use, is using, or is able to use UE beamforming, whether the UE beam sweeping is required by the UE, the maximum number of beams the UE can generate concurrently, the UE beam sweeping number, the total number of UE beams/(sub)sets of beams that are needed to cover (all the) different directions, and the like. n, the above information can be indicated to the network by way of signaling that provides information about the UE's capability. In another example implementation, all or part of the above information can be explicitly or implicitly indicated during a procedure for entering connected state by the UE. For example, the procedure can be a random access procedure or a connection establishment procedure. All or part of the information can be explicitly or implicitly indicated by the preamble (e.g. similar to Msg1 in LTE) of the random access procedure or the first UL transmission which carries UE data and/or control information (e.g. similar to Msg3 in LTE) of the random access procedure. The preamble sequence selected by the UE or the resource used by the UE to transmit a preamble can be used to indicate the UE beamforming related information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Guo. Guo provides a solution which avoids needless expending of resources and power, since the UE device and the network are synchronized and efficient about the monitoring and generating of reference signals (Guo Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003 and 0065-0068]).
Claims 14 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Deogun et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0404638, hereinafter Deogun.
Regarding Claim 14, Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo disclose the UE of Claim 13. Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication comprises a first threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a first type of channel access procedure, a second threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a second type of channel access procedure, a third threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a third type of channel access procedure, or any combination thereof.
However, Deogun more specifically teaches wherein the indication comprises a first threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a first type of channel access procedure, a second threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a second type of channel access procedure, a third threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a third type of channel access procedure, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0055-0060] the UE 100 providing an assistance information to the network, indicating the capability of the UE 100 to support multiple beam management procedures. The multiple beam management procedure comprises at least one of a beam change, a beam reporting and a beam recovery concurrently on different cells. The capability of the UE 100 is based on at least one of number of Radio Frequency (RF) chains supported by the UE 100 and frequency bands supported by the UE 100, over which the UE 100 may perform independent beam management procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Guo with the teachings of Deogun. The method enables performing beam management procedures including beam measurement, beam reporting, beam recovery and beam failure for primary cells and the secondary cells, thus improving reliability and mobility performance of high frequency deployment (Deogun Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0014]).
Regarding Claim 28, Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo disclose the network entity of Claim 27. Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo may not explicitly disclose wherein the indication comprises a first threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a first type of channel access procedure, a second threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a second type of channel access procedure, a third threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a third type of channel access procedure, or any combination thereof.
However, Deogun more specifically teaches wherein the indication comprises a first threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a first type of channel access procedure, a second threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a second type of channel access procedure, a third threshold quantity of simultaneous per-beam channel access procedures associated with a third type of channel access procedure, or any combination thereof (Paragraph [0055-0060] the UE 100 providing an assistance information to the network, indicating the capability of the UE 100 to support multiple beam management procedures. The multiple beam management procedure comprises at least one of a beam change, a beam reporting and a beam recovery concurrently on different cells. The capability of the UE 100 is based on at least one of number of Radio Frequency (RF) chains supported by the UE 100 and frequency bands supported by the UE 100, over which the UE 100 may perform independent beam management procedure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss, Myung and Guo with the teachings of Deogun. The method enables performing beam management procedures including beam measurement, beam reporting, beam recovery and beam failure for primary cells and the secondary cells, thus improving reliability and mobility performance of high frequency deployment (Deogun Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0014]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Bhamri.
Regarding Claim 30, Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose the network entity of Claim 29. Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung disclose using a subset of beams based on successful pre-beam channel access procedure but may not explicitly disclose wherein a subset of beams of the plurality of beams are used for communicating during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration enabling use of the channel occupancy time by the UE when only the subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure.
However, Bhamri more specifically teaches wherein a subset of beams of the plurality of beams are used for communicating during a channel occupancy time based at least in part on the channel occupancy configuration enabling use of the channel occupancy time by the UE when only the subset of beams have a successful per-beam channel access procedure (Paragraph [0058] if a device is indicated or intending to transmit multiple data transmissions in an unlicensed band, where transmission 1 is scheduled on beam 1, transmission 2 on beam 2, transmission 3 on beam 2, and transmission 4 on beam 2, then a UE may perform CCA on both beam 1 and beam 2 at the beginning of initiating COT. Once the CCA is successful for even one of the beams, COT is initiated. However, transmission is allowed only on beams where the CCA is successful. In another example of this implementation, COT is initiated only if CCA is successful for both beams on which transmission is scheduled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Shibaike in view of El Hamss and Myung with the teachings of Bhamri. Bhamri provides a solution which effectively performs the channel occupancy time sensing in the wireless communication network (Bhamri Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409