CTNF 18/312,352 CTNF 93888 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-9, 12-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and (a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2022/0217630) . Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus comprising logic and circuitry configured to cause a first station (STA) to ([0057] The STA 111 includes antenna(s) 205, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 210, TX processing circuitry 215, a microphone 220, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 225. The STA 111 also includes a speaker 230, a controller/processor 240, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 245, a touchscreen 250, a display 255, and a memory 260): set up a Target Wake Time (TWT) agreement with a second STA, the TWT agreement to define a plurality of TWT Service Periods (SPs) for the first STA according to a first setting of one or more TWT SP parameters ([0004] Individual TWT agreements can be established between two STAs or between a STA and an AP; [0005] The negotiated parameters such as the wake interval, wake duration, and initial wake time (offset) highly affect latency, throughput as well as power efficiency; [0024] FIG. 6 illustrates an example TWT information frame according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [0041] Embodiments of the present disclosure recognize that TWT operation between STAs in a WLAN can help save device power by setting a specific device wakeup Interval (I) and wakeup Service Period (SP); [0067] In wake time negotiation, the negotiated TWT parameters include the wake interval (e.g., the TWT interval 308 for each TWT session 306), wake duration (e.g. the TWT SP duration 310 for each TWT session 306), and initial wake time or offset; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3); and select to transmit a frame to the second STA after setting up the TWT agreement, the frame comprising one or more TWT parameter fields configured to update a definition of one or more TWT SPs of the plurality of TWT SPs according to a second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters, wherein the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters is different from the first setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3; [0172] If the TWT connection is not torn down, the updated values of the TWT SP and the TWT interval are used to negotiate an adjusted TWT SP and the TWT interval; [0194] FIGS. 21A-21C illustrate an example process for jointly updating a TWT service period and a TWT interval according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. For convenience, the process of FIGS. 21A-21C is discussed as being performed by a communication device that is a WI-FI STA, but it is understood that a communication device that is a WI-FI AP can perform the process; [0207] In step 2130, the new TWT service period (SP) and a new TWT interval (I) for the TWT operation may be determined; [0210] After step 2130, the device may use the new TWT service period and new TWT interval in various ways. Referring now to FIG. 21B, for example, while TWT operation is turned on for the device, the device may determine whether TWT operation should be continued; [0211] the device uses the new TWT service period and the new TWT interval to negotiate an adjusted TWT service period and TWT interval for the TWT operation). Regarding Claim 2, Chen teaches cause the first STA to select to transmit the frame after one or more first TWT SPs of the plurality of TWT SPs, the one or more first TWT SPs defined according to the first setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters, wherein the one or more TWT parameter fields in the frame are configured to update a definition of one or more second TWT SPs of the plurality of TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0024] FIG. 6 illustrates an example TWT information frame according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3; [0172] If the TWT connection is not torn down, the updated values of the TWT SP and the TWT interval are used to negotiate an adjusted TWT SP and the TWT interval; [0194] FIGS. 21A-21C illustrate an example process for jointly updating a TWT service period and a TWT interval according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. For convenience, the process of FIGS. 21A-21C is discussed as being performed by a communication device that is a WI-FI STA, but it is understood that a communication device that is a WI-FI AP can perform the process; [0207] In step 2130, the new TWT service period (SP) and a new TWT interval (I) for the TWT operation may be determined; [0210] After step 2130, the device may use the new TWT service period and new TWT interval in various ways. Referring now to FIG. 21B, for example, while TWT operation is turned on for the device, the device may determine whether TWT operation should be continued; [0211] the device uses the new TWT service period and the new TWT interval to negotiate an adjusted TWT service period and TWT interval for the TWT operation). Regarding Claim 3, Chen teaches the one or more TWT SP parameters comprise one or more TWT SP timing parameters ([0068] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field 400 used for TWT parameter negotiation ... the interval between the successive wake times is jointly specified by the TWT wake interval mantissa 402 and TWT wake interval exponent 404 subfields in the TWT parameter set field; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3). Regarding Claim 4, Chen teaches the one or more TWT parameter fields comprise a target-wake-time field to indicate a start time of a next TWT SP after transmission of the frame ([0068] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field 400 used for TWT parameter negotiation ... the interval between the successive wake times is jointly specified by the TWT wake interval mantissa 402 and TWT wake interval exponent 404 subfields in the TWT parameter set field; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3). Regarding Claim 5, Chen teaches the one or more TWT parameter fields comprise at least one field configured to indicate a time interval between two consecutive TWT SPs (0067] In wake time negotiation, the negotiated TWT parameters include the wake interval (e.g., the TWT interval 308 for each TWT session 306), wake duration (e.g. the TWT SP duration 310 for each TWT session 306), and initial wake time or offset; [0068] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field 400 used for TWT parameter negotiation ... the interval between the successive wake times is jointly specified by the TWT wake interval mantissa 402 and TWT wake interval exponent 404 subfields in the TWT parameter set field). Regarding Claim 6, Chen teaches the one or more TWT parameter fields comprise a TWT wake interval mantissa field and a wake interval exponent field, which are configured to indicate a time interval between two consecutive TWT SPs ([0068] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field 400 used for TWT parameter negotiation ... the interval between the successive wake times is jointly specified by the TWT wake interval mantissa 402 and TWT wake interval exponent 404 subfields in the TWT parameter set field). Regarding Claim 7, Chen teaches the one or more TWT parameter fields comprise a duration field configured to indicate a TWT SP duration ([0067] In wake time negotiation, the negotiated TWT parameters include the wake interval (e.g., the TWT interval 308 for each TWT session 306), wake duration (e.g. the TWT SP duration 310 for each TWT session 306), and initial wake time or offset; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3). Regarding Claim 8, Chen teaches cause the first STA to: transmit a first frame to the second STA to set up the TWT agreement, the first frame comprising a first setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields to define the plurality of TWT SPs according to the first setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0004] Individual TWT agreements can be established between two STAs; [0005] The negotiated parameters such as the wake interval, wake duration, and initial wake time (offset) highly affect latency, throughput as well as power efficiency; [0024] FIG. 6 illustrates an example TWT information frame according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [0041] Embodiments of the present disclosure recognize that TWT operation between STAs in a WLAN can help save device power by setting a specific device wakeup Interval (I) and wakeup Service Period (SP); [0067] In wake time negotiation, the negotiated TWT parameters include the wake interval (e.g., the TWT interval 308 for each TWT session 306), wake duration (e.g. the TWT SP duration 310 for each TWT session 306), and initial wake time or offset; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3); and transmit a second frame to the second STA, the second frame comprising a second setting of the one or more TWT parameter fields to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3; [0172] If the TWT connection is not torn down, the updated values of the TWT SP and the TWT interval are used to negotiate an adjusted TWT SP and the TWT interval; [0194] FIGS. 21A-21C illustrate an example process for jointly updating a TWT service period and a TWT interval according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. For convenience, the process of FIGS. 21A-21C is discussed as being performed by a communication device that is a WI-FI STA, but it is understood that a communication device that is a WI-FI AP can perform the process; [0207] In step 2130, the new TWT service period (SP) and a new TWT interval (I) for the TWT operation may be determined; [0210] After step 2130, the device may use the new TWT service period and new TWT interval in various ways. Referring now to FIG. 21B, for example, while TWT operation is turned on for the device, the device may determine whether TWT operation should be continued; [0211] the device uses the new TWT service period and the new TWT interval to negotiate an adjusted TWT service period and TWT interval for the TWT operation). Regarding Claim 9, Chen teaches the frame comprises a TWT information frame ([0068] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field 400 used for TWT parameter negotiation ... the interval between the successive wake times is jointly specified by the TWT wake interval mantissa 402 and TWT wake interval exponent 404 subfields in the TWT parameter set field). Regarding Claim 12, Chen teaches the frame comprises a TWT flow Identifier (ID) field comprising a TWT flow ID of the TWT agreement ([0022] FIG. 4 illustrates an example TWT parameter set field used for TWT parameter negotiation according to embodiments of the present disclosure; FIG. 4, “Request Type”, B7-B9, “TWT Flow Identifier”). Regarding Claim 13, Chen teaches the TWT agreement comprises a Peer-to- Peer (P2P) TWT agreement, wherein the plurality of TWT SPs comprising a plurality of P2P TWT SPs based on communications between the first STA and a third STA ([0004] Individual TWT agreements can be established between two STAs or between a STA and an AP (i.e., “between two STAs” are the claimed first STA and third STA, and “between a STA and an AP” are the claimed first STA and second STA)); [0005] The negotiated parameters such as the wake interval, wake duration, and initial wake time (offset) highly affect latency, throughput as well as power efficiency; [0024] FIG. 6 illustrates an example TWT information frame according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [0041] Embodiments of the present disclosure recognize that TWT operation between STAs in a WLAN can help save device power by setting a specific device wakeup Interval (I) and wakeup Service Period (SP); [0067] In wake time negotiation, the negotiated TWT parameters include the wake interval (e.g., the TWT interval 308 for each TWT session 306), wake duration (e.g. the TWT SP duration 310 for each TWT session 306), and initial wake time or offset). Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches cause the first STA to determine the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters based on a schedule of the communications between the first STA and the third STA ([0004] Individual TWT agreements can be established between two STAs or between a STA and an AP; [0069] The target wake time 406 and nominal minimum TWT wake duration 408 subfields specify, respectively, the first wake time for the TWT agreement, and the time for which the STA must wait before going to doze state when there is no transmitted traffic after a wake time, which is the TWT SP duration 310 in FIG. 3; [0172] If the TWT connection is not torn down, the updated values of the TWT SP and the TWT interval are used to negotiate an adjusted TWT SP and the TWT interval; [0194] FIGS. 21A-21C illustrate an example process for jointly updating a TWT service period and a TWT interval according to various embodiments of the present disclosure. For convenience, the process of FIGS. 21A-21C is discussed as being performed by a communication device that is a WI-FI STA, but it is understood that a communication device that is a WI-FI AP can perform the process; [0207] In step 2130, the new TWT service period (SP) and a new TWT interval (I) for the TWT operation may be determined; [0210] After step 2130, the device may use the new TWT service period and new TWT interval in various ways. Referring now to FIG. 21B, for example, while TWT operation is turned on for the device, the device may determine whether TWT operation should be continued; [0211] the device uses the new TWT service period and the new TWT interval to negotiate an adjusted TWT service period and TWT interval for the TWT operation). Regarding Claim 17, Chen teaches at least one radio to transmit the frame ([0059] The RF transceiver 210 receives the outgoing processed baseband or IF signal from the TX processing circuitry 215 and up-converts the baseband or IF signal to an RF signal that is transmitted via the antenna(s) 205). Regarding Claim 18, Chen teaches one or more antennas connected to the radio, and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system ([0057] The STA 111 includes antenna(s) 205, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 210, TX processing circuitry 215, a microphone 220, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 225. The STA 111 also includes a speaker 230, a controller/processor 240, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 245, a touchscreen 250, a display 255, and a memory 260. The memory 260 includes an operating system (OS) 261 and one or more applications 262). Regarding Claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1. Regarding Claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 8 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Baek et al. (US 2024/0244656) . Regarding Claim 10, Chen does not teach the TWT information frame comprises a new-TWT-parameters field comprising the one or more TWT parameter fields configured to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters. In an analogous art, Baek teaches the TWT information frame comprises a new-TWT-parameters field comprising the one or more TWT parameter fields configured to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0324] A new subfield called TWT extension may be defined in an action frame of a TWT information frame. Information on at least one of whether an end point of a r-TWT SP is modified/extended, a duration of a modified/extended r-TWT SP, a time difference between an original end time and a modified/extended end time or a modified/extended end time may be transmitted or received by using a TWT extension subfield; [0332] B15 of a request type field of a TWT parameter set field of a TWT element (defined as a currently reserved field/bit) may be newly defined as a new subfield (e.g., a SP extension subfield)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Baek’s method with Chen’s method so that updated parameter values can be correctly received and decoded by STA devices and power saving can be achieved with the TWT mechanism. Regarding Claim 11, Chen does not teach the TWT information frame comprises a TWT information field comprising a next TWT subfield, wherein the next TWT subfield comprises the one or more TWT parameter fields configured to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters. In an analogous art, Baek teaches the TWT information frame comprises a TWT information field comprising a next TWT subfield, wherein the next TWT subfield comprises the one or more TWT parameter fields configured to update the definition of the one or more TWT SPs according to the second setting of the one or more TWT SP parameters ([0323] when a value of all TWT fields is 1, a modified/extended end time of a r-TWT SP (e.g., a TSF timer value) may be indicated based on at least one of a reserved value of a TWT flow identifier (e.g., one of values from 4 to 7) or a value of a next TWT field ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Baek’s method with Chen’s method so that updated parameter values can be correctly received and decoded by STA devices and power saving can be achieved with the TWT mechanism. Regarding Claim 16, Chen does not teach cause the first STA to transmit to the second STA a capability indication to indicate that the first STA supports a TWT parameter update mode. In an analogous art, Baek teaches cause the first STA to transmit to the second STA a capability indication to indicate that the first STA supports a TWT parameter update mode ([0288] A request of a STA may be for modification/extension itself of a r-TWT SP end time or may be a request for scheduling information for at least one TWT SP other than a r-TWT SP, and in this case, a STA may request an AP to modify/extend a r-TWT SP end time based on scheduling information; [0309] A STA may request an AP to modify/extend a r-TWT SP (i.e., the request is the claimed capability indication)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Baek’s method with Chen’s method so that TWT SP negotiations can be achieved between individual pairs of STAs, and thus flexibility and efficiency of the network can be improved . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. in view of Cherian et al. (US 2022/0078844) . Regarding Claim 15, Chen does not teach the TWT agreement is configured to define the plurality of TWT SPs as TWT SPs during which the first STA is to be unavailable for communication with the second STA. In an analogous art, Cherian teaches the TWT agreement is configured to define the plurality of TWT SPs as TWT SPs during which the first STA is to be unavailable for communication with the second STA ([0213] establish a restricted target wake time (TWT) session on a wireless channel, the restricted TWT session including at least one restricted TWT service period (SP) for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications ... and [0216] transmit, on the wireless channel, a protection frame identifying one or more STAs of the group of STAs belonging to the restricted TWT session that are permitted to transmit or receive P2P communications on the wireless channel during the TXOP, the protection frame indicating to receiving devices other than the one or more identified STAs that the wireless channel is unavailable for at least a portion of the TXOP). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Cherian’s method with Chen’s method so that AP may ensure that STAs are afforded sufficient access to the wireless channel to meet the strict end-to-end latency, throughput, and packet loss requirements associated with P2P communications (Cherian [0041]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi et al. (US 2024/0214858) teaches method of determining a TWT parameter differently according to a heat state of the electronic device based on a temperature of the electronic device, and use the TWT parameter to perform a TWT negotiation. Sehgal et al. (US 2022/0201533) teaches method of adaptive adjustment for TWT duration configuration. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YU-WEN CHANG whose telephone number is (408)918-7645. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00am-5:00pm PT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Un Cho can be reached at 571-272-7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 2 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 3 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 4 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 5 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 6 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 7 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 8 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 9 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 10 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 11 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 12 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 13 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 14 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 15 Art Unit: 2413 Application/Control Number: 18/312,352 Page 16 Art Unit: 2413