19DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 10/30/2025, with respect to specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed 10/30/2025, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 10/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Song et al.
In particular, the reference of Xu is replaced by the IDS cited reference of Song et al. The Song et al reference discloses on page 3 the full diffusion tensor distribution that indicates a proportion of water molecules with a specific diffusion tensor. This is further disclosed with the paper’s iteration in the section 2.3 Analysis Method to Obtain DTD on pages 3-5. The indication of the proportion of water molecules per voxel is explained in the equations (6)-(9) on pages 3 and 4. Based on this reference containing more than the inventive entity, it is not clear as to who the invention concepts is attributable to. Therefore, based on the above combination, the features of the claims are disclosed by the combined prior art.
Thus, based on the above, the features of the claims are disclosed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. It is disclosed in the specification that the eigenvalues are logarithmically discretized in ¶ [41]-[43]. However, it does not explain how the tensors are logarithmically discretized in the specification. Based on this not being described in the specification, claim 4 is considered as not complying with the written description requirement. In addition, in claim 19, it is not explained how the candidate diffusion tensors are uniformly discretized, similar to claim 4. This claim is also considered as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koay (US Pub 2009/0118608) in view of Song et al (IDS Reference containing more inventors than the filed application).
Re claim 1: Koay discloses a method for imaging diffusion using magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), the method comprising:
(a) accessing, with a computer system, diffusion-weighted imaging data acquired from a region-of-interest in a subject using an MRI system (e.g. a portion of interest of a subject is captured and a diffusion weighted image is acquired represented from the acquired MRI image, which is taught in ¶ [30]-[32].);
[0030] Magnetic resonance is generated and spatially encoded in at least a portion of a region of interest of the imaging subject 106. By applying selected magnetic field gradients via the gradient coils 116, a selected k-space trajectory is traversed, such as a Cartesian trajectory, a plurality of radial trajectories, or a spiral trajectory. Alternatively, imaging data may be acquired as projections along selected magnetic field gradient directions. During imaging data acquisition, a radio frequency receiver or receivers 146 coupled to the head coil 124 may acquire magnetic resonance samples that are stored in a magnetic resonance data memory 150. Of course, it is contemplated that the magnetic resonance signals may be excited and received by a single coil array such as the whole body coil 122 or the local coil 124.
[0031] The MRI sequence may include a complex series of magnetic field gradient pulses and/or sweeps generated by the gradient coils 116 which along with selected RF pulses generated by the coils 122, 124 result on magnetic resonance echoes. For diffusion tensor magnetic resonance imaging (DT-MRI), data is acquired without diffusion weighting, and with diffusion weighting in N directions. Six diffusion directions may provide sufficient information to construct the diffusion tensor at each voxel. A reconstruction engine 152 may reconstruct the imaging data into an image representation, e.g., diffusion-weighted image representations. The reconstructed image generated by the reconstruction engine 152 may be stored in an image memory 154.
[0032] A diffusion tensor engine 160 may calculate a plurality of diffusion coefficients values on a per voxel basis, as known in the art, to construct a diffusion tensor map 162. For each voxel, a tensor, e.g., a symmetric positive definite 3.times.3 matrix, that describes a three dimensional shape of diffusion may be calculated. The diffusion tensor at each voxel may be processed to obtain eigenvectors and eigenvalues.
(b) generating a comprehensive diffusion tensor distribution (CDTD) from the diffusion-weighted imaging data using the computer system, wherein the CDTD indicates a proportion of water molecules in each voxel in the region-of-interest whose diffusion corresponds to each of a plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. a diffusion tensor engine calculates diffusion coefficient values on a per voxel basis and generates a plurality of tensors associated with the 3D shape of the diffusion, which is taught in ¶ [32] and [33]. The three-dimensional shape of the diffusion for each voxel can be calculated. The diffusion tensor map expresses a proportion of water that is being diffused within a voxel. The map shows a portion or portions of diffusion within an overall area, which is taught in ¶ [34], [35] and [150]. Since the voxel shows a part of an MRI image that conveys diffusion, or movement of water, within an area, this invention performs the above limitation.); and
[0032] A diffusion tensor engine 160 may calculate a plurality of diffusion coefficients values on a per voxel basis, as known in the art, to construct a diffusion tensor map 162. For each voxel, a tensor, e.g., a symmetric positive definite 3.times.3 matrix, that describes a three dimensional shape of diffusion may be calculated. The diffusion tensor at each voxel may be processed to obtain eigenvectors and eigenvalues.
[0033] As described in a greater detail below, a covariance matrix determining engine 164 may construct a covariance matrix of, for example, the major eigenvector at each voxel. It is contemplated that covariance matrices of the medium and minor eigenvectors may be constructed as well. A cone of uncertainty (COU) determining engine 170 may construct or determine a cone of uncertainty (COU) based on the covariance matrix. A first normalized measure engine 172 may determine a first normalized measure of the elliptical COU. A second normalized measure engine 174 may determine a second normalized measure or a normalized circumference of the elliptical COU.
(c) outputting the CDTD with the computer system (e.g. the system discloses outputting the rendered map data using the tensors output associated with voxels, which is taught in ¶ [34]-[36].).
[0034] A rendering engine 176 may format the constructed cones of uncertainty, normalized areal maps, normalized circumference maps, or any other appropriate image representations to be displayed on a user interface 180, stored in non-volatile memory, transmitted over a local intranet or the Internet, viewed, stored, manipulated, or so forth.
[0035] Major eigenvector maps represent the fiber orientation and may be visualized as vector-field or color coded maps giving a cartography of the tracts' position and direction. The brightness may be weighted by a fractional anisotropy which is a scalar measure of a degree of anisotropy for a given voxel. To visualize the fiber direction map in the context of a conventional structural image, the fiber map may be registered to and superimposed on a structural image, for example, on a high resolution MR image, as known in the art. The fiber orientation information provided by the diffusion imaging maps may be used to differentiate among nerve fiber pathways to determine abnormalities. Further, the fiber orientation information provided by the diffusion imaging maps may be used to delineate anatomical structures based on a priori distinct fiber architecture of each anatomical structure.
[0036] The user interface 180 may also enable a radiologist, technician, or other operator of the magnetic resonance imaging scanner 100 to communicate with the magnetic resonance imaging controller 140 to select, modify, and execute magnetic resonance imaging sequences.
However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of wherein the CDTD indicates a proportion of water molecules in each voxel in the region-of-interest whose diffusion corresponds to each of a plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses identifying water molecules within an MRI (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein the CDTD indicates a proportion of water molecules in each voxel in the region-of-interest whose diffusion corresponds to each of a plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. page 3 discloses the full diffusion tensor distribution function as proportional to the amount of water molecules with a specific diffusion tensor D. With there being multiple tensors and voxels represented for each tensor, the indication of water molecules for each voxel can be disclosed for tissues associated with a region of interest.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein the CDTD indicates a proportion of water molecules in each voxel in the region-of-interest whose diffusion corresponds to each of a plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to obtain a full diffusion tensor distribution with a plurality of tensor structures, which provides a method to accurately capture tissue microstructures (as stated in Song et al abstract).
Re claim 2: Koay discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the CDTD comprises defining a maximum diffusion tensor value, defining a minimum diffusion tensor value, and constraining the plurality of diffusion tensors by the maximum diffusion tensor value and the minimum diffusion tensor value (e.g. the diffusion tensor values contain a largest value and a smallest value. The tensors are between these different values, which is taught in ¶ [37].).
[0037] With continuing reference to FIG. 1A and further reference to FIGS. 1B and 1C, an eigenvector/eigenvalue ordering engine 182 may order the diffusion tensor eigenvectors and eigenvalues for each voxel to obtain ordered eigenvectors and eigenvalues. For example, the eigenvector/eigenvalue ordering engine 182 may order eigenvalues from largest to smallest eigenvalue .lamda.1, .lamda.2, .lamda.3. The eigenvector which corresponds to the largest eigenvalue .lamda.1 is called the major eigenvector, and aligns with the spatial direction having the highest diffusion coefficient. The medium and smallest eigenvalues .lamda.2, .lamda.3 correspond to the medium and minor eigenvectors. The medium and minor eigenvectors are orthogonal to the major eigenvector and align with spatial directions having lower diffusion coefficients. The relative values of the eigenvalues .lamda.1, .lamda.2, .lamda.3 are indicative of the spatial orientation and magnitude of the diffusion tensor anisotropy.
[0038] As shown in FIG. 1C, the eigenvectors and eigenvalues are geometrically representable by an ellipsoid 183 whose long axis aligns with the major eigenvector e1, i.e. with the direction of the highest apparent diffusion coefficient. The deviation of the ellipsoid 183 from a perfect sphere is representative of the anisotropy of the diffusion tensor. An anisotropic diffusion coefficient tensor may reflect the influence of neural fiber bundles 184 which tend to inhibit diffusion in directions partially or totally orthogonal to the fibers 184, e.g. the directions of eigenvectors e2, e3. In contrast, diffusion parallel to the fibers 184, i.e. channeled along the direction of the major eigenvector e1, is enhanced and larger than along the e2, e3 directions.
Re claim 3: Koay discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of diffusion tensors is described by eigenvalues, λ1, λ2, and λ3 and wherein generating the CDTD comprises constraining the plurality of diffusion tensors by λ1
. (e.g. the diffusion tensor values contain a largest value and a smallest value. The tensors are between these different values, which is taught in ¶ [37] above. The diffusion tensor values are described as eigenvalues.).
Re claim 4: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by logarithmically discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by logarithmically discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors (e.g. the eigenvalues can be logarithmically discretized, which is taught in both paragraphs on page 4. With the range of Dj being large based on the components of the tensor being separated in a log space, the tensor, which is described by the eigenvalues, are also discretized. With multiple tensors comprised of the same discretized components, these range of tensors are also discretized.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by logarithmically discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to discretize diffusion tensor components logarithmically, which provide a uniform logarithmic scale that can aid in better characterizing tissue microstructure (as stated in Song et al page 2).
Re claim 8: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 7, wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises
Dcut mm2/s and 3λ1 > λ2, 3λ2 > λ3.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises
Dcut mm2/s and 3λ1 > λ2, 3λ2 > λ3 (e.g. the cutoff threshold being less than or equal to the eigenvalues in the Isotropic water, and the set of diffusion parameters in a similar manner is disclosed on page 5 in Table 1.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises
Dcut mm2/s and 3λ1 > λ2, 3λ2 > λ3, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to determine a cutoff and diffusion tensor parameters, which improve the identification of tissue types and classes of signals (as stated in Song et al page 5). .
Re claim 9: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the featutes of the method of claim 7, wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises , λ1 < Dcut, λ2 < Dcut, and (λ1 + λ2) <
.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises , λ1 < Dcut, λ2 < Dcut, and (λ1 + λ2) <
.(e.g. the Prolate water, needle like along with the determine Cutoff less than certain eigenvalues is taught on page 5.)
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises , λ1 < Dcut, λ2 < Dcut, and (λ1 + λ2) <
, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to determine a cutoff and diffusion tensor parameters, which improve the identification of tissue types and classes of signals (as stated in Song et al page 5). .
Re claim 10: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 7, wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises λ1 < Dcut, λ2 >
, and λ2< 3λ3.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises λ1 < Dcut, λ2 >
, and λ2< 3λ3 (e.g. the oblate water, disc like and the eigenvalues in comparison to the cutoff is disclosed on page 5.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein selecting the set of diffusion parameters comprises defining a cutoff threshold Dcut, and wherein the set of diffusion tensor parameters comprises λ1 < Dcut, λ2 >
, and λ2< 3λ3, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to determine a cutoff and diffusion tensor parameters, which improve the identification of tissue types and classes of signals (as stated in Song et al page 5). .
Re claim 19: (New) However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by uniformly discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by uniformly discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors (e.g. each tensor has a set of eigenvalues and euler angles associated therewith. With these components discretized for each diffusion tensor in a manner of 10 steps in a log space and included in each tensor, as a result the tensor, based on the discretized components, is uniformly discretized in a range of a plurality of tensors associated with the tissue. The discretized components are shown on pages 3 and 4.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein generating the CDTD comprises selecting the plurality of diffusion tensors by uniformly discretizing a range of candidate diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to discretize diffusion tensor components logarithmically, which provide a uniform logarithmic scale that can aid in better characterizing tissue microstructure (as stated in Song et al page 2).
Re claim 20: (New) However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its shape; and wherein the at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its symmetry.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its shape; and wherein the at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its symmetry (e.g. in the right column in the last paragraph of page 2, it discloses not restricting eigenvalues by symmetries or values. In addition, with the eigenvalues being a specific range on page 4, this does not limit the diffusion tensor. These eigenvalues, depending on their value, is associated with the shape of the associated tensor.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its shape; and wherein the at least one of the plurality of diffusion tensors is not constrained according to its symmetry, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to not constrain the diffusion tensors based on shape or symmetry, which can aid in accurately characterizing evaluated tissue (as stated in Song et al page 2).
Claim(s) 5-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koay, as modified by Song et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xie (US Pub 2022/0230310).
Re claim 5: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a water pool image from the CDTD and outputting the water pool image with the computer system, wherein the water pool image depicts water diffusion associated with a subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a water pool image from the CDTD and outputting the water pool image with the computer system, wherein the water pool image depicts water diffusion associated with a subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. the invention discloses displaying a representation of water diffusion using the diffusion tensor imaging concept. This technique involves using tensors to infer, in each voxel, different diffusion rates, which is taught in ¶ [61]-[64].).
[0061] After the initial focus on tissue (proton) density function and tissue relaxation properties researchers explored other methods to generate contrast exploiting other properties of water molecules. Diffusion imaging (DI) was a result of those research efforts. In DI, supplemental MR gradients are applied during the image acquisition. The motion of protons during the application of these gradients affects the signal in the image, thereby, providing information on molecular diffusion. DI may be performed using several techniques including diffusion-spectrum imaging (DSI) and diffusion-weighted imaging (DWI).
[0062] DWI is a non-invasive imaging method, with sensitivity to water diffusion within the architecture of the tissues that uses existing MRI technology in combination with specialized software and requires no additional hardware equipment, contrast agents, or chemical tracers. To measure diffusion using MRI, the supplemental MR gradients are employed to create an image that is sensitized to diffusion in a particular direction. In DWI, the intensity of each image element (voxel) reflects the best estimate of the rate of water diffusion in the particular direction. However, biological tissues are highly anisotropic, meaning that their diffusion rates are not the same in every direction. For routine DWI, the anisotropic nature of tissue is often ignored and the diffusion is reduced to a single average value, the apparent diffusion coefficient (ADC), but this is overly simplistic for many use cases. An alternative method is to model diffusion in complex materials using a diffusion tensor, a [3×3] array of numbers corresponding to diffusion rates in each combination of directions. The three diagonal elements (Dxx, Dyy, Dzz) represent diffusion coefficients measured along each of the principal (x-, y- and z-) laboratory axes. The six off-diagonal terms (Dxy, Dyz, etc) reflect the correlation of random motions between each pair of principal directions.
[0063] The introduction of the diffusion tensor model enables the indirect measurement of the degree of anisotropy and structural orientation that characterizes diffusion tensor imaging (DTI). The basic concept behind DTI is that water molecules diffuse differently along the tissues depending on its type, integrity, architecture, and presence of barriers, giving information about its orientation and quantitative anisotropy. With DTI analysis it is possible to infer, in each voxel, properties such as the molecular diffusion rate (Mean Diffusivity (MD) or Apparent Diffusion Coefficient (ADC)), the directional preference of diffusion (Fractional Anisotropy (FA)), the axial diffusivity (AD) (diffusion rate along the main axis of diffusion), and radial diffusivity (RD) (rate of diffusion in the transverse direction). DTI is usually displayed by either condensing the information contained in the tensor into one number (a scalar), or into 4 numbers (to give an R,G,B color and a brightness value, which is known as color fractional anisotropy). The diffusion tensor can also be viewed using glyphs, which are small three dimensional (3D) representations of the major eigenvector or whole tensor.
[0064] Similar to MRI and DTI, other modalities of medical imaging such as CT, X-ray, positron emission tomography (PET), photoacoustic tomography (PAT), sonography, combinations thereof such as PET-CT, PET-MR, and the like rely on various measurements, algorithms, and agents to generate image contrast and spatial resolution. For example, CT and X-ray use x-ray absorption to differentiate between air, soft tissue, and dense structures such as bone. Dense structures within the body stop x-rays and, thus, are easily imaged and visualized, whereas soft tissues vary in their ability to stop x-rays and, thus, may be faint or difficult to image and be visualized. One technique to increase image contrast in X-rays or CT scans is to utilize contrast agents that contain substances better at stopping x-rays making them more visible on an X-ray or CT image and, thus can be used to better visualize soft tissues such as blood vessels. PET uses small amounts of radioactive materials called radiotracers that can be detected and measured in a scan. The measurement differences between areas accumulating or labeled with the radiotracers versus non-accumulating or non-labeled areas is used to generate contrast to visualize structures and functions within the subject. PAT is a imaging modality based on the photoacoustic (PA) effect. A short-pulsed light source is typically used to irradiate the tissue, resulting in broadband PA waves. Following absorption of the light, an initial temperature rise induces a pressure rise, which propagates as a photoacoustic wave and is detected by an ultrasonic transducer to image optical absorption contrast. Ultrasound is a non-invasive diagnostic technique used to image inside the body. A transducer sends out a beam of sound waves into the body. The sound waves are reflected back to the transducer by boundaries between tissues in the path of the beam (e.g. the boundary between fluid and soft tissue or tissue and bone). When these echoes hit the transducer, the echoes generate electrical signals that are sent to the ultrasound scanner. Using the speed of sound and the time of each echo's return, the scanner calculates the distance from the transducer to the tissue boundary. These distances are then used to generate contrast to visualize tissues and organs.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a water pool image from the CDTD and outputting the water pool image with the computer system, wherein the water pool image depicts water diffusion associated with a subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 6: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 5, wherein the water pool image is generated by masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein the water pool image is generated by masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. the invention discloses masking applied to tensors in order to specify a part of the tensors that have the mask, which is taught in ¶ [18], [19], [58], [81], [82] and [99]. The mask is used to select portions of the voxels.).
[0018] In some embodiments, the segmentation mask is determined and the determining the segmentation mask comprises: identifying a seed location of the object of interest using the sets of pixels or voxels assigned with the object class; growing the seed location by projecting the seed location towards a z-axis representing depth of the segmentation mask; and determining the segmentation mask based on the projected seed location.
[0019] In some embodiments, determining the segmentation mask further comprises performing morphological closing and filling on the segmentation mask.
[0058] As used herein, a “segmentation boundary” refers to an estimated perimeter of an object within an image. A segmentation boundary may be generated during a segmentation process where features of the image are analyzed to determine locations of the edges of the object. The segmentation boundary may further be represented by a mask such as a binary mask.
[0081] The segmenting of MRI images is split into two parts. A first part of the segmenting pertains to a first vision model constructed to perform localization (object detection) of classes within a first image (e.g., a diffusion tensor parametric map or a CT image). These classes are “semantically interpretable” and correspond to real-world categories such as the liver, the kidney, the heart, and the like. The localization is executed using EM, you only look once (YOLO) or (YOLOv2) or (YOLOv3), or similar object detection algorithms, which is initialized with a standard clustering technique (e.g., k-means clustering technique, Otsu's method, Density-Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (DBSCAN) technique, mini-batch K-means technique, or the like) heuristically. The initialization is used to provide the initial estimate of the parameters of the likelihood model for each class. Expectation maximization is an iterative process to find (local) maximum likelihood or maximum a posteriori (MAP) estimates of parameters in one or more statistical models. The EM iteration alternates between performing an expectation (E) step, which creates a function for the expectation of the log-likelihood evaluated using the current estimate for the parameters, and a maximization (M) step, which computes parameters maximizing the expected log-likelihood found on the E step. These parameter-estimates are then used to determine the distribution of the latent variables in the next E step. The result of the localization is boundary boxes or segmentation masks around each object with a probability for each class. The general location of an object of interest (e.g., the kidney) is isolated using one or more of the classes associated with the object of interest.
[0082] To alleviate the background effect of medical images, the boundary box or segmentation mask for the object of interest is projected in a slice direction (axial, coronal, and sagittal) onto a second image (e.g., a diffusion tensor parametric map or a CT image). In instances of localization being used to determine a segmentation mask, the boundaries of the projected segmentation mask are used to define a bounding box in the second image around the general location of the object of interest (e.g., the kidney) (a rectangular box drawn completely around a pixel wise mask associated with the object of interest). In some instances, the bounding box (determined via localization or defined based on boundaries of the projected segmentation mask) is enlarged by a predetermined number of pixels on all sides to ensure coverage of the object of interest. The area within the bounding box is then cropped from the second image to obtain apportion of the second image having the object of interest, and the portion of the second images is used as input into a second vision model to segment the object of interest. The second part of the of the segmenting pertains to a second vision model (a deep learning neural network) constructed with a weighted loss function (e.g., a Dice loss) to overcome the unbalanced nature between the object of interest and the background, and thus focus training on evaluating segmenting the object of interest. Moreover, the second vision model may be trained using an augmented data set such that the deep learning neural network is capable of being trained on a limited set of medical images. The trained second vision model takes as input the cropped portion of the second image and outputs the portion of the second image with an estimated segmentation boundary around the object of interest. The estimated segmentation boundary may be used to calculate a volume, surface area, axial dimensions, largest axial dimension, or other size-related metrics of the object of interest. Any one or more of these metrics may, in turn, be used alone or in conjunction with other factors to determine a diagnosis and/or a prognosis of a subject.
[0099] The localization controller 170 includes processes for localizing, using the one or more object detection models 160, an object of interest within the image 135. The localizing includes: (i) locating and classifying, using object detection models 160, objects within the first image having the first characteristic into a plurality of object classes, where the classifying assigns sets of pixels or voxels of the first image into one or more of the plurality of object classes; and (ii) determining, using the object detection models 160, a bounding box or segmentation mask for the object of interest within the first image based on sets of pixels or voxels assigned with an object class of the plurality of object classes. The object detection models 160 utilize one or more object detection algorithms in order to extract statistical features used to locate and label objects within the first image and predict a bounding box or segmentations mask for the object of interest.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein the water pool image is generated by masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 7: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 6, wherein generating the water pool image comprises:
selecting a set of diffusion tensor parameters defining the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors;
masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors having parameters that satisfy the set of diffusion tensor parameters; and
weighting voxels in the water pool map based on a number of diffusion tensors in the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors for each voxel.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Song et al. Similar to the primary reference, Song et al discloses Full Diffusion tensor distribution (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Song et al discloses wherein generating the water pool image comprises:
selecting a set of diffusion tensor parameters defining the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. the invention discloses selecting eigenvalues for the diffusion tensors that are used to indicate the diffusion of water, which is taught on pages 2-4.); and
weighting voxels in the water pool map based on a number of diffusion tensors in the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors for each voxel (e.g. a weight is applied to voxels that represent a water pool that indicates diffusion that is associated with a diffusion tensor. The weighting is applied based on the diffusion tensor in the f(D), which is shown on pages 3 and 4.).
Therefore, in view of Song et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein generating the water pool image comprises: selecting a set of diffusion tensor parameters defining the subset of the plurality; and weighting voxels in the water pool map based on a number of diffusion tensors in the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors for each voxel, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to a full diffusion tensor distribution with a plurality of tensor structures, which provides a method to accurately capture tissue microstructures (as stated in Song et al abstract).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the feature of masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors having parameters that satisfy the set of diffusion tensor parameters.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors having parameters that satisfy the set of diffusion tensor parameters (e.g. the invention discloses masking applied to tensors in order to specify a part of the tensors that have the mask, which is taught in ¶ [18], [19], [58], [81], [82] and [99] above. The mask is used to select portions of the voxels that represent an amount of diffusion. The degree of diffuse within different aspects of the body are masked in the segmentation. The different areas segmented is explained in ¶ [69]-[72].).
[0069] (A) MRI
[0070] Kidney Segmentation: (i) FA measurement map for object detection (contrast generated by fractional anisotropy); and (ii) MD measurement map (contrast generated by mean diffusivity) or T2-weighted anatomical image (contrast generated from signal relaxation times after excitation) for object segmentation.
[0071] Multiple Sclerosis Brain Lesion Segmentation: (i) single echo T2 image for object detection (contrast generated from single-shot echo-planar imaging of signal relaxation times after excitation); and (ii) echo enhanced or T2-weighted anatomical image (contrast generated from a low flip angle, long echo time, and long repetition time used to accentuate the signal relaxation times after excitation) for object segmentation.
[0072] Liver Segmentation: (i) MD measurement map (contrast generated by mean diffusivity) for object detection, and (ii) high resolution MD measurement map (high resolution and contrast generated by mean diffusivity), T2-weighted anatomical image (contrast generated from signal relaxation times after excitation) or PD (contrast generated from water concentration) for object segmentation.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of masking the CDTD to select the subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors having parameters that satisfy the set of diffusion tensor parameters, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 11: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image with the computer system, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image with the computer system, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. the invention discloses receiving a diffusion tensor parametric map to segment the image. A clustering algorithm is used to classify parts of the image as a category of parts of the body. The classification can be around an area within an image that is based on the set of tensors within a tensor map, which is taught in ¶ [81] and [82]. The information is displayed with an area on an image classified as the region of interest, which is taught in ¶ [125].).
[0081] The segmenting of MRI images is split into two parts. A first part of the segmenting pertains to a first vision model constructed to perform localization (object detection) of classes within a first image (e.g., a diffusion tensor parametric map or a CT image). These classes are “semantically interpretable” and correspond to real-world categories such as the liver, the kidney, the heart, and the like. The localization is executed using EM, you only look once (YOLO) or (YOLOv2) or (YOLOv3), or similar object detection algorithms, which is initialized with a standard clustering technique (e.g., k-means clustering technique, Otsu's method, Density-Based Spatial Clustering of Applications with Noise (DBSCAN) technique, mini-batch K-means technique, or the like) heuristically. The initialization is used to provide the initial estimate of the parameters of the likelihood model for each class. Expectation maximization is an iterative process to find (local) maximum likelihood or maximum a posteriori (MAP) estimates of parameters in one or more statistical models. The EM iteration alternates between performing an expectation (E) step, which creates a function for the expectation of the log-likelihood evaluated using the current estimate for the parameters, and a maximization (M) step, which computes parameters maximizing the expected log-likelihood found on the E step. These parameter-estimates are then used to determine the distribution of the latent variables in the next E step. The result of the localization is boundary boxes or segmentation masks around each object with a probability for each class. The general location of an object of interest (e.g., the kidney) is isolated using one or more of the classes associated with the object of interest.
[0082] To alleviate the background effect of medical images, the boundary box or segmentation mask for the object of interest is projected in a slice direction (axial, coronal, and sagittal) onto a second image (e.g., a diffusion tensor parametric map or a CT image). In instances of localization being used to determine a segmentation mask, the boundaries of the projected segmentation mask are used to define a bounding box in the second image around the general location of the object of interest (e.g., the kidney) (a rectangular box drawn completely around a pixel wise mask associated with the object of interest). In some instances, the bounding box (determined via localization or defined based on boundaries of the projected segmentation mask) is enlarged by a predetermined number of pixels on all sides to ensure coverage of the object of interest. The area within the bounding box is then cropped from the second image to obtain apportion of the second image having the object of interest, and the portion of the second images is used as input into a second vision model to segment the object of interest. The second part of the of the segmenting pertains to a second vision model (a deep learning neural network) constructed with a weighted loss function (e.g., a Dice loss) to overcome the unbalanced nature between the object of interest and the background, and thus focus training on evaluating segmenting the object of interest. Moreover, the second vision model may be trained using an augmented data set such that the deep learning neural network is capable of being trained on a limited set of medical images. The trained second vision model takes as input the cropped portion of the second image and outputs the portion of the second image with an estimated segmentation boundary around the object of interest. The estimated segmentation boundary may be used to calculate a volume, surface area, axial dimensions, largest axial dimension, or other size-related metrics of the object of interest. Any one or more of these metrics may, in turn, be used alone or in conjunction with other factors to determine a diagnosis and/or a prognosis of a subject.
[0125] At block 440 the portion of the second image with the estimated segmentation boundary around the object of interest is outputted. In some instances, the portion of the second image is provided. For example, the portion of the second image may be stored in a storage device and/or displayed on a user device.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein outputting the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image with the computer system, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 12: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 11, wherein generating the classification image comprises inputting the CDTD to a clustering algorithm, generating the classified image as an output, wherein each of the classified regions in the region-of-interest correspond to a different cluster of voxels generated by the clustering algorithm.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein generating the classification image comprises inputting the CDTD to a clustering algorithm, generating the classified image as an output, wherein each of the classified regions in the region-of-interest correspond to a different cluster of voxels generated by the clustering algorithm (e.g. the classifying of the tensors includes using a clustering algorithm that categorizes the part of the tensor or voxels. The region of interest corresponds to a voxel identifying a part of the image into a particular class, which is taught in ¶ [99] and [100].).
[0099] The localization controller 170 includes processes for localizing, using the one or more object detection models 160, an object of interest within the image 135. The localizing includes: (i) locating and classifying, using object detection models 160, objects within the first image having the first characteristic into a plurality of object classes, where the classifying assigns sets of pixels or voxels of the first image into one or more of the plurality of object classes; and (ii) determining, using the object detection models 160, a bounding box or segmentation mask for the object of interest within the first image based on sets of pixels or voxels assigned with an object class of the plurality of object classes. The object detection models 160 utilize one or more object detection algorithms in order to extract statistical features used to locate and label objects within the first image and predict a bounding box or segmentations mask for the object of interest.
[0100] In some instances, the localizing is executed using EM, YOLO, YOLOv2, YOLOv3, or similar object detection algorithms, which is initialized with a standard clustering technique (e.g., K-means or Otsu's method) heuristically. The initialization is used to provide the initial estimate of the parameters of the likelihood model for each class. For example in the instance of using EM with a K-means clustering technique, given a fixed number of k clusters, observations are assigned to the k clusters so that the means across clusters (for all variables) are as different from each other as possible. The EM clustering technique then computes posterior probabilities of cluster memberships and cluster boundaries based on one or more prior probability distributions parametrized with the initial estimate of the parameters for each cluster (class). The goal of the EM clustering technique then is to maximize the overall probability or likelihood of the data, given the (final) clusters. The results of the EM clustering technique are different from those computed by K-means clustering technique. The K-means clustering technique will assign observations (pixels or voxels such as pixel or voxel intensities) to clusters to maximize the distances between clusters. The EM clustering technique does not compute actual assignments of observations to clusters, but classification probabilities. In other words, each observation belongs to each cluster with a certain probability. Thereafter, observations may be assigned, by the localization controller 170, to clusters based on the (largest) classification probability. The result of the localization is bounding boxes or segmentation masks with a probability for each class. The general location of an object of interest (e.g., the kidney) is isolated based on sets of pixels or voxels assigned with an object class associated with the object of interest.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein generating the classification image comprises inputting the CDTD to a clustering algorithm, generating the classified image as an output, wherein each of the classified regions in the region-of-interest correspond to a different cluster of voxels generated by the clustering algorithm, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 13: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 12, wherein the clustering algorithm comprises one of a hierarchical clustering algorithm, a k-means clustering algorithm, a bi-clustering algorithm, or a machine learning model-based clustering algorithm.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein the clustering algorithm comprises one of a hierarchical clustering algorithm, a k-means clustering algorithm, a bi-clustering algorithm, or a machine learning model-based clustering algorithm (e.g. a k-means technique can be used in the clustering technique for classification, which is taught in ¶ [99] and [100] above.).
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein the clustering algorithm comprises one of a hierarchical clustering algorithm, a k-means clustering algorithm, a bi-clustering algorithm, or a machine learning model-based clustering algorithm, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 14: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 13, wherein the clustering algorithm is the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm and the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm comprises a neural network that has been trained on training data to receive CDTD data as an input and generate clusters of similar voxels as an output.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein the clustering algorithm is the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm and the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm comprises a neural network that has been trained on training data to receive CDTD data as an input and generate clusters of similar voxels as an output (e.g. a CNN is used to output voxels that are classified, which is taught in ¶ [111] and [112]. The CNN is trained by input images and discussed in ¶ [87]-[89].).
[0111] The expansive path 310 is a CNN network that combines the feature and spatial information from the contracting path 305 (upsampling of the feature map from the contracting path 305). As described herein, the output of three-dimensional segmentation is not just a class label or bounding box parameters. Instead, the output (the three-dimensional segmentation mask) is a complete image (e.g., a high resolution image) in which all the voxels are classified. If a regular convolutional network with pooling layers and dense layers was used, the CNN network would lose the “where” information and only retain the “what” information which is not acceptable for image segmentation. In the instance of image segmentation, both “what” as well as “where” information are used. Thus, the image is upsampled to convert a low resolution image to a high resolution image to recover the “where” information. Transposed convolution represented by the white arrow pointing up is an exemplary upsampling technic that may be used in the expansive path 310 for upsampling of the feature map and expanding the size of images.
[0112] After the transposed convolution at block 325, the image is upsized, e.g., from 28×28×1024.fwdarw.56×56×512 via up-convolution (upsampling operators) of 2×2×2 by strides of two in each dimension, and then, the image is concatenated with the corresponding image from the contracting path (see the horizontal gray bar 330 from the contracting path 305) and together makes an image of e.g., size 56×56×1024. The reason for the concatenation is to combine the information from the previous layers (i.e., the high-resolution features from the contracting path 305 are combined with the upsampled output from the expansive path 310) in order to get a more precise prediction. This process continues as a sequence of up-convolutions that halves the number of channels, concatenations with a correspondingly cropped feature map from the contracting path 305, repeated application of convolutions (e.g., two 3×3×3 convolutions) that are each followed by a rectified linear unit (ReLU), and a final convolution in block 335 (e.g., one 1×1×1 convolution) to generate a multi-channel segmentation as a three-dimensional segmentation mask. In order to localize, the U-Net 300 uses the valid part of each convolution without any fully connected layers, i.e., the segmentation map only contains the voxels for which the full context is available in the input image, and uses skip connections that link the context features learned during a contracting block and the localization features learned in an expansion block.
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein the clustering algorithm is the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm and the machine learning model-based clustering algorithm comprises a neural network that has been trained on training data to receive CDTD data as an input and generate clusters of similar voxels as an output, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koay, as modified by Song et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ozarslan (US Pub 2023/0124954)
Re claim 15: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 1, wherein outputting the CDTD comprises: analyzing the CDTD, using the computer system, to assess different types of diffusion in tissues in the region-of-interest; and generating, with the computer system, a report based on analyzing the CDTD, wherein the report indicates microstructure of the tissues in the region-of-interest.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ozarslan. Similar to the primary reference, Ozarslan discloses plotting different tensors (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ozarslan discloses wherein outputting the CDTD comprises: analyzing the CDTD, using the computer system, to assess different types of diffusion in tissues in the region-of-interest; and generating, with the computer system, a report based on analyzing the CDTD, wherein the report indicates microstructure of the tissues in the region-of-interest (e.g. the diffusion data associated with different diffusion gradients are plotted and analyzed. The diffusion propagators are displayed on a screen, which is taught in ¶ [94]-[97]. The data measured in order to display the diffusion can be used to indicate the microstructure of tissues of the data, which is taught in ¶ [96], [97] and [107]-[109].).
[0094] A computer-implemented diffusion magnetic resonance (diffusion-MR) system and method examines specimens such as materials, porous media, food products, and biological tissue by detecting diffusion in the specimen. A pulse sequence featuring gradients of different durations applied at different times employed with an arrayed plurality of different diffusion gradient durations, strengths, and directions collectively provide a Fourier transform of the diffusion propagator. MR diffusion data is collected from the specimen. The diffusion propagator is computed by transforming the data on a computer. The data is used to estimate the steady state particle distribution and other measures. The calculated propagator and measures can be used to create new contrasts in MR imaging that can detect changes in the specimen's microstructure and improve the sensitivity and specificity of MR studies for clinical applications.
[0095] An object of the present invention is to quantify the diffusive motion of the particles. A further object of the present invention is to provide new NMR and MRI techniques that use information contained in the measured diffusion and characterize its evolution in time.
[0096] A method and system for measuring the diffusion propagator of spin-labelled particles is described herein. A pulse sequence is applied using an NMR spectrometer or imager to a sample within the NMR apparatus for generating NMR signals from which the diffusion propagator and related quantities can be calculated. The MR diffusion data are preferably acquired from the tissue at an arrayed plurality of pulse sequences with different diffusion gradient durations, strengths, and/or directions. A computer-implemented diffusion magnetic resonance (diffusion-MR) method analyses a specimen such as a material or porous medium or biological tissue by detecting diffusion in the specimen.
[0097] Calculated MR characteristics are preferably visualized on multi-dimensional plots where spatial coordinates are displayed on different axes. At least one quantity describing the diffusion propagator is calculated using the computer from the MR diffusion data. The estimated propagator may be related to the microstructure of the medium. Spatial images of such quantities describing the underlying diffusion process can be produced and can be related to other structural characteristics within each voxel. Diffusion data obtained using measurements performed with different diffusion gradients are plotted and analysed. The propagators are displayed with contour lines or surfaces. Diffusion measurements may also be employed in calibrating the NMR apparatus itself.
[0107] The methods of the invention include MRI diffusion-weighted imaging (DWI). Briefly, this approach is based on the measurement of random motion of molecules and the capability of nuclear magnetic resonance to quantify diffusional movement of particles. Diffusion imaging is a method that combines this diffusion measurement with MRI. This technique can characterize diffusion properties of spin-labelled molecules at each picture element (pixel or voxel) of an image. Properties of the diffusion of spin labelled molecules are related to the chemical and geometrical environments. For example, diffusion imaging can be used to infer information regarding the microstructure (e.g., cellular membranes and large macromolecules) that restrict or hinder the water molecular motion. Consequently, diffusion imaging can detect water diffusion in highly ordered organs, such as brains. In these tissues, water does not diffuse equally in all directions due to restrictions of water molecules imposed by cellular membranes, resulting in a property called anisotropic diffusion.
[0108] By considering MR data obtained with special gradient pulse sequences, it has been discovered that diffusion within the specimen can be characterized by estimating the diffusion propagator. The obtained diffusion propagator can represent different phenomena. For example, in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 5, when the first pulse is very long and the second and third pulses are very short, the obtained estimate of the diffusion propagator provides an accurate representation of the real diffusion propagator. When the pulse durations differ from the said conditions, the invention can still be employed and the obtained quantity represents an apparent diffusion propagator, which may not represent the true diffusion propagator. For example, when the durations of the second and third pulses in FIG. 5 are finite, the arguments of the estimated diffusion propagator, x and x′, represent the particle positions averaged over the duration of the gradients.
[0109] This new method for measuring diffusion provides previously undiscovered information about the specimen that can be used to generate data and images from the data and obtain new contrasts based on different mathematical parameters. These new contrast mechanisms should provide additional information about the material or tissue microstructure that can improve the specificity and utility of diffusion MR for characterizing alterations, e.g. due to disease in human patients. The method can be practiced in vitro, ex vivo or in vivo.
Therefore, in view of Ozarslan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein outputting the CDTD comprises: analyzing the CDTD, using the computer system, to assess different types of diffusion in tissues in the region-of-interest; and generating, with the computer system, a report based on analyzing the CDTD, wherein the report indicates microstructure of the tissues in the region-of-interest, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to determine the types of diffusion and indicate the diffusion in an output, which can improve the determination of diffusion parameters for a specimen using MRI (as stated in Ozarslan ¶ [06]).
Re claim 16: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 15, wherein the report indicates a heterogeneity of the tissues in the region-of-interest.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Ozarslan. Similar to the primary reference, Ozarslan discloses plotting different tensors (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Ozarslan discloses wherein the report indicates a heterogeneity of the tissues in the region-of-interest (e.g. the heterogeneity can be indicated through the plots of the tissues related to the areas of interests, which is taught in ¶ [89], [90], [128] and [130].).
[0089] FIG. 10a-d depict schematically a specimen comprising five circular pores and quantities related to the heterogeneity of the specimen. FIG. 10a depicts the estimation of the dispersity index for a specimen comprising 5 circular pores of radii 12, 36, 60, 84, and 108 units. FIG. 10b depicts the same pores when their centres coincide. The technique effectively performs the measurement on the system depicted in FIG. 10b. The distance from the common centre in
[0090] FIG. 10b is r. FIGS. 10c and 10d plot two quantities that can be obtained using the proposed method against r. The r value that maximizes the first quantity is employed to estimate the dispersion index as shown in FIG. 10d.
[0128] Another example involves a structurally heterogeneous specimen comprising N pores. In this case, the steady state distribution of particles in nth pore can be denoted by ρ.sub.n(x). Furthermore, ƒ.sub.n denotes the signal fraction contributed by the nth pore to the signal when the gradients are turned off. The d-dimensional inverse Fourier transform of E.sub.Δ(q, 0) or E.sub.Δ(0, q′) is
[0130] A quantity, which can be referred to as “local variance” can be defined through σ.sup.2(x)=μ.sub.2(x)−ρ(x).sup.2. The square root of this quantity (“local standard deviation”) can be made dimensionless through σ.sub.l(x)=σ(x)/ρ(x), or via σ.sub.g(x)=σ(x)/ρ(x.sub.0), where x.sub.0 can be taken to be any point with no vanishing ρ(x.sub.0). A particular choice of x.sub.o0 is the one that maximizes ρ(x.sub.0). These maps are expected to be descriptive of the space-dependent heterogeneity of the specimen when the centers-of-mass of all pores are brought to the same point.
Therefore, in view of Ozarslan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein the report indicates a heterogeneity of the tissues in the region-of-interest, incorporated in the device of Koay, in order to determine the types of diffusion and indicate the diffusion in an output, which can improve the determination of diffusion parameters for a specimen using MRI (as stated in Ozarslan ¶ [06]).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koay, as modified by Song et al and Ozarslan, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Xie.
Re claim 17: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 15, wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a plurality of water pool images from the CDTD and outputting the plurality of water pool images as part of the report, wherein each of the plurality of water pool images depicts water diffusion associated with a different subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a plurality of water pool images from the CDTD and outputting the plurality of water pool images as part of the report, wherein each of the plurality of water pool images depicts water diffusion associated with a different subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. image comprised of the diffused degree of water is generated and can be displayed, which is taught in ¶ [63], [66] and [125] above. The different diffusion depicted in the display is related to the different degree of diffusion associated with the tensors. Different colors can be represented within the display.).
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a plurality of water pool images from the CDTD and outputting the plurality of water pool images as part of the report, wherein each of the plurality of water pool images depicts water diffusion associated with a different subset of the plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Re claim 18: However, Koay fails to specifically teach the features of the method of claim 15, wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image as part of the report, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Xie. Similar to the primary reference, Xie discloses classifying an image using a clustering algorithm (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Xie discloses wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image as part of the report, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors (e.g. the invention discloses an output of a classified voxel that is acquired from the tensors that have been segmented and classified. The region of interest includes the classified image data that corresponds to the tensors processed, which is taught in ¶ [81], [82] and [125] above. Combining this output with the above plots in the previously applied references can output the region of interests that are classified.).
Therefore, in view of Xie, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to have the feature of wherein analyzing the CDTD comprises generating a classification image from the CDTD and outputting the classification image as part of the report, wherein the classification image depicts classified regions in the region-of-interest that are classified based on subsets of the plurality of diffusion tensors, incorporated in the device of Koay, as modified by Song et al and Ozarslan, in order to classify tensors and outputting the classified image, which can decrease the complexity of the image data and focus the machine learning on specific tasks for more efficient use (as stated in Xie ¶ [50]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Crammer discloses acquiring DTI images.
Yon et al discloses a diffusion tensor distribution.
Leow et al discloses a tensor distribution function.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682