DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-15, 16, 19-22, 24, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananya et al. (hereinafter Ananya) (US 2024/0244573) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (hereinafter Akkarakaran)(US 2021/0120517).
Regarding claim 1, Ananya teaches a method performed by a mobile base station relay (MBSR) in a wireless network for positioning of a target user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a request for positioning information from a location server via a donor gNB related to positioning of the target UE, the target UE accessing the wireless network via the MBSR(Fig. 1; items 201-202 in Fig. 2; location of relay node based on signaling between base stations and relay nodes; P[0065-0078], triggering message from location server through IAB donor gNBs(P[0025]) and relay nodes to find the location of UE; P[0051], reference signals between UE and relay node);
determining the positioning information by performing positioning functions of a gNB for the target UE, wherein the MBSR accesses the wireless network through the donor gNB (P[0051], location server is signaled to send PRS; P[0033], signaling between relay node and the first set of network nodes(donor gNB); Fig. 1; also P[0070], signaling between relay node, Donor gNB and UE) and
wherein performing the positioning functions of the gNB for the target UE comprises performing signals exchanged between the MBSR and the targetUE; and returning the positioning information to the location server via the donor gNB(P[0064], measurements performed and send to the location server; Fig. 1), wherein the positioning information includes, as determined by the MBSR, location information of the MBSR independently determined by the MBSR(item 201 in Fig. 2, determine the location of relay node), and wherein the positioning information enables positioning of the UE(items 202-203, location of third network device (UE); P[0074], location server determines the location of UE; also P[0055], locating the relay node).
Ananya did not teach specifically wherein performing the positioning functions of the gNB for the target UE comprises performing positioning measurements based on reference signals exchanged between the MBSR and the target UE. However, Akkarakaran teaches in an analogous art wherein performing the positioning functions of the gNB for the target UE comprises performing positioning measurements based on reference signals exchanged between the MBSR and the target UE(items 906, 908 in Fig. 9; also P[0169], Positioning measurements are made using reference signals between the DU function of the IAB node 920-1 and the UEs 930-1 and 930-2, illustrated by arrows 906 and 908. The reference signals may be, e.g., DL, UL, or DL and UL reference signals, and may be PRS, SRS, SSB, CSI-RSI or a combination thereof. The positioning measurements may include one or more of Rx-Tx, TDOA, RTT, AoA, AoD, signal strength etc. The positioning measurements may be provided by the IAB node 920-1 to the location server 164/196). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to wherein performing the positioning functions of the gNB for the target UE comprises performing positioning measurements based on reference signals exchanged between the MBSR and the target UE in order to have improved precision.
Regarding claim 3, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a request for downlink (DL) positioning reference signals (PRS) transmission with transmission characteristics of the DL PRS from the location server via the donor gNB; and transmitting the DL PRS(Ak karakaran: P[0172-0173], reference signals to parent IAB node by location server).
Regarding claim 4, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran teaches the method, further comprising: receiving a request for transmission characteristics of uplink (UL) sounding reference signals (SRS) to be transmitted by the target UE; determining an UL SRS configuration based on the received transmission characteristics of UL SRS; sending the UL SRS configuration to the target UE; and sending to the location server via the donor gNB, the UL SRS configuration(Ananya: P[0040], first relay node being configured to transmit UL reference signals SRS; UL SRS of the received signals using the assistance data received from the location server; measurements may be then used along with other configuration; P[0072], signaling between UE and relay node; Akkarakaran: P[0169], items 902, 906 and 908 in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Akkarakaran teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a positioning activation request for the target UE from the location server via the donor gNB, the positioning activation request comprising a request for uplink (UL) sounding reference signals (SRS) transmission by the target UE; sending the request for UL SRS transmission to the target UE; and sending a positioning activation response to the location server via the donor gNB, the positioning activation response comprising a confirmation of UL SRS activation(P[0284], request location request message from the location server; P[0286], base stations perform positioning measurement; also Fig. 22).
Regarding claim 6, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving uplink (UL) sounding reference signals (SRS) transmitted by the target UE; and performing UL SRS measurements, wherein the positioning information comprises the UL SRS measurements(Ananya: Abstract, UE wirelessly connected with relay node; second location(location of UE) is determined based on the first location(location of the relay node); Akkarakaran: P[0286], positioning measurement using the reference signal transmissions from the UE).
Regarding claim 8, Akkarakaran teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the UL SRS measurements comprise angle of arrival (AOA) measurements(P[0286], AOA).
Regarding claim 9, Ananya teaches the method, wherein the positioning information further comprises: a location of the MBSR at a time of performing the UL SRS measurements as determined by MBSR, a velocity of the MBSR at the time of performing the UL SRS measurements as determined by MBSR, a location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements as determined by MBSR, or some combination of these(P[0026], velocity of the network device to be located; P[0054], relay node may be mounted on a train).
Claims 11, 13-15 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 3-5 respectively.
Claims 16, 19-22 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 3-5 respectively.
Claims 24, 27-30 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 3-5 respectively.
Claim(s) 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananya et al. (hereinafter Ananya) (US 2024/0244573) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (hereinafter Akkarakaran)(US 2021/0120517) and Natarajan et al. (hereinafter Natarajan)(WO 2023/046261).
Regarding claim 7, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran teaches the method, wherein the request for positioning information comprises a request for round trip time (RTT) measurements, the method further comprising: transmitting downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) to the target UE; wherein the UL SRS measurements comprise RTT receive transmit (Rx-Tx) measurements. However, Natarajan teaches in an analogous art wherein the request for positioning information comprises a request for round trip time (RTT) measurements, the method further comprising: transmitting downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) to the target UE; wherein the UL SRS measurements comprise RTT receive transmit (Rx-Tx) measurements. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method wherein the request for positioning information comprises a request for round trip time (RTT) measurements, the method further comprising: transmitting downlink (DL) positioning reference signal (PRS) to the target UE; wherein the UL SRS measurements comprise RTT receive transmit (Rx-Tx) measurements in order to have improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran teaches the method, receiving an information request from the location server for: a location of the MBSR at a time of performing the UL SRS measurements or a time of transmitting DL PRS, a location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements or the time of transmitting the DL PRS, or both of these; and sending to the location server information responsive to the information request. However, Natarajan teaches in an analogous art receiving an information request from the location server for: a location of the MBSR at a time of performing the UL SRS measurements or a time of transmitting DL PRS, a location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements or the time of transmitting the DL PRS, or both of these; and sending to the location server information responsive to the information request(abstract; Page 50, lines 29-33; page 50 lines 1-2; page 52, lines 24-30; page 57, lines 25-30). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to receive an information request from the location server for: a location of the MBSR at a time of performing the UL SRS measurements or a time of transmitting DL PRS, a location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements or the time of transmitting the DL PRS, or both of these; and sending to the location server information responsive to the information request in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ananya et al. (hereinafter Ananya) (US 2024/0244573) in view of Akkarakaran et al. (hereinafter Akkarakaran)(US 2021/0120517) and Tietz et al. (hereinafter Tietz)(US 2015/0156708).
Regarding claim 23, Ananya in view of Akkarakaran the method, further comprising: receiving from the location server a request for at least one of a location of the MBSR at a time of performing the UL SRS measurements and a location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements; sending to the MBSR the request for the at least one of the location of the MBSR at the time of performing the UL SRS measurements and the location history of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements; receiving from the MBSR the at least one of the location of the MBSR at the time of performing the UL SRS measurements and the location of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements; and sending to the location server the at least one of the location of the MBSR at the time of performing the UL SRS measurements and the location of the MBSR including the time of performing the UL SRS measurements(Akkarakaran: P[0168]).
The combination of Ananya and Akkarakaran did not teach specifically location history. However, Tietz teaches in an analogous art location history(P[0178], Positioning of the MRN is repeated periodically; P[0158], position measurement by MRN). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method to use the location history in order to locate movable base station.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 12, 17-18 and 25-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Muddukrishna Does Not Teach or Suggest "Location Information of the MBSR Independently Determined by the MBSR ".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has not defined “independently determined by the MSSR”.
Using GPS for location determination requires satellites. Muddukrishna also teaches GPS based location for outdoor in P[0009] and further teaches local triangulation based location of the relay node in P[0056].
Applicant argues that Akkarakaran Does Not Teach or Suggest "Performing Positioning Functions of a gNB for the Target UE" Comprising "Positioning Measurements Based on Reference Signals Exchanged Between the MBSR and the Target UE"….”even if Muddukrishna were modified in the manner proposed in the Office Action, the result would, at most, be an arrangement in which a location server determines the location of a relay node using measurements associated with reference signals exchanged between the relay node and one or more UEs”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Akkarakaran teaches in an analogous art wherein performing the positioning functions of the gNB for the target UE comprises performing positioning measurements based on reference signals exchanged between the MBSR and the target UE(items 906, 908 in Fig. 9; also P[0169], Positioning measurements are made using reference signals between the DU function of the IAB node 920-1 and the UEs 930-1 and 930-2, illustrated by arrows 906 and 908. The reference signals may be, e.g., DL, UL, or DL and UL reference signals, and may be PRS, SRS, SSB, CSI-RSI or a combination thereof. The positioning measurements may include one or more of Rx-Tx, TDOA, RTT, AoA, AoD, signal strength etc. The positioning measurements may be provided by the IAB node 920-1 to the location server 164/196).
Muddukrishna further teaches in P[0056], For the purpose of locating the first relay node 111, the first relay node 111 may be treated as a UE, e.g. wherein same methods for locating a UE are deployed. This is illustrated in an example scenario of FIG. 3, wherein the first location of the first relay node 111 is determined by orchestrating a signaling between the first relay node 111 and three network nodes in its neighborhood, e.g. the first set of network nodes. Various positioning methods may be used to locate the first relay node 111 with desired accuracy, e.g., using standard positioning techniques such as OTDOA, or UTDOA.
In view of this the combination teaches the recited claim limitation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647