DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 17, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 13, Applicant argues that the combination of Jefferies and Kircher fails to disclose “assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier" and/or "recording [the] assignments... within a data store”.
Jefferies discloses most elements of claims 1 and 11, including assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 14, lines 8-15; see rejection of claim 3), with the exception of grouping the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier. This limitation of the claim, where medications are grouped into compartments by using a first identifier and a second identifier is what was cured by combining Kircher to Jefferies. Kircher (para. [0040]), clearly teaches “quantities of the pharmaceutical medication with the same or similar expiration date, inventory turnover (e.g., fast-movers), serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at the same location”. It is accepted that Kircher does not explicitly teach assigning medications to compartments, this limitation is already thought by Jefferies, but what Kircher teaches is, the grouping of medications by using first and second identifiers and assigning locations for the medications.
With regard to applicant’s argument that, in Kircher, the location for assignment of pharmaceutical medications is only suggested or calculated, but the ultimate assignment of the locations of the medication is assigned by the user, is not consistent with the disclosure of Kircher. Kircher clearly discloses that, “the location for the pharmaceutical medication in the inventory is automatically inputted by the electronic device, e.g., based on one or more criteria” (para. [0045]), and that the device determines an optimized location for a pharmaceutical medication. Furthermore, Kircher provides examples of these criteria as, expiration date, serial or lot or batch number (para. [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the dispenser of Jefferies that is capable of assigning vendable units into compartments, with the teachings as taught in Kircher to modify the assignment by using first and second identifiers. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). For at least these reasons claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jefferies et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10102706) in view of KIRCHER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0221922).
Regarding claim 1, Jefferies et al. disclose a method for managing beneficial products, comprising: managing the intake of vendable units into a dispensing apparatus (col. 8, lines 10-24), comprising:
determining a plurality of identifiers for respective vendable units, the plurality of identifiers comprising a first identifier determinative of product type (col. 13, lines 37-59; col. 14, lines 16-23, UPC code, NDC code, RxNorm) and a second identifier different from the first identifier (col. 13, lines 37-59; col. 14, lines 16-23, manufacture date, expiration date, and lot),
recording assignments between the vendable units and the assigned compartments within a data store (col. 14, lines 8-15; col. 20, lines 28-34); and
fulfilling provisioning requests at the dispensing apparatus, wherein fulfilling a provisioning request for a specified product type comprises (col. 9, lines 26-35; col. 14, lines 16-32):
identifying one or more compartments assigned vendable units having a first identifier corresponding to the specified product type (col. 14, lines 16-32), and
providing access to a designated compartment of the identified compartments, the designated compartment selected based on second identifiers associated with the identified compartments (col. 14, lines 16-32; dispensing products with earlier sell-by date first).
Jefferies discloses a unique identifier that is associated with an inventory database that associates the unique identifier to track medication type (UPC code, NDC code, RxNorm) as well as manufacture date, supplier, sell-by date, expiration date, lot to allow dispensing the medication based on a particular preference. However, Jefferies does not explicitly disclose assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier.
KIRCHER et al. discloses pharmacy inventory system that assigns pharmaceuticals to storage locations by grouping quantities of pharmaceuticals with the same or similar expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number to be stored at the same location (para. [0040]; Fig. 4; Fig. 5; quantities of the pharmaceutical medication with the same or similar expiration date, inventory turnover (e.g., fast-movers), serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at the same location, but another quantity with a different expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at a different location).
Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispenser of Jefferies et al. to incorporate the teaching of KIRCHER et al. of assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier as it would be advantageous in prioritizing the use of earlier expiring medications first, or in segregating similar lots of medication in case of recall or discontinuation (paras. [0040], [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 1. Jefferies et al. further discloses assigning a vendable unit to a compartment of the dispensing apparatus comprising: reading the first identifier and the second identifier from the vendable unit, wherein the first identifier comprises one or more of a universal product code, a national drug code, a Global Trade Identification Number, and an RxNorm identifier (col. 14, lines 16-32), and
wherein the second identifier comprises one or more of a lot identifier and a batch identifier (col. 14, lines 16-32).
Regarding claim 9, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 1. Jefferies et al. further discloses, the second identifier is indicative of product expiration date, and wherein fulfilling the provisioning request further comprises selecting the designated compartment of the identified compartments based, at least in part, on product expiration dates associated with vendable units stored within respective compartments of the identified compartments (col. 14, lines 16-32).
Regarding claim 11, Jefferies et al. disclose a system for managing beneficial products (col. 8, lines 10-24), comprising:
a dispensing apparatus comprising a plurality of compartments (col. 10, lines 30-39; Fig. 3A; dispensing station 310, compartments 360); and
inventory control logic configured for operation on a processor, the inventory control logic configured to implement intake operations to load vendable units into the dispensing apparatus, the intake operations comprising (col. 8, lines 10-24):
determining a plurality of identifiers for respective vendable units, comprising a first identifier and a second identifier different from the first identifier (col. 13, lines 37-59), wherein the first identifier comprises one or more of a universal product code, a national drug code, a Global Trade Identification Number, and an RxNorm identifier (col. 13, lines 37-59; col. 14, lines 16-23, UPC code, NDC code, RxNorm),
recording assignments between the vendable units and the assigned compartments within a data store (col. 14, lines 8-15; col. 20, lines 28-34); and
wherein the inventory control logic is further configured to implement provisioning operations to dispense vendable units from the dispensing apparatus, and wherein implementing a provisioning operation to dispense a specified product type comprises (col. 9, lines 26-35; col. 14, lines 16-32):
identifying one or more compartments assigned vendable units having a first identifier corresponding to the specified product type (col. 14, lines 16-32), and
providing access to a designated compartment of the identified compartments, the designated compartment selected based on second identifiers associated with the identified compartments (col. 14, lines 16-32; dispensing products with earlier sell-by date first).
Jefferies discloses a unique identifier that is associated with an inventory database that associates the unique identifier to track medication type (UPC code, NDC code, RxNorm) as well as manufacture date, supplier, sell-by date, expiration date, lot to allow dispensing the medication based on a particular preference. However, Jefferies does not explicitly disclose assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier.
KIRCHER et al. discloses pharmacy inventory system that assigns pharmaceuticals to storage locations by grouping quantities of pharmaceuticals with the same or similar expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number to be stored at the same location (para. [0040]; Fig. 4; Fig. 5; quantities of the pharmaceutical medication with the same or similar expiration date, inventory turnover (e.g., fast-movers), serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at the same location, but another quantity with a different expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at a different location).
Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispenser of Jefferies et al. to incorporate the teaching of KIRCHER et al. of assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier as it would be advantageous in prioritizing the use of earlier expiring medications first, or in segregating similar lots of medication in case of recall or discontinuation (paras. [0040], [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 11. Jefferies et al. further discloses, the second identifier is indicative of product expiration date, and wherein, to implement the provisioning operation to dispense the specified product type, the inventory control logic is further configured to: select the designated compartment of the identified compartments based, at least in part, on product expiration dates associated with vendable units stored within respective compartments of the identified compartments (col. 14, lines 16-32).
Claims 3, 4, 5, 10, 12, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10102706) in view of KIRCHER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0221922), and further in view of Vaz (US Patent No. 9977872).
Regarding claim 3, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 2. Jefferies et al. further discloses assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus and selecting a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus to receive the vendable unit (col. 14, lines 8-15).
However, neither Jefferies et al. nor KIRCHER et al. disclose providing access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus; and
updating a status of the first compartment in the data store in response to determining whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment.
Vaz discloses selecting a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus to receive the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 46-49);
providing access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60); and
updating a status of the first compartment in the data store in response to determining whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment (col. 5, lines 60-67; scanning product label, adding expiration date, lot number, and confirming quantity added is equated to updating status of compartment).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al. to prevent drug picking and replenishment errors (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 4, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 3. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks, specifically providing access to the first compartment comprises one or more of: unlocking the first compartment, opening the first compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the first compartment from the other compartments (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67); and
blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., to improve the security to access controlled items within the drawer as well reduce mistakes of placing or removing the wrong item from the storage location (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 5, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 3. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks specifically, assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprises: identifying one or more occupied compartments in response to determining that the identified compartments comprise vendable units having first identifiers and second identifiers corresponding to the first identifier and the second identifier of the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 44-67); and selecting the first compartment from the one or more occupied compartments (col. 5, lines 44-67).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., to ensure a new item is placed into a compartment that is intended to store pharmaceutical products with a specific product code (col. 3, lines 32-43; col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 10, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 9. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks, specifically wherein fulfilling the provisioning request further comprises one or more of:
printing a physical token comprising a computer-readable code identifying the designated compartment (col. 4, lines 59-67; Printed barcode label for the product that can be used to identify bins with corresponding products); and
providing access to the designated compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the designated compartment, wherein providing access comprises one or more of:
unlocking the designated compartment, opening the designated compartment, and displaying a visual indicator configured to distinguish the designated compartment from other compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60), and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked (col. 5, lines 5-12; the visual indicator not lighting up is equated to a second visual indicator showing access is blocked to the compartment).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., to improve the security to access controlled items within the drawer as well reduce mistakes of placing or removing the wrong item from the storage location (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 12, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al., in combination disclose all limitations of claim 11. Jefferies et al further discloses an acquisition device communicatively coupled to the inventory control logic, the acquisition device configured to read one or more of the first identifier and the second identifier from respective vendable units (col. 11, lines 43-60; col. 13, lines 37-59; Fig. 3B; acquisition device 319) and updating a status of the first compartment in a data store in response to determining whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment (col. 14, lines 8-15).
However, neither Jefferies et al. nor KIRCHER et al. disclose, to assign a vendable unit to a compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory control logic is configured to:
select a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus in response to determining that the first compartment comprises vendable units corresponding to the first identifier and the second identifier of the vendable unit,
provide access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus, and
wherein providing access to the first compartment comprises one or more of: unlocking the first compartment, opening the first compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the first compartment from the other compartments; and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked.
Vaz discloses assigning a vendable unit to a compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory control logic is configured to:
select a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus in response to determining that the first compartment comprises vendable units corresponding to the first identifier and the second identifier of the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 44-67),
provide access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67), and
wherein providing access to the first compartment comprises one or more of: unlocking the first compartment, opening the first compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the first compartment from the other compartments (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67); and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al. to improve inventory control as well as reduce drug picking and replenishment errors by allowing only a single compartment to be opened while keeping other compartments closed (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 13, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 12. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks specifically, to assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory control logic is further configured to:
identify one or more occupied compartments in response to determining that the identified compartments comprise vendable units having first identifiers and second identifiers corresponding to the first identifier and the second identifier of the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 44-67); and
select the first compartment from the one or more occupied compartments (col. 5, lines 44-67).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., to ensure a new item is placed into a compartment that is intended to store pharmaceutical products with a specific product code (col. 3, lines 32-43; col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 18, Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 17. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks, specifically, to implement the provisioning operation, the inventory control logic is further configured to:
print a physical token comprising a computer-readable code identifying the selected compartment by use of the print device (col. 4, lines 62-67; Printed barcode label for the product that can be used to identify bins with corresponding products); and
provide access to the selected compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the designated compartment (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60),
wherein providing access comprises one or more of: unlocking the selected compartment, opening the selected compartment, and displaying a visual indicator configured to distinguish the selected compartment from other compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60), and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked (col. 5, lines 5-12; the visual indicator not lighting up is equated to a second visual indicator showing access is blocked to the compartment).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., to improve the security to access controlled items within the drawer as well reduce mistakes of placing or removing the wrong item from the storage location (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Regarding claim 19, Jefferies et al. discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions configured to cause a processor to implement operations for dispensing beneficial products, the operations comprising: managing the intake of vendable units into a dispensing apparatus (col. 8, lines 10-24), comprising:
determining composite identifiers for respective vendable units, the composite identifiers comprising at least a portion of a first identifier determinative of product type and a second identifier different from the first identifier, wherein the first identifier comprises one or more of a universal product code, a national drug code, a Global Trade Identification Number, and an RxNorm identifier, and wherein the second identifier corresponds to product expiration date (col. 3, lines 15-29; col. 13, lines 37-59),
recording assignments between the vendable units and the assigned compartments within a data store (col. 14, lines 8-15; col. 20, lines 28-34); and
fulfilling provisioning requests at the dispensing apparatus, wherein fulfilling a provisioning request for a specified product type comprises (col. 9, lines 26-35; col. 14, lines 16-32):
identifying one or more compartments assigned vendable units having a composite identifier corresponding to the specified product type (col. 14, lines 16-32),
selecting a compartment from the one or more identified compartments based on expiration dates indicated by the second identifiers associated with respective identified compartments (col. 14, lines 16-32; dispensing products with earlier sell-by date first), and
providing access the selected compartment (col. 14, lines 16-32),
wherein assigning a vendable unit to a compartment of the dispensing apparatus comprises:
reading the first identifier and the second identifier from the vendable unit (col. 13, lines 37-59).
However, Jefferies does not disclose,
assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by composite identifier,
selecting a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus in response to determining that the first compartment comprises vendable units corresponding to the composite identifier of the vendable unit,
providing access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus, and
updating a status of the first compartment in the data store in response to user input indicating whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment;
wherein providing access to a designated compartment of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: unlocking the designated compartment, opening the designated compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the designated compartment from the other compartments; and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked.
KIRCHER et al. discloses pharmacy inventory system that assigns pharmaceuticals to storage locations by grouping quantities of pharmaceuticals with the same or similar expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number to be stored at the same location (para. [0040]; Fig. 4; Fig. 5; quantities of the pharmaceutical medication with the same or similar expiration date, inventory turnover (e.g., fast-movers), serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at the same location, but another quantity with a different expiration date, serial number, or lot or batch number can be stored at a different location).
Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispenser of Jefferies et al. to incorporate the teaching of KIRCHER et al. of assigning vendable units to compartments of the dispensing apparatus, the assigning configured to group the vendable units within the compartments by both the first identifier and the second identifier as it would be advantageous in prioritizing the use of earlier expiring medications first, or in segregating similar lots of medication in case of recall or discontinuation (paras. [0040], [0046]).
However, neither Jefferies et al. nor KIRCHER et al. disclose, selecting a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus in response to determining that the first compartment comprises vendable units corresponding to the composite identifier of the vendable unit,
providing access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus, and
updating a status of the first compartment in the data store in response to user input indicating whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment;
wherein providing access to a designated compartment of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: unlocking the designated compartment, opening the designated compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the designated compartment from the other compartments; and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked.
Vaz discloses, selecting a first compartment of the dispensing apparatus in response to determining that the first compartment comprises vendable units corresponding to the composite identifier of the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 44-67),
providing access to the first compartment while blocking access to other compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67), and
updating a status of the first compartment in the data store in response to user input indicating whether the vendable unit was successfully stored within the first compartment (col. 5, lines 60-67; scanning product label, adding expiration date, lot number, and confirming quantity added is equated to updating status of compartment);
wherein providing access to a designated compartment of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: unlocking the designated compartment, opening the designated compartment, and displaying a first visual prompt configured to distinguish the designated compartment from the other compartments (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67); and
wherein blocking access to the other compartments of the dispensing apparatus comprises one or more of: locking the other compartments, closing the other compartments, and displaying a second visual prompt configured to indicate that access to the other compartments is blocked (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 44-67).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Vaz to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al. to improve inventory control as well as reduce drug picking and replenishment errors by allowing only a single compartment to be opened while keeping other compartments closed (col. 6, lines 46-55).
Claims 6, 7, 8, 14, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jefferies et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10102706) in view of KIRCHER et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0221922), and further in view of Vaz (US Patent No. 9977872), and further in view of Waugh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8789748).
Regarding claim 6, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 5. Vaz further teaches providing access to the second compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the second compartment (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60).
However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprising;
updating the data store to indicate that the first compartment is fully occupied in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment; and
selecting a second compartment from the one or more occupied compartments.
Waugh et al. discloses assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprising (col. 12, lines 37-45);
updating the data store to indicate that the first compartment is fully occupied in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment (col. 12, lines 37-45);
selecting a second compartment from the one or more occupied compartments (col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 7, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 3. However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprising:
identifying one or more empty compartments of the dispensing apparatus;
selecting the first compartment from the one or more empty compartments based, at least in part, on respective sizes of the one or more empty compartments.
Waugh et al. discloses identifying one or more empty compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45);
selecting the first compartment from the one or more empty compartments based, at least in part, on respective sizes of the one or more empty compartments (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 8, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz and Waugh et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 7. Vaz further teaches providing access to the second compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the second compartment (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60) and updating the data store to indicate that the vendable unit is assigned to the second compartment (col. 5, lines 60-67).
However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprising:
selecting a second compartment from the empty compartments in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment, the second compartment selected in response to determining that a size of the second compartment is larger than a size of the first compartment.
Waugh et al. discloses selecting a second compartment from the empty compartments in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment, the second compartment selected in response to determining that a size of the second compartment is larger than a size of the first compartment (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 14, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 13. Vaz further teaches providing access to the second compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the second compartment (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60).
However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory control logic is further configured to;
update the data store to indicate that the first compartment is fully occupied in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment; and
select a second compartment from the one or more occupied compartments.
Waugh et al. discloses assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus (col. 12, lines 37-45), the inventory control logic is further configured to;
update the data store to indicate that the first compartment is fully occupied in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment (col. 12, lines 37-45);
select a second compartment from the one or more occupied compartments (col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 15, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 13. However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory logic is further configured to:
identify one or more empty compartments of the dispensing apparatus;
select the first compartment from the one or more empty compartments based, at least in part, on respective sizes of the one or more empty compartments.
Waugh et al. discloses assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory logic is further configured to identify one or more empty compartments of the dispensing apparatus (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45);
select the first compartment from the one or more empty compartments based, at least in part, on respective sizes of the one or more empty compartments (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 16, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz and Waugh et al. in combination disclose all limitations of claim 15. Vaz further teaches providing access to the second compartment while blocking access to compartments of the dispensing apparatus other than the second compartment (col. 4, lines 62-67; col. 5, lines 49-60) and updating the data store to indicate that the vendable unit is assigned to the second compartment (col. 5, lines 60-67).
However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory logic further configured to:
select a second compartment from the empty compartments in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment, the second compartment selected in response to determining that a size of the second compartment is larger than a size of the first compartment.
Waugh et al. discloses assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus, the inventory logic further configured to:
select a second compartment from the empty compartments in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment, the second compartment selected in response to determining that a size of the second compartment is larger than a size of the first compartment (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Regarding claim 20, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., and Vaz in combination disclose all limitations of claim 19. Vaz further teaches what the combination of Jefferies et al. and KIRCHER et al. lacks specifically, assigning the vendable unit to the compartment of the dispensing apparatus further comprises:
identifying one or more occupied compartments in response to determining that the identified compartments comprise vendable units having composite identifiers corresponding to the composite identifier of the vendable unit (col. 5, lines 44-67);
selecting the first compartment from the one or more occupied compartments (col. 5, lines 44-67).
However, Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., or Vaz do not disclose assigning a second compartment to the vendable unit in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment, the second compartment comprising one or more of:
a compartment selected from the one or more occupied compartments, and an empty compartment of the dispensing apparatus.
Waugh et al. discloses, assigning a second compartment to the vendable unit in response to determining that the vendable unit could not be stored within the first compartment (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45), the second compartment comprising one or more of:
a compartment selected from the one or more occupied compartments, and an empty compartment of the dispensing apparatus (col. 12, lines 24-35; col. 12, lines 37-45).
Jefferies et al., KIRCHER et al., Vaz, and Waugh et al. are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of storing and dispensing beneficial products. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Waugh et al. to Jefferies et al. as modified KIRCHER et al., and further modified by Vaz, to improve the efficient use of available storage space within the compartment by taking in to consideration the size of the package and the available space within the compartment (col. 12, lines 24-36; col 12 lines 52-56).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655