DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henmi et al. (US 2013/0162294).
For claim 1, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches a dual-tail sampler comprising: a first stage (100) comprising: an input pair of transistors (N1-N2) having inputs (DI, DIB) connected to gates of the input pair of transistors (N1-N2); a cross-coupled load circuit (P1-P2) having gates (gates of P1-P2) directly connected to drain nodes (NUB, NU) of the input pair of transistors (drains of N1-N2); and at least one pass-gate switch (P5-P6) between the input pair of transistors (N1-N2) and the cross-coupled load circuit (P1-P2).
For claim 2, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches wherein the at least one pass-gate switch (P5, P6) comprises a pair of complementary pass-gate switches (P5-P6, because transistors P5 and P6 turns on/off complementary to each other since they receive complementary signal from each other).
For claim 3, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches wherein the gates of the cross-coupled load circuit (P1-P2) are connected to the drain nodes (NUB, NU) of the input pair of transistors (N1, N2) rather than to output nodes (NDB, ND) of the first stage (100).
For claim 4, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches wherein the first stage (100) comprises an amplification stage (100).
For claim 5, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches further comprising a precharge device (N3-N4) connected between the drain nodes (NUB, NU) of the input pair of transistors.
For claim 6, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches comprises a second stage (200) coupled to the first stage (100).
For claim 7, Figure 4 of Henmi et al. teaches wherein the second stage (200) comprises an amplification stage (200).
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiratake (USP 6,147,514).
For claim 1, Figure 11 of Shiratake teaches a dual-tail sampler comprising: a first stage (Mp1-Mp3, Mn1-Mn3, MX1-MX2) comprising: an input pair of transistors (Mn1-Mn2) having inputs (Q, /Q) connected to gates of the input pair of transistors (Mn1-Mn2); a cross-coupled load circuit (MX1-MX2) having gates (gates of MX1-MX2) directly connected to drain nodes of the input pair of transistors (drains of Mn1-Mn2); and at least one pass-gate switch (Mp3) between the input pair of transistors (Mn1-Mn2) and the cross-coupled load circuit (MX1-MX2).
For claim 4, Figure 11 of Shiratake teaches wherein the first stage (Mp1-Mp3, Mn1-Mn3, MX1-MX2) comprises an amplification stage (Mp1-Mp3, Mn1-Mn3, MX1-MX2).
For claim 5, Figure 11 of Shiratake teaches a precharge device (Mp1-Mp2) connected between the drain nodes of the input pair of the transistors (drains of Mn1-Mn2).
For claim 6, Figure 11 of Shiratake teaches a second stage (Mp4-Mp5, Mn4-Mn6) coupled to the first stage (Mp1-Mp3, Mn1-Mn3, MX1-MX2).
For claim 7, Figure 11 of Shiratake teaches wherein the second stage (Mp4-Mp5, Mn4-Mn6) comprises an amplification stage (Mp4-Mp5, Mn4-Mn6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either Henmi et al. (US 2013/0162294) or Shiratake (USP 6,147,514) in view of Mohan (USP 7,800,411).
For claim 8, each of Henmi et al. (Figure 4) and Shiratake (Figure 11) teaches a dual-tail sampler includes all the limitations of this claim as discussed in the 102 rejection above except for “the dual-tail sampler further comprising a set-reset latch that encodes a sampled signal from the second stage as a bit”. However, Figure 4 of Mohan teaches a set-reset latch (420, 430) that encodes a sampled signal from the second stage (410, 430) as a bit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art at the time before the invention was effectively filed to modify the dual-tail sampler in each of Henmi et al. (Figure 4) and Shiratake (Figure 11) to include a set-reset latch (420, 430), as taught in Figure 4 of Mohan, that encodes a sampled signal from the second stage as a bit for the purpose to hold the output values during reset for improve the performance of the dual-tail sampler circuitry (Mohan, Col. 1, lines 25-33; and Col. 4, lines 19-35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/20/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s).
Conclusion
/Long Nguyen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836