DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2025 and 07/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the response and remarks, filed on 08/28/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6, 11-16, 23, 24, 27, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of newly identified prior art reference to Navas Cornejo et al. (US 2016/0337950 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Navas Cornejo et al. (US 2016/0337950 A1), hereafter “Navas”.
Regarding claims 14 and 27 Navas discloses a method performed by a server for providing coverage data to a user equipment (UE) to assist wireless access by the UE to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0006]The ANDSF is a network (operation/PLMN) server that provides a UE with access network discovery/policy information including validity arears like location or cells) and a server (ANDSF 300) comprising: one or more transceivers (202, 204), one or more memories (206) , and one or more processors (208) communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers and the one of more memories (see Fig. 3), the method comprising:
receiving a request for coverage data from the UE, the request sent by the UE to an address of the server ([0111]The transmitter 302 of the UE 100 transmits a request 500 for access network policy information and ([0024] In pull mode operation, UE to ANDSF communication is initiated by the UE: The UE discovers the ANDSF via Domain Name System (DNS) lookup or Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) The UE sends a query to the ANDSF to retrieve or update policy data and/or information about available access networks), the request comprising authorization data for the UE, the authorization data provided to the UE by an entity in the serving PLMN (in Fig. 5; step 500, UE provides “credentials” together with the request, which can be used for mutual authentication between UE and ANDSF);
verifying the authorization data ([0112] The ANDSF 114 may authenticate 502 the user, Fig. 5; step 502); and
sending the coverage data to the UE bases on verification of the authorization data ([0117] The transmitter 302 of the ANDSF 114 transmits 508 the primary information together with the secondary information specifying a location area (LAC 406) at which the UE 100 shall transmit a further request for access network policy information to the ANDSF 114, and Fig. 5; step 508).
Regarding claims 15 and 28 Navas further discloses wherein the coverage data enables the UE to determine whether access to the serving PLMN can be possible at one or more locations of the UE, at one or more future times, using one or more radio access technologies (RATs) or for some combination of these ([0117] The transmitter 302 of the ANDSF 114 transmits 508 the primary information together with the secondary information specifying a location area (LAC 406) at which the UE 100 shall transmit a further request for access network policy information to the ANDSF 114, and Fig. 5; step 508 Validity area information is specified as location area 402 (which may have a location area code (LAC) 0x0001) and cells 408 and 410. In addition, the policy information unit 214 of the ANDSF 114 provides the areas of interest in which the UE shall make a further request for access network policy information. That is, the policy information unit 214 of the ANDSF 114 provides an area specifying one or more UE locations at which the UE 100 should make a further request for access network policy information from the ANDSF 114)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas Cornejo et al. (US 2016/0337950 A1), hereafter “Navas” in view of Jain (US 2019/0110241 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 23, Navas discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for obtaining coverage data to assist wireless access by the UE to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0006]The ANDSF is a network (operation/PLMN) server that provides a UE with access network discovery/policy information including validity arears like location or cells),
the UE comprising: one or more transceivers (302, 304), one or more memories (306) , and one or more processors (308) communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers and the one of more memories (see Fig. 3),
the method comprising:
accessing the serving PLMN ([0019] Based on information related to current UE location: a UE that is attached to the 3GPP access network)
obtaining an address of a server (The UE discovers the ANDSF via Domain Name System (DNS) lookup or Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) The UE sends a query to the ANDSF to retrieve or update policy data and/or information about available access networks)and authorization data (in Fig. 5; step 500, UE provides “credentials” together with the request, which can be used for mutual authentication between UE and ANDSF);
sending a request to the server based on the address, the request comprising the authorization data (0111]The transmitter 302 of the UE 100 transmits a request 500 for access network policy information and ([0024] In pull mode operation, UE to ANDSF communication is initiated by the UE: The UE discovers the ANDSF via Domain Name System (DNS) lookup or Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) The UE sends a query to the ANDSF to retrieve or update policy data and/or information about available access networks); and
receiving the coverage data from the server based on verification by the server of the authorization data ([0117] The transmitter 302 of the ANDSF 114 transmits 508 the primary information together with the secondary information specifying a location area (LAC 406) at which the UE 100 shall transmit a further request for access network policy information to the ANDSF 114, and Fig. 5; step 508).
Nava teaches that the coverage data enables the UE to determine whether access to the serving PLMN can be possible:
at one or more locations in a geographic area,
at one or more future times
using one or more radio access technologies (RATs), or
or for some combination of these ([0117] The transmitter 302 of the ANDSF 114 transmits 508 the primary information together with the secondary information specifying a location area (LAC 406) at which the UE 100 shall transmit a further request for access network policy information to the ANDSF 114, and Fig. 5; step 508 Validity area information is specified as location area 402 (which may have a location area code (LAC) 0x0001) and cells 408 and 410. In addition, the policy information unit 214 of the ANDSF 114 provides the areas of interest in which the UE shall make a further request for access network policy information. That is, the policy information unit 214 of the ANDSF 114 provides an area specifying one or more UE locations at which the UE 100 should make a further request for access network policy information from the ANDSF 114).
However, Navas does not explicitly teach that the coverage data enables the UE to determine PLMN access via one or more satellites.
In a similar filed of endeavor Jain discloses a system for coverage assistance provisioning in which a provided coverage data wherein the coverage data enables the UE to determine whether access to the serving PLMN via one or more satellites can be possible at one or more locations in a geographic area: ([0022], feature of RAN can include one or more access nodes that enable data connections. These access nodes (Ans) can be referred to as base stations, (BSs), NodeBs, evolved NodeBs (eNBs)…or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell), and ([0050] UE operating in Enhanced Coverage mode when the received Enhanced Coverage Restricted/Allowed parameter in any NAS messages received by the UE/MS indicates that Enhanced coverage is allowed (or not restricted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the satellite-based coverage data provisioning features of Jain into the coverage assistance method of Navas in order to extend the flexibility and applicability of the coverage assistance to include satellite communications especially in areas where terrestrial coverage is limited or unavailable.
Regarding claim 6, Navas fails to explicitly teach wherein the coverage data is specific to one or more parameters related to the UE, the one or more parameters comprising: a UE type, an antenna receive (Rx) gain or loss, an overall antenna signal gain or loss, one or more minimum signal receive levels for power, quality, or both, supported by the UE, or some combination of these.
Jain further discloses wherein the coverage data is specific to one or more parameters related to the UE, the one or more parameters comprising: a UE type [see [0045, table from TS 23.401, UE Usage Type, page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jain with the coverage assistance method disclosed by Navas in order to enhance coverage provisioning that takes into account UE-specific characteristics and capabilities for improved network access decisions.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Navas does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE obtains the address and the authorization data from a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) on the UE, or by sending a non-access stratum (NAS) Request to an entity in the serving PLMN, wherein the NAS Request indicates at least one of a location of the coverage data, an area of the coverage data, a relevant time or time period for the coverage data, relevant RATs for the coverage data, relevant PLMNs for the coverage data
Jain further discloses wherein the UE obtains the address and the authorization data from a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) on the UE, or by sending a non-access stratum (NAS) Request to an entity in the serving PLMN (Fig. 2, NAS Procedure Request 210A), and wherein the NAS Request indicates at least one of a location of the coverage data, an area of the coverage data, a relevant time or time period for the coverage data, relevant RATs for the coverage data, relevant PLMNs for the coverage data ([0050] This parameter is kept in HSS/HLR and specifies per PLMN whether enhanced coverage functionality is allowed or not allowed for each UE/MS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the methods disclosed by Jain into the system of Navas in order to enable more targeted and efficient retrieval of coverage information for improving flexibility of coverage data acquisition by the UE.
Regarding claim 13, Navas further discloses wherein the authorization data indicates at least one of the location of the coverage data, the area of the coverage data, the relevant time or time period for the coverage data, the relevant RATs for the coverage data, the relevant PLMNs for the coverage data, the supported methods or encodings for receiving the coverage data from the server, or any combination thereof, wherein the authorization data is not interpreted by the UE ([0114] In the case that the secondary information comprises temporal information, a time or a range of times may be determined at which or during which the UE 100 should make a further request for access network policy information. In the case where the secondary information comprises location information in terms of the one or more further UE locations, one or more areas may be determined wherein the UE 100 should request further access network policy information when it is located at one of the one or more areas).
Regarding claim 16, Navas discloses all limitations as applied to claim 15 above, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the serving PLMN has discontinuous satellite coverage, wherein the coverage data comprises coverage for one or more satellite RATs.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jain further discloses wherein the serving PLMN has discontinuous satellite coverage, wherein the coverage data comprises data for one or more satellite RATs ([0022], feature of RAN can include one or more access nodes that enable data connections. These access nodes (ANs) can be referred to as base stations, (BSs), NoBs, evolved NodeBs (eNBs)…or satellite stations providing coverage within a geographic area (e.g., a cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the satellite-based coverage data provisioning features of Jain into the coverage assistance method of Navas in order to extend the flexibility and applicability of the coverage assistance to include satellite communications especially in areas where terrestrial coverage is limited or unavailable.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas and Jain as applied to claims 1 and 23 above, and further in view of Svennebring et al. (US 2023/0308199 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 24, and 25 Jain teaches all limitations as applied to claims 1 and 23 Navas and Jain do not explicitly disclose wherein the coverage data includes a spatial coverage map that comprises a heat map that indicates a signal power level , a signal quality level, or both and indicates whether the access to the serving PLMN can be possible at the one or more locations in a geographical area, the one or more locations comprising a plurality of locations on a grid, the coverage data comprising a plurality of the spatial coverage maps for each of the one or more future times.
Svennebring discloses a link performance prediction system that uses a current path of a mobile station to predict a future path of the mobile station and a base station’s coverage area using a mapping method to create a spatial map (in 3 dimensions) of where different degrees of coverage signal quality can be expected e.g. a spatial “heat map” that can be used to predict changes in signal quality based on the motion and a local spatial/temporal history of motions (see [0042]. Svennebring teaches that a 3-dimensional grid can be defined with spatial grid elements defined with different established coordinate systems for various deployment scenarios including performance in certain location or region within the coverage area (see [0053]-[0058]).
Svennebring teaches that by using a 3D spatial grid to represent a base station coverage area, where each grid element can be classified with a corresponding signal or link quality, specific signal conditions such as power level, signal-noise ratio ([0066]). Svennebring also discloses the capability of using of spatial grid points to create sectors for future location prediction ([0079]-[0084])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the spatial link performance mapping system of Svennebring with Navas as modified by Jain’s enhanced coverage system in order to reduce the complexity of the spatial coverage map with high granularity and more grid elements or points as taught by Svennebring [0052].
Regarding claims 5, 7, 25, and 26, Navas and Jain teach all limitations as applied to claims 1 and 23 above. Navas as modified by Jain do not explicitly teach wherein the coverage data includes a temporal coverage map that indicates whether the access to the serving PLMN can be possible at the one or more future times, the coverage data comprising a plurality of the temporal coverage maps for each of the one or more locations of the UE and wherein the temporal coverage map indicates (i) one or more durations of time during which the access to the serving PLMN can be possible , (ii) one or more durations of time during which the access to the serving PLMN is not possible, or any combination thereof.
Svennebring discloses a link performance prediction system that uses a current path of a mobile station to predict a future path of a mobile station and a base station’s coverage area using a mapping method to create a spatial map (in 3 dimensions) using spatial and temporal (spatio-temporal) historical data and/or real time data to predict link quality and is related to the network performance over multiple locations [0194]. A base station coverage map is generated using radio signal measurements to determine signal quality across the base station coverage area [0084], [0100]-[0101] and [0110]-0111].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the spatial link performance mapping system of Svennebring with Navas as modified by Jain’s enhanced coverage system in order to be able to determine coverage capabilities over a future time window based predicted locations within a 3D spatio-temporal grid.
Claims 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas and Jain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ying et al. (US 2022/0094546 A2)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Navas and Jain do not explicitly disclose wherein the authorization data includes a temporary identifier for the UE and the temporary identifier enables verification by the server of the authorization data and the temporary identifier is known to the server.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ying discloses an authentication system in which the privacy of a user equipment (UE) and network security is protected (see abstract). Ying teaches that when a UE moves to an area covered by a communication infrastructure, when the UE sends a mobility registration request which includes the one or more parameters such as the UEs temporary ID which is known and used by a server to verify the UE (see [0157] [0170]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure the use of temporary identifier of a user equipment in Jain’s enhanced coverage system for verification and authorization in order to improve protection of UE privacy and network security as taught by Ying (see [0008).
Regarding claim 10, Jain fails to explicitly discloses wherein the temporary identifier comprising a ciphering of an identifier, wherein the identifier is configured in the serving PLMN and the server., and the ciphering is based on a cipher key configured in the serving PLMN and the server.
Ying discloses the use of an identification cipher in response to a registration request for a communication session which also involves a temporary identifier and both private and public keys for checking validity of an UE’s identification. The AAA management function verifies the signature of the UE using parameters such the temporary UE ID and subscription cipher within the service provider’s network([0067]-[0069], [0073]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate, Ying’s use of ciphering in generating and verifying user equipment identification including temporary identifiers into Jain’s enhanced coverage system for the benefit of ensuring secure communications with appropriate privacy.
Claims 17-19 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas as applied to claims 15 and 27 above, and further in view of Svennebring et al. (US 2023/0308199 A1).
Regarding claims 17, 18, 19, 29, and 30, Navas disclose that the secondary information comprises temporal information, a time or range of times may be determined during which the UE should further request for access network policy information. In the case where the secondary information comprises location information in terms of the one or more further UE locations, one or more areas may be determined wherein the UE should request further access network policy information when it is located at one of the one or more areas ([0114].
However, Navas fails to explicitly teach wherein the coverage data includes a spatial and temporal coverage map that indicates whether the access to the serving PLMN can be possible at the one or more locations of the UE and at one or more future times, the coverage data comprising a plurality of locations on a grid, a plurality of the spatial coverage maps for each of the one or more future times or the temporal coverage maps for each of the one or more locations.
Svennebring in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a link performance prediction system that uses a current path of a mobile station to predict a future path of a mobile station and a base station’s coverage area using a mapping method to create a spatial map (in 3 dimensions) using spatial and temporal (spatio-temporal) historical data and/or real time data to predict link quality and is related to the network performance over multiple locations [0194]. A base station coverage map is generated using radio signal measurements to determine signal quality across the base station coverage area [0084], [0100]-[0101] and [0110]-0111].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the spatial link performance mapping system of Svennebring with Navas system for coverage discovery in order to ensure determining coverage capabilities over a future time window based predicted locations within a 3D spatio-temporal grid.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navas and s applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ying et al. (US 2022/0094546 A2)
Regarding claim 20, Navas do not explicitly disclose wherein the authorization data includes a temporary identifier for the UE and the temporary identifier enables verification by the server of the authorization data and the temporary identifier is known to the server.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Ying discloses an authentication system in which the privacy of a user equipment (UE) and network security is protected (see abstract). Ying teaches that when a UE moves to an area covered by a communication infrastructure, when the UE sends a mobility registration request which includes the one or more parameters such as the UEs temporary ID which is known and used by a server to verify the UE (see [0157] [0170]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure the use of temporary identifier of a user equipment in Jain’s enhanced coverage system for verification and authorization in order to improve protection of UE privacy and network security as taught by Ying (see [0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 21 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tang (US 11,647,446 B2) discloses a system and method for determining by a network device different policies that correspond to specific time information and or specific position information to be used by a wireless terminal in determining a policy to use.
Kavuri et al. (US 2019/0349849 A!) discloses a system for access type selection.
Kotecha et al. (US 2017/0289881) discloses a system for network access policy enabling a UE to identify available PLMNs and their corresponding network services.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641