DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “ means ” or “ step ” or a term used as a substitute for “ means ” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “ means ” or “ step ” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “ for ” (e.g., “ means for ” ) or another linking word or phrase, such as “ configured to ” or “ so that ” ; and (C) the term “ means ” or “ step ” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “ means ” (or “ step ” ) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “ means ” (or “ step ” ) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “ means ” (or “ step ” ) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “ means ” (or “ step ” ) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. No claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “ a containing indentation containing the signal output end ” in line 8, but this containment of the signal output end of the holder contradicts the recitation “ wherein a top of the holder is positioned lower than a top of the signal output end such that the signal output end protrudes beyond the holder ” of claim 1, lines 3- 4 . The signal output end cannot be both contained by the containing indentation of the holder and protrudes beyond the holder. This contradiction renders claim 1 indefinite. Claim 1 recites “ a part of the sensor ” in line 16, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “ a part of the sensor ” of claim 1, line 7. If they are the same, “ a part of the sensor ” in line 16 should be “ the part of the sensor ” . If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “ first ” and “ second ” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements) . Claims 2-7 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0030320 (Huang) , in view of U.S. Patent No. 3,477,423 (Griffith). The present application claims priority to U.S. Patent Application 16/945634 (the 634 application), filed on 7/31/2020. However, the 634 application does not support the claimed subject matter of the present application. In particular, the 634 application does not disclose “ a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor ” of claim 1. As a result, the claims of the present application are not entitled to the benefit of the 7/31/2020 filing date of the 634 application (see MPEP 211.05: “ Only the claims of the continuation-in-part application that are disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the prior-filed application are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application ” .). The effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application is 5/4/2023. Further, Huang is considered prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 against the claims of the present application because it has a publication date (2/4/2021) of more than one year before the effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application (5/4/2023). With respect to claim 1, Huang teaches a holder (the holder 20 of Huang) carrying thereon a sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) having a signal detection end (the signal detection end 44 of Huang) and a signal output end (the signal output end 42 of Huang) to measure a physiological signal of an analyte in a biological fluid, wherein a top of the holder is positioned lower than a top of the signal output end such that the signal output end protrudes beyond the holder (see FIG. 6 of Huang), comprising: an implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) being a channel for implanting the sensor, and containing a part of the sensor; a containing indentation (the containing indentation 22 of Huang) containing the signal output end; a fixing indentation (the fixing indentation 27 of Huang) fixing thereto the sensor and communicating with the containing indentation; a waterproof seal (the waterproof seal 25A of Huang) disposed above the implantation hole; an elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole to separate the implantation hole into two parts and having a cross sectional area that is equal to or greater than a cross-sectional area of the implantation hole (see FIG. 6 of Huang; paragraph 0041 of Huang). Huang does not teach a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor. Griffith teaches the use of partitions 41, 43 with accommodating apertures in the mid-area between connecting spaces so as to rigidify the structure (col. 3, lines 5-30 of Griffith). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a partition with an accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27 of Huang so as to rigidify the structure. Thus, the combination teaches or suggest a septum ( the partition with the accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27 ) disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor . With respect to claim 3 , the combination teaches or suggests that the fixing indentation further comprises a positioning groove (the element A in the below annotated FIG. 7B of Huang) on a surrounding wall of the fixing indentation. Annotated FIG. 7B of Huang With respect to claim 4 , the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a limiter (the limiters 29 of Huang) arranged adjacent to the fixing indentation (the fixing indentation 27 of Huang) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder. With respect to claim 5 , the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a blocking element (the blocking element 25C of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder (see FIG. 7A of Huang ) . With respect to claim 6 , the combination teaches or suggests that the blocking element is an elastic element (paragraph 0043 of Huang) . With respect to claim 7 , the combination teaches or suggests that the elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) is disposed above the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang; see FIG. 6 of Huang) . Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0030320 (Huang) , in view of U.S. Application Publication No. 2013/0023789 (Anderson). The present application claims priority to U.S. Patent Application 16/945634 (the 634 application), filed on 7/31/2020. However, the 634 application does not support the claimed subject matter of the present application. In particular, the 634 application does not disclose “ a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor ” of claim 1. As a result, the claims of the present application are not entitled to the benefit of the 7/31/2020 filing date of the 634 application (see MPEP 211.05: “ Only the claims of the continuation-in-part application that are disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the prior-filed application are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application ” .). The effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application is 5/4/2023. Further, Huang is considered prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 against the claims of the present application because it has a publication date (2/4/2021) of more than one year before the effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application (5/4/2023). With respect to claim 1, Huang teaches a holder (the holder 20 of Huang) carrying thereon a sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) having a signal detection end (the signal detection end 44 of Huang) and a signal output end (the signal output end 42 of Huang) to measure a physiological signal of an analyte in a biological fluid, wherein a top of the holder is positioned lower than a top of the signal output end such that the signal output end protrudes beyond the holder (see FIG. 6 of Huang), comprising: an implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) being a channel for implanting the sensor, and containing a part of the sensor; a containing indentation (the containing indentation 22 of Huang) containing the signal output end; a fixing indentation (the fixing indentation 27 of Huang) fixing thereto the sensor and communicating with the containing indentation; a waterproof seal (the waterproof seal 25A of Huang) disposed above the implantation hole; an elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole to separate the implantation hole into two parts and having a cross sectional area that is equal to or greater than a cross-sectional area of the implantation hole (see FIG. 6 of Huang; paragraph 0041 of Huang). Huang does not teach a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor. Anderson teaches the use of a partition 99A with an accommodating aperture in the mid-area between connecting spaces so as to provide support for the structure running therethrough (paragraph 0064 of Anderson). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a partition with an accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27 of Huang so as to provide support for the structure running therethrough. Thus, the combination teaches or suggest a septum ( the partition with the accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27) disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor . With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that the fixing indentation further comprises a positioning groove (the element A in the below annotated FIG. 7B of Huang) on a surrounding wall of the fixing indentation. Annotated FIG. 7B of Huang With respect to claim 4, the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a limiter (the limiters 29 of Huang) arranged adjacent to the fixing indentation ( the fixing indentation 27 of Huang ) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder. With respect to claim 5, the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a blocking element (the blocking element 25C of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder (see FIG. 7A of Huang ) . With respect to claim 6, the combination teaches or suggests that the blocking element is an elastic element (paragraph 0043 of Huang). With respect to claim 7, the combination teaches or suggests that the elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) is disposed above the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang; see FIG. 6 of Huang). Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0030320 (Huang) in view of U.S. Application Publication No. 2013/0023789 (Anderson) , and further in view of CN 112450918 (Yang). Citations to Yang will refer to the machine English translation that accompanies this Office Action. The combination teaches or suggest a septum ( the partition with the accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27) disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor . Yang teaches that fixing or supporting structures may be made of silica gel material (page 7 of Yang). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use silica gel material as the partition with the accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27 of Huang since a material is required and Yang teaches a suitable material. Thus, the combination teaches or suggest that the septum ( the partition with the accommodating aperture in the mid-area between the containing indentation 22 and the fixing indentation 27) is an elastic element (the silica gel material of Yang). Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0030320 (Huang), in view of U.S. Application Publication No. 2014/0374481 (Peng). The present application claims priority to U.S. Patent Application 16/945634 (the 634 application), filed on 7/31/2020. However, the 634 application does not support the claimed subject matter of the present application. In particular, the 634 application does not disclose “ a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor ” of claim 1. As a result, the claims of the present application are not entitled to the benefit of the 7/31/2020 filing date of the 634 application (see MPEP 211.05: “ Only the claims of the continuation-in-part application that are disclosed in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) in the prior-filed application are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application ” .). The effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application is 5/4/2023. Further, Huang is considered prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 against the claims of the present application because it has a publication date (2/4/2021) of more than one year before the effective U.S. filing date of the claimed subject matter of the present application (5/4/2023). With respect to claim 1, Huang teaches a holder (the holder 20 of Huang) carrying thereon a sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) having a signal detection end (the signal detection end 44 of Huang) and a signal output end (the signal output end 42 of Huang) to measure a physiological signal of an analyte in a biological fluid, wherein a top of the holder is positioned lower than a top of the signal output end such that the signal output end protrudes beyond the holder (see FIG. 6 of Huang), comprising: an implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) being a channel for implanting the sensor, and containing a part of the sensor; a containing indentation (the containing indentation 22 of Huang) containing the signal output end; a fixing indentation (the fixing indentation 27 of Huang) fixing thereto the sensor and communicating with the containing indentation; a waterproof seal (the waterproof seal 25A of Huang) disposed above the implantation hole; an elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole to separate the implantation hole into two parts and having a cross sectional area that is equal to or greater than a cross-sectional area of the implantation hole (see FIG. 6 of Huang; paragraph 0041 of Huang). Huang does not teach a septum disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor. Peng teaches the use of a recessed groove 13 with an inserting slit 132 at the mouth of an accommodating space for the purpose of inserting an electronic component (paragraph 0010-0011 and FIG. 3 of Peng). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place a recessed groove 13 with the inserting slit 132 at the mouth of the fixing indentation 27 of Huang so as to provide help guide the sensor 40 during insertion . Thus, the combination teaches or suggest a septum ( the bottom wall of the rece ssed groove where the slit 132 is located ) disposed between the containing indentation and the fixing indentation, and holding a part of the sensor . With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that the fixing indentation further comprises a positioning groove (the element A in the below annotated FIG. 7B of Huang) on a surrounding wall of the fixing indentation. Annotated FIG. 7B of Huang With respect to claim 4, the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a limiter (the limiters 29 of Huang) arranged adjacent to the fixing indentation (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder. With respect to claim 5, the combination teaches or suggests that the holder further comprises a blocking element (the blocking element 25C of Huang) disposed in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang) to hold the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the holder (see FIG. 7A of Huang ) . With respect to claim 6, the combination teaches or suggests that the blocking element is an elastic element (paragraph 0043 of Huang). With respect to claim 7, the combination teaches or suggests that the elastic divider (the elastic divider 25B of Huang) is disposed above the sensor (the sensor 40 of Huang) in the implantation hole (the implantation hole 24 of Huang; see FIG. 6 of Huang). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW KREMER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3394 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday 8 am to 6 pm; every other Friday off . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner ’ s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT JACQUELINE CHENG can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-5596 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW KREMER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791