DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 4/13/2026. Claim 4 is cancelled. Accordingly, claims 1-3 and 5-21 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilski et al. (US6351381B1) in view of Stój (Stój, J., "Cost-Effective Hot-Standby Redundancy with Synchronization Using EtherCAT and Real-Time Ethernet Protocols," in IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering, vol. 18, no. 4, October 2021, pp. 2035-2047 [retrieved on 25 July 2025], Retrieved from Internet <DOI:10.1109/TASE.2020.3031128>) and Chen (CN 106852074 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Bilski teaches an in-row liquid cooling system [where a heat management system for electronic systems and components includes liquid coolant; col. 1 line 58-col. 2 line 4] comprising:
a liquid-to-air heat exchanger [condenser 230, where fans 217 cool coolant liquid 127 in condenser 230; col. 5, lines 60-67] positioned along a liquid cooling circuit [where coolant liquid 127 is circulated through condenser 230; col. 5, lines 60-67], the liquid-to-air heat exchanger including a liquid inlet [input port 221, Figure 7] and a liquid outlet [output port 223, Figure 227];
a pumping unit [pumping system 215, Figure 7] including a liquid pump [where pumping system 215 includes two pumps; col. 6, lines 9-16], the liquid pump being configured to generate a fluid flow in a liquid coolant of the liquid cooling circuit [where pumping system 215 draws cooled coolant fluid 127 from coolant reservoir 109 and returns it to each cold plate 103; col. 6, lines 9-23];
a fan [fans 217, Figure 7], the fan being configured to generate an air flow across a surface of the liquid-to-air heat exchanger [where fans 217 cool coolant liquid 127 in condenser 230; col. 5, lines 60-67];
a first sensor [a thermocouple; col. 6, lines 21-23] configured to measure a first value of a first sensed parameter of the liquid coolant [where the thermocouple monitors coolant temperature; col. 6, lines 21-23];
a second sensor [a pressure switch 246, Figure 2 and 7] configured measure a second value of a second sensed parameter of the liquid coolant [where pressure switch 246 monitors system pressure and determines whether at least one pump is operating; col. 6, lines 19-23];
a first controller [programmable controller 250, Figure 2] housed within a first housing [lower compartment 37, Figure 2] separate from the liquid pump [where pumping system 215 is in a section below programmable controller 250 of lower compartment 37, see Figure 2], the first controller in selective electrical communication with each of the liquid pump, [where controller 250 operates pumping system 215 and plurality of fans 217, Figure 2; col. 6, lines 24-39; where if at least one pump is not running, the second pump may be switched on to prevent failure; col. 6, lines 21-23] but
Bilski does not teach the first controller in selective electrical communication with the fan the first sensor and the second sensor; and a second controller housed within a second housing separate from both the liquid pump and the first housing of the first controller, the second controller in selective electrical communication with each of the liquid pump, the fan, the first sensor, and the second sensor; the first controller and the second controller each including a processor.
However, Stój teaches an industrial computer system with computing unit redundancy [Abstract] where the first controller [redundant computer units RCU1 and RCU2, Figure 1] is housed within a first housing [where RCU1 is a CX5140 an embedded computer in a self-contained enclosure Figure 15, p. 2045] in selective electrical communication [where one RCU operates as a standby unit for when the active unit fails; p. 2036, Section II, Part B. Hot-Standby Mode, para. 1] with multiple devices [where several remote I/O stations can be installed to a single communication network connected to two RCUS, Figure 1; Section II, para. 1] and a second controller [RCU2, Figure 1] is housed within a second housing separate from the first housing of the first controller and other devices [where RCU2 is a CX5140 embedded computer in a self-contained enclosure with an input/output interface, Figure 15; Practical Application, p.2045, para. 1], the second controller in selective electrical communication [p. 2036, Section II, Part B. Hot-Standby Mode, para. 1] with the same devices as the first controller [Figure 1; Section II, para. 1] including a processor [where the RCUs are CX5140 controllers with processors; Practical Application, p.2045, para. 1] configured to perform the same functions as the first controller [where synchronization between the redundant units prevents disruption in communication when switching between RCUs; Section II, Part C, p. 2036-2037, para. 1-3] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, incorporating a redundant controller, to a known device, a system level controller, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., Preventing extensive downtime by ensuring that a failure of a single controller does not affect the availability of the control system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined teachings to have where the first controller in selective electrical communication with the fan the first sensor and the second sensor; and a second controller housed within a second housing separate from both the liquid pump and the first housing of the first controller, the second controller in selective electrical communication with each of the liquid pump, the fan, the first sensor, and the second sensor; the first controller and the second controller each including a processor in view of the teachings of Stój where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., Preventing extensive downtime by ensuring that a failure of a single controller does not affect the availability of the control system.
The combined teachings further do not teach the first controller and the second controller each including a processor configured to: receive, from the first sensor, the first value; receive, from the second sensor, the second value; based on a comparison of the first value with a target value for the first sensed parameter, output to the liquid pump, a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump; and based on a comparison of the second value with a target value for the second sensed parameter, output to the fan a signal to change a speed of the fan.
However, Chen teaches a multi-server-based intelligent learning system that solves the problem of improving heat dissipation efficiency without expanding the space [0007] where a processor [processor; 0012] is configured to: receive, from the first sensor [temperature sensor; 0012], the first value [temperature of the cooling water at the outlet; 0011]; receive, from the second sensor [flow meter; 0015], the second value [cooling water flow ratel 0015]; based on a comparison of the first value with a target value for the first sensed parameter [maintaining water outlet temperature within a preset range where the processor performs PID adjustment; 0013], output to the liquid pump , a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump [where processor sends a control signal to the water pump;0012;0013]; and based on a comparison of the second value with a target value for the second sensed parameter [where the flow meter detects that the cooling water flow rate exceeds the preset value; 0015] a signal to change a speed of the fan [where when the cooling water flow rate exceeds the preset value the processor turns on the air conditioning which is connected to the fan; 0015] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, a feedback controlled liquid cooling system, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving heat dissipation efficiency [Chen;0007]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where a processor is configured to: receive, from the first sensor, the first value; receive, from the second sensor, the second value; based on a comparison of the first value with a target value for the first sensed parameter, output to the liquid pump, a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump; and based on a comparison of the second value with a target value for the second sensed parameter, output to the fan a signal to change a speed of the fan in view of the teachings of Chen where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving heat dissipation efficiency [Chen;0007]
Regarding Claim 17, Bilski, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 and further teaches wherein the fan is one of a plurality of fans [where heat exchange assembly 200 includes a plurality of fans 217, Figure 2; col. 5, lines 49-51], each of the plurality of fans being configured to produce an air flow across the surface of the liquid-to-air heat exchanger [where fans 217 are mounted on side of frame 218 of liquid-to-air heat exchanger 212 which includes condenser 230; col. 5, line 48-56].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bilski et al. (US6351381B1) in view of Stój (Stój, J., "Cost-Effective Hot-Standby Redundancy with Synchronization Using EtherCAT and Real-Time Ethernet Protocols," in IEEE Transactions on Automation Science and Engineering, vol. 18, no. 4, October 2021, pp. 2035-2047 [retrieved on 25 July 2025], Retrieved from Internet <DOI:10.1109/TASE.2020.3031128>) and Chen (CN 106852074 A) and in further view of Yuan (CN106659081A).
Regarding Claim 16, Bilski, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 and further teaches where a third sensor [a float gauge 141 may be positioned within coolant reservoir 109 ; col. 5, lines 39-48] is configured to measure a third value for a third sensed parameter of the liquid coolant [where float gauge 141 allows for monitoring of the coolant fluid level; col. 5, lines 39-48], wherein the processor further configured to: receive, from the third sensor, the third value [where float gauge 141 allows for monitoring of the coolant fluid level; col. 5, lines 39-48] but does not teach where the processor is configured to detect a loss of communication with the first sensor; and
when a loss of communication with the first sensor is detected, based on a comparison of the third value with a target value for the third sensed parameter, output to the liquid pump a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump.
However, Yuan teaches a liquid-cooled server heat dissipation control system and method [0002] where the processor [liquid cooling temperature control unit controller 9; 0028] is configured to detect a loss of communication with the first sensor [where the liquid cooling temperature control unit controller is equipped with failure switching mode; 0029]; and based on a comparison of the third value with a target value for another sensed parameter [where communication is interrupted the controller switches the controlled parameter to internal circulation outlet and controls the circulation outlet temperature comparing it to a preset setpoint; 0032], output to the liquid pump a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump [where communication failure switching mode includes controlling circulation variable frequency pump; 0032] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, failure switching, to a known device, a processor communicating with sensors, that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving reliability of the system [Yuan, 0020].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where wherein the processor is further configured to detect a loss of communication with the first sensor; and when a loss of communication with the first sensor is detected, based on a comparison of the third value with a target value for the third sensed parameter, output to the liquid pump a signal to change a speed of the liquid pump in view of the teachings of Yuan where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving reliability of the system [Yuan, 0020].
Claim 16 recites functional limitations drawn toward the intended use or manner of operating the claimed apparatus. The functional limitations are: “when a loss of communication with the first sensor is detected… output to the liquid pump”. When the cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus, it will be held that the prior art apparatus is capable of performing all of the claimed functional limitations of the claimed apparatus. MPEP § 2114.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Bilski et al. (US6351381B1) in view of Yatskov (US10082845B2), Hawkins et al. (US20030188051A1) and Ye (US20210274680A1), where Hawkins teaches a first removable controller and a second removable controller, where control modules 110 and 120 may be field replaceable unit. Ye further teaches the first removable controller is housed within a first cartridge, the first cartridge separate from the first pump and the second pump, and the second removable controller housed within a second cartridge, separate from the first pump, the second pump and the first cartridge, where the user can respectively remove the control module 11, which includes main control unit 111 and extension control unit 112, with the handles thereof, Figure 4; 0030, where the extension control unit contrasts claimed subject matter where the first removable controller and the second removable controller each being in selective electronic communication with the first pump, the second pump, and at least one fan of the plurality of fans.
Regarding Claim 18, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Bilski et al. (US6351381B1) in view of Yatskov (US10082845B2), Stój (DOI:10.1109/TASE.2020.3031128), Ye (US20210274680A1), Rasmussen et al. (US7365973B2) and Chen (CN106852074A1) where Stój teaches a second redundant, where RCU2 is in communication with the same devices as the first controller RCU1, Figure 1; Section II, para. 1;where synchronization between the redundant units prevents disruption in communication when switching between RCUs; Section II, Part C, p. 2036-2037, para. 1-3. Ye further teaches, the first pump housed in a first pump cassette, the second pump housed within a second pump cassette, such that the air-to-liquid heat exchanger is fluidly connected with the first pump cassette and the second pump cassette, where the user can respectively remove the control module 11, which includes main control unit 111 and extension control unit 112, with the handles thereof, Figure 4; 0030, the extension control unit contrasting claimed subject matter where the first removable controller and the second removable controller each being in selective electronic communication with the first pump, the second pump, and at least one fan of the plurality of fans.
Therefore, it would not be obvious to modify the technique of the prior art structures to have the apparatus as claimed without improper hindsight and independent claim 1 and claim 18 with dependent claims therefrom 2,3 5-14 and 19-21 are considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-15, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 103 rejection of claims 1-3,5-14 and 18-21 has been withdrawn. Refer to the statement of reasons for allowance above.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 13 of the remarks, Applicant argues with respect to independent claim 15 that Stój and Chen do not cure the deficiencies of Bilski where Bilski does not teach a first controller housed within a first housing separate from the liquid pump and a second controller housed within a second housing separate from both the liquid pump and the first housing as claimed. In particular, Applicant argues Stój does not cure the deficiencies of Bilski because Stój teaches standalone embedded computers in self-contained enclosures and not controllers housed within separate housings that are a part of a pumping unit. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that Stój is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Bilski teaches a first controller, programmable controller 250, housed within a first housing separate from the liquid pump, where pumping system 215 is in a sub compartment below programmable controller 250 of lower compartment 37, Figure 2. Applicant specification defines specific examples of a control device to include a programmable logic controller, para. 0040. Stój teaches redundant embedded programmable devices CX2020 by Beckhoff, referred to as PLCs or programmable logic controllers, in the role of the dual computing units, p. 2041, Experimental Tests, Hardware Configuration. Therefore, the RCUs in Figure 1 of Stój, under broad reasonable interpretation, is read upon by the term controller in claim 15. Stój cures the deficiencies of Bilski where the technique of two “standalone embedded computers in self-contained enclosures” would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make a system more dependable in case of a failure of one of the redundant components, p.2035, Introduction, para. 2. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Applicant further argues Bilski teaches fans mounted on a side surface of the heat exchanger frame and not at a front of a cabinet. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive. In particular, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., fans at a front of the cabinet) are not recited in the rejected claim 15. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is also noted that “front” is a relative limitation that is dependent on the orientation of the in-row liquid cooling system and/or the viewpoint of the user. Thus, the fan can be considered the “front” when the user views it from the side surface of the heat exchanger frame. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Applicant further argues that Bilski’s sealed architecture is incompatible with modular, removable components. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not persuasive. In particular, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., modular and removable components) are not recited in the rejected claim 15. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 16-17 except for their dependence upon claim 15. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763