DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after May 19, 2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. In view of amendment, the examiner notes that claims 17-20 are newly added.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-3 and 8-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected sub combination drawn to "rear linkage system" (structural configuration), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and claims 1-3 and 8-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
In claim 17, line 1, “a device” is not shown on the figure 1 to 12A. Those features must be shown, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 17 recites: “a device”. The specification dated 07/24/2023 constantly recites “a bicycle frame” with front and rear wheels. At no point does the disclosure provide written description support for a particular another device that comprises bicycle. The figures likewise illustrate only one such a frame. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the inventor to have been in possession of an embodiment (“a device”) that includes whole bicycle frame, as no text, drawings, or enabling detail is provided for that configuration. Accordingly, the specification fails to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for claim language requiring “a device” as required by claim 17.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 17 recites “a device”. The specification dated 07/24/2023 teaches only “a bicycle frame” that includes front and rear axle and suspension linkage which constitute front and rear axle motion path. If the claim were to recite “a device” while relying on this specification, the scope would be ambiguous. It is unclear whether “a device” representing something bigger which comprises bicycle or a separate device “front and rear suspension” and if “front and rear suspension” appeared to be “a device”, then it does not comprise bicycle, but it is a part of the whole bicycle frame as described in the specification. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be unable to determine whether “a device” is intended to encompass (i) the singular tubular member with front and rear frame, or (ii) two physically distinct tubular members, or (iii) front and rear suspension system or (iv) something other device distinct from the bicycle frame. Because the specification does not resolve this ambiguity, the claim scope would be indefinite under §112(b). For the sake of compact prosecution, the limitation “a device” as recited in claim 17 is understood to be a “front and rear suspension system” which appeared to be a part of the bicycle frame.
Any claim not specifically addressed under §112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under §112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a2) as being anticipated by Canfield (US Pub. 20210380195 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Canfield discloses: a vehicle (bicycle; figs 1-12), comprising:
at least one front wheel (“front wheel”; [0027]) that rotates on at least one front axle (“wheel axles”, [0028]);
at least one rear wheel (“rear wheel”) that rotates on at least one rear axle (“rear axle” 117, [0029]);
a front frame (100 includes head tube 104 and 106, fig. 1; [0027]) with front suspension (“front suspension”, [0027]) that allows travel of the at least one front wheel along a front axle motion path (“wheel axle/paths”; [0028]);
suspension linkages (120, 116, 117, fig. 1);
a rear frame member (115), including the at least one rear axle (“rear axle” 117, [0029]) movably coupled to the front frame (106) by the suspension linkages (120), the rear frame member (114, 115) allows travel of the at least one rear wheel (“rear wheel”) along a rear axle motion path [ para. 0004 discloses: “the rear suspension system to define a different wheel path as a rear wheel of the rear suspension system travels from an extended position to a compressed position”], the rear axle motion path during suspension actuation is substantially parallel to the front axle motion path [see fig. 3 where the rear axle motion path during suspension actuation is substantially parallel to the front axle motion path].
Regarding claim 17, Canfield discloses: a device [see claim rejection 35 USC §112(b) above] comprising:
a bicycle (bicycle; figs 1-12) including:
at least one front wheel (“front wheel”; [0027]) that rotates on at least one front axle (“wheel axles”, [0028]);
at least one rear wheel (“rear wheel”) that rotates on at least one rear axle (“rear axle” 117, [0029]);
a front frame (100 includes head tube 104 and 106, fig. 1; [0027]) with front suspension (“front suspension”, [0027]) that allows travel of the at least one front wheel along a front axle motion path (“wheel axle/paths”; [0028]);
suspension linkages (120, 116, 117, fig. 1); and
a rear frame member (115), including the at least one rear axle (117), movably coupled to the front frame (106) by the suspension linkages (120), the rear frame member (114 or 115) allows travel of the at least one rear wheel (“rear wheel”) along a rear axle motion path [ para. 0004 discloses: “the rear suspension system to define a different wheel path as a rear wheel of the rear suspension system travels from an extended position to a compressed position”], the rear axle motion path during suspension actuation is substantially parallel to the front axle motion path [see fig. 3 where the rear axle motion path during suspension actuation is substantially parallel to the front axle motion path].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canfield in view of Bikechecker (The Wayback Machine - https://web.archive.org/web/20230119182308/https://bikechecker.com/; hereinafter, “Bikechecker”).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Canfield further teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation [see fig. 3 where the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation] at a same vertical distance of travel (fig. 3), but Canfield does not appear to explicitly teaches between negative 20 mm and positive 20 mm; however,
Bikechecker in another bicycle similar to Canfield teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation between negative 20 mm and positive 20 mm (page 4, fig. 1 of Bikechecker shows the range up to 20 mm) at a same vertical distance of travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the bicycle-suspension configuration in which the front-and rear- axle motion paths share a generally horizontal relative deviation, as taught by Canfield, and to further include a deviation in the range of 0mm to 20mm, as taught by Bikechecker, at a corresponding vertical position. Axle-path deviations within approximately -20mm to +20mm are well known in the field of suspension design and represent routine optimization of kinematic behavior. Such numerical ranges merely reflect predictable variations that do not, by themselves, impart patentable distinction.
Finally, it is noted that Applicant does not positively recite any criticality to the claimed deviation range value of -20mm to +20mm, therefore such optimization thereof would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Accordingly arriving at the claimed arrangement of deviation range value would result from routine engineering practices and experimentation and is not itself non-obvious absent any criticality to such. MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Canfield further teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation [see fig. 3 where the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation] at a same vertical distance of travel (fig. 3), but Canfield does not appear to explicitly teaches between negative 15 mm and positive 15 mm; however,
Bikechecker in another bicycle similar to Canfield teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation between negative 15 mm and positive 15 mm (page 4, fig. 1 of Bikechecker shows the range up to 15 mm) at a same vertical distance of travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the bicycle-suspension configuration in which the front-and rear- axle motion paths share a generally horizontal relative deviation, as taught by Canfield, and to further include a deviation in the range of 0mm to 15mm, as taught by Bikechecker, at a corresponding vertical position. Axle-path deviations within approximately -15mm to +15mm are well known in the field of suspension design and represent routine optimization of kinematic behavior. Such numerical ranges merely reflect predictable variations that do not, by themselves, impart patentable distinction.
Finally, it is noted that Applicant does not positively recite any criticality to the claimed deviation range value of -15mm to +15mm, therefore such optimization thereof would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Accordingly arriving at the claimed arrangement of deviation range value would result from routine engineering practices and experimentation and is not itself non-obvious absent any criticality to such. MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, (similar limitations, but different dependency), Canfield further teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation [see fig. 3 where the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation] at a same vertical distance of travel (fig. 3), but Canfield does not appear to explicitly teaches between negative 10 mm and positive 10 mm; however,
Bikechecker in another bicycle similar to Canfield teaches that the rear axle motion path and the front axle motion path have a relative horizontal deviation between negative 10 mm and positive 10 mm (page 4, fig. 1 of Bikechecker shows the range up to 10 mm) at a same vertical distance of travel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the bicycle-suspension configuration in which the front-and rear- axle motion paths share a generally horizontal relative deviation, as taught by Canfield, and to further include a deviation in the range of 0mm to 10mm, as taught by Bikechecker, at a corresponding vertical position. Axle-path deviations within approximately -10mm to +10mm are well known in the field of suspension design and represent routine optimization of kinematic behavior. Such numerical ranges merely reflect predictable variations that do not, by themselves, impart patentable distinction.
Finally, it is noted that Applicant does not positively recite any criticality to the claimed deviation range value of -10mm to +10mm, therefore such optimization thereof would be obvious to the skilled artisan. Accordingly arriving at the claimed arrangement of deviation range value would result from routine engineering practices and experimentation and is not itself non-obvious absent any criticality to such. MPEP 2144.05.II.A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230070334 A1 to Peter discloses: a bicycle includes a front wheel, a rear wheel, a frame comprising a main frame section and an articulated frame section, the articulated frame section comprising: a lower arm rotatably supported on a first axis by the main frame section, an upper frame link.
US 5553881 A to James discloses: the rearward end of the assembly and the manner in which the changes in alignment between the components produces the prescribed path for motion of the wheel axle.
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
April 10, 2026