DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 7, 3rd paragraph, filed February 5, 2026, with respect to the interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretations of Claims 1-8 and 11 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 5, 2026, with respect to the objections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Claims 1 and 13-14 have been amended to be even more clearly in good form (p. 7, 2nd paragraph).
In reply, the Examiner points out that there is still one word that needs to be fixed in Claims 1 and 13-14, as shown below, and thus, the objections are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because new grounds of rejection are made in view of Gladish (US 20200178060A1), Park (US 20150063135A1), Paulsen (see citation below), Ghamari (US 20200008772A1), and Jang (US009973615B2).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “…compare the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environment…” where it should instead recite “…compare the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environments…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 13-14 each recite “…comparing the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environment…” where they should instead recite “…comparing the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environments…” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1) in view of Gladish (US 20200178060A1), further in view of Umetani (see citation below).
As per Claim 1, Zhang teaches a system for generating and managing maps of a plurality of real-world environments (generating and using a multi-modal map of an environment, create 3D models using a SLAM device while simultaneously gathering information on signal strength from a variety of sources such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cell tower, and the like, by identifying these, the 3D model generated by the SLAM device may be used to determine signal strength, which may translate into position of RF or other beacon sources, identify places within the environment, image may be used to determine the position and even be used to layer graphics and identifying information such as places of interest, [0278], combinations of maps from multiple mapping units may be combined so many mappers update a complete map in real-time, [0294]), the system comprising: at least one processor; at least one computer-readable medium having collectively stored thereon computer-executable instructions which, when executed with the at least one processor, collectively cause the system (the present disclosure may be implemented as a computer program product embodied in a computer readable medium executing on one or more of the machines, [0296]) to: generate a map of each of the plurality of real-world environments (person might carry a mapping and localization device, such as a SLAM device, to produce a registered 3D point cloud that can later be converted into a map of the 3D geometry of the environment, other signals such as RF sources such as Wi-Fi and Bluetooth can be integrated into that map, [0272], [0294]); identify a first wireless signal at a location in each of the plurality of real-world environments, and associate the first wireless signal so identified with a map corresponding to each of the plurality of real-world environments; compile the maps of the plurality of real-world environments into a composite map, wherein the maps are arranged in dependence upon the identification of common wireless signals between each of the corresponding real-world environments (superposition of wireless communication reception and 3D mapping tools allows a detailed analysis of the signal strength across large areas, this enables initial correspondence and mapping of those signal sources, [0276], [0278, 0294], localization software matches the received sensor readings with positions in the map that exhibits similar values corresponding to the sensor readings, embed the newly acquired sensor pose data into the map, [0266]), identify an origin of the first wireless signal (signal source) in each of the plurality of real-world environments and associate the origin of the first wireless signal with a reference point in the map corresponding to each of the plurality of real-world environments; and compare the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environment to provide a compilation as a composite map (superposition of wireless communication reception and 3D mapping tools allow a detailed analysis of signal strength across large areas, this enables initial correspondence and mapping of those signal sources and this may, in turn, be used to determine one’s position, this is an important application because if this placement is not optimized then either gaps exist, or there is inefficient overlapping coverage, [0276], [0294]).
However, Zhang does not teach identifying the origin of the first wireless signal in each of the plurality of real-world environments based on triangulation with a second wireless signal. However, Gladish teaches identifying the origin of the first wireless signal in each of the plurality of real-world environments based on triangulation with a second wireless signal (the location of the source of the wireless signals may be determined through triangulation of the wireless signals, [0004]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include identifying the origin of the first wireless signal in each of the plurality of real-world environments based on triangulation with a second wireless signal as suggested by Gladish. It is well-known in the art that triangulation of wireless signals provides a reliable, low-power, and cost-effective way for determining positions.
However, Zhang and Gladish do not teach providing a more precise compilation as the composite map in comparison with another compilation performed without the reference points. However, Umetani teaches another method of locating the mobile client uses the natural feature points of image sequences captured by the client, as the position and orientation of the vision system can be estimated from these features. In this method, there are several candidate locations because of the symmetry of indoor structures; it is difficult to determine the location of the mobile client from a one-shot measurement. Therefore, a method of fusing the data from multiple localization estimations is needed. The paper introduces a scheme for the localization of a mobile client using wireless LAN and the natural features of the camera-image sequences (p. 240, right column, 2nd-3rd paragraphs). Thus, the localization performed using wireless LAN signals and the natural feature points (reference points) is more precise in comparison with the localization performed without using wireless LAN signals and the natural feature points (reference points). Since Zhang teaches compiling the maps, wherein the maps are arranged in dependence upon the identification of common wireless signals between each of the corresponding real-world environments [0276, 0278, 0294, 0266], and comparing the reference point across the maps of the plurality of real-world environment to provide a compilation as a composite map [0276, 0294], this teaching from Umetani that the localization performed using wireless LAN signals and the natural feature points (reference points) is more precise in comparison with the localization performed without using wireless LAN signals and the natural feature points (reference points) can be implemented into the device of Zhang to include providing a more precise compilation as the composite map in comparison with another compilation performed without the reference points.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and Gladish to include providing a more precise compilation as the composite map in comparison with another compilation performed without the reference points because Umetani suggests that in the method of using the natural feature points of image sequences captured by the client, as the position and orientation of the vision system can be estimated from these features, there are several candidate locations because of the symmetry of indoor structures, it is difficult to determine the location of the mobile client from a one-shot measurement, therefore, a method of fusing the data from multiple localization estimations is needed, thus, a scheme for the localization of a mobile client using wireless LAN and the natural features of the camera-image sequences is needed (p. 240, right column, 2nd-3rd paragraphs).
As per Claim 2, Zhang teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to use image, depth, and/or acoustic information to generate maps (multi-modal sensing system may use one or more of each of the following: camera, depth camera, [0287], with sensors, one may localize on a map that is embedded with data acquired by the same sensors, [0288]).
As per Claim 6, Zhang teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to perform a Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) process [0272].
As per Claim 11, Zhang teaches combinations of maps from multiple mapping units are combined by wireless transmission so many mappers update a complete map in real-time [0294]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the instructions further cause the system to generate one or more map portions to link the generated maps in the composite map in order for the generated maps to be combined together to form a complete map [0294].
As per Claims 13-14, these claims are each similar in scope to Claim 1, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Chisu (US010849034B1).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to include one or more object identifiers in generated maps. However, Chisu teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to include one or more object identifiers in generated maps (signal map 508 is updated to include attributes of the wireless signal source, such as an identifier for the wireless signal source, wireless signal strength, col. 20, lines 21-25; signal map 508 correlates different device locations and device positions with wireless signal attributes at the locations/positions, such as wireless signal strength for different wireless signal sources (as identified by the source IDs 1308) at the locations/positions, col. 21, line 66-col. 22, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the instructions further cause the system to include one or more object identifiers in generated maps because Chisu suggests that this makes it easier to determine which wireless signal source is associated with the wireless signal strength on the map (col. 20, lines 21-25; col. 21, line 66-col. 22, line 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), Umetani (see citation below), and Chisu (US010849034B1) in view of Bacchus (US 20230242127A1).
Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Chisu are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 3.
However, Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Chisu do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to identify one or more wireless access points in generated maps. However, Bacchus teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to identify one or more wireless access points in generated maps (aggregate partial maps are created by the data collected from the individual vehicles and are used to create optimized global wireless AP maps 166 of wireless access points, [0070]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Chisu so that the instructions further cause the system to identify one or more wireless access points in generated maps as suggested by Bacchus. It is well-known in the art that a wireless access point is needed to connected directly to a wired local area network, and then the wireless access point provides wireless connections for other devices to use that wired connection, and thus Bacchus suggests that it is useful to identify wireless access points in generated maps so that the vehicles know where they are so that the vehicles can go closer to there to connect to Wi-Fi [0070].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Tech Wellness (see citation below).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1. Zhang teaches generating maps of the wireless signal strength across large areas ([0276], providing a localization system to provide a map that is based on the gathering of RF sources that also provides readings of signal strength of RF sources in the environment, [0286]). Thus, the instructions further cause the system to include information identifying one or more low wireless signal strength areas in generated maps.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to include information identifying one or more safe-play areas in generated maps. However, Tech Wellness teaches that WiFi radiation can be harmful, and the further you are away from the source of the WiFi radiation, the safer it is (p. 12-18). Since Zhang teaches the instructions further cause the system to include information identifying one or more low wireless signal strength areas in generated maps [0276, 0286], this teaching from Tech Wellness can be implemented into the map generation unit of Zhang so that the instructions further cuase the system to include information identifying one or more low wireless signal strength areas as one or more safe-play areas in generated maps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the instructions further cause the system to include information identifying one or more safe-play areas in generated maps because Tech Wellness suggests that that WiFi radiation can be harmful, and the further you are away from the source of the WiFi radiation, the safer it is (p. 12-18).
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Ogale (US008588097B1).
As per Claim 7, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied on for teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to: generate a request, comprising information identifying one or more wireless signals detected by a user device, to obtain a composite map; and distribute the composite map to the user device in response to the request, wherein the distributed map is associated with identified signal information identifying at least one of the one or more detected wireless signals. However, Ogale teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to: generate a request, comprising information identifying one or more wireless signals detected by a user device, to obtain a composite map; and distribute the composite map to the user device in response to the request, wherein the distributed map is associated with identified signal information identifying at least one of the one or more detected wireless signals (the client device may scan for wireless network signals to identify one or more wireless network access point identifiers and associated signal strengths, a current location of the client device is then identified based on the probability distribution and the identified one or more wireless network access point identifiers and associated signal strengths, col. 3, lines 59-64; once a current location of a client device has been identified, it may be used to assist with providing information about the current location, receiving one or more wireless network access point identifiers and signal strengths for an indoor geographic area, generating, for each received wireless network access point identifier, a rectangular map including a rectangle representing each of the quantized signal strengths, transmitting the rectangular maps to a client device, receiving a request for the rectangular maps, the request including information identifying the indoor geographic location, col. 1, line 56-col. 2, line 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the instructions further cause the system to: generate a request, comprising information identifying one or more wireless signals detected by a user device, to obtain a composite map; and distribute the composite map to the user device in response to the request, wherein the distributed map is associated with identified signal information identifying at least one of the one or more detected wireless signals because Ogale suggests that this way if the user using the user device desires to find out where to go to get a strong signal strength, the user can request the map and the map will be distributed to the user device (col. 3, lines 59-64; col. 1, line 56-col. 2, line 7).
22. As per Claim 8, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to distribute a portion of the composite map in dependence upon one or more characteristics of the user device and/or a program being executed by the user device. However, Ogale teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to distribute a portion of the composite map in dependence upon one or more characteristics of the user device and/or a program being executed by the user device (col. 3, lines 59-64; once a current location of a client device has been identified, it may be used to assist with providing information about the current location, transmitting the rectangular maps to a client device, receiving a set of rectangular maps, each rectangular map of the set being associated with a wireless network access point identifier and representative rectangle each representing a signal strength, scanning for wireless network signals to identify one or more wireless network access point identifiers and associated signal strengths, selecting, by the processor, one or more representative rectangles of the set of rectangular maps based on the identified one or more wireless network access point identifiers and associated signal strengths, identifying an intersection rectangle based on the intersection of the one or more identified rectangles, and identifying a current location of the client device based on the identified intersection rectangle, col. 1, line 56-col. 2, line 21). This would be obvious for the reasons given in the rejection for Claim 7.
23. As per Claim 9, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not expressly teach wherein the distribution is from a remote server or a device associated with one or more of the detected wireless signals. However, Ogale teaches wherein the distribution is from a remote server or a device associated with one or more of the detected wireless signals (the map data may be stored at server 110 and transmitted to the client device as needed, col. 6, lines 56-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the distribution is from a remote server or a device associated with one or more of the detected wireless signals because Ogale suggests that this way, the client device does not need to store a large amount of unnecessary data, and the client device can retrieve the map data from the server as needed (col. 6, lines 56-58).
24. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), Umetani (see citation below), and Ogale (US008588097B1) in view of Vistisen (US 20230195133A1).
Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Ogale are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 7.
However, Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Ogale do not teach wherein the instructions further cause the system to generate one or more commands in dependence upon the obtained composite map, wherein the commands cause the user device to be moved to a location in the real-world environment having a higher signal strength for one or more of the identified wireless signals. However, Vistisen teaches wherein the instructions further cause the system to generate one or more commands in dependence upon the obtained composite map, wherein the commands cause the user device to be moved to a location in the real-world environment having a higher signal strength for one or more of the identified wireless signals (provide control signals to move the robot to an area with improved signal strength (an area having the predetermined high signal strength), the mobile robot 100 may operate autonomously, that is, the processor of the mobile robot 100 may use the map 300 to control the drive system to move the mobile robot 100 within the area to the portion having the predetermined high signal strength, [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, Umetani, and Ogale so that the instructions further cause the system to generate one or more commands in dependence upon the obtained composite map, wherein the commands cause the user device to be moved to a location in the real-world environment having a higher signal strength for one or more of the identified wireless signals because Vistisen suggests that this way, the mobile robot can get a higher signal strength [0025].
25. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Lau (US 20150312774A1).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach one or more of the wireless signals corresponds to a local area or ad-hoc wireless network. However, Lau teaches wherein one or more of the wireless signals corresponds to a local area or ad-hoc wireless network (communication networks such as local-area networks, [0103], wireless coverage characterization component can generate a signal strength map based on the collected wireless measurements, the estimated indoor map, as the estimated indoor map is being built, the wireless coverage characterization component can associated a newly received wireless signal strength measurement with a location on the indoor map corresponding to the current UAV location, as the UAV traverses the indoor environment, the map building component will continue updating the estimated indoor map (based on the SLAM sensor measurement data) as the wireless coverage characterization component continues mapping new wireless signal strength measurements to locations on the estimated indoor map, dynamically constructs a map of the indoor environment as well as a map of the measured wireless signal strengths at locations throughout the mapped environment, [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that one or more of the wireless signals corresponds to a local area or ad-hoc wireless network as suggested by Lau. It is well-known in the art that local area wireless networks are used for a limited geographical area, such as a home, office, or school, where a private network is needed, so that devices outside the local area wireless network cannot directly access resources on the local area wireless network without proper configuration.
26. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Park (US 20150063135A1).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a predicted map. However, Park teaches wherein the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a predicted map (calculates a predicted signal strength of a specific point using a reception strength of at least one point located adjacent to the specific point in the wireless signal map, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a predicted map because Park suggests that this way, if the signal strength is unknown at a specific point, the signal strength at the specific point can be predicted using the reception strength of at least one point located adjacent to the specific point in the wireless signal map, in order to predict the signal strength as accurately as possible (Abstract).
27. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Paulsen (see citation below).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1. Zhang teaches the composite map, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a random map. However, Paulsen teaches wherein the image is non-contiguous and a gap in the image is filled with random data (MRF method fills the hole, p. 644, 1st paragraph; use of Markov Random Field (MRF), p. 637, 2nd paragraph). Since Zhang teaches the composite map, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1, this teaching of filling with random data from Paulsen can be implemented into the composite map of Zhang so that a gap in the composite map is filled with a random map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a random map because Paulsen suggests that this fills the gap in a smooth way (p. 644, 1st paragraph).
28. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Ghamari (US 20200008772A1).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1. Zhang teaches the composite map, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a predetermined map. However, Ghamari teaches wherein the image is non-contiguous and a gap in the image is filled with predetermined data (fill in any gaps with default information that may be stored in database, [0066]). Since Zhang teaches the composite map, as discussed in the rejection for Claim 1, this teaching of filling with predetermined data from Ghamari can be implemented into the composite map of Zhang so that a gap in the composite map is filled with a predetermined map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that the composite map is non-contiguous and a gap in the composite map is filled with a predetermined map because Ghamari suggests that this is an easy way to fill in any gaps [0066].
29. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20200217666A1), Gladish (US 20200178060A1), and Umetani (see citation below) in view of Jang (US009973615B2).
Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani are relied upon for the teachings as discussed above relative to Claim 1.
However, Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani do not teach wherein identifying the first wireless signal comprises averaging the first wireless signal over a period of time. However, Jang teaches wherein identifying the first wireless signal comprises averaging the first wireless signal over a period of time (determine intensity information of the wireless signal based on average values of the wireless signal over a period of time, Claim 12 of Jang).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, Gladish, and Umetani so that identifying the first wireless signal comprises averaging the first wireless signal over a period of time because Jang suggests that this is an easy way to determine the intensity information of the wireless signal (Claim 12 of Jang) in order to determine the location of the apparatus (col. 1, lines 57-58), and it is well-known in the art that it is useful to automatically determine the location of the apparatus.
Prior Art of Record
1. UMETANI et al., “Mobile Client Localization Using Data Fusion Of Wireless Lan Signals and Three-dimensional Camera Image Sequences,” November 26, 2012, 9th International Conference on Ubiquitous Robots and Ambient Intelligence, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, XP032331015, pp. 240-245, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?tp=&arnumber=6462985
2. “Is WiFi Dangerous? What’s the Safest Distance From WiFi? Here’s How Far You Should Be From Your Router For Less”, September 2021, Tech Wellness, p. 10-31, https://techwellness.com/blogs/expertise/is-wifi-safe-distance-is-key-emf-protection
3. Paulsen et al., “Markov Random Field Surface Reconstruction”, July 1, 2010, IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics, Vol. 16, No. 4, pp. 636-645, https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?tp=&arnumber=5332230
Conclusion
JH
/JONI HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611