DETAILED ACTION
Status
Applicant’s response dated 01 July 2026 to the previous Office action dated 01 April 2026 is acknowledged. Pursuant to amendments therein, claims 1, 4, 7-11, 13, 17-21, and 26-30 are pending in the application.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of applicant’s claim amendments, but new (modified) rejections are made herein in view of applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 13, 17-19, 21, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jewell et al. (US 2017/0339978 A1; published 30 November 2017; of record) in view of Jackson et al. (US 2019/0008186 A1; published 10 January 2019; of record) and Guidetti (US 2010/0209572 A1; published 19 August 2010; of record) and Bhatnagar (US 2019/0191737 A1; published 27 June 2019).
Jewell et al. discloses an animal food product for promoting dental efficacy (i.e., improves quality of life) (title; abstract) in the form of a kibble product comprising 24.04% protein, 10.69% fat, hydrolyzed chicken protein, cellulose (i.e., bulking fiber), coconut oil (i.e., a fat), with peak force 8767.825 g (i.e., 8.767825 kg) (Example 1 Test ID T7; Tables 1, 3, 4; paragraph [0069]) wherein the amount of fiber in the composition is about 1-10 wt% (paragraph [0045]) wherein percentages refer to percentages by weight (paragraph [0017]) wherein the kibble may comprise amino acids (paragraph [0050]) wherein the fiber may include cellulose and oat hull fiber and wheat bran fiber (paragraph [0044]) wherein the kibble may include corn gluten meal (paragraph [0047]) wherein the kibble may include at least one antioxidant such as lipoic acid and L-carnitine and vitamin C and vitamin E (claim 19) wherein the kibble may include potassium chloride (paragraph [0049]) wherein the kibble may include taurine (claim 19) wherein the kibble may be topically applied/coated with a composition comprising palatant (i.e., multi-layer kibble) (paragraph [0050]) wherein the kibble is 1-6 cm in all dimensions (i.e., 10-60 mm length and 10-60 mm width) (paragraph [0054]) wherein the kibble may be sphere or disc shaped (i.e., substantially round) (paragraph [0054]; claim 11) wherein the animal food product is fed to the animal (claim 22) wherein animal refers to companion animal such as cat or dog (i.e., pet) (paragraph [0020]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to include about 1-10 wt% oat hull fiber (i.e., prebiotic fiber) and wheat bran fiber (i.e., wheat fiber, prebiotic fiber) as the fiber in the kibble of Jewell et al. as discussed above, and to include corn gluten meal (i.e., a protein) and coconut oil (i.e., a fat) in the kibble of Jewell et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. Such range of about 1-10 wt% oat hull and wheat bran (i.e., prebiotic) fiber overlaps the claimed range of about 1-5 wt% prebiotic fiber, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where prior art and claimed ranges overlap per MPEP 2144.05(I).
Jewell et al. does not disclose fibrillary network comprising pores or voids as claimed.
Jackson et al. discloses pet food compositions (title) such as coated kibble (paragraphs [0005], [0027], [0040]; claim 25) wherein fiber therein forms a fibrillary network comprising interfibrillary spaces (i.e., pores or voids) of a dimension sufficient to permit entry of a dissolution agent (paragraph [0014]) which facilitates release of a benefit agent such as a polyphenol source (paragraph [0015]) which can ameliorate a symptom of an inflammatory disease and beneficially manipulate the gut microflora (paragraphs [0006]-[0007]) wherein pet food composition can include about 1-5 wt% flax seed (claim 19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jewell et al. and Jackson et al. by making the kibble of Jewell et al. as discussed above wherein the fibers therein form a fibrillary network comprising interfibrillary spaces (i.e., pores or voids) of a dimension sufficient to permit entry of a dissolution agent as suggested by Jackson et al., with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to facilitate release of a benefit agent such as a polyphenol source and/or ameliorate a symptom of an inflammatory disease and/or beneficially manipulate the gut microflora of the pet as suggested by Jackson et al.
Jewell et al. also does not disclose a porosity effective to absorb fat from a coating as claimed.
Guidetti discloses kibbles for feeding animals for nutritional and therapeutic purposes (abstract) wherein fat is included in a surface coating on kibbles to make them more appetizing and part of such fat is absorbed into the kibble core for therapeutic purpose (paragraph [0077]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jewell et al., Jackson et al., and Guidetti by making the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. as discussed above having fat included in the surface coating wherein some of such fat is absorbed into the kibble core for therapeutic purposes, as suggested by Guidetti, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to make the kibbles more appetizing and for therapeutic purposes as suggested by Guidetti. Such absorption is necessarily into the pores of the kibble, and thus the kibbles have a porosity effective to absorb fat from a coating as claimed.
Jewell et al. also does not disclose density of 28-35 lbs/ft3 as claimed.
Bhatnagar discloses pet food having a density ranging from 400-600 g/l (abstract) wherein a density of 400-600 g/l (i.e., about 25-37 lbs/ft3) allows for a complete and balanced pet food that has acceptable palatability (paragraph [0027]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, and Bhatnagar by making the kibble pet food of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti as discussed above with a density of about 25-37 lbs/ft3 as suggested by Bhatnagar, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to make a pet food that has a density that is known to be suitable for pet food and allows for a complete and balanced pet food that has acceptable palatability as suggested by Bhatnagar. Such range overlaps the claimed range of 28-35 lbs/ft3, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where prior art and claimed ranges overlap per MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to include cellulose (i.e., a bulking fiber) as a fiber in the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to include amino acids in the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 10-11, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to topically apply/coat the kibble of Jewell et al. as discussed above with a composition comprising palatant (i.e., multi-layer kibble) in the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the claim 13 recitation wherein the pet food composition is substantially free of humectants, the kibble of Jewell et al. as discussed above does not contain humectant.
Regarding claims 17-18, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above having all dimensions of 1-6 cm (i.e., 10-60 mm length and 10-60 mm width), with a reasonable expectation of success. Such ranges overlap the claimed ranges of about 3-10 mm length and about 5-20 mm width, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where prior art and claimed ranges overlap per MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 19, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above sphere or disc shaped (i.e., substantially round), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 26, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jackson et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above with about 1-5 wt% flax seed (i.e., prebiotic), with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to include therein an ingredient known to be suitable for use in pet food compositions as suggested by Jackson et al., given that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination per MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claims 27-28, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above with at least one antioxidant such as lipoic acid, L-carnitine, vitamin C, and vitamin E, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 29, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above with potassium chloride, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 30, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Jewell et al. as discussed above and to make the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above with taurine (i.e., an amino acid), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-11, 13, 17-19, 21, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as applied to claims 1, 7-11, 13, 17-19, 21, and 26-30 above, and further in view of Scherl et al. (US 2014/0314819 A1; published 23 October 2014; of record).
Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, and Bhatnagar are relied upon as discussed above.
Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, and Bhatnagar do not disclose lactic acid as in claim 4.
Scherl et al. discloses compositions comprising lactic acid for reducing a dental condition in companion animals to promote oral health (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, Bhatnagar, and Scherl et al. by including lactic acid as suggested by Scherl in the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to reduce a dental condition in the companion animal/pet to promote oral health.
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 13, 17-21, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as applied to claims 1, 7-11, 13, 17-19, 21, and 26-30 above, and further in view of Bramoulle et al. (US 2013/0287930 A1; published 31 October 2013; of record).
Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, and Bhatnagar are relied upon as discussed above.
Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, and Bhatnagar do not disclose deformation distance of about 1-3 mm as in claim 20.
Bramoulle et al. discloses highly palatable cat food (title) such as kibble (paragraph [0050]) wherein deformation distance (4) is about 1 mm (paragraphs [0043], [0098]-[0099], [0209], [0211]; FIG. 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jewell et al., Jackson et al., Guidetti, Bhatnagar, and Bramoulle et al. by making the kibble of Jewell et al. in view of Jackson et al. and Guidetti and Bhatnagar as discussed above with a deformation distance of about 1 mm as suggested by Bramoulle et al., with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to make a kibble that has a deformation distance that is known to be suitable for highly palatable kibble as suggested by Bramoulle et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Villagran et al. does not teach or suggest a density of 28-35 lbs/ft3 (remarks pages 6-7). In response, Bhatnagar is cited for teaching such limitation as discussed in the rejections above.
Applicant argues that unexpected results flow from the interplay of the recited characteristics of the pet food composition as a whole rather than the identity of any single component, which refers to applicant’s previously made argument of unexpected improvement in consumption and health per Examples (remarks pages 7-8). In response, such is not persuasive because applicant has not shown by a preponderance of the evidence that the asserted unexpected results are commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, and it is not clear that such results are actually unexpected given that so many ingredients and ingredient amount ranges change between the tested Ex. 1 and Comp. 1 and 4, and no ingredient amounts are given for Comp. 2 and 3.
Regarding commensurateness, the only inventive composition tested in Examples 3 and 4 is Ex. I (and Example 6 does not specify the inventive composition that is tested), but the claims are not limited to the formulation of Ex. I. Although applicant argues that it is the combination of characteristics rather than specific ingredients and concentrations thereof that produces the unexpected results, the evidence provided only shows asserted unexpected results for one formulation, Ex. I, and thus the evidence does not show by a preponderance that it is the combination of characteristics rather than specific ingredients and concentrations thereof that produces the asserted unexpected results, i.e., the results do not demonstrate that ingredients and concentrations other than those in the Ex. I formulation would produce the asserted unexpected results even if they had the claimed combination of characteristics, i.e., applicant has not shown that the asserted unexpected results are commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Regarding unexpectedness, it is not clear what the differences are between the tested inventive composition (i.e., Ex. I) and the tested comparative compositions (i.e., Comp. 1 and 4; Comp. 2 and 3 cannot be evaluated because no ingredient amounts are provided) that applicant is asserting are responsible for the asserted unexpected results, given the numerous differences in ingredients and ingredient amount ranges between the tested Ex. 1 and Comp. 1 and 4. And it is unclear how such ingredients and amounts relate to the claimed ingredients and amounts (e.g., which ingredients and amounts correspond to the claimed protein, fat, and fiber?). See, e.g., In re Dunn, 349 F.2d 433, 439 (CCPA 1965) ("[t]he cause and effect sought to be proven is lost here in the welter of unfixed variables").
Applicant is reminded that the burden is on applicant to establish that results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance, per MPEP 716.02(b). Such evidence of unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claimed invention per MPEP 716.02(d), and must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art (or closer) per MPEP 716.02(e).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617