DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 21, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6-7 are currently amended. Claims 6-10 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-5 are canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claim 6 have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on February 21, 2026.
Applicant has filed both a marked up version and a clean version of the claims. In this Final Office Action, the marked up version of the claims is being examined. Applicant is respectfully requested to not include multiple claim listings within a response, and to ensure claim amendments comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c).
The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. The previous double patenting rejection is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
The terminal disclaimer filed on May 21, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 18/308955 (US 2024/0128560 A1) was disapproved in the review decision filed on May 22, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 of claim 7, “according to claim 4 6” should read “according to claim 6”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Knoedler et al. (US 4508797 A), Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1) and Yang et al. (WO 2020063584 A1, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al. discloses a battery top cover assembly (paragraph 0051 and
Fig. 1, top cap assembly 100), comprising
a top cover plate (paragraph 0054 and Fig. 1, top cap plate 10) and a conductive terminal structure (paragraph 0054 and Fig. 1, terminal assembly 20), and
the conductive terminal structure being fitted in a terminal mounting position on the top cover plate (paragraph 0091 and Fig. 12, portion E);
the terminal mounting position comprises a connecting hole (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, connecting hole),
the connecting hole is provided on the top cover plate in a penetrating manner (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, connecting hole penetrating top cap plate 10),
a positioning groove is formed by recessing a portion of the top cover plate located at the terminal mounting position (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, positioning groove that is first sink portion 12),
the connecting hole is arranged on a bottom surface of the positioning groove in a penetrating manner (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, connecting hole is arranged on bottom surface of positioning groove in a penetrating manner),
a bottom of the conductive terminal structure is placed in the positioning groove (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, bottom of terminal assembly 20 is placed in positioning groove),
an inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove is arranged in contact with an outer peripheral wall of the conductive terminal structure (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, inner peripheral wall of positioning groove is arranged in contact with an outer peripheral wall of terminal assembly 20), and
the bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure is arranged in contact with the bottom surface of the positioning groove (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, bottom surface of terminal assembly 20 is arranged in contact with bottom surface of positioning groove),
the conductive terminal structure comprises a terminal fixture (Chen et al. Fig 13, second fixing component 23), a terminal (Chen et al. Fig 13, terminal plate 21), a sealing ring (Chen et al. Fig 13, seal component 24), and an insulator (Chen et al. Fig 13, first fixing component 22);
the terminal fixture comprises a ring bottom (Chen et al. Fig 13, first connection portion 232) and a ring wall (Chen et al. Fig 13, transition portion 231) formed on a top surface of the ring bottom;
a terminal fixing cavity in communication with a positioning hole on the ring bottom is formed between the top surface of the ring bottom and the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, terminal fixing cavity and positioning hole),
the terminal and the sealing ring are placed in the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, terminal plate 21 and seal component 24 placed in terminal fixing cavity),
a terminal fixing portion of the terminal (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, terminal fixing portion);
the sealing ring is located between the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and an inner bottom surface of the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, seal component 24 between terminal fixing portion and inner bottom surface of terminal fixing cavity);
the insulator is arranged to at least partially cover the terminal (Chen et al. paragraph 0037, first fixing component 22 is an insulator that partially covers terminal plate 21), and
the insulator is at least partially located between an outer peripheral wall of a terminal portion of the terminal and an inner peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first fixing component 22 located between terminal portion and transition portion 231); and
the insulator and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal are arranged in concave-convex fit (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first fixing component 22 and terminal fixing portion in concave-convex fit),
the terminal fixture and the 12 insulator are arranged in concave-convex fit (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, second fixing component 23 and first fixing component 22 are arranged in concave-convex fit), and
a first restricting portion on the ring wall is in fit with a second restricting portion on the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, second connection portion 233 and second restricting portion),
so that the insulator, the sealing ring and the terminal are all fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first fixing component 22, seal component 24, and terminal plate 21 are all fixedly connected in terminal fixing cavity), and
a top surface of the terminal portion of the terminal is exposed to the outside (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, top surface of terminal portion).
a concave cavity is formed on an inner wall of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, concave cavity),
convex portions arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on the terminal fixing portion of the terminal along a circumference of the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first flange 211 formed on terminal portion),
the convex portions are embedded in the concave cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first flange 211 embedded in concave cavity),
a stepped surface is formed on the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, stepped surface),
the stepped surface is the second restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below),
the insulator is formed by performing injection molding and encapsulation treatment on the terminal (paragraph 0062, first fixing component 22 made by integral injection molding);
a riveting body ius formed by bending the top of the ring wall(see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, second connecting portion 233 on top of transition portion 231), and
the riveting body is pressed on the stepped surface of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below),
so that the terminal and the sealing ring are fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity of the terminal fixture (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, terminal plate 21 and seal component 24 are fixedly connected in the terminal fixing cavity); and
the riveting body is the first restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, second connection portion 233), and
an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixture is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, second fixing component 23 and positioning groove).
wherein a plurality of protrusions are formed on an inner wall of the terminal fixing cavity (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, recesses),
a plurality of recesses are formed on an outer wall of the insulator (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, protrusions), and
the protrusions are correspondingly embedded in the recesses (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below).
Chen et al. discloses connectors arranged continuously (paragraph 0093 and see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 below, first connection portion 232). Chen et al. does not disclose that the connectors are formed on a bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure, and the connectors are formed by extending the bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure downwards; and the connectors are fitted in the connecting hole, and outer peripheral walls of the connectors are in contact with and welded with an inner peripheral wall of the connecting hole, so that the conductive terminal structure is fixedly connected to the top cover plate; the connectors are formed on a bottom surface of the ring bottom, the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring, an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring, positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves.
Knoedler et al. discloses that connectors arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on a bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure (p. 4 col. 4 lines 12-15 and Fig. 2, axial stem 47 formed on lateral step 46), and the connectors are formed by extending the bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure downwards (p. 4 col. 4 lines 12-15 and Fig. 2, axial stem 47 formed by extending lateral step 46 downwards); and the connectors are fitted in the connecting hole, and outer peripheral walls of the connectors are in contact with and welded with an inner peripheral wall of the connecting hole, so that the conductive terminal structure is fixedly connected to the top cover plate (p. 4 col. 4 lines 17-19 and Fig. 2, weld bead 49 that defines a unitary structure), and that the connectors are formed on a bottom surface of the ring bottom (Knoedler et al. p. 4 col. 4 lines 12-15 and Fig. 2, axial stem 47 formed on lateral step 46).
Chen et al. and Knoedler et al. are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery top cover assembly of Chen et al. to incorporate the teachings of Knoedler et al. so that connectors arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on a bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure, and the connectors are formed by extending the bottom surface of the conductive terminal structure downwards; and the connectors are fitted in the connecting hole, and outer peripheral walls of the connectors are in contact with and welded with an inner peripheral wall of the connecting hole, so that the conductive terminal structure is fixedly connected to the top cover plate, and that the connectors are formed on a bottom surface of the ring bottom, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing the conductive terminal structure and the top cover plate. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
The modification of Chen et al. in view of Knoedler et al. does not disclose that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring, an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring, positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves.
Deng et al. discloses a terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring and an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Deng et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field
of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the battery top cover assembly as taught by modified Chen with the teachings of Deng et al. using known methods so that a terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring and an outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal arranged in contact with an inner peripheral wall of the sealing ring, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing good sealing between the terminal and sealing ring. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
The modification of modified Chen et al. in view of Deng et al. does not disclose that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves.
Yang et al. discloses that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity (see Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, positioning convexes formed on upper insulating member 17), positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions (see Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3 below, positioning concaves formed on electrode terminals 151 and 152), and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves (Yang et al. Fig. 1).
Yang et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the battery top cover assembly as taught by modified Chen with the teachings of Yang et al. using known methods so that positioning convexes are formed on an inner wall of the concave cavity, positioning concaves are formed on the convex portions, and the positioning convexes are correspondingly embedded in the positioning concaves, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing the insulator and terminal together. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13
Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4
Yang et al. Annotated Fig. 3
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Knoedler et al. (US 4508797 A), Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1), and Yang et al. (WO 2020063584 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 7, modified Chen discloses the battery top cover assembly of claim 6, and Chen et al. further discloses:
wherein the sealing ring comprises a sealing ring sheet and a sealing ring body formed on a bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 below, seal component 24 comprising sealing ring sheet and sealing ring body),
an outer wall of the sealing ring body is in contact with an inner wall of the positioning hole on the ring bottom (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 below, sealing ring body and positioning hole),
the sealing ring sheet is in a compressed state (paragraph 0051, seal component between third flange 17 and terminal plate 21 may be compressed).
Chen et al. does not disclose that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring bottom, a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom, a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet, and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove; and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet, and the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom 13 are sealed.
Ming discloses that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring
bottom (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 below, sealing ring sheet located between convex portions and
support ring 3), a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4
below, convex ring), a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet (see Ming Annotated Fig. 4 below, ring groove), and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove (see Ming
Annotated Fig. 4 below).
Ming is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery top cover assembly as taught by modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Ming so that the sealing ring sheet is located between the convex portions and the ring bottom, a convex ring is formed on the top surface of the ring bottom, a ring groove is formed on the bottom surface of the sealing ring sheet, and the convex ring is embedded in the ring groove; and the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet. Doing so would allow the various components of the battery top cover assembly to be firmly
assembled together (Ming paragraph 0042).
The combination of modified Chen in view of Ming does not disclose that the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed.
Deng et al. discloses that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above, terminal fixing portion and sealing ring sheet), and the outer peripheral wall of the terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the
ring bottom are sealed (see Deng et al. Annotated Fig. 4 above, terminal fixing portion and sealing ring
sheet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have combined the battery top cover assembly as taught modified Chen
in view of Ming with the teachings of Deng et al. using known methods so that the terminal fixing portion
of the terminal is positioned in an inner hole of the sealing ring sheet, and the outer peripheral wall of the
terminal fixing portion of the terminal is arranged in contact with an inner hole wall of the sealing ring
sheet, so that the terminal fixing portion of the terminal and the ring bottom are sealed, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing good sealing between the terminal
and sealing ring. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14
Ming Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 8, modified Chen discloses the battery top cover assembly of claim 7, and Chen et al. further discloses:
the battery top cover assembly further comprising a lower plastic part (paragraph 0035 and Fig. 1, lower insulation component 40 that may be made of a plastic material),
wherein the lower plastic part is fixed on a bottom surface of the top cover plate (Fig. 13), and
the top cover plate is provided with an electrolyte injection port (Fig. 1, injection hole 15) and an explosion-proof valve (paragraph 0032 and Fig. 1, vent assembly 16 that may be provided with an explosion-proof sheet);
a through hole positionally corresponding to the positioning hole on the ring bottom, an electrolyte injection hole positionally corresponding to the electrolyte injection port and a vent hole positionally corresponding to the explosion-proof valve are formed on the lower plastic part (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1 below, through hole, electrolyte injection hole, and vent hole); and
an annular convex is formed by extending an upper port edge of the through hole upwards (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1 below, annular convex), and
the annular convex is placed in the positioning hole on the ring bottom (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 13 above, annular convex and positioning hole).
Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 1
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0280257 A1) in view of Knoedler et al. (US 4508797 A), further in view of Deng et al. (US 2014/0106209 A1), further in view of Yang et al. (WO 2020063584 A1), further in view of Ming (CN 110993839 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (CN 216120513 U, machine translation relied upon herein) and Wang et al. (CN 210778796 U, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 9, modified Chen discloses the battery top cover assembly of claim 8, and Chen et al. further discloses:
a pressure is applied to the terminal, so that the insulator is injection molded when the sealing ring is in the compressed state (paragraph 0062, first fixing component 22 made by integral injection molding);
the insulator comprises a terminal covering portion and a ring wall covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above, first fixing component 22 comprising terminal covering portion and ring wall covering portion),
the terminal covering portion is located between the terminal and the inner peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above, terminal covering portion located between terminal plate 21 and transition portion 231), and
the ring wall covering portion covers an outer side wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above, ring wall covering portion covers an outer side wall of transition portion 231),
the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator.
Chen et al. does not disclose wherein a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall; the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves; an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall covering portion is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove, the limiting portions are formed on an outer wall of the terminal covering portion or an inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, or the limiting portions penetrate through the limiting grooves and are then connected to the terminal covering portion and the ring wall covering portion respectively, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, and the limiting portions are combined to form
an integral insulator.
Zeng et al. discloses that an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall covering portion is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove (see Zeng et al. Annotated Fig. 7 below, positioning groove and ring wall covering portion).
Zeng et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the battery top cover assembly
as taught by modified Chen to with the teachings of Zeng et al. using known methods so that an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall covering portion is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove, and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of securing the insulator and top cover structure together. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
The combination of modified Chen in view of Zeng et al. does not disclose wherein a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall; the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves; the limiting portions are formed on an outer wall of the terminal covering portion or an inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, or the limiting portions penetrate through the limiting grooves and are then connected to the terminal covering portion and the ring wall covering portion respectively, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator.
Wang et al. discloses wherein a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall (paragraphs 0077 and 0080, gaps between multiple support claws 320 and vertical ring 220 filled with injection molded part 400, which is whole with fixed disc 200); the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves (paragraph 0066 and Fig. 7, multiple support claws 320); the limiting portions are formed on an inner wall of the ring wall covering portion (Fig. 4), and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator (paragraph 0078 and Fig. 4, injection molded part 400 and insulator 300 including support claws 320 form a whole).
Wang et al. is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of battery top cover structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery top cover assembly as taught by modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. so that a plurality of limiting grooves are formed on the ring wall; the insulator further comprising limiting portions fitted in the limiting grooves; the limiting portions are formed on an inner wall of the ring wall covering portion, and the terminal covering portion, the ring wall covering portion, and the limiting portions are combined to form an integral insulator. Doing so would result in a ring wall and insulator with good bonding strength, torsional resistance, and anti-movement performance (Wang et al. paragraph 0078).
Zeng et al. Annotated Fig. 7
Regarding claim 10, modified Chen discloses the battery top cover assembly of claim 9, and Chen et al. further discloses:
wherein flanges arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on an outer peripheral wall of the ring wall (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above, flange), and
the flanges are the first restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above);
depressions arranged continuously or at intervals are formed on an inner side wall of the ring wall covering portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above, depression), and
the depressions are the second restricting portion (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above); and
the flanges are embedded in the depressions (see Chen et al. Annotated Fig. 14 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 8 that Chen does not disclose the distinguishing technical features (1), “an inner peripheral wall of the positioning groove is arranged in contact with an outer peripheral wall of the conductive terminal structure,” but rather discloses that “the conductive terminal structure is positioned in the first sink portion 12 by means of radially outwardly protruding bumps”, it is the examiner’s position that Chen discloses the distinguishing technical features (1). The conductive terminal structure 20 includes the first connection portion 232 (see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above), the outer peripheral wall of which is arranged in contact with the inner peripheral wall of the first sink portion 12, which is consistent with the broadest reasonable interpretation of distinguishing technical features (1). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Chen discloses the distinguishing technical features (1), and the rejection of amended claim 6 over Chen in view of Knoedler, Deng, and Yang is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pages 8-9 that none of the references disclose the distinguishing technical features (2), “a ring wall formed on a top surface of the ring bottom, and a riveting body is formed at the top of the ring wall” in an integrally combined one-piece terminal fixture, the prior Office Action relied upon Chen to disclose these limitations. Chen discloses a second fixing component ([0093] and see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above) that comprises a ring wall (see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above, transition portion 231) formed on a top surface of the ring bottom (see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above, first connection portion 232), and a riveting body (see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above, second connecting portion 233) is formed at the top of the ring wall. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Chen discloses the distinguishing technical features (2), and the rejection of amended claim 6 over Chen in view of Knoedler, Deng, and Yang is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s argument on page 9 that none of the references disclose the distinguishing technical features (3), a plurality of protrusions are formed on an inner wall of the terminal fixing cavity, a plurality of recesses are formed on an outer wall of the insulator, and the protrusions are correspondingly embedded in the recesses, the prior Office Action relied upon Chen to disclose these limitations (see Chen Annotated Fig. 13 above, protrusions and recesses). Applicant argues that based on distinguishing technical features (3), the terminal fixing cavity and the insulator are arranged in concave-convex fit, however, these limitations are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive because of the reasons set forth above, and the rejection of amended claim 6 over Chen in view of Knoedler, Deng, and Yang is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 16 June 2026