Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The grounds of rejection have been modified from the previous Non-Final Office Action. The present Final Office Action instead relies on Yan’s hardware implementation teaching that the same de-precoding and GMD modules may reside in any suitable node such an access node 104 ¶[0040] and that such modules may be implemented in hardware or software ¶[0074], thereby rending the processing role agnostic between an access point and a receiving device.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C §103 rejection for claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0088404 A 1 (hereinafter "Shafin") in view of WO 2023/064529 A 1 (hereinafter "Yan"), Applicant contends that Yan teaches performing the geometric mean decomposition (GMD) only at the receiving device and not at the access point (AP), and therefore does not disclose the limitations of converting and obtaining channel state information (CSI) at the AP as cited in independent claim 1.
Yan teaches a channel estimation and decomposition framework where GMD is used to derive a geometric representation of the wireless channel (Yan ¶[0049]-¶[0052], ¶[0080]-¶[0086], Fig. 8). While Yan illustrates one embodiment in which a receiving device performs the GMD, the disclosure is not limited to that role. Yan expressly defines “access node 104” as a wireless access point (¶[0028]) and states that MIMO-OFDM communication “established between any suitable nodes ... such as ... access points (e.g., 104 or 114)” (¶[0033]). This makes clear that both APs and station can perform the same MIMO-OFDM communication depending on link direction. Furthermore, Yan’s hardware implementation describes an apparatus 700 “may be an example of any suitable node of wireless network 100 in FIG.1, such as user equipment 102 or access node 104 ”(¶[0070]).
With the GMD optimization pipeline implemented in hardware or software in that node (¶[0074]). Thus, the same de-precoding and GMD modules may reside in an AP, meaning the GMD processing in not confined to a receiver but is a selectable functional configuration for either side of the link. Additionally, Yan’s Fig. 8 method 800 (¶[0076]-¶[0081]) reinforces this flexibility by showing a device receiving sounding signals, performing GMD to obtain precoding matrices and transmitting those matrices to the other node. Since Yan allows the receiving device to be an “access node 104”, the AP can perform GMD when it receives sounding from a station, and then use that geometric representation to control the next transmissions. In time-division duplex (TDD) and NR systems, APs commonly alternate roles as transmitter and receiver across frames. Finally, Yan’s summary in ¶[0004]-¶[0006] further supports this reading, explaining that the goal of GMD is so determine optimal precoding matrices and “to transmit the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers to a transmitting device” (¶[0005]). The geometric representation is thus intended to govern transmitted precoding, regardless of which node computes it.
Shafin supplies the AP-controlled sounding and CSI management framework (¶[0032]-¶[0040]) and for claim 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14, 17-18 which are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Yan and in further view of Tsai (US 20220368379A1 (hereinafter "Tsai")), Tsai provides explicit motivation for multi-link channel calibration and inference using matrix based transformation (¶[0045]-¶[0052]). Given Yan’s agnostic architecture, the combined teachings suggest performing the GMD-based conversion and subsequent CSI obtaining at the AP.
Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Yan and claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Yan and further in view of Tsai, are maintained.
In view of the amendments made, the objections to claim 20 are no longer applicable. Accordingly, the objections are withdrawn, while the substantive rejections are maintained as stated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, 1-13, 15-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin et al. (US 20230088404 A1)(hereinafter Shafin) in view of Yan et. al. (WO 2023064529 A1)(hereinafter Yan).
Regarding Claim 1, Shafin discloses a method for characterizing propagation paths of a plurality of radio frequency (RF) links including a first RF link (Fig. 5 AP1 link1) and a second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2), the method comprising: sounding the first RF link with a sounding signal (Fig. 3 (EHT Sounding NDP)) transmitted from an access point (AP) to a station (Fig. 5 AP 1 -> STA1 link1. ¶[0064]: MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation); obtaining first channel state information for the first RF link from the station having a receiver receiving the sounding signal (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), the first channel state information characterizing propagation over the first RF link to the receiver (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration)
Shafin does not disclose converting the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links and obtaining second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation.
Yan discloses converting at the AP (¶[0033]: MIMO-OFDM communication can be established between any suitable nodes in wireless network 100, such as between user equipments (e.g., 102, 110, or 112) or access points (e.g., 104 or 114), for sending and receiving data through a MIMO channel. In ¶[0033], MIMO-OFDM communication may be established between nodes and access points. ¶[0070]: MIMO- OFDM communication may be implemented either in software or hardware. … an exemplary apparatus 700 including a host chip, an RF chip, and a baseband chip implementing the GMD optimization scheme … Apparatus 700 may be an example of any suitable node of wireless network 100 in FIG.1, such as user equipment 102 or access node 104. As shown in FIGs.7A and 7B, apparatus 700 may include an RF chip 702, a baseband chip 704 (baseband chip 704A in FIG.7A or baseband chip 704B in FIG.7B). In ¶[0070], the hardware implementation of apparatus 700 which has the baseband chip that implements the GMD optimization scheme can be an access node. ¶[0074]: the GMD optimization schemes disclosed herein may be implemented in a hybrid manner, e.g., in both hardware and software. For example, some elements in de-precoding module 422 may be implemented as a software module executed by baseband processor 720, while some elements in de-precoding module 422 may be implemented as circuits. In ¶[0074], the GMD optimization pipeline implemented in hardware or software in that node. Thus, the same de-precoding and GMD modules can reside in an AP, meaning the GMD processing in not confined to a receiver but is a selectable functional configuration for either side of the link) the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links (¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD. ¶[0077]: processor 202 may perform GMD to decompose the channel matrix H(k) into a set of candidate precoding matrices of the k-th subcarrier and also determine a set of candidate precoded channel matrices of the k-th subcarrier based on the channel matrix H(k) and the set of candidate precoding matrices ¶[0013]: FIG.6A illustrates an exemplary sequential geometric mean decomposition (GMD) optimization scheme. Fig. 8 804. The first link is sub-carrier k explicitly sounded in which channel matrix H(k) is extracted for GMD); and obtaining at the AP (¶[0033]: MIMO-OFDM communication can be established between any suitable nodes in wireless network 100, such as between user equipments (e.g., 102, 110, or 112) or access points (e.g., 104 or 114), for sending and receiving data through a MIMO channel. In ¶[0033], MIMO-OFDM communication may be established between nodes and access points. ¶[0070]: MIMO- OFDM communication may be implemented either in software or hardware. … an exemplary apparatus 700 including a host chip, an RF chip, and a baseband chip implementing the GMD optimization scheme … Apparatus 700 may be an example of any suitable node of wireless network 100 in FIG.1, such as user equipment 102 or access node 104. As shown in FIGs.7A and 7B, apparatus 700 may include an RF chip 702, a baseband chip 704 (baseband chip 704A in FIG.7A or baseband chip 704B in FIG.7B). In ¶[0070], the hardware implementation of apparatus 700 which has the baseband chip that implements the GMD optimization scheme can be an access node. ¶[0074]: the GMD optimization schemes disclosed herein may be implemented in a hybrid manner, e.g., in both hardware and software. For example, some elements in de-precoding module 422 may be implemented as a software module executed by baseband processor 720, while some elements in de-precoding module 422 may be implemented as circuits. In ¶[0074], the GMD optimization pipeline implemented in hardware or software in that node. Thus, the same de-precoding and GMD modules can reside in an AP, meaning the GMD processing may be at a receiver and also a selectable functional configuration for either side of the link) second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation (¶[0029]: perform GMD to decompose each channel matrix H of a respective subcarrier to obtain a set of candidate precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier. ¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD and determine the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers based on a cost function that minimizes the variations of the precoding matrices and/or the variations of the precoded channel matrices between the subcarriers. The receiving device can then feedback the optimal precoded channel matrices to the transmitting device.¶[0062]: cost function 514 is constructed based on every two adjacent subcarriers (e.g., the k-th subcarrier and the k+1-th subcarrier) of K subcarriers. In ¶[0029], it explicitly discloses GMD is used to obtain the precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier or the second link. In ¶[0033], for a different subcarrier or second link, the node uses derived geometric bases and derives the optimal precoder or CSI of that second link from the basis/shared geometry. In ¶[0062], subcarrier k+1 is the second link, in which H(k+1) is derived from GMD from subcarrier k).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 2, Shafin does not disclose wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the first channel state information.
Yan discloses wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the first channel state information (Fig. 8 804,¶[0077]: processor 202 may perform GMD to decompose the channel matrix H(k) into a set of candidate precoding matrices. Fig 8 808-810. ¶[0079]: Method 800 proceeds to operation 808, as illustrated in FIG.8, in which an optimal precoding matrix of each of the subcarriers is determined from the respective set of candidate precoding matrices based on the cost function. In some embodiments, to determine the optimal precoding matrix, the at least one of the first variations or the second variations are calculated, and the cost function is minimized, such that a sum of the at least one of the first variations or the second variations is minimized. ¶[0080]: transmit the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers to transmitting device 310 during channel sounding. In ¶[0077], geometric mean decomposition (GMD) is a transform applied to raw CSI and the result are compressed representation, as in they carry far fewer parameters. In ¶[0079]-¶[0080], only quantized precoder matrices are fed back, which is the compressed CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis, further with first CSI in a compressed form. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shafin discloses wherein the sounding signal is a multi-tone signal (¶[0065]: MU CQI feedback of FIG. 4, SU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT NDPA followed by an EHT NDP transmitted by an AP MLD with a SIFS separation. ¶[0066]: For MLDs, CQI sounding through a sounding NDP follows the same constraints of the link pair constraints. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “multitone” is interpreted as multi carrier. In OFDM systems, every tone or subcarrier is a discrete narrowband frequencies such as the OFDM-based NDP).
Regarding Claim 6, Shafin discloses wherein sounding the first RF link includes sending a null packet data announcement frame (NDPA) (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), a null data packet frame (NDP) to the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), and receiving a beamforming report from the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration).
Regarding Claim 8, Shafin discloses a system for characterizing wireless propagation paths of a plurality of radio frequency (RF) links, the system comprising: an access point having multiple transmitters and receivers (¶[0046]: The AP MLD 101 is affiliated with multiple APs 202a-202n (which may be referred to, for example, as AP1-APn). Each of the affiliated APs 202a-202n includes multiple antennas 204a-204n, multiple RF transceivers 209a-209n) wherein the plurality of RF links, including a first RF link (Fig. 5 AP1 link1) and a second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2), is available between the access point and a station having multiple transmitters and multiple receivers ( ); wherein the access point is configured to: sound the first RF link with a sounding signal (Fig. 3 (EHT Sounding NDP)). ¶[0064]: MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation); obtain first channel state information for the first RF link from the station (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration) the first channel state information characterizing propagation over the first RF link to one receiver of the multiple receivers of the station (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration).
Shafin does not disclose convert the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links; and obtain second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation.
Yan discloses convert the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links (¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD. ¶[0033]: The receiving device can then feedback the optimal precoded channel matrices to the transmitting device to allow the transmitting device to perform channel precoding based on the optimal precoding matrices. ¶[0013]: FIG.6A illustrates an exemplary sequential geometric mean decomposition (GMD) optimization scheme. Fig. 8 804. The first link is sub-carrier k explicitly sounded in which channel matrix H(k) is extracted for GMD); and obtain second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation (¶[0029]: perform GMD to decompose each channel matrix H of a respective subcarrier to obtain a set of candidate precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier. ¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD and determine the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers based on a cost function that minimizes the variations of the precoding matrices and/or the variations of the precoded channel matrices between the subcarriers. The receiving device can then feedback the optimal precoded channel matrices to the transmitting device.¶[0062]: cost function 514 is constructed based on every two adjacent subcarriers (e.g., the k-th subcarrier and the k+1-th subcarrier) of K subcarriers. In ¶[0029], it explicitly discloses GMD is used to obtain the precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier or the second link. In ¶[0033], for a different subcarrier or second link, the node uses derived geometric bases and derives the optimal precoder or CSI of that second link from the basis/shared geometry. In ¶[0062], subcarrier k+1 is the second link, in which H(k+1) is derived from GMD from subcarrier k).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 9, Shafin does not disclose wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the first channel state information.
Yan discloses wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form Fig. 8 804,¶[0077]: processor 202 may perform GMD to decompose the channel matrix H(k) into a set of candidate precoding matrices. Fig 8 808-810. ¶[0079]: Method 800 proceeds to operation 808, as illustrated in FIG.8, in which an optimal precoding matrix of each of the subcarriers is determined from the respective set of candidate precoding matrices based on the cost function. In some embodiments, to determine the optimal precoding matrix, the at least one of the first variations or the second variations are calculated, and the cost function is minimized, such that a sum of the at least one of the first variations or the second variations is minimized. ¶[0080]: transmit the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers to transmitting device 310 during channel sounding. In ¶[0077], geometric mean decomposition (GMD) is a transform applied to raw CSI and the result are compressed representation, as in they carry far fewer parameters. In ¶[0079]-¶[0080], only quantized precoder matrices are fed back, which is the compressed CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis, further with first CSI in a compressed form. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 12, Shafin discloses wherein the sounding signal is a multi-tone signal (¶[0065]: MU CQI feedback of FIG. 4, SU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT NDPA followed by an EHT NDP transmitted by an AP MLD with a SIFS separation. ¶[0066]: For MLDs, CQI sounding through a sounding NDP follows the same constraints of the link pair constraints. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “multitone” is interpreted as multi carrier. In OFDM systems, every tone or subcarrier is a discrete narrowband frequencies such as the OFDM-based NDP).
Regarding Claim 13, Shafin discloses wherein sounding the first RF link includes sending a null packet data announcement frame (NDPA) (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), a null data packet frame (NDP) to the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), and receiving a beamforming report from the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration).
Regarding Claim 15, Shafin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium encoding instructions (¶[0015]: computer readable program code and embodied in a computer readable medium), which, when executed by a processor of an access point coupled to a wireless medium (Fig. 2 Processor 224), cause the access point to characterize wireless propagation paths of a plurality of radio frequency channels including a first RF link (Fig. 5 AP1 link1) and a second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2) by: sounding the first RF link with a sounding signal (Fig. 3 (EHT Sounding NDP)) obtaining first channel state information for the first RF link from a station having a receiver receiving the sounding signal (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration) the first channel state information characterizing propagation over the first RF link to the receiver (¶[0064]: The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration).
Shafin does not disclose converting the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links; and obtaining second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation.
Yan discloses converting the first channel state information into a geometric representation that applies to the plurality of RF links (¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD. ¶[0077]: processor 202 may perform GMD to decompose the channel matrix H(k) into a set of candidate precoding matrices of the k-th subcarrier and also determine a set of candidate precoded channel matrices of the k-th subcarrier based on the channel matrix H(k) and the set of candidate precoding matrices ¶[0013]: FIG.6A illustrates an exemplary sequential geometric mean decomposition (GMD) optimization scheme. Fig. 8 804. The first link is sub-carrier k explicitly sounded in which channel matrix H(k) is extracted for GMD) and obtaining second channel state information for the second RF link based on the geometric representation (¶[0029]: perform GMD to decompose each channel matrix H of a respective subcarrier to obtain a set of candidate precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier. ¶[0033]: During channel sounding, the receiving device can derive candidate precoding matrices from channel matrices of multiple subcarriers using GMD and determine the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers based on a cost function that minimizes the variations of the precoding matrices and/or the variations of the precoded channel matrices between the subcarriers. The receiving device can then feedback the optimal precoded channel matrices to the transmitting device.¶[0062]: cost function 514 is constructed based on every two adjacent subcarriers (e.g., the k-th subcarrier and the k+1-th subcarrier) of K subcarriers. In ¶[0029], it explicitly discloses GMD is used to obtain the precoding matrices of the respective subcarrier or the second link. In ¶[0033], for a different subcarrier or second link, the node uses derived geometric bases and derives the optimal precoder or CSI of that second link from the basis/shared geometry. In ¶[0062], subcarrier k+1 is the second link, in which H(k+1) is derived from GMD from subcarrier k).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 16, Shafin does not disclose wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the first channel state information.
Yan discloses wherein the first channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the first channel state information (Fig. 8 804,¶[0077]: processor 202 may perform GMD to decompose the channel matrix H(k) into a set of candidate precoding matrices. Fig 8 808-810. ¶[0079]: Method 800 proceeds to operation 808, as illustrated in FIG.8, in which an optimal precoding matrix of each of the subcarriers is determined from the respective set of candidate precoding matrices based on the cost function. In some embodiments, to determine the optimal precoding matrix, the at least one of the first variations or the second variations are calculated, and the cost function is minimized, such that a sum of the at least one of the first variations or the second variations is minimized. ¶[0080]: transmit the optimal precoding matrices of the subcarriers to transmitting device 310 during channel sounding. In ¶[0077], geometric mean decomposition (GMD) is a transform applied to raw CSI and the result are compressed representation, as in they carry far fewer parameters. In ¶[0079]-¶[0080], only quantized precoder matrices are fed back, which is the compressed CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and prediction technique to the snapshot so that CSI for the other link can be derived from the shared geometric basis, further with first CSI in a compressed form. The motivation would have been to “enable the receiving device to continuously use various filtering, smoothing, and de-noise techniques to improve channel estimate quality” (Yan ¶[0026]) and to “ improve performance and increase spectral efficiency” (Yan ¶[0047]).
Regarding Claim 19, Shafin discloses wherein the sounding signal is a multi-tone signal (¶[0065]: MU CQI feedback of FIG. 4, SU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT NDPA followed by an EHT NDP transmitted by an AP MLD with a SIFS separation. ¶[0066]: For MLDs, CQI sounding through a sounding NDP follows the same constraints of the link pair constraints. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “multitone” is interpreted as multi carrier. In OFDM systems, every tone or subcarrier is a discrete narrowband frequencies such as the OFDM-based NDP).
Regarding Claim 20, Shafin discloses wherein sounding the first RF link includes sending a null packet data announcement frame (NDPA) (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), a null data packet frame (NDP) to the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration), and receiving a beamforming report from the station (Fig. 3. ¶[0064]: FIG. 3 illustrates an example timing diagram for MU CQI feedback according to embodiments of the present disclosure. MU CQI feedback is defined using an EHT null data packet announcement (NDPA) followed by an EHT null data packet (NDP) transmitted by an AP MLD (e.g., a beamformer) with a short inter-frame space (SIFS) separation. The EHT NDP is followed by a beamforming report poll (BRP or BFRP) after a SIFS duration, and STAs (e.g., beamformees) report CQI in EHT after a SIFS duration).
Claims 3-4, 7, 10-11, 14, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafin in view of Yan and in further view of Tsai (US 20220368379 A1)(hereinafter Tsai).
Regarding Claim 3, Shafin discloses wherein obtaining second channel state information for the second RF link includes: sounding the second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2 EHT Sounding NDP).
Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose in response to sounding the second RF link, receiving, from the station, delta channel state information, the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station; and combining the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information.
Tsai discloses in response to sounding the second RF link, receiving, from the station, delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI. Additionally, in ¶[0066], a POSITA understands that each “set of measurements” in NR/Wi-Fi necessarily follows a fresh sounding occasion, otherwise CSI cannot be obtained) the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station; (¶[0067]: the UE 704 and the base station 702 share a prediction model that estimates the values of the CSI parameters. In ¶[0067], the prediction model formula shows that what the UE forwards after the first report are residual updates that corrects the model. ¶[0057]: In some circumstances, two or more subordinate entities (e.g., UEs) may communicate with each other using sidelink signals. ¶[0057]: a sidelink signal may refer to a signal communicated from one subordinate entity (e.g., UE1) to another subordinate entity (e.g., UE2) without relaying that communication through the scheduling entity. When ¶[0057] and ¶[0066]-[0067] are read together, subsequent measurements at t2 and t3 may pertain to a second RF link sidelinked with the UE) and combining the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information (Eq. 1 (pg.7). ¶[0069]: the precoding matrix W can be written as W=W1×W2. ¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1 x W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis and W2 is a subband precoder representing further basis down-selection and/or co-phasing. In ¶[0062], W1 is the wideband/common-basis precoder, which is the geometric representation and W2 is the subband precoder that has the residual/differential values relative to the wideband basis. The matrix [B B ] in Eq. 1 is the geometric representation common to all links and the vector of coefficients
→
w
(W2) is the delta CSI that varies. Multiplying W1 and W2 (in ¶[0069]) reconstructs Wr,f or the second link per-subband CSI thereby combining the delta CSI and the geometric representation to obtain the second CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further with the teaching of Tsai, which supplements this by feeding an entire second link CSI matrix, the UE return only a delta CSI that represents the difference from prior CSI basis. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 4, Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the delta channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the delta channel state information.
Tsai discloses wherein the delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI) is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the delta channel state information (¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis, and W2 is a subband precoder. ¶[0064]: In order to reduce feedback overhead for Type-II codebook, another “enhanced Type-II codebook” was introduced by compressing the CSI report in frequency domain. ¶[0064]: M delay taps (or FD components) are used in the approximation. The subband or differential W2 in ¶[0062] is first mapped into a transform basis or delay taps/FD components in [0064]. In ¶[0064], the UE feeds back only those transform-domain coefficients instead of every subband element which becomes compressed. The equations in ¶[0064] (pg. 7) applies the transform to the delta CSI vector W2(f) and transmit the compressed coefficient set M taps instead of the full N3 values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further by incorporating Tsai’s transform-domain compression of the differential/delta CSI instead of returning the whole per-subband CSI. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 7, Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the first RF link has a wider bandwidth than the second RF link.
Tsai discloses wherein the first RF link has a wider bandwidth than the second RF link (¶[0062]: the UE reports a PMI that represents a linear combination of multiple beams. Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis, and W2 is a subband precoder representing further basis down-selection. ¶[0063]: B=[b1 . . . bi . . . bbl.]. L is the number of basis beams 742 per polarization; each bi is a spatial beam selected in a wideband fashion per polarization, where 1≤i≤L. In total, 2L spatial beams are selected for two polarization. r is the spatial layer index, 1≤r≤R; f is a frequency index (e.g., the subband index or PRB index), 1≤f≤Ftotal, where Ftotal is the total number of frequency units (sub-bands, PRBs etc.) over which the CSI feedback is applicable. In ¶[0063], W1 is the wideband and W1 as frequency-dependent, valid only for each subband f. The first set of CSI (W1) spans the entire bandwidth while the finer W2 is confined to a narrower subband. ¶[0062] explicitly ties two layers of CSI to W1 and W2, with the first CSI corresponding to W1, the basis, and second/delta CSI corresponding to W2 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further by incorporating Tsai’s wider first RF link than the second RF link. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 10, Shafin discloses wherein the access point being configured to obtain the second channel state information for the second RF link includes being configured to: sound the second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2 EHT Sounding NDP).
Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose in response to sounding the second RF link, receive from the station delta channel state information, the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station; and combine the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information.
Tsai discloses in response to sounding the second RF link, receive from the station delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI. Additionally, in ¶[0066], a POSITA understands that each “set of measurements” in NR/Wi-Fi necessarily follows a fresh sounding occasion, otherwise CSI cannot be obtained), the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station (¶[0067]: the UE 704 and the base station 702 share a prediction model that estimates the values of the CSI parameters. In ¶[0067], the prediction model formula shows that what the UE forwards after the first report are residual updates that corrects the model. ¶[0057]: In some circumstances, two or more subordinate entities (e.g., UEs) may communicate with each other using sidelink signals. ¶[0057]: a sidelink signal may refer to a signal communicated from one subordinate entity (e.g., UE1) to another subordinate entity (e.g., UE2) without relaying that communication through the scheduling entity. When ¶[0057] and ¶[0066]-[0067] are read together, subsequent measurements at t2 and t3 may pertain to a second RF link sidelinked with the UE); and combine the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information (Eq. 1 (pg.7). ¶[0069]: the precoding matrix W can be written as W=W1×W2. ¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1 x W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis and W2 is a subband precoder representing further basis down-selection and/or co-phasing. In ¶[0062], W1 is the wideband/common-basis precoder, which is the geometric representation and W2 is the subband precoder that has the residual/differential values relative to the wideband basis. The matrix [B B ] in Eq. 1 is the geometric representation common to all links and the vector of coefficients
→
w
(W2) is the delta CSI that varies. Multiplying W1 and W2 (in ¶[0069]) reconstructs Wr,f or the second link per-subband CSI thereby combining the delta CSI and the geometric representation to obtain the second CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further with the teaching of Tsai, which supplements this by feeding an entire second link CSI matrix, the UE return only a delta CSI that represents the difference from prior CSI basis. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 11, Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the delta channel state information is in a compressed form.
Tsai discloses wherein the delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI) is in a compressed form (¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis, and W2 is a subband precoder. ¶[0064]: In order to reduce feedback overhead for Type-II codebook, another “enhanced Type-II codebook” was introduced by compressing the CSI report in frequency domain. ¶[0064]: M delay taps (or FD components) are used in the approximation. The subband or differential W2 in ¶[0062] is first mapped into a transform basis or delay taps/FD components in [0064]. In ¶[0064], the UE feeds back only those transform-domain coefficients instead of every subband element which becomes compressed. The equations in ¶[0064] (pg. 7) applies the transform to the delta CSI vector W2(f) and transmit the compressed coefficient set M taps instead of the full N3 values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further by incorporating Tsai’s transform-domain compression of the differential/delta CSI instead of returning the whole per-subband CSI. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 14, Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the first RF link has a wider bandwidth than the second RF link.
Tsai discloses wherein the first RF link has a wider bandwidth than the second RF link (¶[0062]: the UE reports a PMI that represents a linear combination of multiple beams. Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis, and W2 is a subband precoder representing further basis down-selection. ¶[0063]: B=[b1 . . . bi . . . bL]. L is the number of basis beams 742 per polarization; each bi is a spatial beam selected in a wideband fashion per polarization, where 1≤i≤L. In total, 2L spatial beams are selected for two polarization. r is the spatial layer index, 1≤r≤R; f is a frequency index (e.g., the subband index or PRB index), 1≤f≤Ftotal, where Ftotal is the total number of frequency units (sub-bands, PRBs etc.) over which the CSI feedback is applicable. In ¶[0063], W1 is the wideband and W1 as frequency-dependent, valid only for each subband f. The first set of CSI (W1) spans the entire bandwidth while the finer W2 is confined to a narrower subband. ¶[0062] explicitly ties two layers of CSI to W1 and W2, with the first CSI corresponding to W1, the basis, and second/delta CSI corresponding to W2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further by incorporating Tsai’s wider first RF link than the second RF link. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 17, Shafin discloses wherein the instructions further cause: sounding the second RF link (Fig. 5 AP2 link2 EHT Sounding NDP).
Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose in response to sounding the second RF link receiving from the station delta channel state information, the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station; and combining the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information.
Tsai discloses in response to sounding the second RF link receiving from the station delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI. Additionally, in ¶[0066], a POSITA understands that each “set of measurements” in NR/Wi-Fi necessarily follows a fresh sounding occasion, otherwise CSI cannot be obtained), the delta channel state information being a difference between the first channel state information and the second channel state information at the station; ((¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI. Additionally, in ¶[0066], a POSITA understands that each “set of measurements” in NR/Wi-Fi necessarily follows a fresh sounding occasion, otherwise CSI cannot be obtained) and combining the delta channel state information and the geometric representation to obtain the second channel state information (Eq. 1 (pg.7). ¶[0069]: the precoding matrix W can be written as W=W1×W2. ¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1 x W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis and W2 is a subband precoder representing further basis down-selection and/or co-phasing. In ¶[0062], W1 is the wideband/common-basis precoder, which is the geometric representation and W2 is the subband precoder that has the residual/differential values relative to the wideband basis. The matrix [B B ] in Eq. 1 is the geometric representation common to all links and the vector of coefficients
→
w
(W2) is the delta CSI that varies. Multiplying W1 and W2 (in ¶[0069]) reconstructs Wr,f or the second link per-subband CSI thereby combining the delta CSI and the geometric representation to obtain the second CSI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further with the teaching of Tsai, which supplements this by feeding an entire second link CSI matrix, the UE return only a delta CSI that represents the difference from prior CSI basis. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Regarding Claim 18, Shafin in view of Yan does not disclose wherein the delta channel state information is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the delta channel state information.
Tsai discloses wherein the delta channel state information (¶[0066]: the UE 704 perform a set of CSI measurements and then generate a full CSI report A based on the measurements. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a second set of measurements at a time point t2 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report B. ¶[0066]: the UE 704 performs a third set of measurements at a time point t3 and may send a corresponding differential CSI report C. In ¶[0066], full CSI report A is distinguished from differential CSI report B, C, each representing only the change since the prior report. The examiner has broadly interpreted “Delta CSI” as exactly the difference between newly measured CSI and the geometry-based prediction that can be derived from the previously sent full CSI) is in a compressed form by applying a transform to the delta channel state information(¶[0062]: Both Type I CSI and Type II CSI employ a dual-stage W=W1W2 codebook, where W1 is a wideband precoder representing selected spatial vector basis, and W2 is a subband precoder. ¶[0064]: In order to reduce feedback overhead for Type-II codebook, another “enhanced Type-II codebook” was introduced by compressing the CSI report in frequency domain. ¶[0064]: M delay taps (or FD components) are used in the approximation. The subband or differential W2 in ¶[0062] is first mapped into a transform basis or delay taps/FD components in [0064]. In ¶[0064], the UE feeds back only those transform-domain coefficients instead of every subband element which becomes compressed. The equations in ¶[0064] (pg. 7) applies the transform to the delta CSI vector W2(f) and transmit the compressed coefficient set M taps instead of the full N3 values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shafin’s system where it initiates sounding an AP device over a given link to measure the channel characteristics and apply Yan’s geometry based conversion and transform-based compression and extended further by incorporating Tsai’s transform-domain compression of the differential/delta CSI instead of returning the whole per-subband CSI. The motivation would have been to “achieving reliable and robust communication with high data rates in multi-antenna systems” (Tsai ¶[0058]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20210399771 A1, where it teaches an access point (AP) and its operation method for wireless communication that improves reliability and performing beamforming based on a generated beam steering matrix and power allocation matrix of multiple streams.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30AM-6PM EST.
/P.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2479
/JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479