Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11-12, 16-17, 21-22, and 26-27 have been amended. Claims 1-30 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the Applicant’s amendment to claims 6-8 and 16-17 to obviate the previous 112(b) rejection to claims 6-8 and 16-17. The previous 112(b) rejection to claims 6-8 and 16-17 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s Argument:
The Applicant argues in substance that Ohmann does not disclose at least “communicating via the second component carrier during the fourth time period based at least in part on a first frequency error correction, the first frequency error correction based at least in part on a second frequency error of the first component carrier subsequent to deactivation of the second component carrier.”
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ohmann teaches “communicating via the second component carrier during the fourth time period based at least in part on a first frequency error correction, the first frequency error correction based at least in part on a second frequency error of the first component carrier subsequent to deactivation of the second component carrier”. For example, Ohmann teaches the following series of steps in paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and Fig. 3:
The UE determines initial frequency offsets (FOs) for both CC0 and CC1 during t1 (when both CC0 and CC1 are active)
The UE calculates an initial FO delta (difference between FOs for CC0 and CC1)
Both CC0 and CC1 are deactivated
CC0 is activated during t2 and the UE determines an updated FO for CC0 (i.e. a second frequency error of the first component carrier subsequent to deactivation of the second component carrier)
The UE applies the initial FO delta to the updated FO for CC0 to obtain the updated FO for CC1 (i.e. the first frequency error correction based at least in part on a second frequency error of the first component carrier)
CC1 is activated and used for communication
By this rationale, Ohmann teaches the amended limitations. See updated rejection below.
Regarding all other arguments presented by the applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity, the examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the second frequency error correction of the first component carrier” in the second paragraph. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as there is no previous reference to “a second frequency error correction of the first component carrier” in claim 6 or claim 1. For the purposes of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as “a frequency error correction of the first component carrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Öhmann et al. (US 2023/0079512 A1, hereinafter “Öhmann”) in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0204262 A1, hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding Claim 1, Öhmann teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: communicating via a first component carrier during a first time period (Öhmann: In a time period t1, the UE measures, in an active state, a TRS 302 on CC0, see paragraph [0025] and annotated Fig. 3, below);
communicating via a second component carrier during a second time period that at least partially overlaps with the first time period (Öhmann: In a time period t1, the UE measures, in an active state … a TRS 304 on CC1, see paragraph [0025] and annotated Fig. 3, below);
deactivating the second component carrier during a third time period that is after the second time period and at least partially overlaps with the first time period (see annotated Fig. 3, below: “RF CC1 activity” shows CC1 enters “Deep sleep” mode during “Non-Active Time” in the third time period);
activating the second component carrier for communication during a fourth time period that is after the third time period (see annotated Fig. 3, below: “RF CC1 activity” shows CC1 enters “Active” mode during the fourth time period); and
communicating via the second component carrier during the fourth time period based at least in part on a first frequency error correction, the first frequency error correction based at least in part on a second frequency error of the first component carrier subsequent to deactivation of the second component carrier (Öhmann: In a time period t1, the UE measures ... a TRS 302 on CC0 and a TRS 304 on CC1. The UE determines a first FO [frequency offset] for the CC0 ... [and] a second FO for the CC1 ... Based on the first FO and the second FO, the UE determines an FO delta (i.e., difference) between the CC0 and the CC1 … During the non-Active Time of the DRX cycle in a time period t2 [i.e. “subsequent to deactivation of the second component carrier”], the UE wakes up and measures a TRS 306 for the CC0. Based on a TRS reception, the UE then determines an updated first FO for the CC0 [i.e. “a second frequency error of the first component carrier”] ... during the time period t2, the UE applies the FO delta determined during the time period t1 to update the second FO for the CC1 [i.e. “a first frequency error correction”], see paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and annotated Fig. 3, below: CC1 activity during fourth time period, subsequent to frequency error correction (“Apply FO delta”) during CC1 “Deep sleep” in third time period).
Öhmann does not explicitly teach, receiving a first indication to deactivate the second carrier, wherein the first indication is received a first downlink control information (DCI); and
receiving a second indication to activate the second carrier, wherein the second indication is received a second DCI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches, receiving a first indication to deactivate the second carrier, wherein the first indication is received a first downlink control information (DCI) (Xu: receiving, by a terminal, Downlink Control Information (DCI) ... and ... deactivating ... a component carrier corresponding to the DCI based on an indication of the DCI, see paragraph [0006]); and
receiving a second indication to activate the second carrier, wherein the second indication is received a second DCI (Xu: receiving, by a terminal, Downlink Control Information (DCI) ... and activating ... a component carrier corresponding to the DCI based on an indication of the DCI, see paragraph [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Öhmann to include the features as taught by Xu above in order to allow for reduced power consumption and efficient data transmission (Xu: see paragraph [0063]).
Regarding Claim 2, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency error correction is based at least in part on the second frequency error of the first component carrier determined during the third time period or the fourth time period (Öhmann: During the non-Active Time of the DRX cycle in a time period t2, the UE wakes up and measures a TRS 306 for the CC0. Based on a TRS reception, the UE then determines an updated first FO for the CC0 [i.e. “second frequency error of the first component carrier”] ... during the time period t2, the UE applies the FO delta determined during the time period t1 to update the second FO for the CC1, see paragraph [0026]),
based at least in part on satisfaction of one or more frequency error change metrics (Öhmann: If the CC is not an anchor CC, in block 506, the method 500 includes determining a minimum update interval Δtupd … In decision block 508, the method 500 includes comparing the minimum update interval Δtupd to a DRX cycle duration ΔtDrxCycle ... If Δtupd > ΔtDrxCycle, then in block 510 the method 500 includes calculating a time duration ΔtoppNextButOne from a last performed TRS reception to a possible TRS reception in the next but one NAT [non-Active Time] (i.e., the NAT after the next NAT) … In decision block 512, the method 500 includes comparing the time duration ΔtoppNextButOne to the minimum update interval Δtupd. If the ΔtoppNextButOne is greater than the minimum update interval Δtupd, then in block 514 the method 500 includes planning or scheduling an update of the frequency delta based on a TRS in the upcoming NAT, see paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the one or more frequency error change metrics comprise: satisfaction of a time duration threshold by the third time period (Öhmann: If the ΔtoppNextButOne is greater than the minimum update interval Δtupd, then in block 514 the method 500 includes planning or scheduling an update of the frequency delta based on a TRS in the upcoming NAT, see paragraph [0038] and Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the time duration threshold is based at least in part on: a communication protocol (Öhmann: FIG. 7 is a block diagram illustrating determination of a minimum update interval Δtupd according to one embodiment. In this example, dynamic parameters, semi-static parameters, and predefined parameters are provided to a process 702 to determine a minimum update interval for TO estimation, a process 704 to determine a minimum update interval for PDP estimation, and a process 706 to determine a minimum update interval for Doppler estimation (also covering FO estimation) … The semi-static parameters include a subcarrier spacing (SCS), a channel bandwidth (BW) and/or sampling rate, and a carrier frequency, see paragraph [0050]).
Regarding Claim 5, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency error correction is based at least in part on the second frequency error of the first component carrier based at least in part on: communications via the first component carrier and communications via the second component carrier using a same reception chain or transmission chain (Öhmann: The wireless device 1002 may be, for example, a UE of a wireless communication system, see paragraph [0084]; The wireless device 1002 may include one or more transceiver(s) 1010 that may include radio frequency (RF) transmitter and/or receiver circuitry that use the antenna(s) 1012 of the wireless device 1002 to facilitate signaling (e.g., the signaling 1032) to and/or from the wireless device 1002 with other devices, see paragraph [0087]).
Regarding Claim 6, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency error correction being based at least in part on the second frequency error of the first component carrier comprises: the first frequency error correction being substantially equal to the second frequency error correction of the first component carrier that is based at least in part on the frequency error of the first component carrier at an end of the third time period (Öhmann: During the non-Active Time of the DRX cycle in a time period t2 [i.e. “an end of the third time period”], the UE wakes up and measures a TRS 306 for the CC0. Based on a TRS reception, the UE then determines an updated first FO for the CC0 [i.e. “frequency error correction of the first component carrier that is based at least in part on the frequency error of the first component carrier”]... However, rather than waking up to measure a TRS for CC1 during the time period t2, the UE applies the FO delta determined during the time period t1 to update the second FO for the CC1 [i.e. “the first frequency error correction being substantially equal to a frequency error correction of the first component carrier”], see paragraph [0026] and annotated Fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 7, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency error correction being based at least in part on the second frequency error of the first component carrier comprises: the first frequency error correction being based at least in part on: a frequency error of the second component carrier at an end of the second time period, and a change in the second frequency error of the first component carrier during the third time period (Öhmann: In a time period t1 [i.e. “at an end of the second time period”] ... The UE determines a first FO [frequency offset] for the CC0 ... [and] a second FO for the CC1 [i.e. “a frequency error of the second component carrier”] ... Based on the first FO and the second FO, the UE determines an FO delta (i.e., difference) between the CC0 and the CC1. During the non-Active Time of the DRX cycle in a time period t2 [i.e. “during the third time period”], the UE wakes up and measures a TRS 306 for the CC0. Based on a TRS reception, the UE then determines an updated first FO for the CC0 [i.e. “change in the second frequency error of the first component carrier”] ... during the time period t2, the UE applies the FO delta determined during the time period t1 to update the second FO for the CC1 [i.e. “the first frequency error correction”], see paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and annotated Fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 8, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, the first frequency error correction being based at least in part on the second frequency error of the first component carrier comprises: the first frequency error correction being based at least in part on: the frequency error of the first component carrier at an end of the third time period, and a difference between a frequency error of the second component carrier and a frequency error of the first component carrier during the second time period (Öhmann: In a time period t1 [i.e. “during the second time period”] ... the UE determines a first FO for the CC0 ... Similarly, the UE determines a second FO for the CC1 ... Based on the first FO and the second FO, the UE determines an FO delta (i.e., difference) between the CC0 and the CC1 [i.e. “a difference between a frequency error of the second component carrier and a frequency error of the first component carrier”] … During the non-Active Time of the DRX cycle in a time period t2 [i.e. “at an end of the third time period”], the UE wakes up and measures a TRS 306 for the CC0. Based on a TRS reception, the UE then determines an updated first FO for the CC0 [i.e. “the frequency error of the first component carrier”] ... during the time period t2, the UE applies the FO delta determined during the time period t1 to update the second FO for the CC1 [i.e. “first frequency error correction”], see paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and annotated Fig. 3, above).
Regarding Claim 9, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu further teaches, wherein the second component carrier comprises a secondary component carrier (Xu: the activated or deactivated component carrier may be a secondary carrier, see paragraph [0038]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Xu is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Öhmann-Xu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein communication via the second component carrier during the fourth time period comprises: transmitting a communication using the first frequency error correction, or receiving a communication using the first frequency error correction (Öhmann: see annotated Fig. 3, above: “RF CC1 activity” during fourth time period).
Regarding Claim 11, Öhmann teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (Öhmann: FIG. 10 illustrates a system 1000 for performing signaling 1032 between a wireless device 1002 and a network device 1018, according to embodiments disclosed herein ... The wireless device 1002 may be, for example, a UE of a wireless communication system, see paragraph [0084]; The wireless device 1002 may include a memory 1006, see paragraph [0086]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Öhmann: The wireless device 1002 may include one or more processor(s) 1004 … The memory 1006 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions 1008 (which may include, for example, the instructions being executed by the processor(s) 1004), see paragraphs [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding all other limitations of Claim 11, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 1, and claim 11 is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 12-20, the limitations of claims 12-20 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 2-10, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 21, Öhmann teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (Öhmann: The wireless device 1002 may include a memory 1006. The memory 1006 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores instructions 1008 (which may include, for example, the instructions being executed by the processor(s) 1004)... The processor(s) 1004 may execute instructions such that various operations of the wireless device 1002 are performed, as described herein, see paragraphs [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding all other limitations of Claim 21, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 1, and claim 21 is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 22-23, the limitations of claims 22-23 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 2-3, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 24-25, the limitations of claims 24-25 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 5-6, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 26, Öhmann teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: means for communicating via a first component carrier during a first time period (Öhmann: The wireless device 1002 may include one or more transceiver(s) 1010 that may include radio frequency (RF) transmitter and/or receiver circuitry that use the antenna(s) 1012 of the wireless device 1002 to facilitate signaling (e.g., the signaling 1032) to and/or from the wireless device 1002 with other devices, see paragraph [0087]; In a time period t1, the UE measures, in an active state, a TRS 302 on CC0, see paragraph [0025] and annotated Fig. 3, above);
means for communicating via a second component carrier during a second time period that at least partially overlaps with the first time period (Öhmann: The wireless device 1002 may include one or more transceiver(s) 1010 that may include radio frequency (RF) transmitter and/or receiver circuitry that use the antenna(s) 1012 of the wireless device 1002 to facilitate signaling (e.g., the signaling 1032) to and/or from the wireless device 1002 with other devices, see paragraph [0087]; In a time period t1, the UE measures, in an active state … a TRS 304 on CC1, see paragraph [0025] and annotated Fig. 3, above).
Regarding all other limitations of Claim 26, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 1, and claim 26 is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 27-28, the limitations of claims 27-28 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 2-3, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claims 29-30, the limitations of claims 29-30 are substantially the same as the limitations of claims 5-6, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416