DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on December 22, 2025. Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 filed on December 22, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement submitted on October 2, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on December 22, 2025. These amendments to the title are NOT accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0165847 A1), in view of Ren et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0329305 A1), and Park et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0109626 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach a user equipment (UE) (Fig(s).6, 19 @ 1920, and 20) comprising:
a transceiver (Fig(s).19 @ 1923 and 20 @ 2035) configured to:
receive, from a base station (Fig.6), configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig.6 @ S610), and
receive, from the base station, (ii) a CSI-reference signal (RS) (Fig.6 @ S621); and
a processor (Fig(s).19 @ 1921 and 20 @ 2010) operably coupled to the transceiver (Fig(s).19 @ 1923 and 20 @ 2035),
the processor (Fig(s).19 @ 1921 and 20 @ 2010) configured to identify the predicted PMI based on the CSI-RS (read as “Regarding the CQI, the PMI, the CRI, the SSBRI, the LI, the RI, and the L1-RSRP, the UE may be configured with N≥1 CSI-ReportConfig reporting setting, M≥1 CSI-ResourceConfig resource setting, and a list of one or two trigger states (provided by aperiodicTriggerStateList and semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) by a higher layer.”(Paragraph [0223])),
wherein the transceiver (Fig(s).19 @ 1923 and 20 @ 2035) is further configured to transmit, to the base station in an uplink slot, the CSI report including the predicted PMI (read as “The CSI information fed back from the UE in the LTE system includes channel quality information (CQI), a precoding matrix index (PMI), and a rank indicator (RI).”(Fig.6 @ S630; Paragraph [0108])), and
However, Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler,
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report, and
wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Ren et al. teach a method wherein the configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler (read as Doppler codebook (Paragraph [0159]); For example, “the terminal device feeds back, to the network device, channel information obtained through processing of a codebook, where the codebook is a codebook based on a time domain dimension, and the channel information obtained through processing or projection of the codebook represents the one or more pieces of predicted channel information.”(Paragraph [0159])),
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report (read as channel information (Paragraph [0159])), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of enhancing the formatting of CSI reports exchanged by devices in a communication network.
However, Kim et al. and Ren et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Park et al. teach a method wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.(read as “the UE performs the SP CSI report in the PUCCH applied starting from slot n+[(3N)]_slot^(subframe,μ)+1 …” (Paragraph [0364]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning starting slot of a PUCCH to send a CSI report as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 9, teach a base station (BS) (Fig(s).6, 19 @ 1910, and 20) comprising:
a processor (Fig(s).19 @ 1911 and 20 @ 2010);
a transceiver (Fig(s).19 @ 1913 and 20 @ 2035) operably coupled to the processor (Fig(s).19 @ 1911 and 20 @ 2010), the transceiver (Fig(s).19 @ 1913 and 20 @ 2035) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig.6 @ S610), and
transmit, to the UE, a CSI-reference signal (RS) (Fig.6 @ S621),
wherein the predicted PMI based on the CSI-RS (read as “Regarding the CQI, the PMI, the CRI, the SSBRI, the LI, the RI, and the L1-RSRP, the UE may be configured with N≥1 CSI-ReportConfig reporting setting, M≥1 CSI-ResourceConfig resource setting, and a list of one or two trigger states (provided by aperiodicTriggerStateList and semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) by a higher layer.”(Paragraph [0223])),
receive, from the UE in an uplink slot, the CSI report including the predicted PMI (Fig.6 @ S630), and
However, Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler,
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report,
wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Ren et al. teach a method wherein the configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler (read as Doppler codebook (Paragraph [0159]); For example, “the terminal device feeds back, to the network device, channel information obtained through processing of a codebook, where the codebook is a codebook based on a time domain dimension, and the channel information obtained through processing or projection of the codebook represents the one or more pieces of predicted channel information.”(Paragraph [0159])),
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report (read as channel information (Paragraph [0159])), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of enhancing the formatting of CSI reports exchanged by devices in a communication network.
However, Kim et al. and Ren et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Park et al. teach a method wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.(read as “the UE performs the SP CSI report in the PUCCH applied starting from slot n+[(3N)]_slot^(subframe,μ)+1 …” (Paragraph [0364]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning starting slot of a PUCCH to send a CSI report as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the Base Station (BS) capable to transmit configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. teach a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig.6), the method (Fig.6) comprising:
receiving, from a base station, configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig.6 @ S610),
receiving, from the base station, (ii) a CSI-reference signal (RS) (Fig.6 @ S621); and
identifying the predicted PMI based on the CSI-RS (read as “Regarding the CQI, the PMI, the CRI, the SSBRI, the LI, the RI, and the L1-RSRP, the UE may be configured with N≥1 CSI-ReportConfig reporting setting, M≥1 CSI-ResourceConfig resource setting, and a list of one or two trigger states (provided by aperiodicTriggerStateList and semiPersistentOnPUSCH-TriggerStateList) by a higher layer.”(Paragraph [0223])),
transmitting, to the base station in an uplink slot, the CSI report including the predicted PMI (Fig.6 @ S630), and
However, Kim et al. fail to explicitly teach configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler,
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report, and
wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Ren et al. teach a method wherein the configuration information on a channel state information (CSI) report associated with a codebook for Doppler (read as Doppler codebook (Paragraph [0159]); For example, “the terminal device feeds back, to the network device, channel information obtained through processing of a codebook, where the codebook is a codebook based on a time domain dimension, and the channel information obtained through processing or projection of the codebook represents the one or more pieces of predicted channel information.”(Paragraph [0159])),
the configuration information including first information on a delay associated with a predicted precoding matrix indicator (PMI) of the CSI report (read as channel information (Paragraph [0159])), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of enhancing the formatting of CSI reports exchanged by devices in a communication network.
However, Kim et al. and Ren et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.
Park et al. teach a method wherein a starting slot for the predicted PMI is identified based on the uplink slot and the delay.(read as “the UE performs the SP CSI report in the PUCCH applied starting from slot n+[(3N)]_slot^(subframe,μ)+1 …” (Paragraph [0364]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning starting slot of a PUCCH to send a CSI report as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, and as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, Kim et al. teach “a method for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) and an apparatus for supporting the method.”(Fig(s).6,19, and 20; Paragraph [0002])
Ren et al. teach “a channel information feedback method and a communication apparatus.”(Paragraph [0002])
However, Kim et al. and Ren et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
when the first information includes a first value, the starting slot is earlier than the uplink slot by the delay, and
the starting slot is a slot in which a CSI reference resource for the CSI report is located.
Park et al. teach a method wherein:
when the first information includes a first value, the starting slot is earlier than the uplink slot by the delay (read as CSI-ReportConfig 1E (Paragraph [0309])), and
the starting slot is a slot in which a CSI reference resource for the CSI report is located. (read as start of slot(s) (Paragraph [0084]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning CSI information via CSI-Report Config 1E as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information and the Base Station capable to transmit configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, and as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, Kim et al. teach “a method for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) and an apparatus for supporting the method.”(Fig(s).6,19, and 20; Paragraph [0002])
Ren et al. teach “a channel information feedback method and a communication apparatus.”(Paragraph [0002])
However, Kim et al. and Ren et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
when the first information includes a first value, the starting slot is same as the uplink slot, and
when the first information includes a second value, the starting slot is later than the uplink slot by the delay.
Park et al. teach a method wherein:
when the first information includes a first value, the starting slot is same as the uplink slot (read as CSI-ReportConfig 1E (Paragraph [0271])), and
when the first information includes a second value, the starting slot is later than the uplink slot by the delay.(read as slot offiset (Paragraph [0270]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning CSI information via CSI-Report Config as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information and the Base Station capable to transmit configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, and as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, Kim et al. teach “a method for reporting Channel State Information (CSI) and an apparatus for supporting the method.”(Fig(s).6,19, and 20; Paragraph [0002])
Park et al. teach “a method for transmitting and receiving channel state information in a wireless communication system and an apparatus therefor.”(Paragraph [0002])
However, Kim et al. and Park et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein:
the UE is configured with the codebook for UE side CSI prediction, and
the CSI report further comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI) associated with the predicted PMI.
Ren et al. teach a method wherein:
the UE is configured with the codebook for UE side CSI prediction (read as Doppler codebook (Paragraph [0159])), and
the CSI report further comprises a channel quality indicator (CQI) associated with the predicted PMI.(read as CQI (Paragraph [0126]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for assigning starting slot of a PUCCH to send a CSI report as taught by Park et al. and the function for using a Doppler codebook and channel information (CQI) for generating a CSI report as taught by Ren et al. with the UE capable to receive configuration reporting information and the Base Station capable to transmit configuration reporting information as taught by Kim et al. for the purpose of improving scheduling resources for CSI reports by devices in a communication network.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Chavva et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0351885 A1) teach “the UE (601) generates the plurality of CSI reports if the UE (601) predicts with a degree of confidence, greater than a predefined threshold, at least one of a probable condition of a channel between the UE (601) and the gNB (607), and a probable Doppler spread, during each of the plurality of periodic reporting slots.”(Paragraph [0163])
Chung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0303999 A1) teach “a method for reporting channel state information in consideration of a payload of channel state information, and a device for supporting the same.”(Paragraph [0163])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
March 31, 2026