DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banadaki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0184065).
Regarding claim 1, Banadaki et al. teaches metamaterials (MMs) are composed of nanostructures, called artificial atoms, which can give metamaterials extraordinary properties that cannot be found in natural materials (paragraphs 7 and 8). Banadaki et al. teaches structure of the present invention comprises alternating layers of graphene and hexagonal boron nitride which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of metamaterial structure comprising: first metamaterial unit structures and second metamaterial unit structures, wherein the first metamaterial unit structures and the second metamaterial unit structures are arranged alternately (paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 2, Banadaki et al. teaches structure of the present invention comprises alternating layers of graphene and hexagonal boron nitride comprising n number of graphene layers and therefore meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the first metamaterial comprises hexagonal boron nitride, and the second metamaterial comprises graphite (paragraphs 18 and 25).
Regarding claim 3, Banadaki et al. teaches hBN layer has an atomic thickness of 0.33 nm which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of wherein the first metamaterial unit structures comprise at least one of boron nitride nanoflakes and boron nitride nanosheets (paragraph 62). Banadaki et al. teaches n number of graphene layers includes a planar surface, wherein each of the n number of graphene layers includes a distinct thickness which meets a broad and reasonable interpretation of the second metamaterial unit structures comprise at least one of exfoliated graphite nanoflakes and few-layer graphene nanosheets.
Regarding claim 4, Banadaki et al. teaches the optimal thicknesses of layers included in graphene multilayer nanostructure obtained from the genetic algorithm and the refractive indices of the layers at the optimized wavelength are used in transfer matrix equations, leading to information about the transmission and reflection properties of the graphene multilayer nanostructure which meets the limitaiton wherein the properties of the metamaterial structure are controlled by the thickness and mixing ratio of the first metamaterial unit structures and the second metamaterial unit structures (paragraph 77).
Claims 5 and 6 depend from claim 1 which is a product claim. Claims 5 and 6 recite process limitation. MPEP §2113 recites “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” Per MPEP §2113, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The multilayer nanostructure taught by Banadaki et al. is comprised of the same material claimed in the pending application, i.e. alternating layers of graphene and hexagonal boron nitride and therefore the process claims are not limiting.
Conclusion
/GUINEVER S GREGORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 02/01/2026