DETAILED ACTION
In amendment dated 09/09/2026, applicant(s) amended claims 1, 12 and 13. Claims 1 – 13 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 - 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobashi (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2022/0027109 A1, cited in an Office Action dated 11/21/2025, hereinafter ‘Kobashi’) in view of Fan et al. (U.S PreGrant Publication No. 2017/0168765 A1, hereinafter ‘Fan’).
With respect to claim 1, Kobashi teaches an information processing apparatus (i.e., an information processing apparatus 101, ¶0032, Fig. 2A) comprising: a processor (e.g., a CPU 201, ¶0032, Fig. 2A) configured to: receive information on a plurality of parts that configure a product (e.g., receiving information related to parts that configure a product (e.g., “a book”), ¶0036 - ¶0037, ¶0075, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B); display, on a display unit, a workflow screen (e.g., display, on a display unit 207, a workflow screen, ¶0032, ¶0035, ¶0042); display process candidates for manufacturing the plurality of parts on the display unit (e.g., display icons corresponding to the parts on the display 207, ¶0007, ¶0038, Fig. 8A, Fig. 8B); receive selection of a process from among the process candidates, for each of the parts (e.g., add/select a process from among the processes, ¶0042 - ¶0043, ¶0061, Fig. 9I); and display the workflow related to manufacturing of the product, including the selected process (e.g., a workflow is displayed and associated to commercial printing industry of the product, including the added/selected process, ¶0062 - ¶0065, Fig. 9); but fails to teach that in said display unit, display a workflow display screen including a region for displaying a list of the plurality of parts and a region for displaying a workflow by indicating a plurality of processes corresponding to each of the plurality of parts; that said workflow is displayed in the region for displaying said workflow; wherein in response to the processor receiving an instruction to add a new part in the region for displaying the list, the processor is configured to display in the region for displaying the workflow, a workflow combining a process for the new part and the plurality of processes for the plurality of parts.
However, in the same field of endeavor of workflow UI, adding process, function or task, the claimed limitations are well-known in the art as evidenced by Fan. In particular, Fan teaches display, on a display unit, a workflow display screen including a region for displaying a list of the plurality of parts and a region for displaying a workflow by indicating a plurality of processes corresponding to each of the plurality of parts (e.g., display, on a display 305/404, a screen indicating a left side for display several parts (menu) and a right side for display a workflow by indicating several processes corresponding to each of the several parts (menu), ¶0070, ¶0082 - ¶0085, Fig. 7D-2; Fig. 7D-3 ); display the workflow, in the region for displaying a workflow (e.g., said workflow is displayed, in the right side along the several parts (menu) displayed in the left side, Fig. 7D-2; Fig. 7D-3); wherein in response to the processor receiving an instruction to add a new part in the region for displaying the list, the processor is configured to display in the region for displaying the workflow, a workflow combining a process for the new part and the plurality of processes for the plurality of parts ( e.g., upon dropping/moving a selected process from the several parts (menu), the workflow is simultaneously displayed in the right side while dropping/moving the selected process onto the workflow, ¶0070, ¶0082 - ¶0086, Fig. 7D-2; Fig. 7D-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the information processing apparatus of Kobashi as taught by Fan since Fan suggested within ¶0070, ¶0082 - ¶0086, Fig. 7D-2; Fig. 7D-3 that such design of having two regions would be convenient and improve efficiency at the time of creating a new workflow in order to avoid confusion and guide the user to make simple instructions for the same screen when adding new processes, functions or tasks for a workflow.
With respect to claim 2, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: add the received process to the workflow, every time the selection of the process is received (e.g., any process can be added/set to the workflow each time the workflow is edited, ¶0042, ¶0051 - ¶0053).
With respect to claim 3, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: arrange the process selected for each part in a predetermined order and add the process to the workflow (e.g., any process can be added/selected in an order to the workflow each time the workflow is edited, ¶0042, ¶0051 - ¶0053, ¶0061).
With respect to claim 4, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the predetermined order is determined based on a relationship between the selected process and a process that has already been added to the workflow (e.g., the order to the workflow can be determined based on an association between the added/selected process and a process that has been already registered, ¶0033, ¶0045, ¶0051 - ¶0053, ¶0061).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claims 2 and 3, respectively, wherein in a case where the process displayed on the display unit is designated by a user and selection of another process is received, the selected process is added to a workflow at a position next to the designated process (e.g., in a case where the process displayed on the display 207 is set by the user and another process is set, the set process is already added to the workflow next to the set process, ¶0060 - ¶0063, Figs. 7A – 7E, Figs. 9A – 9J).
With respect to claim 7, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein in a case where a part displayed on the display unit is designated by a user and selection of the process is received, the selected process is added to a workflow at a last position of the part (e.g. it simply manipulating the order of the parts to be processed as desired by the user, where the part(s) can be set/selected as the last part while setting workflow, ¶0042, ¶0059, Fig. 3B; also it’s well known in the art of UI to add a process/part while dragging the part into any position in a workflow).
With respect to claim 8, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein in a case where a part displayed on the display unit is designated by a user and selection of the process is received, the selected process is added to a workflow at a last position of the part (e.g. it simply manipulating the order of the parts to be processed as desired by the user, where the part can be set/selected as the last part while setting workflow, ¶0042, ¶0059, Fig. 3B; also it’s well known in the art of UI to add a process/part while dragging & dropping the part into any position in a workflow).
With respect to claim 9, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where the information on the plurality of parts is received, add an intermediate part obtained by combining the plurality of parts to the workflow (e.g. it simply manipulating/editing the order of the parts to be processed as desired by the user, where certain parts can be added, deleted or disabled, ¶0042, ¶0059, ¶0075 - ¶0077, Fig. 3B; also it’s well known in the art of UI to add/set a part in a middle of a workflow while dragging the part into a middle position in a workflow).
With respect to claim 10, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to: with respect to a part on which information is received after generation of a workflow including the intermediate part, create a workflow in which the process of the part is connected to the intermediate part (e.g. it simply manipulating/editing the order of the parts to be processed as desired by the user, where certain parts can be added, deleted or disabled, ¶0042, ¶0059, ¶0074 - ¶0077, Fig. 3B; also it’s well known in the art of UI to add/set a part in a middle of a workflow while dragging the part into a middle position in a workflow).
With respect to claim 11, Kobashi in view of Fan teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: in a case where a part is designated by a user and information on another part is received, add an intermediate part created from the part designated by the user and the other part on which the information is received to a workflow (e.g. it simply manipulating/editing the order of the parts to be processed as desired by the user, where others processes are optional processes. For example, It is also defined that an imposition process is allowed to be set only once, and the other processes are allowed to be set multiple times, ¶0042, ¶0059, ¶0074 - ¶0077, Fig. 3B; also it’s well known in the art of UI to add/set a part while the other is set/selected into any position of the workflow).
With respect to claim 12, arguments analogous to claim 1 are applicable. The use of a non-transitory computer readable medium executed by at least a computer (CPU) as described in claim 12 is explicitly taught by ¶0081 of Kobashi.
With respect to claim 13, it's rejected for the similar reasons as those described in connection with claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Deleverio et al. (U.S PG Publication No. 2021/0042073 A1)1
Kayama (U.S PG Publication No. 2020/0081676 A1)2
1This reference teaches a workflow screen indicating selectable services and a workflow to be built even when the user wants to add one of the selectable services.
2This reference teaches an information processing device that generates a workflow by combining a plurality of work processes for producing a product. The information processing device includes: a storing unit configured to store information that identifies an order of the plurality of work processes used to produce a product; a setting unit configured to set a parameter for a work process and issue an instruction to add the work process to the plurality of work processes based on user input on a work-process setting screen; and a first generating unit configured to, in accordance with the information for identifying an order of the plurality of work processes, add the work process to the plurality of work processes according to the instruction and configured to generate a workflow including information regarding the order of the work process and the set parameter for the work process.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUAN M GUILLERMETY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682