DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Communication received on 05/07/2023 for application number 18/313,366.
Claims 1-16 are presented for examination. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: In these claims, “portion the raw data” should be “portion of the raw data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates et al. (US 2016/0105329 A1 hereinafter Coates) in view of Forman et al. (US 2018/0033182 A1 hereinafter Forman).
Regarding Claim 1, Coates teaches a method for presenting a computerized user interface ([0337] a method for creating and causing for display a service-monitoring dashboard; [0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard) comprising:
a) accessing, at a computing system, key performance indicators (KPIs) for raw data, wherein the KPIs comprise results of a mathematical analysis of a portion the raw data ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; service provided by one or more entities associated with machine data, including unstructured data, log data, and/or wire data (i.e., raw data); [0152] machine data can be represented as events; each of the events is raw data, and when a late binding schema is applied to the events, values for fields defined by the schema are extracted from the events; [0339] KPI can be defined by a search query that derives one or more values from machine data associated with the one or more entities that provide the service; the search query defining a KPI can derive one or more values for the KPI using a late-binding schema that it applies to machine data; [0344] if the KPI widget style represents the respective KPI using a single value, the computing machine causes a value to be produced from a set of machine data or events whose timestamps are within the time range; the value may be a statistic calculated based on one or more values extracted from a specific field in the set of machine data or events when the search query is executed (i.e., mathematical analysis of a portion the raw data));
b) identifying a display set of KPIs ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; [0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI 4700 that is displayed based on the dashboard template; GUI 4700 includes a user selected background image 4702 and one or more KPI widgets for one or more services that are displayed);
c) identifying a time frame for display ([0346] the event processing system can access events with time stamps falling within the time period specified by the time range, identify which of those events should be used, from the one or more entity definitions in the service definition for the service whose performance is reflected by the KPI));
d) dividing the time frame into time segments ([0347] if the KPI widget style represents the respective KPI using a set of values, the computing machine causes a set of values for multiple points in time in the time range to be produced (i.e., time segments); [0360] GUI facilitates user input for displaying detailed information for one or more KPIs; user can select one or more KPI widgets to request detailed information for the KPIs represented by the selected KPI widgets; the detailed information for each selected KPI can include values for points in time during the period of time);
e) for each of the KPIs in the display set of KPIs ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard):
i) identifying an ending KPI value to a beginning KPI value for the time frame ([0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated - thus, identifying the ending and beginning KPI value for the time frame/ time range to calculate the trend);
ii) identifying a time frame trend by comparing the ending KPI value to the beginning KPI value ([0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated - thus, identifying the ending and beginning KPI value for the time frame/ time range to calculate the trend);
iii) identifying segment KPI values for the time segments ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 (i.e., segment KPI value) can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into), and
iv) identifying segment trends for the time segments by comparing the segment KPI values to previous time segments ([0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated); and
f) presenting, at a user computing device, the computerized user interface, the computerized user interface displaying graphical units in an arrangement ([0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI 4700 that is displayed based on the dashboard template; GUI 4700 includes a user selected background image 4702 and one or more KPI widgets (i.e., graphical units) for one or more services that are displayed; each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic), further wherein each graphical unit:
i) is associated with a single KPI in the display set of KPIs ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) (i.e., single KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic),
ii) has a color representative of the time frame trend ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into), and
iii) has time segment data showing the segment KPI values for the single KPI ([0336] the dashboard template can identify the KPIs selected for the service-monitoring dashboard, KPI widgets to be displayed for the KPIs in the service-monitoring dashboard, locations in the service-monitoring dashboard for displaying the KPI widgets, visual characteristics of the KPI widgets, and other information; [0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) (i.e., single KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0360] GUI facilitates user input for displaying detailed information for one or more KPIs; user can select one or more KPI widgets to request detailed information for the KPIs represented by the selected KPI widgets; the detailed information for each selected KPI can include values for points in time during the period of time; [0361] GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range).
However, Coates fails to expressly teach wherein periphery having a periphery color representative of the trend.
In the same field of endeavor, Forman teaches wherein periphery having a periphery color representative of the trend ([0020] the generated item indicators are representations of the items and/or corresponding characteristics of the items such as KPIs; for an item with a large KPI, the item indicator generator 210 may create an item indicator that is relatively larger in size than another item that has a smaller KPI; based on the information in the dataset, such as, the number of items, the order of the items, the relative differences between particular KPIs, the item indicator generator normalize or scale features of the item indicators, such as, size, color, shape, border color/design (i.e., periphery color) for each of the items relative to one another; the item indicator generator may determine an average of a particular characteristic of the items in the dataset and adjust the size/color of the item indicator for each item based on the respective value of the characteristic of that particular item).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein periphery having a periphery color representative of the trend, as taught by Forman into Coates. Doing so would be desirable because it would enable users to quickly identify information about a data set (Forman [0001]).
As to dependent Claim 2, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 1. Coates further teaches wherein the time segment data is colorized according to the segment trends for the single KPI ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 (i.e., trends for the single KPI) produced by the search query falls into).
As to dependent Claim 3, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 2. Coates further teaches wherein the time segment data is presented as numerical values ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 (i.e., numerical value) can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into).
As to dependent Claim 4, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 3. Coates further teaches wherein the numerical values are colorized ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state (i.e., the value is different color), such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into). Forman further teaches wherein having a colorized outline ([0020] the generated item indicators are representations of the items and/or corresponding characteristics of the items such as KPIs; for an item with a large KPI, the item indicator generator 210 may create an item indicator that is relatively larger in size than another item that has a smaller KPI; based on the information in the dataset, such as, the number of items, the order of the items, the relative differences between particular KPIs, the item indicator generator normalize or scale features of the item indicators, such as, size, color, shape, border color/design (i.e., colorized outline) for each of the items relative to one another; the item indicator generator may determine an average of a particular characteristic of the items in the dataset and adjust the size/color of the item indicator for each item based on the respective value of the characteristic of that particular item).
As to dependent Claim 5, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 2. Coates further teaches wherein the time segment data is presented as dots on a sparkline ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0360] GUI facilitates user input for displaying detailed information for one or more KPIs; user can select one or more KPI widgets to request detailed information for the KPIs represented by the selected KPI widgets; the detailed information for each selected KPI can include values for points in time during the period of time; [0310] KPI widget can be, for example, a Noel gauge, a spark line, a single value, a trend indicator, etc.; [0325] FIG. 44 illustrates spark line widget 4400; [0326] the shape, rectangular box 4402 in the spark line widget 4400 can include a graph 4401 that includes multiple data points (i.e., dots on sparkline); [0327] the data points in the graph 4401 can represent what the values, produced by the search query defining the KPI, have been over a time range).
As to dependent Claim 10, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 6. Coates further teaches wherein g) receiving from the computerized user interface an alteration from a filter element that alters the portion of raw data that is analyzed for the display set of KPIs ([0361] GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; the machine data used by a search query to produce a value for a KPI is based on a time range; if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the last 15 minutes would be an aggregation period for producing the value; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range); h) in response to receiving the alteration, identifying different ending KPI values, different beginning KPI values, and different segment KPI values for the KPIs in the display set of KPIs ([0361] GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated - thus, identifying the ending and beginning KPI value for the updated time frame/ time range to calculate the trend); and i) updating the computerized user interface to reflect the different ending KPI values, the different beginning KPI values, and the different segment KPI values without changing the arrangement of the display set of KPIs ([0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated; [0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI that is displayed based on the dashboard template; [0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range - thus, after changing the time range, the dashboard GUI will display the updated KPI widgets/ values based on the template keeping the same template arrangement (i.e., without changing the arrangement of the display set of KPIs)).
Regarding Claim 11, Coates teaches a method for presenting a computerized user interface ([0337] a method for creating and causing for display a service-monitoring dashboard; [0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard) comprising:
a) accessing, at a computing system, raw data having attributes ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; service provided by one or more entities associated with machine data, including unstructured data, log data, and/or wire data; [0339] KPI can be defined by a search query that derives one or more values from machine data associated with the one or more entities that provide the service; [0152] machine data can be represented as events; each of the events is raw data, and when a late binding schema is applied to the events, values for fields defined by the schema are extracted from the events; a number of default fields specify metadata about the events (i.e., raw data having attributes));
b) identifying values for a dividing attribute for the raw data ([0158] GUI can facilitate user input specifying an identifying name for the entity, an entity type for the entity, field(s) and value(s) for the fields to use during the search to find events pertaining to the entity, and any services that the entity provides (i.e., dividing attributes); [0339] KPI can be defined by a search query that derives one or more values from machine data associated with the one or more entities that provide the service);
c) identifying key performance indicators (KPIs) for the raw data, wherein the KPIs comprise results of a mathematical analysis of a portion the raw data defined by sharing a common value for the dividing attribute ([0158] GUI can facilitate user input specifying an identifying name for the entity, an entity type for the entity, field(s) and value(s) for the fields to use during the search to find events pertaining to the entity, and any services that the entity provides; [0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; service provided by one or more entities associated with machine data, including unstructured data, log data, and/or wire data (i.e., raw data); [0339] KPI can be defined by a search query that derives one or more values from machine data associated with the one or more entities that provide the service; the search query defining a KPI can derive one or more values for the KPI using a late-binding schema that it applies to machine data; [0344] if the KPI widget style represents the respective KPI using a single value, the computing machine causes a value to be produced from a set of machine data or events whose timestamps are within the time range; the value may be a statistic calculated based on one or more values extracted from a specific field in the set of machine data or events when the search query is executed (i.e., mathematical analysis of a portion the raw data identified based on the specified search));
d) identifying a display set of KPIs ([0338] the computing machine identifies one or more key performance indicators (KPIs) for one or more services to be monitored via a service-monitoring dashboard; [0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI 4700 that is displayed based on the dashboard template; GUI 4700 includes a user selected background image 4702 and one or more KPI widgets for one or more services that are displayed));
e) identifying a time frame for display ([0346] the event processing system can access events with time stamps falling within the time period specified by the time range, identify which of those events should be used, from the one or more entity definitions in the service definition for the service whose performance is reflected by the KPI));
f) for each of the KPIs in the display set of KPIs, identifying a time frame trend by comparing an ending KPI value to a beginning KPI value ([0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated - thus, identifying the ending and beginning KPI value for the time frame/ time range to calculate the trend); and
g) presenting, at a user computing device, the computerized user interface, the computerized user interface having a first type of graphical unit for each value for the dividing attribute ([0158] GUI can facilitate user input specifying an identifying name for the entity, an entity type for the entity, field(s) and value(s) for the fields to use during the search to find events pertaining to the entity, and any services that the entity provides; [0339] KPI can be defined by a search query that derives one or more values from machine data associated with the one or more entities that provide the service (i.e., KPI based on the dividing attributes/ specified search); [0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI 4700 that is displayed based on the dashboard template; GUI 4700 includes a user selected background image 4702 and one or more KPI widgets (i.e., graphical units) for one or more services that are displayed; each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic), wherein each first type of graphical unit has:
i) separate values for each KPI in the display set of KPIs based on the mathematical analysis of the portion the raw data ([0344] if the KPI widget style represents the respective KPI using a single value, the computing machine causes a value to be produced from a set of machine data or events whose timestamps are within the time range; the value may be a statistic calculated based on one or more values extracted from a specific field in the set of machine data or events when the search query is executed; [0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into),
ii) a KPI color indicator based on the time frame trend for each KPI in the display set of KPIs to create a plurality of KPI color indicators for each first type of graphical unit ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into), and
iii) a color representative of the plurality of KPI color indicators ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into).
However, Coates fails to expressly teach wherein a periphery having a periphery color representative of the plurality of KPI color indicators.
In the same field of endeavor, Forman teaches wherein a periphery having a periphery color representative of the plurality of KPI color indicators ([0020] the generated item indicators are representations of the items and/or corresponding characteristics of the items such as KPIs; for an item with a large KPI, the item indicator generator 210 may create an item indicator that is relatively larger in size than another item that has a smaller KPI; based on the information in the dataset, such as, the number of items, the order of the items, the relative differences between particular KPIs, the item indicator generator normalize or scale features of the item indicators, such as, size, color, shape, border color/design (i.e., periphery color) for each of the items relative to one another; the item indicator generator may determine an average of a particular characteristic of the items in the dataset and adjust the size/color of the item indicator for each item based on the respective value of the characteristic of that particular item).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein a periphery having a periphery color representative of the plurality of KPI color indicators, as taught by Forman into Coates. Doing so would be desirable because it would enable users to quickly identify information about a data set (Forman [0001]).
As to dependent Claim 12, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 11. Coates further teaches wherein h) receiving from the computerized user interface a request to alter the first type of graphical unit, the request including a selection of a particular KPI ([0361] GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; the machine data used by a search query to produce a value for a KPI is based on a time range; if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the last 15 minutes would be an aggregation period for producing the value; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range); i) in response to receiving the request, replacing the first type of graphical units with new graphical units for each value for the dividing attribute ([0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI that is displayed based on the dashboard template; [0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range - thus, after changing the time range, the dashboard GUI will display the updated KPI widgets based on the attribute specified in the user input), wherein each of the new graphical units has: i) segment values for time segments within the time frame, the segment values indicating a value for the particular KPI relevant to the value of the dividing attribute ([0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range (i.e., dividing attribute); as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated).
As to dependent Claim 13, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 12. Coates further teaches wherein each of the new graphical units further has: ii) a KPI color indicator for each segment value based on segment trends for the time segments, wherein the segment trends are identified by comparing the segment values to previous time segments ([0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into; [0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated).
As to dependent Claim 14, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 13. Coates further teaches wherein each of the new graphical units further has: iii) a color representative of the segment trends identified for the segment values ([0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range; ([0356] each KPI widget provides a numerical or graphical representation of one or more values for a corresponding key performance indicator (KPI) indicating how an aspect of a respective service is performing at one or more points in time; the appearance of the widgets can reflect the current state of the respective KPI based on color or other visual characteristic; [0330] trend indicator widget 4600 can include a shape 4601, such as rectangular box, that includes a value 4607, produced by the search query defining the KPI, in another shape 4601 and an arrow 4605; the shape 4601 containing the value 4607 can be colored using a color 4603 representative of the state, such as, normal, warning, critical, of which the value 4607 produced by the search query falls into). Forman further teaches wherein a periphery having a periphery color representative of the trends ([0020] the generated item indicators are representations of the items and/or corresponding characteristics of the items such as KPIs; for an item with a large KPI, the item indicator generator 210 may create an item indicator that is relatively larger in size than another item that has a smaller KPI; based on the information in the dataset, such as, the number of items, the order of the items, the relative differences between particular KPIs, the item indicator generator normalize or scale features of the item indicators, such as, size, color, shape, border color/design (i.e., periphery color) for each of the items relative to one another; the item indicator generator may determine an average of a particular characteristic of the items in the dataset and adjust the size/color of the item indicator for each item based on the respective value of the characteristic of that particular item).
As to dependent Claim 15, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 14. Coates further teaches wherein the first type of graphical units are arranged in an arrangement, further wherein the new graphical units are further arranged in the arrangement ([0333] if the time range “Last 15 minutes” is selected, the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is calculated, and the arrow 4605 can indicate whether the average of the data points of the last 15 minutes is greater that than the average calculated from the time range prior; the trend indicator widget 4600 includes a percentage indicator indicating a percentage of the value 4607 increasing or decreasing in a selected time range relative to the last time the KPI was calculated; [0356] FIG. 47B illustrates service-monitoring dashboard GUI that is displayed based on the dashboard template; [0361] referring to FIG. 47, GUI facilitates user input for changing a time range; as described above in conjunction with FIG. 43, the time range can be a user-defined time range; GUI can be updated with one or more KPI widgets that each represent one or more values for a corresponding KPI indicating how a service provided is performing at one or more points in time based on the change to the time range - thus, after changing the time range, the dashboard GUI will display the updated KPI widgets/ new graphical units based on the template keeping the same template arrangement).
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates in view of Forman, further in view of Dicklin et al. (US 2012/0038662 A1 hereinafter Dicklin).
As to dependent Claim 6, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 5. However, Coates and Forman fail to expressly teach wherein the periphery for each graphical unit is a hexagon.
In the same field of endeavor, Dicklin teaches wherein the periphery for each graphical unit is a hexagon ([0052] hexagon illustrates a presentation of particular key performance indicator (KPI) information related to the geographic area underlying the hexagon).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the periphery for each graphical unit is a hexagon, as taught by Dicklin into Coates and Forman. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for each data structure to be rendered as one of a plurality of adjacent, non-overlapping, mathematically regular hexagonal shapes (Dicklin [0009]).
As to dependent Claim 7, Coates, Forman, and Dicklin teach all the limitations of Claim 6. Coates further teaches wherein each graphical unit, further comprising: g) receiving from the computerized user interface a selection of a particular graphical unit for a particular KPI ([0360] GUI facilitates user input for displaying detailed information for one or more KPIs; user can select one or more KPI widgets to request detailed information for the KPIs represented by the selected KPI widgets; the detailed information for each selected KPI can include values for points in time during the period of time); and h) presenting a window with additional details concerning the particular KPI in response to receiving the selection ([0360] GUI facilitates user input for displaying detailed information for one or more KPIs; user can select one or more KPI widgets to request detailed information for the KPIs represented by the selected KPI widgets; the detailed information for each selected KPI can include values for points in time during the period of time; [0368] the computing machine causes display of a graphical visualization of the derived KPI values along a time-based graph lane for each of the selected KPIs).
As to dependent Claim 16, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 11. However, Coates and Forman fail to expressly teach wherein the periphery for each separate graphical unit is a hexagon.
In the same field of endeavor, Dicklin teaches wherein the periphery for each separate graphical unit is a hexagon ([0052] hexagon illustrates a presentation of particular key performance indicator (KPI) information related to the geographic area underlying the hexagon).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the periphery for each separate graphical unit is a hexagon, as taught by Dicklin into Coates and Forman. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for each data structure to be rendered as one of a plurality of adjacent, non-overlapping, mathematically regular hexagonal shapes (Dicklin [0009]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates in view of Forman and Dicklin, further in view of Savalle et al. (US 2021/0294818 A1 hereinafter Savalle).
As to dependent Claim 8, Coates, Forman, and Dicklin teach all the limitations of Claim 6. However, Coates, Forman, and Dicklin fail to expressly teach wherein the graphical units are divided into a first category and a second category, wherein the arrangement of the computerized user interface presents the graphical units in the first category as a first cluster and presents the graphical units in the second category in a second cluster that is visually distinguished from the first cluster.
In the same field of endeavor, Savalle teaches wherein the graphical units are divided into a first category and a second category, wherein the arrangement of the computerized user interface presents the graphical units in the first category as a first cluster and presents the graphical units in the second category in a second cluster that is visually distinguished from the first cluster ([0136] FIG. 9 illustrates a frequency pattern extractor assigning KPI time series chunks, such as quantized chunk 814 from FIG. 8B, into clusters; clusters 904 a-904 c of chunks of KPI time series chunks are formed, each comprising KPI time series chunks that exhibit similar patterns - see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the graphical units are divided into a first category and a second category, wherein the arrangement of the computerized user interface presents the graphical units in the first category as a first cluster and presents the graphical units in the second category in a second cluster that is visually distinguished from the first cluster, as taught by Savalle into Coates, Forman, and Dicklin. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for easily recognizing KPI patterns (Savalle [0004]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates in view of Forman, further in view of Savalle et al. (US 2021/0294818 A1 hereinafter Savalle).
As to dependent Claim 9, Coates and Forman teach all the limitations of Claim 1. However, Coates and Forman fail to expressly teach wherein the display set of KPIs are identified using an artificial intelligence algorithm that identifies the KPIs have a strongest correlation with overall success parameters for the raw data.
In the same field of endeavor, Savalle teaches wherein the display set of KPIs are identified using an artificial intelligence algorithm that identifies the KPIs have a strongest correlation with overall success parameters for the raw data ([0039] KPI forecasting process employ one or more supervised, unsupervised, or semi-supervised machine learning models; [0042]a machine learning failure forecasting (MLFF) module; [0047] MLFF module select the set of most relevant telemetry variables; [0045] the term ‘relevant telemetry’ refers to a telemetry measurement variable with predictive power to predict tunnel failures, which can be determined dynamically by MLFF module (i.e., strongest correlation with overall success parameters/ predictive power for the raw data); [0118] displaying KPI predictions/forecasts or KPI anomalies).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the display set of KPIs are identified using an artificial intelligence algorithm that identifies the KPIs have a strongest correlation with overall success parameters for the raw data, as taught by Savalle into Coates and Forman. Doing so would be desirable because it would allow for easily recognizing KPI patterns (Savalle [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 CFR § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
MacDonald (US 2004/0068429 A1) teaches: displays each KPI 204 along with its year-to-date or its monthly result in a red 55, a yellow 56, or a green 57 box, and, through the use of visual indicators; if the KPI 204 result is displayed in: a green 57 box, then it is meeting or exceeding plan; a yellow 56 box, then it is off plan, but it is within an acceptable variance; a red 55 box, then the result is off plan and it is beyond the acceptable variance; the KPIs 204 may be visually represented as either lead and or lag measures by color-coding the border around each KPI 204 according to a color-coded legend that could be displayed in this or on any of the other screens (see [0056]).
/REJI KARTHOLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143
/JENNIFER N WELCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143