Drawings
Figures 6 and 7 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). In this case, the specification describes the embodiments illustrated in Figures 6 and 7 as comparative example but then describes such as the prior problem and solution, described in the background section as prior art. Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the segment coils" in line 13. It is ambiguous which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation refers to “lead-side segment coils” in line 2, “lead-opposite-side segment coils” in line 3, or both. For the same reason, dependent claims 2-3 are rejected as well.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the insulating film" in line 2. It is ambiguous which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation refers to “an insulating film” in claim 1, line 2 or “an insulating film” in claim 1, line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0204028), hereinafter Mizushima in view of Bettelini (E.P. Application Publication 0892481).
Regarding claim 1, Mizushima discloses a stator manufacturing method (Title: “STATOR, METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING STATOR, COIL, AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING COIL”), comprising
an inserting step of inserting lead-side segment coils (segment coil 30 in upper side FIG. 1, ¶74, “In the remaining segment coils 30, the legs 31 and 32 are inserted into different slots 2s from the other end face, that is, a lead-side end face of the stator core”; FIG. 12-14 illustrate how coil segments 30 are inserted) covered with an insulating film (insulating film IL in FIG. 5, ¶73, “Each of the segment coils 30, 30i, and 30o is formed such that a flat rectangular wire (conductor) having an insulating film IL formed on its surface from, for example, an enamel resin is bent substantially into a U-shape”) and lead-opposite-side segment coils (segment coil 30 in lower side FIG. 1, ¶74) covered with an insulating film into a plurality of slots (plurality of slots 2s in FIG. 2, ¶77, “legs 31, 31i, 32, and 32o adjoin each other in the radial direction in each of the plurality of slots”) formed between a plurality of teeth (teeth 2t in FIG. 2, ¶69, “The teeth 2t extend in a radial direction from an annular outer peripheral portion (yoke) toward an axis (center of the stator core 2), and adjoin each other at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction”) radially protruding from an annular yoke, along an axial direction of the yoke, and electrically connecting ends of the lead-side segment coils and ends of the lead-opposite-side segment coils by using connecting members (coupling member 35 in FIG.1, ¶83, “The tips T that face each other are electrically connected by a coupling member 35 in the slot 2s”),
in the inserting step, the lead-side segment coils and the lead-opposite-side segment coils being collectively inserted into the slots (see annotated FIG. 14 below illustrating an arrow to depict the inserting segment coil, i.e., coil assemblies A12, A34, A56, and A78; see also ¶95: “The lowering members P12, P34, P56, and P78 are annular members having different bore diameters and different outside diameters, and are concentrically and coaxially arranged so as to push the corresponding coil assemblies A12, A34, A56, and A78.”),
the stator manufacturing method further comprising
an exposing step of forming the lead-side segment coils and the lead-opposite-side segment coils with exposed conductor portions while the segment coils are inserted in the slots (tips T in FIG. 1; ¶83: “The tips T that face each other” expose their conductor portions to be “electrically connected by a coupling member 35 in the slot 2s.”).
However, Mizushima fails to teach or suggest the exposing step further comprises forming holes penetrating the insulating film at coil ends.
Bettelini teaches a coil manufacturing method (Title: “COIL FOR AN ELECTRIC TIMEPIECE”) comprising forming holes (p. 3, ll. 1-2, “a measuring probe 26 which cuts locally the plate 10 then comes into contact with the wire 11”, though it does not explicitly mention holes, the act of cutting with the probe to come into contact with the wire 11 creates the hole) penetrating (cuts, p. 3, ll. 1-2) the insulating film (plate 10 in FIG. 5, p. 2, ll. 10-12, “plate, made in one piece with one of the flanges and arranged to come and rest on one of the ears of the core serves as an anchor for the lead wires of winding”) at coil ends (ear in FIG. 4, p. 1, ll. 12-13, “the ears is affixed a printed circuit of two tracks each receiving a winding lead to the coil.”) .
1
Thus, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that applying the electrical measurement technique taught by Bettelini to the stator manufacturing method of Mizushima would have yielded predictable results, allowing for immediate control of the coil during and after the manufacturing of the stator and of proceeding assemblies including the stator (p. 3, ll. 4-6).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mizushima and Bettelini further teaches that the holes (p. 3, ll. 1-2) are formed in the insulating film (plate 10 in FIG. 5, p. 2, ll. 10-12) by sticking a probe (probe 26, p. 3, ll. 1-2) for resistance measurement (p. 3, ll. 2-3, “The electrical resistance of the winding is measured between the two probes 26.”) into the insulating film. see supra rejection of claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima and Bettelini as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishimura et al (J.P. Application Publication 2019068565), hereinafter Nishimura.
Regarding claim 3, the Mizushima and Bettelini, further teaches that a plurality of holes (p. 3, ll. 1-2) are formed at the coil ends (Bettelini, ear, p. 1, ll. 12-13) of the lead-side segment coils (Mizushima, segment coil 30 upper side, ¶74) and the coil ends of the lead-opposite-side segment coils (Mizushima, segment coil 30 lower side, ¶74). see supra rejection of claim 1
However, Both Mizushima and Bettelini fail to teach or suggest the plurality of the holes are arranged such that distances between adjacent holes secure electric insulation between the lead-side segment coils and the lead-opposite-side segment coils.
Nishimura teaches a manufacturing method of a stator (Title: “Stator of Rotary Electric Machine”) that arranges the holes (exposed conductor, p. 5, ll. 1, “The exposed conduction is the bonding end 40”) such that the distances (distance ds and da in FIG. 6, p. 7, ll. 21-22, “A sufficient distance is secured between another segment coil extending in the direction close to one segment coil 62.”) between adjacent holes (pg. 7, ll. 28-29, “since the distance between the corner of the joint and 40 and the other joint end 40 adjacent thereto”) secure electric insulation (p. 1, ll. 1, “To secure electrical insulation between joint end sections).
To one of ordinary skill, it would be understandable that the conductor exposed portions explained in Nishimura’s disclosure can serve as the holes explained in Bettelini’s disclosure. Thus, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that applying the known ideology of securing electric insulation via distance between exposed portions taught by Nishimura to the stator manufacturing method of Mizushima, in further view of Bettelini, would have yielded predictable results, allowing for the stator coils to secure electrical insulation between joint end sections that adjoin each other and downsize a coil end section in a stator of an electric machine (Nishimura abstract).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729