DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-3) in the reply filed on 03/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/11/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 3, the recitation “a lithium ion battery” (line 1) should read “the lithium ion battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Maenishi (JP2018195559A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Maenishi teaches a negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material, [0012]) for a lithium ion battery (lithium-ion secondary battery 100, [0035] & Figure 1) the negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material) comprising a carbon material (boron-containing graphite, [0012]) and a carbon film (stable graphite surface, [0018]) that covers the carbon material (boron-containing graphite), wherein: the carbon material (boron-containing graphite) includes carbon and boron (see [0012] & [0013];
a content of boron in the carbon material is 0.2 atomic% or more and less than 3.5 atomic%; (boron content of 0.29% by mass, see [0077] or 0.31 atomic% - see analysis below for conversion to atomic%).
Assuming carbon material comprises of graphite and boron; the relative moles of each is calculated as follows:
B
o
r
o
n
=
29
g
10.81
g
/
m
o
l
=
2.68
m
o
l
e
s
G
r
a
p
h
i
t
e
=
71
g
12.01
g
/
m
o
l
=
5.91
m
o
l
e
s
T
o
t
a
l
m
o
l
e
s
=
2.68
m
o
l
e
s
+
5.91
m
o
l
e
s
=
8.59
m
o
l
e
s
A
t
o
m
i
c
%
o
f
B
o
r
o
n
=
2.68
m
o
l
e
s
8.59
m
o
l
e
s
=
0.31
Assuming, arguendo, that the mass conversion does not read on the atomic range, the reference is obvious for the following reason:
Maenishi teaches that the boron-containing graphite is preferably 0.01% by mass or more and preferably 5% by mass or less (see [0021]) and further teaches a boron content of 0.29% by mass (see [0077]).
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the atomic% is a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting the formation of by-products that do not participate in the intercalation and release of lithium ions and the feasibility of side reactions occurring, as disclosed by Maenishi (see [0021] which teaches that when the boron content is between 0.01% and 5%, the formation of by-products that do not participate in the intercalation and release of lithium ions is suppressed thus resulting in a high discharge capacity density), thus making the atomic% of the boron content a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the percent by mass of the boron content of Maenishi such that the boron content is 0.2 atomic% or more and less than 3.5 atomic%; via routine experimentation, for the purpose of suppressing the formation of by-products that do not participate in the intercalation and release of lithium ions and thus result in a high discharge capacity density.
the negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material) has an R value of 0.35 or more and 0.85 or less and the R value is a ratio of a D band with respect to a G band in a Raman spectrum of the negative electrode active material (see [0018]-[0019] which gives a Raman intensity ratio R of the D band to G band of the boron-containing graphite as 0.45 or greater and within the range of 0.53 or less).
Regarding Claim 2, Maenishi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the carbon material (boron—containing graphite) includes artificial graphite (see [0029] which describes that graphite could be artificial graphite).
Regarding Claim 3, Maenishi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a lithium ion battery (lithium-ion secondary battery 100, [0035] & Figure 1) comprising a negative electrode (negative electrode 20, [0037]) including the negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material, [0012]), a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, [0037]), a separator (separator 30, [0037]), and an electrolytic solution (non-aqueous electrolyte, [0032]).
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/CHRISTOPHER P DOMONE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725
April 1, 2026