DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Montagna et al. (US 20210301897).
Regarding claim 1, Montagna et al. discloses a method for controlling the flow of hydraulic between an upper working chamber (34) and a lower working chamber (42) of a pressure tube through a piston (302) disposed within the pressure tube (32), the piston having one or more flow passages (figs 22-24, at least 46/48/308), the method comprising: providing a fulcrum disc (fig 22, 359) proximate to the piston, the fulcrum disc having a first ring with a first center hole (fig 22), a first inner diameter, and a first outer diameter (fig 22); providing a check disc (314) proximate to the fulcrum disc opposite the piston (fig 22-24), the check disc having a second ring (328) with a second center hole (fig 22), a second inner diameter, a second outer diameter (fig 23), and one or more radial extensions (326) from the second ring (fig 22); and selecting the first outer diameter and the second outer diameter based on a desired damping response ([0078] at least wherein the amount of flex and/or translation of the check disc 214, 216, 314, 316 (and the associated decrease in size of the opening 222, 224, 322, 324) may be proportional to a rate of fluid flow and/or a pressure differential between the compression sub-chamber 42 and the rebound sub-chamber 44 of the cylinder 32). It has been interpreted wherein the associated decrease in size of the opening includes an associated outer ring diameter change affecting a rate of fluid flow.
Regarding claim 2, Montagna et al. discloses wherein the desired damping response is a desired transition from an open bleed condition to a normal bleed condition ([0078 at least wherein a threshold rate of fluid flow and/or difference in fluid pressure may be required to flex and/or translate the check discs 214, 216, 314, 316. The check discs 214, 216, 314, 316 may not increase resistance to movement until the threshold rate of fluid flow and/or difference in fluid pressure is achieved).
Regarding claim 3, Montagna et al. discloses wherein the first outer diameter (359) is equal to the second outer diameter (314 at least at 328).
Regarding claim 4, Montagna et al. discloses wherein the first outer diameter (359) is less than the second outer diameter (figs 23 and 24, 314 at least at outer diameter of 326 wherein 314/326 produce a different concentric circle than 314/328).
Regarding claim 5, Montagna et al. discloses wherein the fulcrum disc has a first thickness and the check disc has a second thickness (fig 22), and the method further comprises selecting the first thickness and the second thickness based on a desired damping response (at least [0084 ] wherein the threshold amount may be determined based on desired response characteristics of the damper assembly 200, 300, and the first check disc 214, 314 may be designed, e.g., via geometry such as thickness, material type, etc., to flex at the threshold amount).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: As to claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious A kit for a shock absorber for a vehicle comprising: a pressure tube defining a fluid chamber; a piston configured to be disposed within the fluid chamber, the piston dividing the fluid chamber into an upper working chamber and a lower working chamber, wherein the piston defines a pair of bleed passages and a blow off passage that extend through the piston between the upper working chamber and the lower working chamber; a first fulcrum disc, the first fulcrum disc having a ring, a first fulcrum disc inner diameter, and a first fulcrum disc outer diameter; a first check disc, the first check disc having a ring, a first check disc inner diameter, a first check disc outer diameter, and one or more first cantilevered beams extending beyond the first check disc outer diameter, the one or more first cantilevered beams each having a free distal end; a second fulcrum disc, the second fulcrum disc having a ring, a second fulcrum disc inner diameter, and a second fulcrum disc outer diameter, wherein the second fulcrum disc outer diameter is different from the first fulcrum disc outer diameter; and a second check disc, the second check disc having a ring, a second check disc inner diameter, a second check disc outer diameter, wherein the second check disc outer diameter is different from the first check disc outer diameter, and one or more second cantilevered beams extending beyond the second check disc outer diameter, the one or more second cantilevered beams each having a free distal end; wherein the kit includes the first fulcrum disc, the first check disc, the second fulcrum disc, and the second check disc, and wherein during assembly of the shock absorber, only one of the first fulcrum disc and the second fulcrum disc and only one of the first check disc and the second check disc is selected and included in the shock absorber based on a desired damping response.
As to claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein a pressure tube defining a fluid chamber; a piston disposed within the fluid chamber, the piston dividing the fluid chamber into an upper working chamber and a lower working chamber, wherein the piston comprises a first side, a second side, and a fluid passage that extends through the piston between the upper working chamber and the lower working chamber; and a valve assembly comprising: a restriction disc proximate to the first side of the piston, the restriction disc including: a ring; and a finger extending radially outward from the ring, the finger configured to cover the fluid passage, the finger having a bleed orifice, wherein the bleed orifice remains open regardless of position of the restriction disc; an orifice disc, wherein the restriction disc is between the orifice disc and the first side of the piston, the orifice disc including: a ring; and a finger extending radially outward from the ring, having a bleed orifice, wherein the bleed orifice remains open regardless of position of the orifice disc, wherein the finger of the orifice disc overlaps the finger of the restriction disc, and wherein the bleed orifice of the orifice disc is aligned with the bleed orifice of the restriction disc; a check disc including: a ring; and a finger extending radially outward from the ring, the finger of the check disc is above the second finger of the orifice disc; and a fulcrum disc, wherein the fulcrum disc is between the orifice disc and the check disc, the fulcrum disc including a ring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.K.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616