Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 12-18 in the reply filed on 08/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/12/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the absorbent" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-13, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alhooshani et al. (US 2022/0118420A1).
Regarding claims 12-13, 15 and 18, Alhooshani teaches a device comprising ionic binding material present in a porous casing, wherein the ionic binding material comprises a zeolite , wherein the porous housing comprises polypropylene (refer abstract).
Claim(s) 12-13, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Athanasiandis (US 2011/0309024A1).
Regarding claims 12-13 and 18, Athanasiandis teaches a device (310) comprising ionic binding material present in a porous casing (layers 311, 312, and 313), wherein the ionic binding material comprises a zeolite ([0115] discloses layer 312 contains clinoptilolite which is a zeolite).
Regarding claims 16-17, It appears that claim 17 is intended to be dependent of claim 16 since claim 16 recites that the device comprises an adsorbent in the housing. For this reason, Examiner has interpreted claim 17 to be dependent of claim 16.
Athanasiandis teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Athanasiandis further teaches that the device further comprises an adsorbent in the housing, hwerein the adsorbent comprises polypropylene flakes (refer [0115] disclosing layer 311 comprising polypropylene flakes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Athanasiandis (US 2011/0309024A1), in view of Ray (US 2024/0228327A).
Regarding claim 14, Athanasiandis teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Athanasiandis does not teach that the ionic binding material comprises biochar alone or in combination with hemp powder, hemp hurd, hemp bast fiber, or a combination thereof.
Ray teaches biochar produced from spent coffee ground is useful in removing contaminants from an aqueous solution (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the ionic binding material of Athanasiandis to include biochar because Ray discloses that biochar has capacity for high trace contaminant removal in water,
Conclusion
/PRANAV N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777