DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 07/10/2026. Claims 1 and 10-14 were amended. Claim 4 remains canceled. Claims 15-18 were newly added. Claims 1-18 are pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Dong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2021/0386145) further in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805).
Regarding claim 1, (Currently Amended) Choi teaches a wearable sensor (pair of gloves) that is worn on a human body (Figs 1, 5 & 6), the sensor (left and right glove) comprising:
a layer-shaped body (Fig 1, Pg. 3, ¶001-¶006; glove body/bodies 110/110a) that has a shape of surrounding the body between a wrist and a fingertip of a hand (see Fig 1) of the human body (Figs 1, 5 & 6) and forms at least two layers (inner skin and an outer skin) that are at least partially overlapped with each other wherein the at least two layers include an inside layer located closer to the body than an outside layer and the outside layer opposite to the body (Pg. 3, ¶005; left hand glove body 110 is formed of two layers of an inner skin and an outer skin concealing some enclosed sensors therebetween) and at least one sensor that is provided on at least one of the two layers and the sensors having different sensing functions and a tvpe of at least one sensor included in the outside layer are different (Fig 1, Pg. 3, ¶005; glove body 110 is formed of two layers of an inner skin and an outer skin, so that the left hand bending sensor unit 120, the gyro sensor 130 and the left hand sensing integrated unit 170 are hidden inside;
Choi does not explicitly disclose that the sensors are on either specific layer, just sand-whiched between the two layers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the sensors could be on/in inner skin/layer closer to the body or on/in an outter skin/layer opposite to the body or on/in both, due to the finite possibilities, as just stated. Moreover, Dong from an analogous art teaches a glove with 3 layers (¶024) and also preferred embodiments where a force sensor 441 is attached to or embedded in the inside of the outer layer 431. Positioning the force sensor 441 on the inside of the outer layer 431 gives the force sensor the ability to most accurately measure the force being applied to the outer surface of the glove (¶028; Examiner interprets at least one sensor being on/in the outter skin opposite to the body, i.e., the outter layer and said sensor with a different sensing function). Dong teaches a glove with multiple layers implementing a sensor on/in the outer layer of the multiple layers of that glove. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine the wearable sensor of Choi with the concept of a force sensor being attached to or embedded in the inside of the outer layer of a glove in order to give the force sensor the ability to most accurately measure the force being applied to the outer surface of the glove.
Choi and Dong, do not explicitly disclose at least one sensor that is provided on each of the at least two layers, particularly. the inside layer and the outside layer have different sensing functions. Gopinathan from an analogous art teaches a glove probe as a unitary member which is adaptable to be worn over a person's hand and includes a plurality of diagnostic probes detecting diagnostic signals (¶015). Gopinathan further teaches the glove probe wherein at least one sensor that is provided on at least one layer, a first/inner layer and a type of at least one sensor (EKG type) included in the inside layer (¶019 for first layer; EKG currents of heart muscle preferably includes a plurality of sensors 40a (per FIG. 2), 40b, 40c, 40d, 40e, 40f, 40g, 40h, 40i, and 40j which are secured to the first layer 30 of the glove probe 12… sensors 40a-40j includes a stainless-steel mesh screen on top of a mesh or coiled cylindrical wall and an EKG jelly sponge disposed within the cylindrical wall between the screen and, preferably, the first glove layer 30 of the glove probe 12, also see ¶020-¶024) wherein the first layer include is an inside layer located closer to the body than an outside layer and the outside layer opposite to the body (FIG. 2, ¶016; glove probe 12 comprises a first glove layer 30 and a second glove layer 32 secured to the first glove layer such that the second glove layer overlies at least most, and preferably all, of the first glove layer.; also see ¶015-¶018 for full context). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to further combine the wearable sensor of Choi with the concept of at least one sensor that is provided on each of the at least two layers, particularly. the inside layer and the outside layer have different sensing functions, as taught by Gopinathan in order for one specific type of sensor being provided on a first/inner/inside layer of a wearable glove.
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers of the wearable sensor (see glove in claim 1) have different functions, respectively (Pg. 3, ¶005; inner skin protects and hides components on the inside of glove and outer skin protect/hides components on the outside of glove).
Regarding claim 5, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor includes a gyro sensor (Fig 1; Pg 3, ¶005; gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches comprising at least one notification unit (sensing integration unit 170) on at least one of the at least two layers (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 that converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are communicably connected to each other (Examiner notes, both layers are coupled together with bending sensors therebetween them so both layers bend together simultaneously as user’s hand moves and are thus communicably connected).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 4, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a (feature not selected by Examiner)
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Choi teaches
a sensor data collection unit (Pg 3, ¶001; sensing integration unit 170) that collects an observation result from the wearable sensor. (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 that converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 10, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor data collection unit (sensing integration unit 170) has a function of confirming connection to a layer on which the second transmission unit and at least one of the sensors are provided (Pg. 4, ¶011; right-hand communication unit 140a receives the information transmitted from the left-hand communication unit 140 by way of sensing integration unit 170 and transmits it to the controller 180, which by default confirms the connection when the controller deciphers the hand signals from the second transmission unit).
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 10, wherein the sensor data collection unit has a function of determining whether a combination of the at least two layers on which the sensors are provided is appropriate (Pg 4, ¶011; pair of gyro sensors 130 and 130a are divided into X-Y-Z axes and calculate the inclination of each axis using the gravitational acceleration g, thereby calculating the angular velocity and the displacement velocity. The calculated angular velocity and displacement velocity of each axis are transmitted to the left hand sensing and integration unit 170 and the control unit 180; Examiner interprets calculated velocities as indicators of appropriate placement).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 10, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor data collection unit has a function of outputting a sensing result of the sensor provided in the wearable sensor (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130 and outputs the results).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 10, and Gopinathan further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a the second transmission unit, (¶009; system comprises a member contoured to at least a portion of a person's hand and an interface unit in electrical communication with the member… interface unit is capable of transmitting information to a remote location. The member comprises at least eight sensors; also Pg. 4, ¶011; right-hand communication unit 140a receives the information transmitted from the left-hand communication unit 140 by way of sensing integration unit 170 and transmits it to the controller 180the reception unit can communicate with the second transmission unit. (¶015; glove probe 12 is connected via cable 14 or wirelessly to an interface unit 20 and communicates with, and is capable of transmitting diagnostic signals, or information, from the medical diagnostic probes to the interface unit; also, Pg. 4, ¶011; right-hand communication unit 140a receives the information transmitted from the left-hand communication unit 140). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a transmission unit and a sensor data collection unit including a reception unit that can communicate with the transmission unit, as taught by Gopinathan so that the wearable sensor is capable of transmitting diagnostic signals, or information, from the medical diagnostic probes to a receiving remote interface unit for data collection both locally and remotely off-site of the wearable sensor’s location to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Regarding claim 15 (New), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi teaches each shape of at least two layers is selected from a group comprising a glove shape, a shape surrounding a wrist, a shape surrounding a finger, or a finger sack shape (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 16 (New), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system to claim 10, each shape of at least two layers is selected from a group comprising a glove shape, a shape surrounding a wrist, a shape surrounding a finger, or a finger sack shape (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 17 (New), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 15, and Choi is silent on the features of claim 17. Dong further teaches wherein a type of at least one sensor included in the outside layer is a pressure sensor. Gopinathan teaches wherein a type of at least one sensor included in the inside layer is a microphone. Both sensors are taught as viable options to be located in layers of a glove, but being included in the outside layer or the inside layer is reversed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to re-arrange or swap the locations of different functioning sensors between outside and inside layers based on a given implementation of the wearable sensor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 18 (New), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 16, and Choi is silent on the features of claim 18. Dong further teaches wherein a type of at least one sensor included in the outside layer is a pressure sensor. Gopinathan teaches wherein a type of at least one sensor included in the inside layer is a microphone. Both sensors are taught as viable options to be located in layers of a glove, but being included in the outside layer or the inside layer is reversed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to re-arrange or swap the locations of different functioning sensors between outside and inside layers based on a given implementation of the wearable sensor, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 209594801).
Regarding claim 3, Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, but Choi, Dong and Gopinathan are silent on wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member. Sun from an analogous glove layering art teaches the concept wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member (snap fastener, button or magic tape; see Fig 1, Pg. 3, ¶010; glove, comprising a glove main body… comprising outer layer glove 1 and lining layer 2, the outer glove 1 has a cavity; the inner lining layer 2 the outer cavity of glove 1 is divided into a first containing space and a second containing space, the first containing space is provided with a first opening 3, the first opening 3 for the hand into the wearable by the user; the second containing space for containing the luminous device, one end of the second containing space is provided with a second opening 4. the second opening 4 is a movable opening, second opening 4 may be to one end is semi-closed by snap fastener, button or magic tape way. the outer layer glove finger end 1 as a whole by adding adhesive/hot pressing forming technique and the inner lining layer 2 finger end. inner lining for only single-layer layer 2 the outer cavity of glove 1 separated, overlapped with each other is sleeved with lining gloves with the existing outer glove together). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member, as taught by Sun so that the second opening between layers may be semi-closed by a snap fastener, button etc. in order to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Dong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2021/0386145) further in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805) and still further in view of in view of Cai et al. (CN 110398590).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Choi, Dong and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, but Choi, Dong and Gopinathan are silent on a detachable member that detachably holds the sensor on the layer in at least one of the sensor and the at least two layers.
Cai from an analogous sensor art teaches the concept of a detachable member detachably holding a sensor on a layer in the sensor (Abstract; horizontally rotating the flow cell or the sensor chip, detachably coupling the outer surface of the bottom of the flow cell “i.e. sensor” to the sensing layer, coupling the sensing layer to the sensing layer). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein a detachable member detachably holds a sensor on a layer in at least two layers, as taught by Cai so that the sensor is coupled to the layers in order to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
[End of Arguments].
Conclusion
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685