DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 01/06/2026. Claims 1, 7-8 and 10-13 were amended. Claim 4 was canceled. Claim 14 was newly added. Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are pending for examination.
Title 35, U.S. Code
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is an improper independent claim. “An independent claim is a standalone claim that contains all the limitations necessary to define an invention.”
Claim 10 is an improper dependent claim because it fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim that it depends from. In accordance with MPEP, a dependent claim should be “referring back to and further limiting another claim or claims in the same application”.
Claims 11-14 depend from claim 10, and are also rejected for the same reasons above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805).
Regarding claim 1, (Currently Amended) Choi teaches a wearable sensor (pair of gloves) that is worn on a human body (Figs 1, 5 & 6), the sensor (left and right glove) comprising:
a layer-shaped body (Fig 1, Pg. 3, ¶001-¶006; glove body/bodies 110/110a) that has a shape of surrounding the body between a wrist and a fingertip of a hand (see Fig 1) of the human body (Figs 1, 5 & 6) and forms at least two layers (inner skin and an outer skin) that are at least partially overlapped with each other (Pg. 3, ¶005; left hand glove body 110 is formed of two layers of an inner skin and an outer skin concealing some enclosed sensors therebetween).
Choi is silent on at least one sensor that is provided on each of the at least two layers, wherein the at least two layers include an inside layer located closer to the body than an outside laver and the outside layer opposite to the body, the inside layer and the outside layer have different sensing functions. Gopinathan from an analogous art teaches a glove probe as a unitary member which is adaptable to be worn over a person's hand and includes a plurality of diagnostic probes detecting diagnostic signals (¶015). Gopinathan further teaches the glove probe wherein at least one sensor that is provided on each of the at least two layers (¶019 for first layer; EKG currents of heart muscle preferably includes a plurality of sensors 40a (per FIG. 2), 40b, 40c, 40d, 40e, 40f, 40g, 40h, 40i, and 40j which are secured to the first layer 30 of the glove probe 12… sensors 40a-40j includes a stainless-steel mesh screen on top of a mesh or coiled cylindrical wall and an EKG jelly sponge disposed within the cylindrical wall between the screen and, preferably, the first glove layer 30 of the glove probe 12, also see ¶020-¶024; and ¶000 for second layer) wherein the at least two layers include an inside layer located closer to the body than an outside laver and the outside layer opposite to the body (FIG. 2, ¶016; glove probe 12 comprises a first glove layer 30 and a second glove layer 32 secured to the first glove layer such that the second glove layer overlies at least most, and preferably all, of the first glove layer. The first glove layer 30 is preferably made of a cloth of natural or synthetic fibers, leather, or other suitable material. The second layer 32 is preferably made of a rubber or rubber-like material, such as Nitrile; also see ¶015-¶018 for full context), the inside layer and the outside layer have different sensing functions (¶019; Sensors 40a-40j are all mounted on the palmer side 36 of the glove probe 12. Each of the sensors 40a-40h preferably extends through, or are not covered by, the second glove layer 32 so that they are exposed to the environment, allowing free and close contact with the skin surface of the person using the probe 12. Sensors 40i and 40j are not exposed to the environment and instead face the dorsal side 38 of the glove probe 12; Examiner interprets sensors 40a-40h as outside layer sensors with different functions than sensors 40i and 40j interpreted as inside layer sensors).
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers of the wearable sensor (see glove in claim 1) have different functions, respectively (Pg. 3, ¶005; inner skin protects and hides components on the inside of glove and outer skin protect/hides components on the outside of glove).
Regarding claim 5, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor includes a gyro sensor (Fig 1; Pg 3, ¶005; gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 6, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches comprising at least one notification unit (sensing integration unit 170) on at least one of the at least two layers (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 that converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are communicably connected to each other (Examiner notes, both layers are coupled together with bending sensors therebetween them so both layers bend together simultaneously as user’s hand moves and are thus communicably connected).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 4, and Choi further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a (feature not selected by Examiner)
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach a wearable sensor system comprising: the wearable sensor according to claim 1; and Choi further teaches a sensor data collection unit (Pg 3, ¶001; sensing integration unit 170) that collects an observation result from the wearable sensor. (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 that converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130).
Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 14, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor data collection unit (sensing integration unit 170) has a function of confirming connection to a layer on which the
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 14, wherein the sensor data collection unit has a function of determining whether a combination of layers on which the sensors are provided (Pg 4, ¶011; pair of gyro sensors 130 and 130a are divided into X-Y-Z axes and calculate the inclination of each axis using the gravitational acceleration g, thereby calculating the angular velocity and the displacement velocity. The calculated angular velocity and displacement velocity of each axis are transmitted to the left hand sensing and integration unit 170 and the control unit 180).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 14, and Choi further teaches wherein the sensor data collection unit has a function of outputting a sensing result of the sensor provided to the wearable sensor (Pg 3, ¶001; a left hand sensing integration unit 170 converges the detection results of the left hand bending sensor unit 120 and the left hand gyro sensor 130 and outputs the results).
Regarding claim 14 (New), Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor system according to claim 10, and Gopinathan further teaches wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a transmission unit (¶009; system comprises a member contoured to at least a portion of a person's hand and an interface unit in electrical communication with the member… interface unit is capable of transmitting information to a remote location. The member comprises at least eight sensors) and a sensor data collection unit (¶015; interface unit 20) including a reception unit that can communicate with the transmission unit (¶015; glove probe 12 is connected via cable 14 or wirelessly to an interface unit 20 and communicates with, and is capable of transmitting diagnostic signals, or information, from the medical diagnostic probes to the interface unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein the at least two layers to which the sensors are provided are connected to a transmission unit and a sensor data collection unit including a reception unit that can communicate with the transmission unit, as taught by Gopinathan so that the wearable sensor is capable of transmitting diagnostic signals, or information, from the medical diagnostic probes to a receiving remote interface unit for data collection both locally and remotely off-site of the wearable sensor’s location to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805) further in view of Sun et al. (CN 209594801).
Regarding claim 3, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, but Choi and Gopinathan are silent on wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member. Sun from an analogous glove layering art teaches the concept wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member (snap fastener, button or magic tape; see Fig 1, Pg. 3, ¶010; glove, comprising a glove main body… comprising outer layer glove 1 and lining layer 2, the outer glove 1 has a cavity; the inner lining layer 2 the outer cavity of glove 1 is divided into a first containing space and a second containing space, the first containing space is provided with a first opening 3, the first opening 3 for the hand into the wearable by the user; the second containing space for containing the luminous device, one end of the second containing space is provided with a second opening 4. the second opening 4 is a movable opening, second opening 4 may be to one end is semi-closed by snap fastener, button or magic tape way. the outer layer glove finger end 1 as a whole by adding adhesive/hot pressing forming technique and the inner lining layer 2 finger end. inner lining for only single-layer layer 2 the outer cavity of glove 1 separated, overlapped with each other is sleeved with lining gloves with the existing outer glove together). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein the at least two layers are connected to each other by a stop member, as taught by Sun so that the second opening between layers may be semi-closed by a snap fastener, button etc. in order to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 20210073979) in view of Gopinathan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. 2002/0045805) further in view of in view of Cai et al. (CN 110398590).
Regarding claim 9, Choi and Gopinathan teach the wearable sensor according to claim 1, but Choi and Gopinathan are silent on on a detachable member that detachably holds the sensor on the layer in at least one of the sensor and the at least two layers.
Cai from an analogous sensor art teaches the concept of a detachable member detachably holding a sensor on a layer in the sensor (Abstract; horizontally rotating the flow cell or the sensor chip, detachably coupling the outer surface of the bottom of the flow cell “i.e. sensor” to the sensing layer, coupling the sensing layer to the sensing layer). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to combine Choi with the concept wherein a detachable member detachably holds a sensor on a layer in at least two layers, as taught by Cai so that the sensor is coupled to the layers in order to further enhance the wearable experience for users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
[End of Arguments].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANCIL LITTLEJOHN JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2685
/QUAN ZHEN WANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2685