CTNF 18/313,654 CTNF 87261 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hekmatpour, US Publication No. 2005/0278576 . Regarding Claim 1 , Hekmatpour teaches a method of verifying a logical system design, comprising: receiving a verification goal of a user (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0017], [0040] and [0085], wherein a user initiates a simulation request for a design attribute or a function to be tested); according to the verification goal, invoking a plurality of verification tools through an invoking interface of an integration tool (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0045], wherein the verification manager is an integration tool that provides an interface to a plurality of verification tools that are invoked to perform verification in response to a request for simulation); generating a multi-tool verification process based on the verification goal and the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein a simulation process is generated and managed based on the simulation request utilizing the plurality of verification tools, the simulation process including simulation strategies, process queues, and priority of analysis) ; and invoking the plurality of verification tools according to the multi-tool verification process to achieve the verification goal (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein the plurality of verification tools are invoked in the simulation process to meet the simulation request). Regarding Claim 2, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein, according to the verification goal, invoking the plurality of verification tools through the invoking interface of the integration tool further comprises: analyzing the verification goal to determine a plurality of verification tasks associated with the verification goal and an execution order of the plurality of verification tasks (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0047] and [0085]-[0086], wherein the simulation request is received and used to generate tests and simulation profiles based on the simulation request, the execution order through generating a process queue, and the tools necessary to perform the tests); and determining the plurality of verification tools to be invoked according to the plurality of verification tasks and the execution order (Hekmatpour paragraph [0086], wherein the appropriate tools needed in the tests are determined). Regarding Claim 3, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein generating the multi-tool verification process based on the verification goal and the plurality of verification tools further comprises: determining status of the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraph [0046], wherein tests and their tools are monitored to determine the state of verification); and adjusting the multi-tool verification process according to results of executed ones of the plurality of verification tasks and the status of the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0034] and [0046], wherein based on the results of the tests, the simulation process may be changed). Regarding Claim 4, Hekmatpour further teaches generating a graphical user interface according to the status of the plurality of verification tools and the results of the executed ones of the plurality of verification tasks (Hekmatpour [0074], wherein real-time displays of the verification including reports are shown to the user). Regarding Claim 5, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein one of the plurality of verification tools is a tool remotely provided on the cloud (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040] and [0079], wherein the verification manager and verification tools may be provided on a web-based application or on a networked environment in potentially different locations). Regarding Claim 6, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the plurality of verification tools have interfaces, respectively, for the integration tool to invoke the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraph [0045], wherein the verification tools have interfaces to be invoked by the verification manager). Regarding Claim 7, Hekmatpour further teaches collecting sub-verification data of the plurality of verification tools via the integration tool (Hekmatpour paragraph [0068], wherein reports for sub-units are collected); and integrating the sub-verification data of the plurality of verification tools into unified verification data (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0041]-[0042], wherein verification information is stored in a centralized functional verification database). Regarding Claim 8, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the verification goal is associated with a specific priority (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040], [0048] and [0082], wherein priorities are associated with analyses and simulation strategies used based on the simulation request). Regarding Claim 9 , Hekmatpour teaches an electronic device for verifying a logical system design, comprising: a memory storing a set of instructions (Hekmatpour paragraph [0038], see storage media) ; and at least one processor (Hekmatpour paragraph [0038], see computer) configured to execute the set of instructions to: receive a verification goal of a user (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0017], [0040] and [0085], wherein a user initiates a simulation request for a design attribute or a function to be tested); according to the verification goal, invoke a plurality of verification tools through an invoking interface of an integration tool (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0045], wherein the verification manager is an integration tool that provides an interface to a plurality of verification tools that are invoked to perform verification in response to a request for simulation); generate a multi-tool verification process based on the verification goal and the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein a simulation process is generated and managed based on the simulation request utilizing the plurality of verification tools, the simulation process including simulation strategies, process queues, and priority of analysis); and invoke the plurality of verification tools according to the multi-tool verification process to achieve the verification goal (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein the plurality of verification tools are invoked in the simulation process to meet the simulation request). Regarding Claim 10, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein, to invoke the plurality of verification tools through the invoking interface of the integration tool, the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: analyze the verification goal to determine a plurality of verification tasks associated with the verification goal and an execution order of the plurality of verification tasks (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0047] and [0085]-[0086], wherein the simulation request is received and used to generate tests and simulation profiles based on the simulation request, the execution order through generating a process queue, and the tools necessary to perform the tests); and determine the plurality of verification tools to be invoked according to the plurality of verification tasks and the execution order (Hekmatpour paragraph [0086], wherein the appropriate tools needed in the tests are determined). Regarding Claim 11, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein to generate the multi-tool verification process based on the verification goal and the plurality of verification tools, the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: determine status of the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraph [0046], wherein tests and their tools are monitored to determine the state of verification); and adjust the multi-tool verification process according to results of executed ones of the plurality of verification tasks and the status of the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0034] and [0046], wherein based on the results of the tests, the simulation process may be changed). Regarding Claim 12, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: generate a graphical user interface according to the status of the plurality of verification tools and the results of the executed ones of the plurality of verification tasks (Hekmatpour [0074], wherein real-time displays of the verification including reports are shown to the user). Regarding Claim 13, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein one of the plurality of verification tools is a tool remotely provided on the cloud (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040] and [0079], wherein the verification manager and verification tools may be provided on a web-based application or on a networked environment in potentially different locations). Regarding Claim 14, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the plurality of verification tools have interfaces, respectively, for the integration tool to invoke the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraph [0045], wherein the verification tools have interfaces to be invoked by the verification manager). Regarding Claim 15, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the set of instructions to: collect sub-verification data of the plurality of verification tools via the integration tool (Hekmatpour paragraph [0068], wherein reports for sub-units are collected); and integrate the sub-verification data of the plurality of verification tools into unified verification data (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0041]-[0042], wherein verification information is stored in a centralized functional verification database). Regarding Claim 16, Hekmatpour further teaches wherein the verification goal is associated with a specific priority (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040], [0048] and [0082], wherein priorities are associated with analyses and simulation strategies used based on the simulation request). Regarding Claim 17 , Hekmatpour further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a set of instructions (Hekmatpour paragraph [0038], see storage media) that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to perform a method for verifying a logical system design, the method comprising: receiving a verification goal of a user (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0017], [0040] and [0085], wherein a user initiates a simulation request for a design attribute or a function to be tested); according to the verification goal, invoking a plurality of verification tools through an invoking interface of an integration tool (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0045], wherein the verification manager is an integration tool that provides an interface to a plurality of verification tools that are invoked to perform verification in response to a request for simulation); generating a multi-tool verification process based on the verification goal and the plurality of verification tools (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein a simulation process is generated and managed based on the simulation request utilizing the plurality of verification tools, the simulation process including simulation strategies, process queues, and priority of analysis); and invoking the plurality of verification tools according to the multi-tool verification process to achieve the verification goal (Hekmatpour paragraphs [0040]-[0048], wherein the plurality of verification tools are invoked in the simulation process to meet the simulation request). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIC D LEE whose telephone number is (571)270-7098. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jack Chiang can be reached at 571-272-7483. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ERIC D LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 2 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 3 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 4 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 5 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 6 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 7 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 8 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 9 Art Unit: 2851 Application/Control Number: 18/313,654 Page 10 Art Unit: 2851