DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s amendment dated 06/16/2026. Claims 1, 15, 19 and 20 were amended. Claims 1-8 and 14-20 remains pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Concerning the amended independent claims 1, 15 and 19 the applicant argues that “None of the cited references alone or in combination teaches or suggests that after releasing a PC5 connection with a first relay, a source UE establishes a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the selected second relay to notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE. ”.
To teach the amendment, the examiner is now using a new reference Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0221532), Jung hereinafter in combination with existing references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-6, 8, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0180280), Li hereinafter, in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 20250048166), Wang hereinafter and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0074899), Wang2 hereinafter and further in view of Jung et al. (USPGPub 2020/0221532), Jung hereinafter.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising processing circuitry; and a memory, the processing circuitry configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE to: (fig. 21 and paragraph 0531)
initiate a UE to UE (U2U) relay path by establishing a direct communication channel through a first relay UE to a destination UE; (fig. 1 and paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. ... ). First relay UE is the first terminal while destination UE is the second terminal. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.)
perform a U2U relay reselection to the selected second relay; (paragraphs 0226, 0257 and 0261 - In the scenario 1, a relay link is switched to a relay link. In this case, the link switching may also be understood as relay device reselection. S404 may also be described as follows: The first terminal device determines to perform relay device reselection. ... [0257] The measurement report includes the channel quality that is of the second destination communication link and that is obtained by the second terminal device. ... [0261] The measurement configuration information includes one or more of the following information ..., so as to help determine a link to be switched to or determine reselection of the second relay device.)
establish the U2U relay path to the destination UE through the selected second relay UE by (paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach receive a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UE PC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; select a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses receive a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UE PC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.). Also paragraph 0261.
select a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wangs reception of measurement report and selection of another relay to achieve and maintain consistent link quality.
Yet, Li in view of Wang does not expressly teach transmit a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE.
However, in the analogous art, Wang2 explicitly discloses transmit a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; (Paragraph 0041 - … or the UE1 measures the channel quality, type of service (ToS), etc. according to a measurement configuration configured by the target node and reports a result to the target node, and the target node makes a decision and sends the switching instruction information to instruct the UE1 to or not to perform path switch; … paragraph 0024 - ... a target node (such as a base station or other mobile terminal devices) ... An interface between devices is a sidelink PC5 interface.)
releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses release of connection with first relay UE - [0069]In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , ...)
establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE (paragraphs 0070 to 0071 and 0079 discloses sending of release indication - [0070] … where the link status indication includes at least one of: a link release indication; … [0071] … the UE1 receives an L2 link release message sent by the relay 1 or an indication of no longer acting as a relay, or the UE1 receives link instruction information between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (such as an L2 link release indication, an RLF failure … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wang2’s connection establishment, connection release and notification to minimize disruption on sidelink.
Yet, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 does not expressly teach after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to.
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly discloses after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to ((fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Jung’s connection release before establishing second relay connection to reduce signaling necessary to maintain two simultaneous connection to one.
Regarding Claim 2, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: initiate the destination UE PC5 measurements on serving UEs and neighbor relay UEs (paragraph 0241 - The first measurement report carries the channel quality of the first source communication link, for example, the RSRP of the DMRS of the PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the first relay device and the first terminal device. The second measurement report carries the channel quality of the second source communication link, for example, the RSRP of the DMRS of the PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the first relay device and the second terminal device.).
Regarding Claim 3, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:receive the measurement report in a PC5 radio resource control (RRC) message (paragraph 0432 - The third measurement report may carry the channel quality of the first source communication link, for example, an RSRP of a DMRS of a PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the first terminal device and the first relay device. The fourth measurement report carries the channel quality of the second source communication link, for example, an RSRP of a DMRS of a PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the second terminal device and the first relay device.).
Regarding Claim 4, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to:provide a PC5 RRC message comprising a measurement configuration to request the one or more destination UE PC5 measurements on the candidate relay UEs (paragraph 0261 and 0262 - … The first terminal device may indicate, to the second terminal device by using the measurement configuration information, an announcement message of one or more second relay devices to be measured. … .The first terminal device may send the measurement configuration information to the second terminal device by using an end-to-end PC5-RRC message.). Paragraph 0265 gives more details on how the request for measurement can be part of the measurement configuration (paragraph 0265 - … Similar to the trigger manner 1, the second terminal device triggers sending of the measurement report when a specific reporting condition is satisfied. The reporting condition may be carried in the measurement configuration information … ).
Regarding Claim 5, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 4.
Li further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide the PC5 RRC message in response to an event trigger (paragraph 0245 - Trigger manner 3: After the first terminal device sends a request message to the first relay device, the first relay device sends the first measurement report to the first terminal device. Similarly, after the first terminal device sends a request message to the second terminal device, the second terminal device sends the second measurement report to the first terminal device. After the first relay device sends a request message to the second terminal device, the second terminal device sends the second measurement report to the first relay device.)
Regarding Claim 6, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 5.
Li further teaches wherein the event trigger comprises at least one of: a measurement of a second channel link from the destination UE to the first relay UE being below a threshold, a detection of a radio link failure (RLF) on the second channel link, a reception of a release message, or a notification based on a first channel link between the first relay UE and the UE (paragraph 0243 - Trigger manner 1: When a reporting condition is satisfied, sending of the measurement report is triggered. A reporting condition of the first relay device may be that the channel quality of the first source communication link is less than a threshold, for example, the first threshold. A reporting condition of the second terminal device may be that the channel quality of the second source communication link is less than a threshold, for example, the second threshold. The reporting condition of the first relay device may be configured by the first terminal device for the first relay device. The reporting condition of the second terminal device may be configured by the first terminal device, or may be configured by the first relay device.).
Regarding Claim 8, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 1.
Wang further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: measure a first channel link between the first relay UE and the UE; and (paragraph 0144 - In an embodiment, the SL measurement configuration may be configured to the relay UE. Based on the SL measurement configuration, the relay UE measures both the PC5 link quality of the first hop and the second hop and reports the SL measurement results. ...).
select the second relay UE based the measurement report and the measurement of the first channel link (paragraphs 0174, 0183 and 0302 - In step 501, the source UE and/or the target UE may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is getting worse, to switch from the indirect SL to the direct SL. … [0183] In steps 600 and 601, the source UE communicates with the target UE via a U2U relay UE3. If the source UE/target UE detects the PC5 link quality towards relay UE3 is getting worse, the source UE/target UE may discover other candidate relay UEs. If multiple candidate relay UEs are discovered, the source UE/target UE may select one candidate relay UE (e.g. relay UE4). ... [0302] In an embodiment, the first wireless network node may transmit an SL configuration associated with a U2U relay between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal to a third wireless terminal. For example, the third wireless terminal may be selected to be the U2U relay for the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal (based on the measurement report). ... ).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 1.
Li further teaches
wherein the establishing of the PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE causes the UE to transmit a PC5 RRC notification message to the destination UE to notify the destination UE to release the PC5 connection with the first relay UE (paragraph 0527 - In this embodiment of this application, when any terminal device of the first terminal device, the first relay device, the second relay device, or the second terminal device relates to operations of releasing the source communication link and establishing the destination communication link, the RRC layer of the terminal device may indicate the operation to the PC5-S layer.).
Regarding Claim 15 Li teaches a method of a user equipment (UE), (fig. 1.)
comprising initiating, via processing circuitry, a UE to UE (U2U) relay path by establishing a direct communication channel through a first relay UE to a destination UE; (fig. 21 and paragraph 0531 and fig. 1 and paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. ... ). First relay UE is the first terminal while destination UE is the second terminal. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.
performing a U2U relay reselection to the selected second relay UE; and (paragraphs 0226, 0257 and 0261 - In the scenario 1, a relay link is switched to a relay link. In this case, the link switching may also be understood as relay device reselection. S404 may also be described as follows: The first terminal device determines to perform relay device reselection. ... [0257] The measurement report includes the channel quality that is of the second destination communication link and that is obtained by the second terminal device. ... [0261] The measurement configuration information includes one or more of the following information ..., so as to help determine a link to be switched to or determine reselection of the second relay device.)
establishing the U2U relay path to the destination UE through the selected second relay UE by (paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach receiving a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UEPC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; selecting a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement report destination UE PC5 measurements in the measurement report of the at least one serving relay UE and the one or more relay UE candidates of the neighbor relay UEs by the destination UE.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses receiving a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UEPC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.). Also paragraph 0261.
selecting a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement report destination UE PC5 measurements in the measurement report of the at least one serving relay UE and the one or more relay UE candidates of the neighbor relay UEs by the destination UE; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wangs reception of measurement report and selection of another relay to achieve and maintain consistent link quality.
Yet, Li in view of Wang does not expressly teach transmitting a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE.
However, in the analogous art, Wang2 explicitly discloses transmitting a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; (Paragraph 0041 - … or the UE1 measures the channel quality, type of service (ToS), etc. according to a measurement configuration configured by the target node and reports a result to the target node, and the target node makes a decision and sends the switching instruction information to instruct the UE1 to or not to perform path switch; … paragraph 0024 - ... a target node (such as a base station or other mobile terminal devices) ... An interface between devices is a sidelink PC5 interface.)
releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses release of connection with first relay UE - [0069]In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , ...)
establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE (paragraphs 0070 to 0071 and 0079 discloses sending of release indication - [0070] … where the link status indication includes at least one of: a link release indication; … [0071] … the UE1 receives an L2 link release message sent by the relay 1 or an indication of no longer acting as a relay, or the UE1 receives link instruction information between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (such as an L2 link release indication, an RLF failure … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wang2’s connection establishment, connection release and notification to minimize disruption on sidelink.
Yet, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 does not expressly teach after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to.
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly discloses after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to ((fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Jung’s connection release before establishing second relay connection to reduce signaling necessary to maintain two simultaneous connection to one.
Regarding Claim 16. Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 15.
Li further teaches wherein the measurement configuration comprises a PC5 RRC message (paragraph 0432 - The third measurement report may carry the channel quality of the first source communication link, for example, an RSRP of a DMRS of a PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the first terminal device and the first relay device. The fourth measurement report carries the channel quality of the second source communication link, for example, an RSRP of a DMRS of a PC5-RRC connection corresponding to the second terminal device and the first relay device.).
Regarding Claim 17, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 15.
Li further teaches further comprising: providing the measurement configuration response to at least one of: a measurement of a second channel link from the destination UE to the first relay UE being below a threshold, a detection of a radio linkfailure (RLF) on the second channel link, a reception of a release message, or a notification based on a first channel link between the at least one serving relay UE and the UE (paragraph 0243 - Trigger manner 1: When a reporting condition is satisfied, sending of the measurement report is triggered. A reporting condition of the first relay device may be that the channel quality of the first source communication link is less than a threshold, for example, the first threshold. A reporting condition of the second terminal device may be that the channel quality of the second source communication link is less than a threshold, for example, the second threshold. The reporting condition of the first relay device may be configured by the first terminal device for the first relay device. The reporting condition of the second terminal device may be configured by the first terminal device, or may be configured by the first relay device.).
Regarding Claim 18, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 15.
Wang further teaches further comprising: measuring a first channel link between the first relay UE and the UE; (paragraph 0144 - In an embodiment, the SL measurement configuration may be configured to the relay UE. Based on the SL measurement configuration, the relay UE measures both the PC5 link quality of the first hop and the second hop and reports the SL measurement results. ...).
and selecting the second relay UE based on the measurement report and the measurement of the first channel link (paragraphs 0174, 0183 and 0302 - In step 501, the source UE and/or the target UE may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is getting worse, to switch from the indirect SL to the direct SL. … [0183] In steps 600 and 601, the source UE communicates with the target UE via a U2U relay UE3. If the source UE/target UE detects the PC5 link quality towards relay UE3 is getting worse, the source UE/target UE may discover other candidate relay UEs. If multiple candidate relay UEs are discovered, the source UE/target UE may select one candidate relay UE (e.g. relay UE4). ... [0302] In an embodiment, the first wireless network node may transmit an SL configuration associated with a U2U relay between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal to a third wireless terminal. For example, the third wireless terminal may be selected to be the U2U relay for the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal (based on the measurement report). ... ).
The motivation regarding to the obviousness of claim 15 is also applied to claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19.
Li teaches a baseband processor, comprising processing circuitry, comprising at least one memory, (fig. 21 and paragraph 0531)
configured to: initiate a UE to UE (U2U) relay path by establishing a direct communication channel through a first relay UE to a destination UE; (fig. 1 and paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. ... ). First relay UE is the first terminal while destination UE is the second terminal. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.)
perform a U2U relay reselection to the second relay UE; and (paragraphs 0226, 0257 and 0261 - In the scenario 1, a relay link is switched to a relay link. In this case, the link switching may also be understood as relay device reselection. S404 may also be described as follows: The first terminal device determines to perform relay device reselection. ... [0257] The measurement report includes the channel quality that is of the second destination communication link and that is obtained by the second terminal device. ... [0261] The measurement configuration information includes one or more of the following information ..., so as to help determine a link to be switched to or determine reselection of the second relay device.)
establish the U2U relay path to the destination UE through the selected second relay UE by (paragraph 0181 - The first terminal device and the second terminal device communicate with each other through a first relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a first source communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the first relay device may be referred to as a second source communication link. Link switching is switching from the source communication link to a destination communication link. A switched relay device or a relay device to be switched to is denoted as a second relay device. A link between the first terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a first destination communication link, and a link between the second terminal device and the second relay device may be referred to as a second destination communication link. The destination communication link may include a first destination communication link and a second destination communication link.).
Yet, Li does not expressly teach receive a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UE PC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; select a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement report.
However, in the analogous art, Wang explicitly discloses receive a measurement report, via the U2U relay path, including destination UE PC5 measurements of the candidate relay UEs generated by the destination UE responsive to the measurement configuration; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.). Also paragraph 0261 gives more detail.
select a second relay UE from among the candidate relay UEs based on the measurement report; (paragraph 0154 - In some embodiments, the source UE (e.g. UE1) communicates with the target UE (e.g. UE2) via a U2U relay UE. The UE1 and/or UE2 may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is worsening. In an embodiment, the UE1 may be interested in the link quality of the second hop. Under such conditions, the source UE may configure the relay UE to measure the PC5 link quality of the second hop and to report the measurement results, to acquire the link quality of the second hop. In these embodiments, the measurement mechanism/signaling may need to indicate the destination/target UE ID to be measured and/or the destination/target UE ID of the measurement results.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wangs reception of measurement report and selection of another relay to achieve and maintain consistent link quality.
Yet, Li in view of Wang does not expressly teach cause transmission of a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE.
However, in the analogous art, Wang2 explicitly discloses cause transmission of a measurement configuration to the destination UE, the measurement configuration indicating candidate relay UEs including at least one serving relay UE or at least one neighbor relay UE; (Paragraph 0041 - … or the UE1 measures the channel quality, type of service (ToS), etc. according to a measurement configuration configured by the target node and reports a result to the target node, and the target node makes a decision and sends the switching instruction information to instruct the UE1 to or not to perform path switch; … paragraph 0024 - ... a target node (such as a base station or other mobile terminal devices) ... An interface between devices is a sidelink PC5 interface.)
releasing a PC5 connection with the first relay UE; and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses release of connection with first relay UE - [0069]In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , ...)
establish a PC5 connection with the destination UE, and (fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
notify the destination UE to release a PC5 connection with the first relay UE (paragraphs 0070 to 0071 and 0079 discloses sending of release indication - [0070] … where the link status indication includes at least one of: a link release indication; … [0071] … the UE1 receives an L2 link release message sent by the relay 1 or an indication of no longer acting as a relay, or the UE1 receives link instruction information between the relay 1 and the target UE2 (such as an L2 link release indication, an RLF failure … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Wang2’s connection establishment, connection release and notification to minimize disruption on sidelink.
Yet, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 does not expressly teach after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to.
However, in the analogous art, Jung explicitly discloses after releasing the PC5 connection with the first relay UE, establishing a PC5 connection with the selected second relay UE to cause the second relay UE to ((fig. 6 and paragraphs 0067 to 0069 discloses establishment of connection with destination UE - [0069] In the process of switching from the link of the relay 1 to the link of the relay 2, as shown in FIG. 6 , the UE1 has submitted the packets 1, 2, 3, and 4 to the PC5 interface for transmission to the relay 1, the PC5 interface adopts RLC AM mode transmission, and the UE1 receives a packets 1, 2, and 4 acknowledgement indication and a packet 3 unacknowledgement indication sent by the relay 1. In this case, if path switch is performed, the UE1 can perform PDCP data recovery and submit the first unacknowledged packet (packet 3) and subsequent packets to the Uu interface for transmission. The relay 1 proceeds to send the packets 1, 2, and 4 to the UE2. The UE2 receives the packets 1, 2, and 4 forwarded by the relay 1 and packets 3, 4, 5, 6 . . . forwarded by the UE1 through the relay 2 ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Jung’s connection release before establishing second relay connection to reduce signaling necessary to maintain two simultaneous connection to one.
Regarding Claim 20, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 19.
Wang further teaches The baseband processor of claim 19, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: measure a first channel link between the first relay UE and the UE; and (paragraph 0144 - In an embodiment, the SL measurement configuration may be configured to the relay UE. Based on the SL measurement configuration, the relay UE measures both the PC5 link quality of the first hop and the second hop and reports the SL measurement results. ...).
and select the second relay UE based on the measurement report and the measurement of the first channel link (paragraphs 0174, 0183 and 0302 - In step 501, the source UE and/or the target UE may initiate a relay reselection/path switch if the UE1/UE2 detects that the PC5 link quality between UE1/UE2 and the relay UE is getting worse, to switch from the indirect SL to the direct SL. … [0183] In steps 600 and 601, the source UE communicates with the target UE via a U2U relay UE3. If the source UE/target UE detects the PC5 link quality towards relay UE3 is getting worse, the source UE/target UE may discover other candidate relay UEs. If multiple candidate relay UEs are discovered, the source UE/target UE may select one candidate relay UE (e.g. relay UE4). ... [0302] In an embodiment, the first wireless network node may transmit an SL configuration associated with a U2U relay between the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal to a third wireless terminal. For example, the third wireless terminal may be selected to be the U2U relay for the first wireless terminal and the second wireless terminal (based on the measurement report). ... ).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ( U.S. PGPUB 2023/0180280), Li hereinafter, in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 20250048166), Wang hereinafter, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0074899), Wang2 hereinafter and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0317268), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 7, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 and further in view of Jung teaches claim 4.
Yet, Li in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 does not expressly teach wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide the PC5 RRC message in response to a timer expiration.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: provide the PC5 RRC message in response to a timer expiration (paragraph 0195 - In summary, if the remote UE configures a prescribed timer, the remote UE can utilize a PC5D response message, which is received while the timer operates, for a measuring purpose. If the timer expires, the remote UE directly transmits a PC5D solicitation message of a measuring purpose to the relay UE to enable the relay UE to perform measurement.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Li’s Link switching method in sidelink communication and apparatus to include Kim's performance of measurement on timer expiration to reduce number of measurement thereby freeing resources that would have been used in taking and transmitting measurements
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472