Detail Information
In the amendment filed on 2/17/2026, claims 1-20 are pending and claims 1-3, 7, 10, 11, 13, and 17-20 are amended.
This is a Final Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued Legallais does not teach “in response to a touch point of a first input from a input device being at display edge of the first UI, control the first transceiver to broadcast a first beacon.”
Examiner disagrees. Legallais teaches success of the paring operation is determined based on the user trace input; Fig 4 c4:50-c5:24; and the tracing input requires touch inputs at multiple points of devices’ edge. See Figs. 1-3 c4:5-65. Since the success of paring is depends on user touching the display edge of the UI, the control of transceiver to connect with the Bluetooth beacon is connected based on user input at the edge of the UI. It is noted that the pairing process requires one device’s beacon to send out an inquiry requests and another device’s beacon to response with its address and other information. Therefore, Legallais teaches this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556.
18/313,784
Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556
Claim 1
A system comprising: a first computing device comprising:
a first memory;
a first user interface (UI) that displays content;
a first transceiver; and
a first processor coupled to the first memory that:
Legallais c7:55-c8:55;
Legallais c3:40-c4:65;
in response to a touch point of a first input from an input device being at a display edge of the first UI, controls the first transceiver to broadcast a first beacon, controls the first transceiver to receive a second beacon from a second computing device, the received second beacon including an identification of the second computing device proximate to the display edge of the first UI, generates a connection with the second computing device, and transfers, via the generated connection, the displayed content to the second computing device; and
Legallais c7:55-c8:55;
Legallais teaches use Bluetooth and inherent that Bluetooth includes Beacons for wireless communication c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais teaches success of the paring operation is determined based on the user trace input; Fig 4 c4:50-c5:24; and the tracing input requires touch inputs at multiple points of devices’ edge. See Figs. 1-3 c4:5-65.
the second computing device comprising:
a second memory;
a second UI;
a second transceiver that receives, from the first transceiver, the broadcasted first beacon, receives a second input indicating a location confirmation, broadcasts the second beacon, and receives the displayed content from the first computing device; and
a second processor coupled to the second memory that presents, on the second UI, the received displayed content at a display edge of the second UI proximate to the display edge of the first UI.
Legallais c7:55-c8:55;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais does not specifically teaches transfer of displayed content.
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Brikman’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to allow user to drag and drop files between device.
Claim 2
The system of claim 1, wherein the touch point of the first input from the input device is defined by coordinates on the first computing device.
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Claim 3
The system of claim 1,
Wherein: the display edge of the first UI includes a first y-coordinate;
the display edge of the second UI includes a second y-coordinate.
Where first beacon includes the first y-coordinate; and
wherein the second processor further: computes the second y-coordinate based on the first y-coordinate; and presents the received displayed content at the display edge of the second UI according to the computed second y-coordinate.
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Claim 4
The system of claim 1, wherein the first processor further: determines that the received second beacon includes an indication to receive a payload.
Legallais teaches use Bluetooth and inherent that Bluetooth includes Beacons for wireless communication. c3:40-c4:65;
Claim 5
The system of claim 1, wherein the second input further indicates a position at which the received content is to be displayed on the second UI.
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Claim 6
The system of claim 1, wherein the first processor further: determines, based on the received second beacon, a position of the second computing device relative to the first computing device and an orientation of the second computing device relative to the first computing device.
Legallais teaches use Bluetooth and inherent that Bluetooth includes Beacons for wireless communication. c3:40-c4:65;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Claim 7
The system of claim 6, wherein the second processor further: presents, on the second UI, the received displayed content at the display edge of the second UI cording to the determined position and orientation of the second computing device relative to the first computing device.
Legallais teaches use Bluetooth and inherent that Bluetooth includes Beacons for wireless communication. c3:40-c4:65;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Claim 11
The system of claim 1, wherein the first processor further: in response to broadcasting the first beacon, triggers a timer for acknowledgement from the second computing device, the timer including a time period to receive the acknowledgement; and receives the location confirmation based on the input being received at the second computing device within the time period to receive the acknowledgement, wherein the input received at the second computing device is the acknowledgement.
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
18/313,784
Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556
Claim 8
The system of claim 1, wherein the first processor further: generates a representation of the displayed content; and
transfers the generated representation of the displayed content to the second computing device.
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Brikman’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to allow user to drag and drop files between device.
Claim 9
The system of claim 8, wherein the first processor further: executes an authorization protocol with the second computing device; in response to the executed authorization protocol, authorizes the second computing device to receive an entirety of the displayed content; and transfers the entirety of the displayed content to the second computing device.
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
Brikman further teaches requirement of authorized user for the second device. (see Brikman c13:45-65)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Brikman’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to provide security to the system.
Claim 10
The system of claim 1, wherein the touch point is a portion of a drag and drop input or defined by a pixel having a location on the first computing device.
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Brikman’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to allow user to drag and drop files between device.
As per claim 13, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8. See rejection above.
18/313,784
Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556
Claim 14
The computer-implemented method of claim 13, further comprising: determining, based on the received second beacon, a position of the computing device relative to the UI and an orientation of the computing device relative to the UI;
Wherein the touch point of the input from the input device is defined by coordinates on the UI broadcasting the first beacon;
Wherein the display edge of a second UI indicates a second y-coordinate and the second beacon includes the second y-coordinate.
Legallais teaches use Bluetooth and inherent that Bluetooth includes Beacons for wireless communication. c3:40-c4:65;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
Claim 15
The computer-implemented method of claim 13, further comprising: generating a representation of the displayed content; and transferring the generated representation of the displayed content to the computing device.
Brikman c12:25-c14:70
Claim 16
The computer-implemented method of claim 15, further comprising: executing an authorization protocol with the computing device; in response to the executed authorization protocol, authorizing the computing device to receive an entirety of the displayed content; and transferring the entirety of the displayed content to the computing device.
Brikman teaches transfer content using drag-and-drop operation. (see Brikman c12:25-c14:70)
Brikman further teaches requirement of authorized user for the second device. (see Brikman c13:45-65)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Brikman’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to provide security to the system.
Claim 17
The system of claim 1, wherein the first processor further: in response to broadcasting the first beacon, triggers a timer for acknowledgement from the second computing device, the timer including a time period to receive the acknowledgement; and
receives the confirmation location based on the input being received at the second computing device within the time period to receive the acknowledgement, wherein the input received at the second computing device is the acknowledgement.
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Legallais c7:20-8:55;
As per claims 18, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 13. See rejection above.
18/313,784
Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556
Claim 19
The computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
The touch oint of the input rom the input device is defined by the coordinates on the second computing device;
the display edge of the UI of the second computing device includes a first y-coordinate; the display edge of the UI of the first computing device includes a second y-coordinate; and the instructions further cause the processor to:
compute the second y-coordinate based on the first y-coordinate; and present the received displayed content at the display edge of the UI of the first computing device according to the computed second y-coordinate.
Legallais c7:20-c8:55;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Claim 20
The computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein: the received input confirming the location of the first computing device further indicates a position at which the received displayed content is to be displayed on the UI of the first computing device.
Legallais c7:20-c8:55;
Legallais c3:55-c4:65;
Legallais c5:1-c6:45;
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in view of Brikman US 10,120,556 and Berliner US 2022/0255995.
18/313,784
Legallais US Patent 9,622,280 in in view of Brikman US 10,120,556 and Berliner US 2022/0255995
Claim 12
The system of claim 1, wherein the first computing device further comprises a machine learning (ML) model, implemented on the first processor, that: infers an intention to share the displayed content; and
based on the inferred intention to share the displayed content, presents, on the first UI, a prompt that, when selected, triggers the transfer of the displayed content to the second computing device.
Berliner teaches using machine learning algorithms. (see Berliner p0144-p0147)
It would have been obvious at the time of the invention for a person ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) to include Berliner’s teaching with method of Legallais in order to improve the system performance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
PENG KE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2194
/PENG KE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194