DETAILED ACTION
The amendment to the claims filed after non-final office action on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 2, 5-6, 8, , 11, 14-15 were amended, claims 1, 3, 12, 18 are canceled and claims 2, 4-11, 13-17 are pending in the instant application. The restriction was deemed proper and made final previous office action.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL in a previous office action. The restriction requirement was deemed proper and made FINAL in a previous office action. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 2, 4-11, 13-17 are examined on the merits of this office action. *After further review, a second Non-Final follows due to a new Double Patenting Rejection.
Withdrawn Rejections/Objections
The rejection of claims 8-9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025.
The rejection of claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks (USPN 6514523, cited in IDS) in view of Tardif (US20120021982 A1) and Zhang (Small 2010, 6, No. 3, 430–437, cited in IDS) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.
The rejection of claim(s) 2, 4-11, 13-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) in view of Tardif (US20120021982 A1) and Zhang (small 2010, 6, No. 3, 430–437, cited in IDS) as applied to Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13, 16-17 above, in further view of Ackermann (EP2673296 B1, cited in IDS) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.
The rejection of claims 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-14, 16-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-7, 13-14, 52-56, 58, 85-89 of Co-pending 17/628418 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) and Tardif (US20120021982 A1) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.
The rejection of claims 2, 4-11, 13-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11642419 B2 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) in view of Tardif (US20120021982 A1) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.
The rejection of claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11833196 B2 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Tardif (US20120021982 A1) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28..
The rejection of claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Co-pending 18/032456 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) and Tardif (US20120021982 A1) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.. .
The rejection of claims 2-4, 7-13, 16-18 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of US Patent No. 12257352 (previously indicated as Co-pending 16310715) in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) in view of Tardif (US2012002198) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.. .
The rejection of claims 2-4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are/remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11219673B2 B2 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Tardif (US2012002198) is withdrawn in view of amendment of the claims filed December 18, 2025 to exclude SEQ ID NO:28.
*Please note that Applicant’s arguments are moot light of amendment of the claims which necessitated new rejections found below.
New Objections
Claim 2 is objected to for the following informality: the limitation of “and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO:79).” is repeated in the last two lines of the claim. Removal of one is required.
New Rejections
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 14, 52-56, 58, 85, 89 of Co-pending 17/628418 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) and Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
Co-pending 17/628418 claims a composition comprising an sHDL nanoparticle associated with a plurality of tolerogenic antigens in such a manner that the resulting composition is capable of facilitating strong immune tolerance to antigens associated with an autoimmune disease upon administration to a subject, wherein the sHDL nanoparticle comprises a mixture of at least one phospholipid and at least one HDL apolipoprotein or apolipoprotein mimetic (claim 1); and wherein the Apo A-I is SEQ ID NO:4 which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4 (claim 1). Co-pending Application 17/628418 further claims inclusion of an antigen to facilitate immune tolerance which meets the limitations of a therapeutic (see claims 1 and 6)
Co-pending Application 17/628418 doesn’t specifically claim (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition, (ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and (iii) and instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the mimetic peptide.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
However, Dasseux teaches ApoA-I agonist peptides that are designed to mimic the structure and biological activity of native apoA-I (see Abstract, paragraphs 0001-0002). Dasseux teaches that the disclosed ApoA-I agonist peptides form amphipathic alpha helices in the presence of lipids (see paragraph 0001, 0084, 088); bind phospholipids and form HDL-like or pre-B-HDL like complexes (see paragraphs 0014, 0042, 0044, 0084); associate with the HDL component in plasma and increase HDL and pre-BHDL particles (see paragraphs 0084-0086). Dasseux expressly discloses ApoA-I mimetic peptide sequences SEQ ID Nos:35, 54, 79, which are identical to the sequences recited in claims 2 and 11 (see claim 19; paragraph 0019; claims 19 and 42). Dasseux further teaches that these ApoAI agonist peptides are formulated as peptide lipid complexes, including phospholipid complexes that are suitable for parenteral administration and form HDL-like particles (see paragraphs 0042-0046, 0081-0083, 0397-0402, see also Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of Co-pending Application 17/628418 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of Co-pending 17/628418, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of Co-pending 17/628418, with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of Co-pending 17/628418, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of Co-pending 17/628418s with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are obvious over claims 1, 6, 14, 52-56, 58, 85, 89 of Co-pending Application 17/628418 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2, 4-11, 13-17 are/remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11642419 B2 in view of Dasseux (US20030203842 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
US. Patent No. 11642419 B2 claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein(HDL)-therapeutic agent nanoparticle (sHDL-TA), wherein the sHDL comprises at least one HDL apolipoprotein and at least one phospholipid, wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01-20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, wherein the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having the sequence PVLDLFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 4)” (see claim 1) which SEQ ID NO:4 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4. US. Patent No. 11642419 B2 further claims 1-10% therapeutic agent (claim 2); DPPC (claim 3); the same therapeutic agents as the instant claims (see claims 4-5); imaging agent (claim 7); and 6-20 nm size particles (see claim 12); liver X receptor agonist (claim 4). US. Patent No. 11642419 B2 is silent to SEQ ID NO:35.
However, Dasseux teaches ApoA-I agonist peptides that are designed to mimic the structure and biological activity of native apoA-I (see Abstract, paragraphs 0001-0002). Dasseux teaches that the disclosed ApoA-I agonist peptides form amphipathic alpha helices in the presence of lipids (see paragraph 0001, 0084, 088); bind phospholipids and form HDL-like or pre-B-HDL like complexes (see paragraphs 0014, 0042, 0044, 0084); associate with the HDL component in plasma and increase HDL and pre-BHDL particles (see paragraphs 0084-0086). Dasseux expressly discloses ApoA-I mimetic peptide sequences SEQ ID Nos:35, 54, 79, which are identical to the sequences recited in claims 2 and 11 (see claim 19; paragraph 0019; claims 19 and 42). Dasseux further teaches that these ApoAI agonist peptides are formulated as peptide lipid complexes, including phospholipid complexes that are suitable for parenteral administration and form HDL-like particles (see paragraphs 0042-0046, 0081-0083, 0397-0402, see also Figure 11).
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of US. Patent No. 11642419, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of US. Patent No. 11642419, with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of US. Patent No. 11642419, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of US. Patent No. 11642419 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11833196 B2 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
US. Patent No. 11833196 B2 claims “A composition comprising an sHDL nanoparticle,
wherein the sHDL nanoparticle comprises (i) a phospholipid selected from 1,2-dimyristoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DMPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), (ii) a thiol-reactive phospholipid, and (iii) an apolipoprotein mimetic having the sequence PVLDLFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 4).” (see claim 1) which SEQ ID NO:4 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:4. US. Patent No. 11833196 B2 further claims on or more antigens thus meeting the limitations of a therapeutic (see claim 2).
U.S. Patent No. 11833196 B2 is silent to (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition; (ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and (iii) SEQ ID Nos:35.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of US Patent No. ‘196 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
The teachings of Dasseux are provided in the above rejections.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘196, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘196 with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of US. Patent No. ‘196, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of US Patent No. ‘196 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are obvious over claims 1-9 of US Patent No. ‘196 in view of Sparks and Dasseux.
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Co-pending 18/032456 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) and Dasseux (US20030203842).
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
Co-pending 18/032456 claims “A composition comprising one or more synthetic HDL nanoparticle (SHDL) associated with (e.g., complexed, conjugated, encapsulated, absorbed, adsorbed, admixed) N- 2-benzothiazolyl-4-|[(2-hydroxy-3-methoxyphenyl)methy1]amino]-benzenesulfonamide (ML355) (SHDL-ML355) moieties, wherein the sHDL-ML355 (therapeutic) comprises a mixture of at least one lipid component, at least one HDL apolipoprotein component, and ML355” (see claim 1). Co-pending 18/032456 further claims HDL mimetic (see claims 4 and 9); DPPC (claim 6).
Co-pending 18/032456 doesn’t specifically claim (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition,(ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and (ii) SEQ ID NO:35.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of Co-pending 18/032456 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35, the teachings of Dasseux are provided in the above rejections.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of Co-pending Application 18/032456, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of Co-pending Application 18/032456 with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of Co-pending Application 18/032456, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of Co-pending Application 18/032456 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are obvious over claims 1-20 of Co-pending Application 18/032456 in view of Sparks and Dasseux
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of US Patent No. 12257352 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously) in view of Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
US Patent. No. ‘352 claims “A composition comprising a nanoparticle comprising a phospholipid selected from 1,2-dimyristol-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DMPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), an apolipoprotein mimetic, and insulin” (claim 1), which insulin is a therapeutic. US Patent. No. ‘352 further claims herein the average particle size of the nanoparticle is between 6 to 500 nm (claim 2); wherein the mimetic is SEQ ID Nos:1-336 or 341-373 (see claim 3). US Patent. No. ‘352 doesn’t specifically claim (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition, (ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and specifically SEQ ID NO:35.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of US Patent. No. ‘352 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35, the teachings of Dasseux are provided in the above rejections.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘352, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘352 with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of US. Patent No. ‘352, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of US Patent No. ‘352 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17are obvious over claims 1-5 US Patent No. ‘352 in view of Sparks and Dasseux
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11219673B2 B2 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
US. Patent No. 11219673B2 claims “A composition comprising an sHDL nanoparticle,
wherein the sHDL nanoparticle comprises (i) a phospholipid selected from 1,2-dimyristoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DMPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), (ii) dioleoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphoethanolamine-N-[3-(2-pyridyldithio) propionate] (DOPE-PDP), (iii) an apolipoprotein mimetic having the sequence PVLDLFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 4), and (iv) one or more antigenic peptides (therapeutic), wherein each of the one or more antigenic peptides is complexed to DOPE-PDP on the outer surface of the sHDL nanoparticle” (see claim 1). US. Patent No. 11219673B2 further claims DMPC or DPPC as the lipid (see claims 6-7).
U.S. Patent No. 11219673 B2 is silent to (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition and (ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and (iii) SEQ ID NO:35.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of U.S. Patent No. 11219673 B2 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35, the teachings of Dasseux are provided in the above rejections.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘673, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of US. Patent No. ‘673 with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of US. Patent No. ‘673, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of US Patent No. ‘673 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17are obvious over claims 1-7 of US Patent No. ‘673 in view of Sparks and Dasseux
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 248-252 of Co-pending 19/088230 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously).
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
Co-pending 19/088230 claims “A composition comprising a nanodisc comprising a phospholipid selected from 1,2-dimyristol-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DMPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), an apolipoprotein mimetic, and Substance P” (see claim 248). Co-pending 19/088230 further claims HDL mimetic, SEQ ID Nos:1-336 (see claims 250); DPPC (claim 248). SEQ IDNO:35 of the Co-pending 19/088230 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO:35.
Co-pending 19/088230 doesn’t specifically claim (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic (substance P) in the composition,(ii) inclusion of an imaging agent.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of Co-pending 19/088230 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Instant Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are obvious over claims 248-252 of Co-pending 19/088230 in view of Sparks and Dasseux
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are/remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 15-16, 21, 23, 27, 35, 94, 97-98, 100-101 of Co-pending 18/840636 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited previously).
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
Co-pending 18/840636 claims “A method comprising administering to a subject:a composition comprising a nanoparticle; and a composition comprising an immunomodulatory agent capable of expanding regulatory T cells (Tregs) within the subject.” (see claim 1). Co-pending 18/840636 further wherein the nanoparticle is an sHDL nanoparticle comprising a mixture of at least one phospholipid and at least one HDL apolipoprotein or apolipoprotein mimetic (see claim 6, SEQ ID Nos:1-336, which SEQ ID NO:35 is the same as instant SEQ ID NO:35); a therapeutic agent, in particular a tolerogenic antigen (see claim 2)
Co-pending 18/840636 doesn’t specifically claim (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic (antigen) in the composition,(ii) inclusion of an imaging agent.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of Co-pending 18/840636 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
Instant Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13, 16-17 are obvious over claims 1-3, 6, 15-16, 21, 23, 27, 35, 94, 97-98, 100-101 of Co-pending 18/840636 in view of Sparks.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 in view of Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) and Dasseux (US20030203842 A1).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The instant application claims “A composition comprising a synthetic high density lipoprotein_(HDL) - therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle,wherein the sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid wherein the therapeutic agent is between 0.01 - 20% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and the sHDL is between 80-99.99% by weight of the sHDL-TA, and wherein the HDL apolipoprotein is an apolipoprotein A-I (apo A-I) mimetic having a sequence selected from the group consisting of: PPVLDWFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 35), PVLDLFRELLNEWLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 54), and PVLDEFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 79). The instant application further claims wherein the mimetic is one of SEQ ID Nos: 35, 54, 79; wherein the lipid is PC or DMPC (Claim 4); wherein the therapeutic is an anticoagulant, beta blocker, statin, Liver X R agonist (see claims 5-6, 14-15); further comprising an imaging agent (claims 9, 11, 17); 20% therapeutic, 80-99% sHDL (see claim 10); 6-20 nm particle size (see claim 7).
US. Patent No. 12324843 B2 claims “A method of delivering a sHDL nanoparticle to the lymph nodes of a subject, the method comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising an sHDL nanoparticle, wherein the sHDL nanoparticle comprises (i) a phospholipid selected from 1,2-dimyristoyl-sn-glycero-3-phosphocholine (DMPC) and dipalmitoylphosphatidylcholine (DPPC), (ii) a thiol-reactive phospholipid, and (iii) an apolipoprotein mimetic having the sequence PVLDLFRELLNELLEALKQKLK (SEQ ID NO: 4)” (see claim 1). US. Patent No. 12324843 further claims wherein the composition further comprises one or more antigens (a therapeutic agent) (claims 6-8); 4-75 nm size (see claim 20).
U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2 is silent to (i) the concentrations of the therapeutic in the composition; (ii) inclusion of an imaging agent and (iii) SEQ ID Nos:35.
However, Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 117. Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent.
It would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy. Furthermore, it would have been obvious before the invention to add an imaging agent to the sHDL nanoparticle of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2 to visualize intracellular delivery of the particle to determine effectiveness of the particle. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that imaging labels including radionuclides are commonly used to track the delivery of the sHDL.
The teachings of Dasseux are provided in the above rejections.
Regarding instant SEQ ID NO:35 as the ApoAI mimetic of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to substitute the APOA-I mimetic of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2 with instant SEQ ID NO:35 by Dasseux. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Dasseux teaches instant SEQ ID NO:35 is an ApoAI agonist peptide that can form HDL-like particles and adopt the required apha-heliclal conformation in lipid environments, the substitution would allow use of a well characterized, synthetically accessible, and functionally compatible mimetic peptide.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2 with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Instant claims 2, 4, 7-11, 13 and 16-17 are obvious over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12324843 B2 in view of Sparks and Dasseux.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 was amended and recites “synthetic HDL-therapeutic agent (sHDL-TA) nanoparticle” and further recites that the “sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid.” However, the claim later recites that the therapeutic agent and the sHDL are each present in specified weight percentages of the sHDL-TA, indicating that the sHDL and the therapeutic agent are distinct components of the nanoparticle. Accordingly, claim 2 is internally inconsistent as to whether the therapeutic agent is a component of the sHDL scaffold itself or a separate component associated with the sHDL nanoparticle, rendering the scope of the claim unclear”. A suggested amendment to overcome this could be “wherein the sHDL-TA comprises a synthetic HDL (sHDL) and at least one therapeutic agent, wherein the sHDL comprises at least one HDL apolipoprotein and at least one phospholipid…”
For purposes of examination, claim 2 is interpreted as reciting “wherein the synthetic HDL-therapeutic agent nanoparticle comprises a synthetic HDL (sHDL) and at least one therapeutic agent, and wherein the sHDL comprises at least one HDL apolipoprotein and at least one phospholipid”. Claims 4-11 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 2 and not clarifying this point of confusion.
Claim 11 was amended and recites “A composition comprising a synthetic HDL-therapeutic agent-imaging agent nanoparticle (sHDL-TA/IA) nanoparticle” and further recites that the “sHDL comprises at least one therapeutic agent, at least one imaging agent, at least one HDL apolipoprotein, and at least one phospholipid.” However, the claim later recites that the therapeutic agent-imaging agent and the sHDL are each present in specified weight percentages of the sHDL-TA/IA, indicating that the sHDL and the therapeutic agent/imaging agent are distinct components of the nanoparticle. Accordingly, claim 11 is internally inconsistent as to whether the therapeutic/imaging agent is a component of the sHDL scaffold itself or a separate component associated with the sHDL nanoparticle, rendering the scope of the claim unclear”. A suggested amendment to overcome this could be “wherein the sHDL-TA/IA comprises a synthetic HDL (sHDL) and at least one therapeutic agent and at least one imaging agent, wherein the sHDL comprises at least one HDL apolipoprotein and at least one phospholipid…”
For purposes of examination, claim 11 is interpreted as reciting “wherein the synthetic HDL-therapeutic agent/imaging agent nanoparticle comprises a synthetic HDL (sHDL) and at least one therapeutic agent and at least one imaging agent, and wherein the sHDL comprises at least one HDL apolipoprotein and at least one phospholipid”. Claims 13-17 are also rejected due to their dependence on claim 11 and not clarifying this point of confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks (USPN 6514523, cited in IDS) in view of Dasseux (US20030203842 A1) and Zhang (Small 2010, 6, No. 3, 430–437, cited in IDS).
Sparks teaches a composition comprising a synthetic HDL, wherein the synthetic HDL comprises Apo AI and a phospholipid (see abstract). Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claims 10. Sparks teaches wherein the apolipoprotein is APO A-I (see abstract and claim 7). Regarding claims 4, 13, Sparks teaches wherein the phospholipid comprises phosphatidylcholine (See Example 1, column 10). Regarding claims 2, 5, 14, Sparks teaches wherein the drug is an anticoagulant (see column 3, vitamin E for example) and also estradiol which is a vasodilator (see column 6, line 11). Regarding claims 7, 16, Sparks teaches wherein the size of the particle is 5-20 nm (see abstract) and in particular 7.5 nm as a preferred diameter (see column 7, lines 14-16). Regarding claims 8, 9, 11, 17, Sparks discloses wherein the sHDL-therapeutic agent further comprises an imaging agent (Carbon-14) which meets the limitation of nuclear imaging agent (see Figure 3, brief description). Furthermore, Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent/imaging agent is 20% by weight of the sHDL (see Examples 1 and 3).
As stated above, Sparks teaches wherein the therapeutic agent is in the range of 1-20% (see column 6, lines 39-40) and provide an example of 20% drug and 80% sHDL (see Example 1) meeting the limitations of claim 10. Regarding the concentration of therapeutic, sHDL and imaging agent, MPEP states that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention). MPEP § 2144.08. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to optimize the amount of therapeutic/imaging agent in the particle to achieve optimal therapeutic efficacy.
Sparks is silent to wherein the Apolipoprotein A-I is an Apo A-I mimetic and comprises instant SEQ ID NO:35.
However, Dasseux teaches ApoA-I agonist peptides that are designed to mimic the structure and biological activity of native apoA-I (see Abstract, paragraphs 0001-0002). Dasseux teaches that the disclosed ApoA-I agonist peptides form amphipathic alpha helices in the presence of lipids (see paragraph 0001, 0084, 088); bind phospholipids and form HDL-like or pre-B-HDL like complexes (see paragraphs 0014, 0042, 0044, 0084); associate with the HDL component in plasma and increase HDL and pre-BHDL particles (see paragraphs 0084-0086). Dasseux expressly discloses ApoA-I mimetic peptide sequences SEQ ID Nos:35, 54, 79, which are identical to the sequences recited in claims 2 and 11 (see claim 19; paragraph 0019; claims 19 and 42). Dasseux further teaches that these ApoAI agonist peptides are formulated as peptide lipid complexes, including phospholipid complexes that are suitable for parenteral administration and form HDL-like particles (see paragraphs 0042-0046, 0081-0083, 0397-0402, see also Figure 11).
Zhang teaches HDL-mimicking Peptide-Lipid nanoparticles (see title). High-density lipoprotein (HDL) is an endogenous nanocarrier possessing many of these attractive features. It possesses ultrasmall size control (7–12 nm) through the apoA-1 lipoprotein component and favorable surface properties. This unique combination results in long circulation half-lives ranging from 10 to 12 h in rodents and 5 days in humans (see page 431, left column, second paragraph). Zhang further teaches wherein the ApoA-I protein component of the nanocarrier is an Apo A-I mimetic peptide (see page 431, left column, last paragraph, section 2.1).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to substitute the apoA-I protein taught by Sparks with SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux. Such motivation arises because Dasseux expressly teaches that SEQ ID NO:35 is an apoA-I agonist peptide that mimics the structure and biological activity of native apoA-I, including adoption of an amphipathic α-helical conformation in lipid environments and self-assembly with phospholipids into HDL-like particles (see Dasseux, Abstract; ¶¶ [0001], [0084]–[0086]). Dasseux further teaches that apoA-I mimetic peptides form discoidal peptide–lipid complexes, as illustrated in FIG. 11, which are structural analogs of synthetic HDL particles. Accordingly, Dasseux teaches that SEQ ID NO:35 is functionally compatible with lipid-based HDL-mimicking nanoparticles and is capable of forming stable particles in the presence of phospholipids.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting SEQ ID NO:35 for the apoA-I protein of Sparks, because Dasseux demonstrates that the peptide forms lipid-associated, HDL-like particles and retains apoA-I biological function, including lipid binding and particle self-assembly. These properties directly align with the functional requirements of the synthetic HDL particle disclosed by Sparks.
Furthermore, Zhang teaches that apoA-I mimetic peptides may be used as the apolipoprotein component in HDL-mimicking peptide–lipid nanoparticles, further reinforcing that apoA-I and apoA-I mimetic peptides were recognized in the art as interchangeable components in HDL-like nanocarriers.
As articulated in KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., when a claimed invention results from the substitution of one known element for another known, functionally equivalent element, and the substitution yields predictable results, the claimed invention is obvious. Here, substituting the known apoA-I protein of Sparks with the known apoA-I mimetic peptide SEQ ID NO:35 taught by Dasseux represents a predictable substitution that results in formation of an HDL-like lipid nanoparticle suitable for therapeutic delivery. Such substitution would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 2, 4-11, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sparks (US6514523, cited in IDS) in view of Dasseux (US20030203842 A1) and Zhang (Small 2010, 6, No. 3, 430–437, cited in IDS) as applied to Claim(s) 2, 4-5, 7-11, 13-14, 16-17 above, in further view of Ackermann (EP2673296 B1, cited in IDS).
The teachings of Sparks in view Dasseux and Zhang are provided in the above rejection.
Additionally Sparks teaches that “The present invention provides carrier particles which are small in size and not easily recognized as foreign by the body for drug delivery of hydrophobic, amphipathic, or cationic lipophilic drugs. The present invention further provides a process for preparing carrier particles comprising drugs. It is an object of the invention to circumvent drawbacks in hydrophobic drug delivery described in the prior art” (see column 2, lines 57-64). The teachings of Sparks in view of Dasseux and Zhang are silent to wherein the therapeutic agent is isotretinoin (retinoid X receptor agonist).
However, Ackermann teaches a composition comprising a lipid fraction and Apo A-I (see claim 1). Ackermann teaches wherein the composition further comprises a hydrophobic, hydrophilic active agent and wherein the active agent is isotretinoin (see claim 22) and wherein the composition comprises an imaging agent (see claim 25). Ackermann teaches additional therapeutic agents including statins (see paragraph 0188, claim 22).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vitamin A and/or isotretinoin as the therapeutic agent within the sHDL nanoparticle, as taught by Ackermann, because Sparks teaches sHDL nanoparticles as delivery vehicles for hydrophobic and lipophilic drugs, and Ackermann teaches that vitamin A compounds and isotretinoin are compatible therapeutic agents for HDL-based delivery systems. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success, as each reference teaches structurally and functionally compatible components, namely HDL or HDL-mimetic lipid nanoparticles, ApoA-I or ApoA-I mimetic peptides, and lipophilic therapeutic agents. Under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, the claimed invention represents the substitution of one known element (isotretinoin or vitamin A from Ackermann) into a known delivery platform (sHDL nanoparticles from Sparks in view of Dasseux and Zhang) to obtain a predictable result, namely delivery of a lipophilic therapeutic agent via an HDL-based nanoparticle. Such substitution constitutes routine optimization and would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1654